Yadkinville, NC 
Yadkin County Park Share
Uploaded By: DiscGolfCraig Hole #9
3 / 275ft.   3 / 275ft.   3 / 275ft.   3 / 275ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
1 2 3 4 Next >
 

1    5/23/2009   5/26/2009
Review By: DiscGolfCraig
Played: 314  Reviewed: 308  Exp: 15.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/6/2017
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is like a boiling pot of water. It starts out really slow, but by the time you're done, it's got you hooked full-force.
- Good variety of holes. Some of the wooded holes are tight, but they're still fair. Instead of pulling out the driver, and risking going deep into the woods, throwing a mid-range disc twice will get you to the basket for your par.
- Elevation changes present real challenge on several holes- notable #6, 7, 16 & 17.
- Course puts a higher premium on accuracy than length. On some holes, make sure your approach shots land real soft and/or don't go long, or your disc may roll a long ways away.
- I can see how this course grows on players. There's some obvious problems with the course (see below), but once you get familiar with everything, it'd be easy to only focus on the good things the course has to offer.
Cons: The beginning of the course is disappointing compared to the rest of the course. I can see why so many people talk highly about the course, but they're clearly focusing on the last 10 holes, and ignoring the first 8. In the first 8 holes, you have too many open holes (with little or no trees in play) that present little challenge. It wasn't until the long, downhill #9 that I finally felt the true taste of the course.
- Dirt tee pads are really poor. Too much lose gravel makes it hard to get good footing. To give the course it's due justice, #11 is a paved tee. I guess it's baby steps.
- No tee signs presented several problems: not knowing where the basket was, not knowing the hole distance, and not always knowing where the next hole was.
Commenting on this problem in order On several holes I had to walk almost all the way to the hole to see the basket or know which basket was for that hole due to seeing multiple baskets on the tee. You can usually estimate distances pretty good, but it's frustrating throwing 50 feet short (or long) because you think the hole is about 250 feet instead of 300 (or vice versa). It was difficult spotting the next tee after several holes, either due to not being seen or seeing several tee pads.
Other Thoughts: This really felt like 2 courses in one. 1 - 8 felt like the appetizer and 9 - 18 were the real-deal main course. If the first 8 holes were as good as the last 10, it'd be one of the best courses around. Instead, I felt a little disappointed because I didn't get the whole thing.
- I'd rate holes 1 - 8 a 2.5, and 9 - 10 a solid 3.5 - 4. For regulars at the course, the lack of tee signs is probably not a big deal, but for a first time player, like I was, or the very infrequent player, it's a hindrance.
- My 2 favorite holes were #9 and #12. #9 is a long, downhill hole, #12 a tighter s-curve through the woods. They're two different types of holes, but they both show what the course has to offer.
- The course is an hour north of Charlotte, and it's a trip worth taking for anyone in the area.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 A+ = Top Shelf!

5+    7/23/2007   4/26/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 386  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 25.1 Years
7 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up (in the long configuration):
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- A+ (For a par-3 course there is perfect balance of early trouble and late trouble)
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- A+ (The only hole I don't have high hopes of deuce opportunity is such a unique and spectacular hole that it does not matter....I forget the hole number. The rest are a perfect variation to match my style and taste. So many of the holes are hard enough that birdies will not happen without perfect execution.)
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- A+ (As good as it gets with a perfect variety of shapes, tunnels, up, down, etc.)
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- A (Almost perfect....beautiful, quite and most of the course feels quite secluded )
5) Bonus amount for multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- N/A

The addiction factor is sky high on this course for me!
Cons: None that are important to me.
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me....that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

7 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Yadkin

5+    9/11/2008   1/21/2009
Review By: _.-Dut-._
Played: 79  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 20.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-Great use of elevation
-Multiple pin locations
-Beautiful park
-Great variety of shots
-Challenging OB lines next to creek
-Great locals
Cons:
-Some of the teepads are worn
-First time can be tricky to navigate
Other Thoughts: This course offers a great selection of open air to tight technical wooded shots. Lots of elevation thru the course and is very well taken care of and clean. Great course with great locals, a must play.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Pit Stop...

1    1/8/2009   1/9/2009
Review By: tomschillin
Played: 196  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 24.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great use of the land provided, while there is plenty more land surrounding to expand, the use of the creek on 10-14, the up and down hills throughout, the tunnel shots both right and left turns...it's a really fun little technical course. It's kinda short, which is good for my short arm. There are lots of benches to relax on and nice DisCatcher baskets. I really enjoyed 6 (tight down-hill through thick woods with a creek in play behind the basket). Although it is a short course, there are a few (maybe 3) holes that you can really rip it (5 & 18 for sure). 18 especially is a nice way to finish off the round, starts on the top of a hill and follows the wood line down to the creek finishing maybe 400 feet from tee with about a 40-50 elevation drop...not a lot of traffic to this course it seems, which i definitely consider a pro...and course navigation was relatively easy for us first-timers, it's a kind of double loop type layout...kinda...
Cons: The tee pads sucked, there was one concrete and the rest were some asphalty gravel mix that had been raked or maintained at all. THERE ARE NO SIGNS, at all...not even one at the beginning of the course letting you know that the course is there. I didn't notice any facilities at the park, although I'm sure there were somewhere, just not near the course.
Other Thoughts: It's 90 seconds off the highway, literally, and it's almost the halfway point between Raleigh and Boone, so it's a great way to stretch out the legs while driving to the slopes! If this course added some tee pads and signs i would definitely rate it a 4...my short arm and I had a blast...

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    11/12/2008   11/12/2008
Review By: Mando
Played: 116  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 12.6 Years
This review was updated on 2/16/2009
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The middle of the course is wooded with a small creek running through it. The wooded half of the course has great holes with good flow. I love #6 !
You can re-load at your car midway through the round which is always a plus. Easily accessible from 1-77 and a great pit stop on a road trip. Strong disc golf community. Seldom crowded.
Nice blend of open and wooded holes.
Cons: The open holes are just ok design-wise in my book. Cedar trees are scattered around the open holes eat discs, but there is long bamboo stick to help retrieve them.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Course Amongst Many in Yadkin Co.

5+    11/9/2008   11/12/2008
Review By: Tyson
Played: 61  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 18.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is course is in my top 5-10 in the state. Open and wooded mix. perfect fairways, well manicured. Yadkin Co. loves disc golf and it shows with this gem. Yadkin Co. is the only county in NC with more disc gofl courses than ball golf courses. There are 4 outstanding courses, 3 of which are private. This course has Innova Disccathers, on every hole, mulitple pin placesments, very good layout and a 54 is a good score. Not much else to ask for.
Cons: Not much to say here.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the orginal disc golf hot beds and there is a few old pole holes throughout the course (that arent in play) but are there to show the history of the sport. Great touch and locals are the best I have ever met.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.