Live Oak, TX 
Live Oak - Lake Course Share
Uploaded By: Texas2Putts Hole #11 (Taken 3/2017)
4 / 280ft.   4 / 655ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Quality shots

1    4/7/2021   4/7/2021
Review By: Blagadies
Played: 174  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.7 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Challenging lines with demanding and punitive landing areas. Scorable if played correctly.
Cons: Baskets are older (discatcher24s) and do tend to spit out dead center putts.
Other Thoughts: Quality course with a lot to offer the advanced to pro player. Rec and novice players beware!

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Long and challenging

5+    1/26/2018   1/26/2018
Review By: Scottty
Played: 88  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 16.7 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Challenging par 4's and 5's that require strategy considering risk / reward and good execution
- Most baskets and pads are new and in great shape
- Elevation changes create fun shots
- Water is used well on the front 9
Cons: - Grass is typically long on 4-7
- Wooded fairways on 11-13 are not very fun IMO. Good shots sometimes do not reward you with a good lie and two of them force very short RHBH hyzers to get into position for an upshot. Could have opened them up a little more to offer a few more options off of the tee. That said forcing distance control off the tee and playing for a lie is unique to the area courses.
- Not confident all golfers will wait on people to clear off the sidewalks through the woods potentially creating dangerous situations.
- Both sides of the park need a good tree trimming though the hillside is worse. Many tunnels have sagging branches forcing you over or around the trees when the hole looks like it was designed with the tunnel as the fairway.
- Not a con for me (until the summer lol) but it is a long walk without a lot of shade on half the course. Definitely bring plenty of water and a seat
-Signage is MUCH IMPROVED but still not the most intuitive to follow. Download the map from the links above or print it before playing this course for the first time.
Other Thoughts: Overall I really enjoy the challenge of this layout and the variety of shots required to score respectably. I think these two new course designs at Live Oak Park are bringing the San Antonio area into modern times in terms of course design with the actual par 4's and 5's mixed into both layouts. That said I feel like a few of the wooded par 4's could use a little more clearing and also wish the elevation from the hills on 4-7 was utilized a little better. I'm imagining having a pin placement for #4 on the elevated peninsula where 7's box is or forcing an uphill midrange on 5 rather than a little chipshot hyzer with a drop-off on the right.

I will miss the old layout since I learned the game playing it but the new course is still amazing in my mind. Nostalgia only goes so far when discs have improved so much that you didn't need to pull a driver out until hole 9 on the original lake layout. Got a little routine... This course fits the modern discs much better and also seems to be much more geared to strategy and execution which I really appreciate.

If the grass and trees were always trimmed it would easily be 4.5 and if the handful of fairways were opened up it would be a no-brainer 5 rating.

- I will try to snap pictures on a nice day and upload and also maybe create a new page for the newly redesigned 18 on the poolside of the park.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Live Oak DGC

5+    11/19/2017   11/19/2017
Review By: SmashNDash
Played: 25  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 12 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Good mix of par 3,4, and 5's
-Holes require a wide variety of shots
-Several holes with high risk/reward (hole 8 over the water comes to mind)
-Good use of elevation
-Decent mix of open bomb holes and technical wooded holes
Cons: -Grass can get long making it hard to find discs, especially on first 7 holes
-it'd be nice to have pads for the short tees too, not a big deal though.
-hole 13 is marked as a par 3 but would probably be more fair as a par 4.
Other Thoughts: I feel like the low rating is a reflection of the course before the redesign in 2016. Whether you prefer open "bomb it down the fairway" holes or something a bit more touchy though the woods, this course has it. Holes range from ~175ft all the way to 900ft+
The course definitely requires a variety of shots with water coming into play in a holes 3, 8, 9, 10, and 11. When going through the back 9 in the woods, I found some extra holes that must've been left after the redesign. I really enjoyed the course. Fun round.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Long, Challenging, Creative

1    11/23/2016   11/27/2016
Review By: WD09
Played: 461  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 16.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hole Design. This course places a premium on positioning and hitting landing zones. Even the most wide open holes have trees, slopes, lights poles, or water hazards that necessitate good shot planning. Several holes have key choices to make off the tee or on approach that allow for different routes to the basket.

Variety. This course has two true par 5 holes, seven par 4 holes and also some short ace runs (total distance 8318 ft, par 65). The holes are put together in an interesting order that makes for a challenging round and creates a good flow. Generally the back nine is more wooded than the front nine, but there are exceptions on both sides. There are no simple, wide-open holes (though a few may appear that way from the tee box); all require the player to maintain focus.

Pin positions. Every hole has something interesting about the basket area that requires good planning on approach shots. Many baskets are located on or near slopes or water. Some are protected by guardian trees.

Signage. Clear, well-placed signs on each hole with accurate distances and descriptive maps that show both long and short tee boxes. Informative directional signs pointing players to both the red and blue tees for the next hole make the course easy to follow. There is one fairly long walk between holes 2 and 3.

Tee Pads. Good-sized, new, level concrete pads on each hole. We played the long tees and all but one of the tee pads was oriented in the best direction. A nice, level, roomy runway is a good way to start each of these challenging holes.

Other Park Amenities. The course is in a very large city park with many activities available, including multiple playgrounds, a swimming pool, and sports fields for soccer, football, baseball, and softball.
Cons: Most of the baskets appear very old and many of them are set very low in the ground. It can be discouraging to fight the wind for 900 feet to get into the circle and then have to putt at a basket that is the wrong height. Also, the low baskets create an illusion that the basket is farther away, which can cause added difficulty for approach shots.

Sections of the course play near sidewalks and through areas of the park that are used for a variety of other activities (although none of the holes play directly through ball fields or playgrounds). We encountered fishermen, bicyclists, walkers, and soccer players during our round and had to wait on these other park users several times. I can imagine that this would be much more of a problem on a busy weekend day.
Other Thoughts: Several sections of this course are out in the open, with no shade. We played on a 64-degree day, but I am sure that it would be very hot out there on those holes in the Texas summer. Those holes are also the most exposed to wind, so this course provides lots of opportunities to work on maneuvering discs through the wind.

Overall, this is a challenging course that makes the most of the natural features of the property and provides a test of all-round disc golf skill, requiring distance, accuracy, focus, and forethought. John Houck is excellent at using the property he is given to create great courses with character and variety. He has done it again here. This is not his best course, in my opinion, but it is just about the best that the trees and topography here allow. I recommend this course if you have the time for a long round and you are ready to be tested as a golfer.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Dissapointed

2-4    7/20/2016   8/10/2016
Review By: aterrell2
Played: 16  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: I like this course for its different variety of shots. Many elevation changes. Short and long baskets.
The front 9 are very wide open and gives your arm a chance to stretch out. Coming into the back 9 their are some pretty technical baskets that require precise aim.
Overall this course has a lot to offer in the terrain.
Cons: Whats most disappointing about this course is its lack of signage. Unless you're out with a course local, you have no idea where to go next. And it does not help that old tee pads and old tee signs from the old course are still up all around the new lakeside course.
this redesign had so much potential but the lack of attention to detail has disappointed many.

Also, baskets 4-7 are so wide open that during the hotter days, its best skipping them. there are absolutely no spots that provide shade. If you play on a hot summer day, please bring an extra amount of water.
Other Thoughts: All in all this course has potential but many of the important details of a great course still need work.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty Disappointing

1    8/3/2016   8/3/2016
Review By: lowesengineer
Played: 42  Reviewed: 3
4 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: This park has huge potential to have several great layouts as it is a huge park with plenty of terrain changes and plenty of trees to create a great layout or two.
Cons: There are tee pads all over the place with one sign in the whole park. At least that we could find. This course is obviously going through a remodel or something and it is totally changed.
Other Thoughts: Please get this course fixed and get at least a map of the holes posted so I don't drive for six hours just to find an unplayable course unless you enjoy just making up your own eighteen holes.

4 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.