Lorton, VA 
Pohick Bay Regional Park Share
Uploaded By: discwombat Hole #18
3 / 318ft.   3 / 318ft. Par / Distance:
Tee 18



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  much improved

5+    8/19/2011   8/19/2011
Review By: randyputt
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has undergone a major upgrade since the beginning of the year (2011). All new baskets, alternate pin positions on most holes, and long tee pads on most holes. With the long tee pads the course is much more challenging than it was before. And rotating the pin positions makes for more variety.
Cons: A compact course so not alot of room for long throws, though a few holes cross over a field so there is some open area for "airing it out." Litter sometimes is a sore point but not as bad as it used to be. It still amazes me how some people can drop their trash two feet away from an empty trash can.
Other Thoughts: This is an interesting and enjoyable course with a range of difficulty from pretty easy to fairly tough. The park staff deserves alot of credit for spending the money and doing the work to makes Pohick a very good course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Tight & short

2-4    6/25/2011   6/25/2011
Review By: FredVegasDGC
Played: 92  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 31.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: New innova baskets, new hole signs (not all 18 yet), concrete tees, ace runs, some holes short but tough. The tees are small but you don't need to run up on these holes. Lots of deuces for guys like me is fun for a change.
Cons: The only con for me was some of the tee pads were really close to the previous basket. But most holes are short with lots of trees so the chances of getting hit are slim. Some may not like the short course as too easy but I played 2 rounds of 18 and it was quick & fun.
Other Thoughts: I was impressed. It is apparent they are trying to improve this course and it is paying off. There were a good mix of players on the course today. Families & their kids, experienced players, beginners & first timers. Discs are available at the park.

I was finishing my first 18 and a guy popped an ace on #1 as I was walking towards the #1 tee pad.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 There is a reason "hick" is in the name

1    11/26/2010   1/15/2011
Review By: Acid Elvis
Played: 42  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Close parking to 1 and 18
Nice tee pads
Cons:
Other Thoughts: For some reason this course just didn't do it for me. It just had a really old feel to it. Lots of trash on the ground and I just didn't enjoy it. Burke Lake & Giles Run are down the road and I feel are much better courses. It doesn't have that welcoming feel like Burke Lake or Rockburn Branch. I know I am gonna get some backlash for this but it's just how I feel. I won't be going back.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 The Putter Course

5+    1/4/2011   1/8/2011
Review By: bboykin
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 24.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete Tee Pads. The fact that the course exists at all is a pro. Nice park.
Cons: Trash. Pohick has the most available trash cans of any course I've seen and unfortunately the most trash. I've personally pulled well over three cases worth of old beer cans/bottles out of this place, not to mention cigarette packs, etc. Unfortunate.

The place can get pretty muddy in wet weather.

Baskets are old and ragged-out...But they work, so only a minor con.
Other Thoughts: I refer to Pohick as the putter course because frankly you could easily play all 18 with your putter and probably do quite well. In fact I would highly recommend you do so.

With it's tight trails this is a great little course to learn to finesse your putters and mids. If you are one of those throwing a high-speed driver out here now is the time to rethink your game!

The tee pads are a little on the small side but they work. The distances here are short so huge run-ups aren't really necessary.

I like this course when I just want to play a quick round and experiment with putters/mids. I can easily get in 18 holes in 35 minutes here.

It's tough to honestly give this old course more than a 2.5 but I really like it for what it is. I got my first and second ace at this course, both on hole #1.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Drives me nuts

5+    9/2/2010   1/2/2011
Review By: NovaDiscHead
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 33.2 Years
Pros: Course has nice tee pads, and is fairly well maintained, with little in the way of litter. Some of the baskets have been upgraded, and more are in the plans as the local club raises funds. Additionally, the park manager is a big fan of Disc Golf, and the ranger store stocks an excellent selection of discs.
Cons: Older course, was designed for trash can lids, and not the high end plastic we toss nowadays. There's some speculation that the course may be expanded, which will help!
Other Thoughts: a technical course. If you don't mind trees, this is the place for you. Some decent hills add to the challenge.

 Short, right and wooded

1    11/21/2010   11/21/2010
Review By: prerube
Played: 249  Reviewed: 222  Exp: 10.1 Years
This review was updated on 2/12/2012
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Update: Tee pads are larger, all new Discatchers were installed.

Old Review:Concrete 4x7 tee pads.
Holes 5 and 6 would be the "signature holes" if there were any, they added some challenge to the course.
Great place for beginners.
Cons: $8 to get in the park and an additional $2 donation on the honor system at hole #1. For $10 the baskets should be superior not patchwork.Many baskets had a second row of heavy swing set chains added. Hole 1's chains were so heavy they actually push back against the disc.
Hole 3 faces the road, it seems like it needs a mando, but a mando would increase the safety issue. Hole 3 only had half as many chains as holes 1 and 2, so you get used to power putting to get through dense chains, then you can blow through on 3. 14 had a chance of hitting campers on the right.
Course clearly favors right handed throwers, most holes are dog leg left.
Other Thoughts: Course averages 183 feet per hole, but there are not as many ace runs as you would expect. Course is heavily wooded and there are enough curves to require a second or third shot.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great course!

2-4    8/1/2010   8/19/2010
Review By: Jmx600
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This was my first disc golf course I ever played. I have played several since but this one just has an extra disk since it got me hooked.

There are several technical shots, I have grown to love woods play and this course has plenty of woods. and even some challenging god leg left and rights.
Cons: Most of the T signs are faded or missing.
no multiple Pin positions
Other Thoughts: Fun course, It will give you some challenges and if you miss a fairway you won't have to hike through any thorn bushes or crazy poison ivy to find your disc.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/5/2010   5/13/2010
Review By: superphreak169
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 17.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: beautiful park some good technical holes
Cons: All the holes are short and very tight. the few field holes are the same hole played over and over 200ish feet and straigh ahead.
Other Thoughts: this is a fun course to play but the tee pads are worn down and super short to go with the short holes. the course does have a few redeming qualitys in the you will have some technical holes but i am in no way a pro and was able to shoot 2's on almost every hole.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Short, Relaxing NoVa Getaway

1    3/27/2010   3/30/2010
Review By: jaymon1
Played: 77  Reviewed: 77  Exp: 16.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Overall park, variety of hole layouts
Cons: Short teepads, mostly short holes
Other Thoughts: Pohick Bay fits in with the older NoVa courses, such as Burke Lake and Bull Run. Like those two parks, Pohick Bay Park has much to offer with camping, boating, a small water park, and nature trails, and the disc golf course is just a small part of the park's overall offering, set in a stand of woods that may have otherwise gone unused. The disc golf course, however, is short by modern standards, has concrete teepads that are also a bit short, sparse but functional signage, and older baskets with only one layer of chains.

On the plus side, Pohick does have some variety, with five holes that are not entirely in the woods, and a wide variety of shots are required in the woods - left and right fades, and even a couple of hard doglegs. One negative, however, is the lack of anything more than very minor elevation change on any hole. Overall, Pohick Bay is short, but not frustratingly so, and most beginning to intermediate players will use their drivers at least half the time, in my view. For beginning players, or players looking to improve their control, Pohick Bay is a potentially useful course, in fact, and an excellent complement to the nearby, much more advanced Giles Run. The course is a quick play that will teach you control and a variety of shots, especially mid-range shots. The course, the park, and really the whole Pohick Bay/Mason Neck region are a very nice rural enclave in the otherwise overcrowded madness of Northern Virginia, and accordingly an outing to Pohick Bay is a relaxed, quiet, easygoing affair. Just settle back, enjoy the course for what it is, and make an escape of it; Pohick Bay disc golf course is not stunning, but may be good for what ails you.

Favorite Hole - #17 - One of the longer holes on this short course fades slightly downhill and to the right, all in the woods

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Intro To Tech

2-4    1/16/2010   1/21/2010
Review By: swatso
Played: 495  Reviewed: 367  Exp: 9 Years
This review was updated on 11/19/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Minimal chance to lose a disc. Signs at teepads. Fairly easy to navigate. Mostly away from other park users.
Cons:
Single tee (small)/single basket (old, single chain). $7 to enter park. Short-n-flat - a bit muddy in places.

Update 11/19/11: Baskets have been upgraded (Discatchers, yellow-banded, double-chained). Tee pads have been upgraded (5'x10', concrete). Tee signs have been upgraded. Multiple pin-positons per hole. Most holes have multi-tees.
Proximity of neighbouring fairways still an issue on many holes.
Other Thoughts:
Course plays in the mostly-wooded corner of a multi-use park. With only fives holes >200', maxing-out at 250', and most holes having fair throwing lanes defined by moderate-sized trees, this course is good for introducing new players to (and experienced players practicing) shot-shaping. Most holes require some type of turn, with left-turns being about twice as prevalent as right turns, and more extreme in nature. Most of the right-turns are subtle and near to the basket, while most of the left-turns occur early-/mid-flight, and are sharper.

Avoid the fee by coming when the gatehouse isn't manned - visit http://www.nvrpa.org/parks/pohickbay/ for a schedule. This course serves a purpose and you can enjoy yourself here, but nearby Giles will provide much more length, openness, and challenge.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.