Lorton, VA 
Pohick Bay Regional Park Share
Uploaded By: discwombat Hole #3
3 / 195ft.   3 / 195ft. Par / Distance:
Tee 3


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
Good little course

2-4    9/29/2017   10/2/2017
Review By: Johnny_Blaze
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Compact, it is never too hard to find the next tee and its usually no more than a skip away.
- Mostly technical shots, with some challenging mandos
- Always seems well maintained
- While it is close to a sparsely used road, generally there is little through traffic from the regional park it is a part of
Cons: - A few of the 18 holes are in open space, but most of it is in wooded areas. Be prepared to hit a few trees.
- You can lose discs pretty easily on a few holes, but there is no major creeks or rivers
Other Thoughts: This is a pretty well planned course that can be extremely fun for anyone looking for some more challenging technical shots. Non county residents may have to pay a fee on weekends and holidays but weekday visitors can play for free. enjoy!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Quick and fun

2-4    8/22/2017   8/22/2017
Review By: nickhead
Played: 48  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 22.8 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Uique old school throws a must. To many courses are designed the same. This course is a great place to revisit the throwing style you had day one. Hard lefts and a few rights. Requires percision and calm.
Cons: Pay to park, or play. 7 bucks. I talked to the kid who was on park clean up he said no one really cares about people paying to play, I didnt. I also got thereally an hour before closing.
Other Thoughts: Bring your patience and emy race it.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

short but sweet

5+    7/20/2017   7/20/2017
Review By: globetrotter
Played: 99  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 5.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Beautiful park
- Great for beginners or for a quick, casual round
- Well maintained
- Has a decent amount of variety and some cool holes
- Ace runs
Cons: - Short
- Can get crowded at times
- Pay for parking
Other Thoughts: Pohick Bay is a short, wooded course with a couple of more open holes. It can be played very quickly, and is a great course for beginners and casual players, or to practice your short game.

Pohick reminds me very much of nearby Burke Lake Park in that it is a short wooded course in a very nice and well maintained park that can see a lot of pedestrian traffic at times. On top of that, both courses start out with 5-6 extremely short holes, which are really no more than upshots. At Pohick, a couple of these early holes also have some really sharp doglegs, which annoyed me the first time I played the course, but have grown on me because they force you to try to get create and throw some shots you otherwise wouldn't throw.

There is a little bit of OB in play on the last couple of holes, I believe to protect the streambed. I really like the finishing hole, Hole 18 which plays up out of the woods into a clearing and then back around a grove of trees. It's the only hole on the course where you can really throw one.

So yeah, for what it is, it's a nice course. It can be annoying to pay for parking, but it goes to the park (and I believe is only on weekends). It's worth playing and is a fun course, but not worth going too far out of your way to play it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice course in the woods

5+    6/28/2017   6/29/2017
Review By: Wood Chuk
Played: 341  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 37.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * Fun lines to throw
* Good place to practice your midrange/putter drives
* Very compact course
* Signage is reasonable
* Big parking lot
* Trash cans and benches on several holes
* Area drains reasonably well and plays well in rain
* Lots of shade
* Annual passes available work at other disc golf courses in area
* Baskets are moved between locations regularly
* A 3X pro world disc golf champion (age protected division) plays the course often and may join you
Cons: * You are never far from a road and/or road noise
* Drives on 10 and 18 are blind and could hit people on tee pads you can not see
* A bad shot or tree kick on most holes can land in other fairways
* Bathrooms require travel to the park office or campground
* Signage does not tell you which pin position is in play
* Long tees are not on all holes
Other Thoughts: Playing this course can be a wonderful experience. It is in a very pretty woodland and it seems I always find some cool bit of nature to geek out over. There are times when this course feels like it is part of the DC metro area (noisy and crowded), but usually it is a good place to play disc golf.
There is a disc golf fee in addition to the park entrance fee, and there have been rangers checking fee compliance. The local club leadership (www.novadiscgolf.org ) has some input, so the money should see a disc golf benefit.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A perfect beginner's course!

1    9/3/2014   9/3/2014
Review By: neanderthal85
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/5/2014
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is very compact, which can be a con, but it plays very fast (I did a round by myself in 45 minutes easily) and you won't be hiking for miles.

I loved holes 12-17. Really in the woods, tight turns, shooting tree gaps, etc. Really nice holes that while short, will challenge any level of player.

This is a great place to come if you want some 2's and maybe even an ace or two. Most holes hover around 200'-250'.

Lost discs are not happening here. There is a lot of woods but no undergrowth, so you should easily be able to find discs that go off course.

Cons: There are two tee boxes on some holes, only one on others, so it's fairly inconsistent.

Several of the holes have signs showing two baskets, but only 1 exists. I saw this on 1, 8, 10, 11, and 12 before I stopped counting, but most of the back 9 is like this. All of this inconsistency in tees and baskets means you're playing a mix of short holes and long holes and medium holes, so I don't know how accurate scores will be if you track that.

As others have said, the holes butt against each other, so a stray disc WILL go onto another fairway. The course starts and ends in a big field that has a few baskets and tees, so be careful if others are playing.

On 14, if you don't hit your dogleg left, you will hit camping RVs. There is also a toolshed with fence you could sky on the 14th basket.

If you want a longer course with more challenge, this probably isn't it. I liked it for how short and compact it is, but if you are a monster thrower looking to get some air, probably best to look elsewhere.
Other Thoughts: This is a perfect course for a beginner. There are a few wide open shots, some tight woods shots, but nothing monster or too incredibly impossible. A perfect first course and a perfect course to work on tight shots and putting!

Also, I went at about 11am on a weekday and there was no one at the gate to take money. They suggest a $2/person donation and have little envelopes to put it in. I put in a five as I want to support improvements in the course, but it looks as though most of the time you can play for free.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 So So

2-4    2/8/2014   2/16/2014
Review By: chillumz
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Holes are short and tight, which force you to think a little creatively about how to get through the trees to the basket.

The park is pretty and free (for Fairfax County residents).

The focus here is on curving mid range shots and putts. Good for skill building.

A couple of slight up and down holes but not so much that it is challenging.
Cons: The course is very tight and it is not uncommon to land a disc on one of the other holes if you misfire.

At some points, the trees are obnoxiously dense and a novice could easily become frustrated at the high likelihood of smacking one.

Not a whole lot of variety here. Many are simple pitch-and-putt holes with a slight bend.
Other Thoughts: This park is pretty close to me, and I am kind of disappointed it isn't nicer. I suppose the designer did a pretty good job with very limited space, but nevertheless Pohick Bay leaves you wanting more, especially having played a gem like New Quarter in Williamsburg.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent Pitch & Putt In The Woods!

1    7/18/2013   8/18/2013
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1167  Reviewed: 1115  Exp: 39.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pohick Bay is a short (most holes play around 200') technical course with enough elevation to make the course interesting. There are some interesting and creative basket placements and accuracy is much more important than strength here.

The course is well taken care of with concrete pads, Innova baskets, multiple garbage cans and benches. There's ample shade for those warm Virginia days. Long tees add to the challenge.
Cons: $8 to park seems a little excessive.

There's really only a couple of places to throw anything other than your mid-range. The holes are all fairly similar.

I don't know if this course ever gets too crowded but if it did, I could see discs possibly flying into each others fairways.
Other Thoughts: I played with Carlos, a 75 year old guy. His doctor advised him to get more exercise so now plays four rounds every day at Pohick Bay. He's practicing for the Senior Worlds in Indiana. Don't you just love this about our sport! Some of you guys might be playing 50 or 55 years from now! Getting ready for the 2063 Senior Worlds! Contemplate that for a moment folks! Think about the discs you'll be throwing.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Washinton

5+    5/26/2012   5/20/2013
Review By: owvanguard
Played: 49  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 9.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is located in Pohick Bay Park where you can stay in a cabin within walking distance from the course.
Cons: Most of the holes are right next to one another and stray disc often zoom into your fairway.
Also a few of the holes play through an open field and non disc golfers sometimes use this field
Other Thoughts: The mingolf is right next to it.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Midrange Madness

1    6/17/2012   6/17/2012
Review By: clipnfly
Played: 60  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 8.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice, fun place to play. 18 Good holes with signs and benches and trash cans as needed. A generally short course. You can play the entire thing with a understable middie. Bring a Innova Wedge or an ABS Flying Squirrel and this is a 1 disc course. Tee pads have recently been enlarged. Nice, but not needed based upon the size of the holes here. What land was comitted to this was used very well. A few holes shoot in and out of the forest. Great tree pinball to be played here. Great opporutnities for shot shaping. Many ways to play many holes so as to keep out the boredom if you were a frequuent playing local. Light traffic on a beautiful Sunday kept my round moving fast. Good combination of annie and hyzer shots to play aroound with. perfect noobie/rookie course as nothing to defeat those with very little arm.
Cons: Not much length or hole length variety here. All holes play in a basic, similar length range. The few mandos were fun, but in most cases a bit silly as they are not needed to enhance the experience. But having them is a great way to teach an element of the rules to noobies and rookies.
Other Thoughts: $7 to enter park and $2 to play. I was happy to pay as I always am happy to play where the $ is well spent to provide nice golfing experiences. Well worth my $9. Zero trash. Pads, signs and other elements well maintained.
No hole stood out as a signature hole fo the experience.
the big arm crowd will gripe about the lack of distsnce here... But I would challenge many to come here, play by the rules and shoot a low score. Shot shaping, disc control and precision is king here. Wwant to just let it rip? Go play 16 at Giles meadow.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 new layout at pohick bay

5+    5/12/2012   5/22/2012
Review By: 2headstalking
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 13.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/1/2012
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: very tight course with close holes, not much walking from pin to tee.

Redone tee pads make throwing much easier (all concrete now, no wood or hard dirt)

new baskets and multiple tee set up makes this course challenging over an above the all tree set up.. (bring your 'used' discs here, or you'll be treebanging those new ones)

there is a nearby store that you can purchase discs and other items from (down the road past the water park area) it closes at 8 which gives plenty of time to check out the innova plastic.
Cons: 8 dollar parking fee for those not from the fairfax county area (you can buy a season pass to all the PW parks for 30 dollars, i'd suggest this if you plan to play 4 or more times)

new pin locations put almost every basket behind a tree. While this might be exciting for veterans and those able to control their throws well, this is very difficult for new players.

trees, trees and more trees. if you don't have lots of disc control, expect to hit lots of trees.. only 3 holes have wide open area to shoot through (that's really not a con, but the tress sure can be)
Other Thoughts: I've played this course since around 2004 and while it's changed with upgraded baskets and other minor things, the recent pin relocations really made my head spin. the course was already challenging to me, now it's a bit too difficult, even if I use the short tee set. the tee maps show multiple pins, but each hole only has one basket currently.

this is my 'home' course, since i learned on it and it's within 10 miles of my house. it's a fun course, with lots of shade and even on busy days, it only takes about 45 minutes to complete.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.