Cattaraugus, NY 
The Land Share
Uploaded By: Phollower Hole #15
3 / 310ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
 Beautiful Land

1    8/18/2019   8/18/2019
Review By: Mookie80
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very challenging, well designed, beautiful mostly wooded course
Cons: Tee pads are uneven, a lot of holes in the ground and tree stumps that are not cut flush to the ground so it's easy to trip. End up off the fairways you will be punished
Other Thoughts: Don is a super nice guy, it's a private course by appointment ONLY. Great place to play and take in the nature

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Heart in the woods

1    8/11/2019   8/13/2019
Review By: Lachendr0
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is such a great place for a course. Winding through the woods and around the properties beautiful ponds.
The holes are difficult and fair. Tight accurate lines are required at times, but what a pleasant time we had playing the course.
Cons: Tee pads are astro turf and uneven, but functional.
Other Thoughts: Working with the land owner was a breeze and absolutely a place I hope to play again next time I travel north.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Hidden gem

5+    9/24/2018   8/8/2019
Review By: rjb4392
Played: 30  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 10.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Truly a hidden Gem in South Western New York. The entire course is very well laid out. The entire time playing it feels as if you're walking on clouds as the ground is covered in mossy fairways. The land is used very well taking multiple ponds into play and utilizing elevation that isn't prevalent in WNY.

Cons: While the course has lower end baskets, and recycled stadium turf pads, it still stands out as one of my favorite courses in the area.
Other Thoughts: Please make sure to contact Don before playing. He is one of the nicest people you will ever meet, but if you show up without calling he will tell you to leave, Does not matter how far you drove.

Do not bring glass bottles to the course. And the course is carry in carry out.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 The Land May 2017

2-4    5/27/2017   6/17/2017
Review By: Wolfman'sBrother
Played: 57  Reviewed: 2
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Par System, Fairways, Cleanliness, Scenery, Course Design, Owners/Vibes

Par System: Scoring is challenging and fair. As far as I can tell, shooting Par on most holes at The Land is equivalent to shooting 'One Under' on other courses. Per Don, it was designed this way intentionally. It's fun to play where par is the standard instead of a bride. Consistency is favored over aggression, but you will be tempted (see hole 9).

Fairways: Fairways are clearly defined and force controlled and accurate shots. Fairways are wide in most places (without being too wide) and require player to 'shape' their shots. 'Spray and pray' style shots will be punished. Once you're off the fairway, you'll find a literal forest of trees but there is little to no brush or bramble so losing a disc is pretty unlikely.

Cleanliness: Course is essentially empty of waste. No cigarette butts, no beer cans. Pristine.

Scenery: Course is in the woods! Legitimately in the woods, not just a wooded section of a town park. Lends a sense of adventure, it's kinda like hiking, expect no one else is on the trail. No worrying about hitting clueless bystanders. Ponds are beautiful and stocked with fish.

Course Design: Each hole is challenging and unique, the course doesn't feel repetitive as it goes on. No head scratching "why did they...?" designs. Holes bend in both right and left directions. Both forehand and backhand shots are encouraged. The course makes practical use of 'truck paths' without seeming uninspired. Course layout is very player friendly but not necessarily beginner friendly as it was built with the intention to challenge more advanced players.

Owners/Vibes: Don is an excellent host and top notch guide. Wasn't sure what to expect pulling into a stranger's driveway and Don showed me a great morning.

Cons: Location, Private, Tee Pads, Signage, Mach 2 Baskets

Location: You are going to be way out there in Southern Tier Country! Which is really cool but for most of us this will be a destination course (and one you should put on your list!) rather than an after work affair. Pack a lunch/drinks, there is no 7/11 at the end of the block.

Private: This course invite only. You'll need to call ahead to make a tee time but this turns out to be a great trade off (See Pro's above).

Tee Pads: Many tee pads were created using AstroTurf sourced from a local football field. Although a great gesture, they are prone to being uneven and slippery when wet. I found it challenging to drive off some of the tee pads (hole 18 comes to mind). Certain holes did not have tee pads when I played and it can get muddy/somewhat dangerous if you slip. Wear boots/be smart. This con is an easy trade off to make for the pros above.

Signage: I didn't notice any traditional signage. However, there is neon electrical tape on each basket pointing towards the next hole and it's not all that confusing once you get an idea of the property. After playing my first round, I navigated my second without issue.

Mach 2 Baskets: Not my personal favorite; but like with the tee pads, let's not look a gift horse in the mouth here.

Other Thoughts: It was really a privilege to play the 'The Land'. Hats off to Don on a great course. Although The Land is still in its infancy, as the course continues to develop I think it will become a destination among the community once the word gets out. Personally, I don't think it's a stretch to imagine touring players making a stop over after tournaments in OH or Pittsburgh. Of course, concert pads and tee signs would really put 'The Land' on another level but honestly, it's hard too be to critical given that The Land is privately maintained on personal proprietary. In fact, it's immaculately well kept given these circumstances.

If you're invited to play (and I hope you get to), please be respectful of the property and considerate to the owners. They've chosen to open this course up to us because they enjoy hosting players to share in what they've created. It's an incredibly generous offer, let's be generous in return.

Can't wait to play again!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A unique & serene experience

1    4/30/2017   4/30/2017
Review By: Majestic12
Played: 65  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 7.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This deep & technical forest course situated on a magnificent piece of land features some big holes and beautiful landscapes

The owner of the farm is a well-spoken gentleman named Don who took the time to go for a stroll with me & show the way

Expect a handful of long, very tough holes, a couple of water hazards and some daunting tunnel shots & guarded baskets

This course's location in the rolling farmlands of Amish country makes for some nice driving & plenty of fresh air
Cons: Buggy (pack your spray!)

Out-of-the-way location (maybe not such a con...)
Other Thoughts: Gratefully played.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Lots of Trees!

2-4    9/9/2016   9/15/2016
Review By: rontho3
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Beautiful, but tough course. Very tight through trees for a duffer like me. Such a great setting, we didn't even bother to keep score.
Cons: Sometimes difficult to find the basket.
Other Thoughts: The owners are wonderful. We played both times with Don, the owner. The second time his wife walked along, too. Great people! He even went for a swim after one of my many errant discs!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course

2-4    9/11/2016   9/14/2016
Review By: jimbatterson
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Long, challenging with good mix of up-hills and down-hills, a few open throws and two water holes that can be thrown around if you are afraid to throw across.
Although there are a lot of trees, the fairways are wide enough for a skilled player. I wish I were one.
Cons: The trees play tough defense.
Often cannot see the targets from the tee because the fairway curves through the woods. Don, the owner, played with us, otherwise we would have had occasional trouble finding the next hole or the baskets.
Other Thoughts: Private course so you have to email ahead. Owner is delightful old guy who loves to play and, if you are lucky, will play a round with you and help you find the tees and baskets.
Played with 4 friends and the course owner. I think we all doubled par, but not sure because we stopped keeping score early on. Very enjoyable after that.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  

2-4    9/5/2016   9/9/2016
Review By: ReMix
Played: 34  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 9/20/2016
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great piece of land for a DG course.
-The course navigates mostly through the woods, but contains 2 open pond holes that change the pace and allow it to "breathe". The parts of the course through the woods contain many trees, however the fairways are defined and wide enough to comfortably throw shaped shots through as well as offer a clear/easy path for walking.
-There is no OB (besides the ponds and a roped off garden area) but the "punishment" for landing off the fairway is enough to add a few strokes if you can't creatively navigate your way back onto the fairway.
-Very well maintained and little to no brush to lose discs in
-Scorecards provided
-Sneaky elevation - gives another wrinkle to the shot but not severe enough to make walking the course unpleasant.
-Owners/atmosphere are nothing shy of great for a day of discin'
Cons: -The course is in the country and there isn't much food/drink in the area. Come prepared if you plan on playing more than one round. (however, this is good to keep the course quiet and non-congested.
-Tee signs only contain hole number and distance. With a course of this nature a snapshot of the hole shape is required.(with the course being so new, I am sure these are on the way)
Other Thoughts: -The course is geared more towards experienced players as you will need good distance and ability to shape your shots down the fairways. Beginners could still enjoy the course since the fairways are wide enough to off some degree of error (but not much).

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Top Notch New Course

1    9/3/2016   9/9/2016
Review By: toddnick
Played: 65  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 1.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Lots of elevation change
- Nice mix of shorter and longer holes
- Lots of wooded holes but with pretty clear lines
- A few holes where water can come into play
- Nice bathroom by parking lot
- Excellent baskets
- Course maps/scorecards available
- A few chances to air it out along with tighter wooded holes
- Some interesting/challenging basket placements
- Immaculate, no litter/trash anywhere
Cons: - No tee pads
- Tee markers are basic
- A bit confusing following the layout in a few spots
Other Thoughts: Don (the owner of this private course) walked the whole course with my girlfriend and I; got the whole grand tour of this wonderful property. This course is a great addition to the Western New York disc golf scene. Can't wait to play it again.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  

1    7/18/2016   8/18/2016
Review By: Clinton Eastland
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Beautiful. It has long holes through a gorgeous forest with a couple of ponds that come into play. It's a very nice course that is fun to play. I highly recommend giving it a try. Thanks Scuba Steve!!
Other Thoughts: Play is by appointment only. This is private, and a tee time must be established before showing up to play.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.