Santa Fe, NM 
Arroyo Chamisos DGC Share
Uploaded By: RocCityDiscer Hole #10 (Taken 5/2009)
4 / 390ft.   4 / 627ft.   4 / 756ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Fun Desert Setting

1    6/11/2017   6/18/2017
Review By: jdog17
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Some variation between shots
-Crosses a wash, so exotic if you aren't from the southwest
-Alt tees on every shot
-Back 9 has some interesting uphill shots that leave the wash and go into a relatively grassy area
-Considered a "2.5" rating but I think our experience was less-than-optimal due to weekend walking/biking traffic

Cons: -A little hard to follow, although feasible with a map
-Crosses and recrosses a bike path, so there are a fair number of people who A) you might hit and B) look at you like your a weirdo
-A big skate park is being poured behind the Rec Center and it seems to have overtaken one of the baskets (can't remember number but somewhere between 8 and 12)
-Couldn't find a bathroom, although there was a porta-potty being used by the construction workers
-The area is shared with a bike path, and people walk through the wash itself; would recommend on weekdays rather than weekends
Other Thoughts: Played this on a fine, temperate, sunny morning with a bit of gusty wind. I liked this course and would play it again, so rated it a "3" but it had several downsides. It was somewhat hard to navigate, although we had a map. Mainly this was because hole #1 was hard to find, and it could be hard to locate the alt tees (which were black rubber). This may have been operator error, but of all the courses we played on our trip (Grindstone, Brent Baca, Sunrise Terrace, Show Low) this was definitely the most difficult to follow ... although certainly not poorly marked. The second issue was the sage-colored, scrub plant life, which generally sat around 2-3 feet high and blanketed much of the course. Finding discs was more difficult than I expected, and more difficult than on other courses. The third issue - and this may have been because we played on the weekend - was the numerous non-frolfers. We were the only ones playing the course, but there was a lot of bike and walking traffic. They gave us funny looks and more than once made comments (?) as they either biked through the course (a paved bike path is in the middle of a lot of shots) or walked through the wash. I'm sure they were confused, as it's not really obvious that you are in a disc golf course. Some of the tees (pro tees) were on the bike path.

In addition, a big (and very cool-looking) skate park is being built in the middle of the course on one side of the wash behind the Rec Center. Construction appears to have subsumed one of the baskets. We used a tire nearby as our basket. The construction workers were really nice, but you do have to be careful as they are laying concrete ... although that shouldn't last too much longer.

Otherwise, there were a few holes, especially on the back nine, that were fun, uphill shots. Maybe it's a better course if you are a pro.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

AC/DGC

1    10/6/2015   11/1/2015
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 324  Reviewed: 215  Exp: 14.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Arroyo Chimasos DGC is a good course with enough challenge and variety to keep you on your toes. The course is set along either side of an arroyo behind Chavez Recreational Center. There are 18 holes with a couple of par 4's. Can play 9 hole layout by going directly from basket on hole 5 to tee for hole 15. The dessert landscape has plenty of open airspace on the fairways, featuring mostly short to medium height brush and evergreens, and a couple of taller trees. There are multiple tees, longs are concrete with signs and shorter tees are rubber mats, with a couple on the paved walking path next to the arroyo. The baskets were all numbered and in good condition, and usually point out the next tee with very helpful markings. A little bit of elevation change on a few holes. A lot of the holes are clear enough to drive over the top of any plant life, but mandos on 3 holes, some OB, and basket placement will still dictate shot shapes to add variety. The basket is not always visible from the tee. Hole three was a good one, crossing the arroyo to a basket beneath a nice tree. Hole 9 has an interesting mando, requiring a drive through a box consisting of a low line between a couple of trees. I also liked 15, which tees from the path, crossing the arroyo, then turning left at the mando and climbing the hill. 16 was a fun hole driving back down the hill. The map indicates a driving range between the tees for hole 8 and hole 14, but I didn't notice it.
Cons: While the course is fun, it doesn't really have a memorable signature hole. Some of the holes are a bit bland, making the best out of what is available to work with. There is a walking path near several holes, so other park users can come into play, but not in a very disruptive or dangerous way. Not a lot of places to escape the sun, may get burnt on hot summer days.
Other Thoughts: Arroyo Chimasos DGC is a course that I wouldn't mind playing on a regular basis. Not exactly championship caliber, but nice setting and plenty of good quality holes. 4 may be slightly overrating, but I tend to be an optimist when it comes to course reviews and I had a good time playing this one. I ended up a few shots over par, but the weather was great and I got a couple of birdies in, so I am happy.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


2-4    8/21/2015   8/26/2015
Review By: tkconlon
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 3 tees for each hole
Each basket has arrow to next tee
Not real tall trees
Interesting layout
Many obstacles for each hole
Short holes for beginner tees
Cons: Long holes for pro tees
Flexible fiber tee pads for Am and beginner tees
Lots of broken glass everywhere
Ants

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun desert course

2-4    7/29/2014   8/6/2014
Review By: ODRB
Played: 93  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/30/2015
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Desert landscape making good use ofthe arroyo and the available space.

Three sets of tees:
Shorts for putter only ace run rounds
Mids for when you've never played it before and want a look at the layout and a decent challenge
Pros for a better challenge

Layout was pretty easy to figure out, which is good because

It was empty three days in a row duringmy vacation
Cons: Bike paths cross the course

No shade and no water


Other Thoughts: Worth the stop if you're in Santa Fe. You won't need many discs to play it well (I played 3 under from the pros with Volt, Inspire, Roc, Envy.) And the short tees provide a quick putter-only walkthrough to get a good lay of the land.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

1    6/13/2014   6/13/2014
Review By: jeffboi
Played: 14  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 3.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a fun course. You won't loose too many discs playing here and you can rip drives on every hole.
Cons: It is a bit hard to find the basket on some tee boxes, but the locals are very friendly and will gladly help.
Other Thoughts: This is a pretty easy, fun course with very little technical play.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 The new course in SF

2-4    11/9/2013   11/23/2013
Review By: Mako8
Played: 13  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 16.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has some great shots over the arroyo; both of which are long and short. It requires you to use every disc in your bag. I grew up in SF and love the arroyos/washes and like even more that the city took advantage of the "unusable" land. The course flows pretty well and requires walking through the sand; a good workout and way to strengthen the feet. Great mondo shot on hole 9 (I think).
Cons: The course signage is pretty weak and not very noticable. Course path can be tough to find and tees also need to marked better. There is a walking/biking path right through the course that is frequently used; so there is some foot traffic. Watch for people running on the path as some holes require you to tee off on the path. Trails are everywhere causing you to get lost.
Other Thoughts: This course is fun and challenging but it helps to play with someone who has played there before. The course can be hard to follow and tees are hard to find. Good long shot on hole 10, hole 12 has a great elevated basket shot and hole 17 is way up one the hill on the left. This leads you to hole 18; a good long shot just watch out for people on the trail below. Enjoy!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Best Course in Santa Fe

5+    1/19/2013   1/25/2013
Review By: Dreeks505
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Every hole you get to lace bombs.
Cons: The baskets get moved randomly... or only when the gambling group has somebody hit an ace... so they have been in the same place for over 6 months
Other Thoughts: LOVE this course. Really great drives. Challenging second shots and putts.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Nice high desert course

2-4    9/4/2012   9/8/2012
Review By: KDFrosty
Played: 37  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 5.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Full 18 holes, each with their own basket
-No other disc golf traffic. We played at our own pace.
-Gold tees have concrete pads, and tee signs at each gold tee.
-Course offer a good variety of shots, with an good mix of hole distances.
-Baskets are in excellent condition, with signs to next tee on each baskets. Many holes have extended flags, making them easier to spot from the tees.
-There is sometimes course maps at the first gold tee on the bike path.
Cons: -The course is in a public park with a bike path running through the middle. On one or two occasions we waited for a biker or two to pass. Nothing terrible.
-The actual playground and grassy part of the park were under construction. It did interfere with the basket closest to the parking lot, which we played as 18.
-There's a fair amount of cactus throughout the course, and even on the worn in walking paths along the course.
Other Thoughts: Overall I thought it was a nice course offering various challenges. Also nice because it's easy to access from the freeway.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 First Ace!

1    8/24/2012   8/28/2012
Review By: lajoie24
Played: 30  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 6.1 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course was in great shape. Both the tee boxes (concrete/rubber pads) and the baskets were in good condition. This was my first New Mexican course, so I was captivated by the beautiful terrain and topography. When I initially saw all of the bushes/trees, I thought there might be an issue or two with missing discs. This was far from the truth. The layout of the course makes great use of the dry river bed and bike trail (often used as tee boxes). With all of the holes containing three tee boxes, the course allows players of all skill levels to come out and enjoy a round. It rained while I was out. I thought the day was lost until a local let me know how quickly the ground dries. About a half hour later the course was back to being 100% playable. This is a luxury we do not have in Texas.
Cons: This wasn't the easiest course to navigate. Even though I brought a map, a few of the baskets and tees were tough to find. I threw at the 17th basket on 15 (15's basket is well left of 17). There is no doubt the next time I play it will be quicker/easier. I think new flags for the baskets would remedy this issue. I'm not a big fan of artificial "mandos". The 9th hole has you throw under a bar about 10' up. This may be more of a "preference" than a "con"
Other Thoughts: You will encounter a cactus or two out there, so be aware of your surroundings - especially if you tend to wander after your shots. The bike path is used by many of the locals...look both ways before driving.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Best for the terrain

1    6/28/2012   6/29/2012
Review By: gregwil2
Played: 57  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The DGA Mach V with blue powder coating were all in excellent condition. All the baskets had an arrow pointing you to the next tee which helped for navigation. There also seemed to be 2-3 basket locations for each hole.
With three (or more) tee's per hole this course has great reply value. Especially since the short and medium have rubber mats and the long tees use either the walking path or have a stand alone concrete pads. The shortest tee is good for beginners or experience players working on their short/medium game (with ace runs). Medium tees provide more of a challenge and also a different look and route. The long tees are obviously the longest and hardest but none are too ridiculous that you need to be a Pro to hit par.
There were tee signs on every hole for the long tees, but the short tees had some sort of marker colored with the appropriate tee color.
The layout goes back and forth one side of the Arroyo then for the last few it crosses back and forth. It was decent to follow with the next tee signs on the baskets, but the baskets were sometimes hard to find.
The course takes advantage of all the landscape that was provided. Using trees to block baskets and to throw around/through. Hole 9 especially uses this with the tight initial fairway opening up to the basket.
Cons: Even though there were tee signs that had directions, some were pretty beat up or written on. It would be nice to have distances for the different basket locations and maybe some sort of indication of which placement they were in.
There was some trash in certain areas, but it wasn't too bad.
Being used to playing on grass, the sand/gravel was annoying at times but that's what you get in NM.
Other Thoughts: Would be nice to have 10' flags on each basket to show where to throw. Also if the tee signs were in pristine shape it would defaintly increase the rating for this course.
I was just visiting the area and played a few in the ABQ area and this was defaintly worth the drive to play. The only problem was the high winds, but I'm not sure if this is common here.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.