Slinger, WI 
Fireman's Park Upper Share
Uploaded By: tangerinewarehouse Hole #3 (Taken 10/2016)
3 / 188ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Beginner Distances, Advanced Precision

1    6/9/2018   8/29/2018
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 326  Reviewed: 311  Exp: 4.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (1.954 Rating) A very short and technical city park course.
- ACEABILITY - Eight shots less than 200 feet, and I had visions of chains being smashed on nearly every hole. Unfortunately, it wasn't to be for me on this round.
- RAW BEAUTY - A great wooded feel hole after hole. Hole (1) starts off with an eye pleasing valley shot. Holes (2), (7) and (9) are all lines with looks well above average. In totality I scored the course about a 3 out of 5 for beauty.
- ELEVATION - Lots of 20 foot changes through-out the layout. The one drawback is that many of the elevation changes are valley shots lessening the elevation's actual play impact. Valley shots do however provide an eye appealing line.
- CHAINS - Nine Chainstars all in great condition.
- SIGNAGE - Simple, but effective metal signage for this style of course. I noticed one additional directional cue along the layout to navigate between a tricky transition. Adequate course map near tee (1) as well.
- NAVIGATION - Due to the signage, I never once looked at the map that I had snapped a photo of. Getting lost means you suck at following directions. There is one double back walk between (9) and (10).
- SHOT SHAPING - Players that like short needle line tree gap plays will love it here. For the Grand Master Rec player who's accurate inside 200 feet, this will be a great course.
- QUICK PLAY - As a blind solo, I was in and out in 30 minutes. Figure an hour for a four some.

Cons: A course with limited appeal.
- LACK OF CHALLENGE - Despite several tight fairways, the course is so short that even pinging an early tree will still likely leave a decent opportunity to make par. The course reads upper Novice level. Higher rated bombers will probably hate this course as it will be all putter runs. When they write a four on the score card, it will piss them off.
- MULTI USE HAZARDS - Not too bad, but with a couple of exceptions. There is a playground in play on (5) on the right and there is a road in play on (10). I personally threw into the road on (10), but since OB is not marked on the simple tee signs I finished with a clean scorecard.
- LOOSE DISC OPPS - Although there is no water here, losing a disc or having to deal with a perilous retrieval effort is a real possibility. Holes (3) and (8) slope away intensely along the left side. Probably not too much of a thought to higher skilled players, but beginners who play here a few times with make this fatal mistake eventually.
- TEES - 4 foot wide by 6 foot long rubber mats. Very pub-par and I struggled to find a proper teeing form as I typically don't do standing drives. Several of the pads were just laid over the bear ground without any consideration to level the surface below. Many of the tee surfaces are uneven.
- CHARACTER - In addition to poor tees, the comfort items and amenities were below average on my appearance. As noted above, nice simple hole signage, a course map, and directional cues. However, no benches, no multi tees, no alternate baskets placements and no practice basket. There are a couple of nice shelters in the park and I believe there was a restroom as well.
- UNIQUENESS - An overabundance of valley shots. Every shot is shy of 300 feet and 9 of the 10 holes are less than 220 feet. There is no water in play and every hole is a par 3.
- SKILL LEVEL FRIENDLY - I'm struggling to define who this course appeals to other than to Grand Master Recreational players. To challenging for beginners but also to small of footprint for skilled players.
- TERRAIN - Not the best course for those with walking impairments. Bringing a cart out here can be done but it won't be a pleasure cruise.
- PARKING - There is no defined parking in the parking lot. Park wherever I guess.

Other Thoughts: A quick pit stop for me right off of I41. Fireman's Park is definitely an interesting play, but it's just too small to be anything more than local ace race and short game practice course. It will be hard to expand this course out as it doesn't seem like there is enough park space available.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    7/7/2017   7/9/2017
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 342  Reviewed: 216  Exp: 14.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is set in a small park and is set up up nicely to avoid other park activities. There are 2 practice baskets between holes 1 and 10. 10 holes, with a very easy to follow flow to the course. There is also a kiosk by hole 1's tee with a nice course map on it. The course is a mix of wooded, moderately wooded to mostly open. All except 6 I believe it was have at least a few trees to contend with. The baskets are all chainstars that are mounted nice and catch great. From what I could tell it looked to be one pin position per hole. There is a large 4x4 post located next to every tee pad. No signs but it does have metal cut outs of the hole #, distance and a next hole plate. With the shortness of the holes this more than serves it's purpose. Almost every hole (except 8 and 10) the basket is visable from the tee anyways. There is also a decent amount of elevation changes and some nice undulating terrain here. Some very crazy roll away potential too if you fail to stay on the fairway on a couple holes. The course is permanent and free which is always nice nowadays. Would also seem to never be busy too.
Cons: The rubber mats are extremely short. Granted nothing is too long here but a couple extra feet lengthwise and at least a foot widthwise would go a long way here. Not much parking. You just kind of have to park by the/on the basketball court. Not that it's probably really used as it's not really an actual court. Not really a big deal just worth mentioning. Other than that I got nothing.
Other Thoughts: Definitely not a destination course but totally worth a visit if you're in the area or even just passing through since it's not very far off of 41. Well designed course for the space that was available. It was better than I was expecting for sure. Very fun little course to try for some aces and just a pretty fun all around set up.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Slick Design ***GEM***

1    10/25/2016   11/4/2016
Review By: tangerinewarehouse
Played: 89  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 4.4 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Elevation changes on basically every hole
High risk/reward shots with roll away's prevalent
Aesthetically pleasing surroundings
Nice baskets, tees and hole info on posts
Approximation to another eighteen hole course
Technical shots, great lines and lots of touch required.
Awesome map by hole one, but not needed, easily navigated
Nice mix of slight anny and slight hyzer shots
Cons: This is a shorter course, can't really 'open up'
I could see someone loosing a disc with an errant shot
Too short! I wanted this cool course to keep going...
Other Thoughts: Just a really great little course. What was done with the space available is just incredible. Very well designed with a easily navigated layout. I played in the fall, so many leave but it was so pretty on my way to holy hill. There are two other nine holes and an eighteen right by so this is a must play if you're planning to play those courses. This is a perfect way to play disc golf, you're not throwing your back out, digging in the brush for discs, just having a nice technical short round with moderate difficulty. So much fun!

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Short, but fun.

1    8/22/2016   8/26/2016
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 459  Reviewed: 213  Exp: 7.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Newer 10 hole course located in Fireman's Park in Slinger, WI, just a short hop off of Hwy 60.

Nice Chainstar baskets. All are new and mounted well, with some interesting pin positions. Plenty of chances for roll-aways. One pin position per hole. A couple practice baskets across the road from the basketball courts are a nice touch.

Decent signage, once you figure out where the first hole is (hint: it's just past the basketball courts on the left). They're just 4x4's mounted in the ground, but they have nice metal cut-out signs with hole number and distance. You won't need a map on most of the holes, as the baskets are easily visible. Navigation is relatively easy.

Most of the course is covered in tighter, forested lines. With it being a shorter course, it's plenty fair. Also, some nice elevation changes on a few holes, as the park is pretty hilly as a whole.

Lots of ace runs, if that's your thing.
Cons: The rubber tees aren't the greatest. They're a tad short, and were pretty slick when wet. Concrete tees would go a long way here.

Most of the course is short. Like, really short. Like, all but 2 out of 10 holes are under 200' short. While the lines are cool, there's only so much that can be sandwiched into an 185' hole. Hole 10 felt a little out of place after the first 9. I would have taken 7-9 holes like hole 10 over what's here now.

Navigation isn't difficult, but a next tee sign after hole 9 would be nice. It's certainly not intuitive that you'll need to exit the woods.
Other Thoughts: If you like throwing putters off the tee, this is the spot for you. It's fun, but not overly challenging for anything approaching a seasoned player. Beginners may get a little frustrated, as several of the holes are heavily wooded, which kind of puts the course in an odd tweener status. As stated above, (in my opinion) fewer holes with a bit more distance may have been a better option here.

All in all, not a bad little spot to throw. Give it a run, just leave your high speed stuff in the car when you go out to play.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A must play!

5+    7/18/2016   7/18/2016
Review By: chris443
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: My personal preference is a wooded type of course. This has it on most holes. You must hit your line if you want a birdie!
Hole 1. If you can shoot straight, best option for this hole.
Hole 2. I take it right of the basket through the trees and let the disc do the work.
Hole 3. Large drop off to the left. If you go down there it is fairly easy to recover your disc. Play up the middle or play to the right of the basket.
Hole 4. Slightly up hill. Trees in front of you. I play right of the basket.
Hole 5. Up hill. Again trees are on between the pad and basket. Try and play right up the middle.
Hole 6. Fun shot. Open to the right. To the left is a woods. Basket is on a hill side.
Hole 7. Looks really easy! So I thought. Good trees to get around or play up the gut.
Hole 8. Nice and short. I have no flick game so I use my putter and fade it nicely to the basket.
Hole 9. Again it looks easy. Slightly up hill. Lots of trees. Sometimes I go up the gut, other times I go right of the basket.
Hole 10. Neat shot. For big arm than can flick, you can go around the woods. I can't i use the small alley through the woods to go for par. Haven't figured how to birdie this one.
I just love this park. No traffic, I find this type of disc golf lots of fun. It has a little bit of everything. Basket are great. Great signs. Yes its short to some. But its still not easy. Every hole you can find trouble if you don't hit your lines.
Cons: Not many. Not a big fan of rubber mats. They are not level, but will work for now.
My first time there I was not sure where to park. There is a basketball court there. No painted lines. So I parked in the street. But I see others park anywhere they want. So I park near tee 1.
Other Thoughts: Short on time and in the area? Perfect, play here. If you play Spassland or Jackson for example, those are short also, but this has a lot more skill involved. All shots need to be thought out. Unlike some small parks where you can throw it anywhere and still make par. I felt like when I hit a tree or went off line, I really had to recover to make par.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Brand New!

1    7/10/2016   7/13/2016
Review By: knivile1
Played: 55  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/27/2016
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -No non disc golf traffic in this section of the park on the day I went even though the beach area was very full
-Wooded but fair, pick your line and hit it with a putter or midrange. Accuracy over power is key here.
-Mulch lined "fairways" for walking from tee pad to basket
-Chainstar baskets caught well
-Super easy navigation. Next tee marked on current tee's sign. Very intuitive.
-Fairly beginner friendly with enough challenge for seasoned players

Cons: -Tee signs are just 4x4 posts with marker except for Hole 1 which has some very cool laser cut or waterjet cut metal signage.
-Brand new course so some holes rough still needs to be thinned out off of the fairways.
Other Thoughts: Didn't know what to expect when first arriving at the park. I do think it makes great use of existing landscape and elevation. I got the feeling that this was a rather underused part of the park before the disc golf course was added and hopefully this will bring in more people and their families.

Fairly beginner friendly distances though a couple bad tree kicks could frustrate some. Super short rubber teepads could throw off some people at first glance, but there is seriously no run-up needed at these short distances.

Definitely a more interesting and fun round than going to the other pitch and putt type courses in the area (Jackson Park and Woodlawn Union Park) if you don't have the time for Heritage Trails or Riverside.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.