Lorton, VA 
Pohick Bay Regional Park Share
Uploaded By: discwombat Hole #3
3 / 195ft.   3 / 195ft. Par / Distance:
Tee 3


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 

1    10/28/2011   11/18/2011
Review By: tistoude
Played: 179  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 9.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pohick Bay is a very entertaining course that although short plays creatively through some thick woods with very little underbrush.

The baskets and tee signs looked pretty new. The signs were accurate and very dscriptive.

Quite a few holes had two tee pads, with the longer tee usually subtlety changing the angle of the hole instead of adding distance only. There are also multiple pin positions that help create a little variety.

The course is very compact but the designer tried to make the most of it. Using all available elevation, obstacles and using some mando's to make it more interesting. There is a good balance of straight, left and right turning holes. The course also starts and finishes very close to the parking lot.

This is a very fun, very fast play. You could easily crank out 18 holes in 35-45 minutes without rushing.

A great place to have an all putter round or to work on your Mids and Putters off the tee.
Cons: Very short and not too challenging. I would imagine this was originally designed for Lids but I am not sure.

Compact. I am not too sure how fun it would be to play when the course is crowded since a lot of the tees and baskets are fairly close to each other.

No other real cons the course is what it is.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun little course that would be a great beginner course, or a putter course for those more experienced. It will provide a nice technical challenge through the trees without being overly difficult with a couple of ace runs available.

The course itself is located is a nice regional park that has a lot of nice Non-Disc Golf activities. Plus there are two other courses right down the road: Burke Lake and Giles Run!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 convenient

2-4    7/24/2011   9/14/2011
Review By: VaDGer
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Convenient to camping. Nice water park right next door too! Holes well marked. Very little underbrush. Easy fun course.
Cons: Short. There was no obvious flight path on many holes. Very tight. Some of the tees are old and falling apart. Several of the signs are backwards to what is really in play.
Other Thoughts: Set up a lot like a putt-putt course but pretty nicely done with the space they had to work with.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  much improved

5+    8/19/2011   8/19/2011
Review By: randyputt
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has undergone a major upgrade since the beginning of the year (2011). All new baskets, alternate pin positions on most holes, and long tee pads on most holes. With the long tee pads the course is much more challenging than it was before. And rotating the pin positions makes for more variety.
Cons: A compact course so not alot of room for long throws, though a few holes cross over a field so there is some open area for "airing it out." Litter sometimes is a sore point but not as bad as it used to be. It still amazes me how some people can drop their trash two feet away from an empty trash can.
Other Thoughts: This is an interesting and enjoyable course with a range of difficulty from pretty easy to fairly tough. The park staff deserves alot of credit for spending the money and doing the work to makes Pohick a very good course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Tight & short

2-4    6/25/2011   6/25/2011
Review By: FredVegasDGC
Played: 92  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 31.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: New innova baskets, new hole signs (not all 18 yet), concrete tees, ace runs, some holes short but tough. The tees are small but you don't need to run up on these holes. Lots of deuces for guys like me is fun for a change.
Cons: The only con for me was some of the tee pads were really close to the previous basket. But most holes are short with lots of trees so the chances of getting hit are slim. Some may not like the short course as too easy but I played 2 rounds of 18 and it was quick & fun.
Other Thoughts: I was impressed. It is apparent they are trying to improve this course and it is paying off. There were a good mix of players on the course today. Families & their kids, experienced players, beginners & first timers. Discs are available at the park.

I was finishing my first 18 and a guy popped an ace on #1 as I was walking towards the #1 tee pad.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 There is a reason "hick" is in the name

1    11/26/2010   1/15/2011
Review By: Acid Elvis
Played: 44  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Close parking to 1 and 18
Nice tee pads
Cons:
Other Thoughts: For some reason this course just didn't do it for me. It just had a really old feel to it. Lots of trash on the ground and I just didn't enjoy it. Burke Lake & Giles Run are down the road and I feel are much better courses. It doesn't have that welcoming feel like Burke Lake or Rockburn Branch. I know I am gonna get some backlash for this but it's just how I feel. I won't be going back.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 The Putter Course

5+    1/4/2011   1/8/2011
Review By: bboykin
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 25.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete Tee Pads. The fact that the course exists at all is a pro. Nice park.
Cons: Trash. Pohick has the most available trash cans of any course I've seen and unfortunately the most trash. I've personally pulled well over three cases worth of old beer cans/bottles out of this place, not to mention cigarette packs, etc. Unfortunate.

The place can get pretty muddy in wet weather.

Baskets are old and ragged-out...But they work, so only a minor con.
Other Thoughts: I refer to Pohick as the putter course because frankly you could easily play all 18 with your putter and probably do quite well. In fact I would highly recommend you do so.

With it's tight trails this is a great little course to learn to finesse your putters and mids. If you are one of those throwing a high-speed driver out here now is the time to rethink your game!

The tee pads are a little on the small side but they work. The distances here are short so huge run-ups aren't really necessary.

I like this course when I just want to play a quick round and experiment with putters/mids. I can easily get in 18 holes in 35 minutes here.

It's tough to honestly give this old course more than a 2.5 but I really like it for what it is. I got my first and second ace at this course, both on hole #1.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Drives me nuts

5+    9/2/2010   1/2/2011
Review By: NovaDiscHead
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 33.5 Years
Pros: Course has nice tee pads, and is fairly well maintained, with little in the way of litter. Some of the baskets have been upgraded, and more are in the plans as the local club raises funds. Additionally, the park manager is a big fan of Disc Golf, and the ranger store stocks an excellent selection of discs.
Cons: Older course, was designed for trash can lids, and not the high end plastic we toss nowadays. There's some speculation that the course may be expanded, which will help!
Other Thoughts: a technical course. If you don't mind trees, this is the place for you. Some decent hills add to the challenge.

 Short, right and wooded

1    11/21/2010   11/21/2010
Review By: prerube
Played: 250  Reviewed: 222  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 2/12/2012
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Update: Tee pads are larger, all new Discatchers were installed.

Old Review:Concrete 4x7 tee pads.
Holes 5 and 6 would be the "signature holes" if there were any, they added some challenge to the course.
Great place for beginners.
Cons: $8 to get in the park and an additional $2 donation on the honor system at hole #1. For $10 the baskets should be superior not patchwork.Many baskets had a second row of heavy swing set chains added. Hole 1's chains were so heavy they actually push back against the disc.
Hole 3 faces the road, it seems like it needs a mando, but a mando would increase the safety issue. Hole 3 only had half as many chains as holes 1 and 2, so you get used to power putting to get through dense chains, then you can blow through on 3. 14 had a chance of hitting campers on the right.
Course clearly favors right handed throwers, most holes are dog leg left.
Other Thoughts: Course averages 183 feet per hole, but there are not as many ace runs as you would expect. Course is heavily wooded and there are enough curves to require a second or third shot.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great course!

2-4    8/1/2010   8/19/2010
Review By: Jmx600
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This was my first disc golf course I ever played. I have played several since but this one just has an extra disk since it got me hooked.

There are several technical shots, I have grown to love woods play and this course has plenty of woods. and even some challenging god leg left and rights.
Cons: Most of the T signs are faded or missing.
no multiple Pin positions
Other Thoughts: Fun course, It will give you some challenges and if you miss a fairway you won't have to hike through any thorn bushes or crazy poison ivy to find your disc.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/5/2010   5/13/2010
Review By: superphreak169
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 17.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: beautiful park some good technical holes
Cons: All the holes are short and very tight. the few field holes are the same hole played over and over 200ish feet and straigh ahead.
Other Thoughts: this is a fun course to play but the tee pads are worn down and super short to go with the short holes. the course does have a few redeming qualitys in the you will have some technical holes but i am in no way a pro and was able to shoot 2's on almost every hole.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.