Yadkinville, NC 
Yadkin County Park Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #3 (Taken 3/2013)
3 / 243ft.   3 / 243ft.   3 / 243ft.   3 / 243ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
A new and changed man

1    5/13/2019   5/13/2019
Review By: Bennybennybenny
Played: 158  Reviewed: 153  Exp: 8.7 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -A friend on facebook recommended that I play here, and I was working in Huntersville and thought that today would be a great day to do it since I'm only an hour away from Yadkinville. I made a great decision, this course is awesome. I heard that it was recently redesigned and a couple new holes (19 and 20) were added, making this a 20 hole gem. It's a great balance between open/wooded, has great elevation, and is quite forgiving.

-There isn't a hole here that is bad in my opinion. I think it starts off pretty simple with a few short holes. Hole 4 was in the 402' position when I played and it's a very tough par 3 that I would consider the first big highlight on the course. The tee shot is fun and requires good accuracy to navigate through the woods after about 300'. The green is spectacular! Hole 5 is another decent hole and once you get to hole 6, this course really becomes a sensation!

-I saw on the media that this used to be a par 54 course. Not anymore. With the extra two holes, par is 64 meaning that there are four par 4's and they all were a blast to play. #11 and 17 especially. Both are awesome valley shots that are more backhand friendly. #17 is a beast of a par 4. There's a split fairway that gets tight. The basket is to the left back steep uphill.

-Elevation is very well used on this new layout. #6 is the same from what I saw on the media, so if you've played here then you still get to play this gem of a hole. And there's FIVE pin positions. The one I played today was certainly the best being perched on a rock wall. #7 is a big uphill par 4, oddly shaped fairway that takes you out into the open. Real challenge, but plenty of space. The new hole 9 is a joy to play too, and there are a few valley shots that bring shock on the back nine.

-Fairway variety. I hardly ever sidearm, and I threw plenty of them today. This is a good course to practice your sidearms. I started off on hole 1 throwing a few sidearms just to get some practice, and #13 for is a difficult low ceiling hole that has an unfavorable backhand route, making it better to flick this hole. It needs a few overhead branches cut down but by the time they are cut, this will be a great flick hole. The last two holes turn strictly right and left and they both are next to a creek. Scary.

-So many alternate pins on some of the holes (read cons below)! I think more than one hole here had FIVE pins. That's insane. I haven't seen five before. I can see why many tournaments are held here.

-Concrete Tee-pads are poured and there is hole info on every hole.

-There are stairs when you need them. This course is steep in some places so it's great that a lot of work has been put in already for this new layout. Oh, there are benches too.
Cons: -None of the new holes have alternate pins, and I don't know if there is any intention for alt. pins. I hope there is, because I believe as a disc golfer that there are a million holes ready for design and there are so many great opportunities for different pin placements. I think a couple of the par 4s could have even longer pins that turn the holes into beasts.

-Some of the tee areas are quite muddy. I have a long runup; I don't start on the pad (who does?) and I had a couple of shanks because the mud on my shoes got me to slip a bit. A couple of the pads were kinda small too. #16 in particular.

-Hole 3 is kind of a filler. Wide open 243' putter shot. If it's very windy then the road could possibly be a factor but it most likely won't. You won't be too overwhelmed until you at least get to hole 6, well maybe with hole 4.
Other Thoughts: -Some people were upset about the redesign and I don't see why. Is it because it's still pretty raw? Does it seem pointless that the course changed? Some courses I have played have changed a lot and while I may have loved the course from the start, I typically am even happier with the changes. I guess I'm just the kind of guy that loves to see the different options come to life. I sadly never played the course before it changed, but I'll bet there were some changes here that were more favorable. And besides, you still get to play #6 and #18! Two great downhill shots that make disc golf exciting.

-I thought the course was okay after hole 3, and was solid after hole 5. It really had me jumping up and down on hole 6. Hole 7 seemed innocent being only 432' long. You have to throw a left to right tee shot and hope you are in line for an easy shot out of the woods. Holes 8 and 9 were more about placement and timing since they are shorter and a bit tighter. The next three (#10-12) are all somewhat difficult at the least. #12 is a tough par 3. It's down a wide enough but still pretty tight fairway for 340', making sure you'll pay if you mess up. The accuracy game continues for the rest of the round and the main test would be on #17, #19 and #20. #18 still allows accuracy, but is more forgiving and is more about throwing a few and enjoying the view.

-I loved this course and want to go back soon and take my friends there. When you get here, make sure you pull into the ymca. Your GPS might tell you to go further. Hopefully the ymca in Gastonia will have a course someday too, it has plenty of space.

-This layout is new, and if you want to know more about it or have particular questions, just PM me.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Too Many Cooks in the KItchen?

5+    6/3/2016   6/4/2016
Review By: BuzzSharpe
Played: 75  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 49.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Equipment-wise, Yadkin is as good as and better than any course I've played. Though the DISCatchers are beginning to show their age, they are still solid, sightable, functional and fine, including the practice basket, well placed in a wide open area to give ample space for differing distances of tosses, both up-sloped and down-sloped.
The perhaps PERFECTLY poured tee pads, with their in-laid tile numbers are 5+. Except for just a couple limited by topography, they are all more than adequate with ample 12' length and 5' width. Number 6, and perhaps a couple of others are shorter, due to level land limitations. Excellent erosion controlling ground bolted steps down the steep drop in front of the #6 pad make up for the shorter tee, which is still more than adequate and as or more spacious than many pads on other similarly aged courses.
Number six was the first of very few tees without a bench. With the length of the course and the mostly upward elevation changes on so many of the holes, benches are a very welcomed amenity, especially for those of us in the upper age divisions. Yadkin will let you know that you are in the foothills of The Appalachian Mountains. The design makes great use of the hills and valleys within this park primarily due to the creek gurgling and babbling throughout the layout, which only adds to the natural beauty and challenge of the course, as it's not a disc disappearing water body, except maybe immediately following heavy or prolonged rainfall or snowmelt and there are ample foot bridges and fords for traversing it.
Along with the good use of elevations, the design well incorporates the flora to give a variety of directional variances, as well as a more than mundane mix of wide, wide open holes, some of which really allow you to let it fly to tighter and more technical wooded holes and tree guarded greens. As for the fairways in the forest, they are all well defined and more than fair. If you do land outside the wooded fairways, you may have some timber through which to chop your way and occasionally some tree trash with which to contend, but little or no briers, brambles or underbrush. Though hole to hole distances are not greatly different, elevation effected effective lengths, coupled with the differing foliage densities and directional differentials will mandate a wide variety of disc selection and throwing styles and stances.
Back to the highly appreciated benches...they are of various styles and structures and occasionally come in pairs, perhaps for smoking/non-smoking or toking/non-toking. Some tee areas, like #1 and original #1 are exquisitely landscaped. Though this doesn't affect functionality, it does add an eye appealing additional aesthetic to the course.
Trash cans are spread throughout the layout and an Eagle Scout recently installed bag holders at each tee. There is a shelter/players' pavilion at the start/finish area. And perhaps our favorite amenity are the ship steps on #17.
Signage is illustrative and informative. Tee sign color connotes that this is a very solid White level course, on which beginners can learn the various aspects of the sport, while also being a tasking challenge for advanced and pro level players. There is also a very illustrative and informative course overview sign. With all of the many alternate pin positions, it does resemble the rendering of an acid inspired artist. More on that in a moment.
Overall, Yadkin County Park is a grand, superbly maintained recreational area, with a variety of features, including an adjoining nine hole 'wilderness' course that utilizes this course's original tone poles with straight down chains as targets, ball field, soccer pitch, playground, picnic shelters, hiking trails, restrooms and water fountains, a Veterans' Memorial and adjacent YMCA with outdoor swimming pool.
Even its almost immediate access from and to the freeway is a big, positive Pro, as are the nearby rooms, restaurants and retailers just a couple of miles to the west.
Cons: The multiple pin positions. Not dual, or even triple, but up to six, which is, I'm sorry, ridiculous, especially when there is one hole for which a second pin placement couldn't (?) be found. The last time I was at Yadkin was right after the tee signs had been installed. I worried aloud that the markers on the signs denoting present pin placement could be easily stolen or moved to a false position. I'm happy to say that all markers were there yesterday, though one was improvised. Only two seemed out of phase, so to speak and one was sort of positioned between two positions. When I asked several years ago about alternating the positions, I was informed that there wouldn't necessarily be specific layouts that would be alternated in some timely matter, like at Cedarock or Southern Community, but would be a fluctuating mishmash of different holes being set in differing alphabet letter positions. This was clearly evident yesterday, with pins in positions A through F.
For variety's and erosion control's sake, I have always greatly advocated for alternate pin placements, as long as it can be done sensibly and safely. Though I see little safety issues involved, except maybe with 3C and where the safety net has been hung behind 10's tee, having up to six different pins is at least a bit nonsensical. I can only imagine that when the subject of alternate pin placements came up some years back, there were just too many differing, overly opinionated opinions on where a second and MAYBE a third position should be, the present 'solution' was deemed and decided to be what would be, as a collegial compromise. Of course, compromise is generally the solution that solves nothing. Having so many choices for greens placement IS unique in my experience, if not confusing and time consuming.
There were just a couple of spots where some limbing/trimming would be good, particularly #10, where a broken, hanging limb with many offshoot branches basically blocked the fairway. I don't detract for that one, as I'm sure that that will be remedied in short order.
The Pros FAR outweigh the Cons at Yadkin and it is a truly excellent disc golf experience, bordering on phenomenal or even being one of the best of the best.

Other Thoughts: Yadkin has long held a special spot in my heart, as it was here that I played well enough in a tournament to actually win something for the first time, in its early, early days of the tone poles with the straight down chains being the targets for this course, which began on current #14 and ended on present day eleven. And it was at the pool, where I wore my skimpy silver Speedo, to make it with the woman wearing the skimpiest two piece bikini.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Variety Pack

1    9/20/2015   9/20/2015
Review By: nevets4433
Played: 59  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 7.8 Years
This review was updated on 10/22/2015
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course starrted out so innocently. 5 holes out in the field that lured me in. I thought I was in for a easy walk in the park, and then the woods happened. For a course whose average hole length doesn't have much variety, this place has a ton of variety in the shots that are required. Some holes are way out in the open and let you grip it and rip, whereas others are deliate tosses through some diabolical woods. The elevation changes are often very dramatic.

It felt like this course really got started on number 6. The throw down that hill into the woods amost seemed symbolic in retrospect, it was like the course designer wanted you to feel like you were taking a trip down to a different place. I loved the transitions from open to woods on this course because it always felt like something new was around the corner.

Tees here are ample concrete. Signs are excellent, and display all of the potential hole positions, which sometimes include A-F! They also clearly mark the position in play on that day. This further expands on the variety here, as it seems this place could play completely differently on different days. Some positions looked like great birdie opportunities, while others on the same hole could play to a completely different location and probably play an entire shot higher vs par.

Surrounding park was surprisingly nice. There was ample parking, a practice basket, a nice course map and kiosk. OB roads were clearly marked on hole signs, and nice wooden arrows either on trees or on the baskets pointed golfers to the next hole. The mando on hole 2, which is a great idea to keep play away from #1's basket, is easily visible and has a permanently marked drop zone. A lot of the little things have been considered here. There are also benches every few holes and bag hooks on most tees.

The terrain is intimidating. A walk around this place is actually a workout with the amount of hills crossed. The course designer made great use of it. Even the small creek is used very thoughtfully to frame some of the green complexes and fairways.

I thought the green on #6 that was up on the hill with the stone wall surrounding it was really fun to play to.

The net up blocking hole 10's tee was really smart considering the blind nature of the teeshot off of 9. It is nice to see courses keeping safety in mind.

There is an extra 9 hole "Outback" loop after hole 8. It plays to tonal poles and is a more tight, technical loop that seems to be a bit of a nature walk. It is a separate course that plays very differently, but is nice to have on site.
Cons: Only a few here. Some of the terrain is a bit rough, and it is easy to get feet snagged on roots so keep an eye out for that.

I noticed a few of the tee boxes, noteably 6 and 7, were shorter than the rest and really kept me from having ample runups on those pads.

The other issue I had with the pads is a lot of them have sharp dropoffs at the front. Most are long enough where that isn't an issue, but a few made me a bit hesitant.
Other Thoughts: This is a really fun course. It doesn't get much hype in the region, but it probably deserves a bit more.

Be sure to check out "The Outback," a very different 9 hole course available on site. Look for it just left of the 9th tee.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Perfect mix of Open and Wooded

1    10/13/2014   7/3/2015
Review By: pmay5
Played: 160  Reviewed: 102  Exp: 16.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great tee signs, possibly the best I've seen. Great long tee pads, especially on the long open holes. Lots of variety available with multiple basket positions on all holes. Great elevation variety, the course starts on a ridge, crosses a stream valley to another ridge line, then some holes in the valley and back up to finish on the original ridge line.

Almost a perfect mix of open and wooded holes, also features uphill and downhill holes. #13 is a great hole, in the wooded valley section, tee is partly up the hill, fairway goes down and left around the hillside with the stream guarding the right side. Gave me that "How the hell am I supposed to ..." feeling.

Dedicated part of this multi-use park, does not look like there would be any others on the course, except for an occasional dog walker. It is very easy to get to, off 421 between Boone and Winston-Salem. So if you are in the area playing Ashe County or the Wilkesboro courses, this one is worth your time. Half the holes will give you a chance to air it out.

From the tee signs and great course shape, you can tell the local club takes great care of this course. Even saw a couple of guys moving a basket when I was finishing.
Cons: No restrooms or drinks available at the parking lot, but there is a Community Center building at the entrance and ball fields throughout that probably provide those, when in use.

No other cons for this one!
Other Thoughts: In addition to the great #13, after airing it out on 8 and especially 9, #10 brings another challenge. Mostly open, but with a line of trees that you have to pick a line around. Left, right ? definitely more than one way to play this one. #18 is a real good finishing hole, after the steep uphill #17 (and a steep walk up to 18 tee), you are back up on the ridge, in full view of the basket and parking lot. While mostly open, you can find trouble on this one if you aren't down the middle.

With benches on most tees, great tee pads, great signs, landscaping and multiple basket positions, this would be a very fun everyday course. Plus, it can be lengthened to provide any challenge for a tournament. Throw in the easy to get to factor and this is a must play!!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Love this course

2-4    10/12/2014   11/11/2013
Review By: luckless_pedestrian
Played: 40  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/13/2014
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great mix of terrain. Not too many wooded holes, not too many open.

Great signage and navigation

Different pin placements will make it a great place to return to.

EDIT: The Outback! There's a great little 9-hole loop after #9 that goes through some very tight fairways and has tone poles instead of baskets. Super fun.
Cons: The tee signs need to tell you which position the basket is in. A lot of times we had to eliminate the ones that it obviously couldn't be and figure, "it must be B for this hole."

EDIT: Not sure if we missed it last year or what but the signs actually DO tell you the placement. And that's one of the best features of the course, the multiple pin placements on every hole.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course. If you make your shots, you will score well. It's great to see an established course like this that really gets used. We played on a busy, beautiful (though kind of windy) Sunday afternoon and everyone we met was friendly and cool. As we were about to head into the woods on Hole 5 a guy said, the next few holes will blow your mind, man. Not quite true, but I applaud the sentiment. Hole 5 will break your leg if you go off the front of the teepad, though.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

2-4    6/22/2013   6/23/2013
Review By: YoMambaSoFly
Played: 22  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.7 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well manicured course, nice tee pads, great scenery, fairly easy to navigate. Had lots of fun playing and was definitely challenging without being absurdly challenging. Shot a 51 first round, not too shabby!!!
Cons: It would be nice if pin placements were posted each time they are changed, don't get me wrong I love the multiple pin placements but maybe if there was a way to mark the signage as to what pins are used at each hole just to make a round flow a little smoother. Like a little magnet on each sign over the used pin placement since some holes have up to five pin placements?
Other Thoughts: Gonna hit it again tomorrow!!!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course

1    9/1/2012   9/1/2012
Review By: BraveThrower43
Played: 465  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 8.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/28/2016
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The biggest thing this course has going for it is the mix of open and wooded holes. it is well balanced in that way.

It was in no way hard to navigate and it was always pretty obvious where the next tee was or where the basket was.

There are multiple basket locations which means this course can be set up differantly every time(not all sunshine here though see cons)

Very beautiful park.

A nice not too overwelming use of elevation.

Teesigns were very nice as well as the teepad and they were always accurate with which position was being used.

benches on every hole.
Cons: Well as I said in the pros this course has many options to play which can be good if the options are safe ones. several of the new positions (which I assume have been added over the years to add difficulty) seem to mess with the flow of the course and can cause safety isses. For example when hole 1 is in the longest position you must double back down either 1's or 2's fairway to get to 2's teepad. as far as danger hole 5 longs best option is to throw right over the top of hole 3's basket and hole 17's basket is not very far away if you RHBH hyzer out early thus causing many issues.

Several of the holes could use a little high limb trimming



Other Thoughts: This course was fun and I feel that if it were in other set ups than it was when I played it I may have given it a higher review. However with the dangers and issues I saw with those few holes it made me dock it a half point or so.


Still I would recommend anyone to go out of there way to play this one as it was very fun. A great 1 2 combo with Highland hills

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  FUN START

2-4    8/4/2012   8/6/2012
Review By: DC Bombsquad
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/10/2012
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Good Mix of open and wooden holes.
-Elevation changes were ok. Would like a few more.
-Great course to get Hooked on Disc Golf with.
-Starts off easier and gets harder as you go.
-Multiple pin locations make playing it each time a new adventure.
Cons: -Water buckets would be nice.
-Practice basket would be nice to warm up on.
-Watch out for posion ivy, and mosquitos!
Other Thoughts: Great course to get started and hooked on disc golf too. Shaved 6 throws off my score from the first to the second round.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    7/1/2011   7/4/2011
Review By: Plankeye
Played: 40  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 19.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/6/2012
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -YCP is an 18 hole course where several holes have multiple pin placements. It is possible that you could play a round in the morning with the baskets in one position and a second round in the afternoon with the baskets in a different position.
-Most of the holes have some sort of elevation change with a mixture of uphill and downhill holes.
-The course plays about 50/50 with open and wooded shots. The open holes are made more difficult as baskets are strategically placed to bring trees into play. Several holes that are in the woods are even more challenging as the baskets are placed near an OB creek that runs through the course.
-The teepads are long and fairly wide. There is a tile inlay with the hole number at the back of the tee pad. While several of the tee pads are not flush with the ground, the pads are long enough where most golfers will not need to start their runup from off the pad. There are benches at most of the holes.
-The course is in the county park with a playground, "beach" volleyball courts and wide open spaces for other activities. This course is seperate from these other amenities so you shouldn't run into any issues with people using the park for other reasons.
-The course flows pretty well for the most part. There is only one or two places where it is not obvious where the next teepad is. However each basket has an arrow attached which points you in the general direction of the next teepad.
-Teesigns are now at each hole. Since most holes have multiple pin positions, there is a little clip to tell you which hole location the basket is in.
Cons: -Depending on the hole location, most of the holes can be completed in three throws or less if you can stay in the fairway. Some of the longer holes are more in the 3.5 range.
Other Thoughts: Most scenic hole is 9. The tee is at the highest point of the course with a wide open view of the southern skyline.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A great course

5+    8/9/2010   11/15/2010
Review By: mcleanclan
Played: 10  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 10.7 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A great course. A great variation. Straight. Turns. Left. Right. Long. Short. Open. Tight. It's a great game builder. I learned to play for the first time here and have played it lots and lots. Now that there are concrete tees... wow! I haven't even played it yet, but I can't wait. Great job on the tees, Yadkinville Club (and Grigg)! I am very proud to have Yadkin as my second home course.
Cons: Age has worn some fairways, but to be 14 years old, she's in great shape. Not having a set pin placement, who knows what course you are ever going to play, but that could be a challenge to the course in itself. No other cons.
Other Thoughts: Love the course. Moreso love the great players and friends that keep it up and play it daily. It's a great group of guys. The guys who welcomed me into the course the first day I ever played and invited back to a tourney. Jamie Arnold and Ben Porter were there that day.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.