Greenville, NC 
West Meadowbrook Park Share
Uploaded By: lee76007 Hole #10 (Taken 9/2021)
3 / 210ft.   3 / 287ft.   4 / 514ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Navigating the Meadows

1    9/21/2021   10/30/2021
Review By: lee76007
Played: 78  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 2.3 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -A park style course meandering thru open meadows and trees. Some gaps off the tees across open fairways to baskets placed in the woods. With some open tees and basket placements. Some sloping fairways, and one slightly elevated tee.

-Co-Host of the Down East Players Cup with Farmville DGC. Featuring Nathan Queen who on the previous weekend in 2021 won the DGPT Championship. The event seems to be very popular.

-Some holes have two baskets that catch well, a few baskets raised in height. Holes have at least two tee pads, and some have a third called "The All-Star Challenge". The course sometime in the past few years has been realigned to accommodate its current layout. Long and short tees are concrete.

-The "All-Star Challenge" is the most difficult tee when placed as a third tee box or an alternative basket, those tees are a mix of rubber, and one paver tee. The rest share the long tee box. Majority of tee's are shooting out of gaps, and most baskets have tree protection. Solid assortment of par 3's and 4's with a par 5. Distances range from 260 feet to 868 feet.

-Tee signs are recent from the past few years, showing hole number, distance, 1 or 2 baskets, and map. When theirs an "All-Star" tee its in bright orange with distance. But par is not listed. On some holes need to take a good look at the map to remember basket location.

-Very enjoyable walking experience from 1st tee to 18th basket and very scenic.

-Navigation is counter-clockwise and good for the most part but can be iffy in a few spots for a first-time visit.

-Beginners and Recreational should find the short tees very playable. Intermediate and Advanced I recommend the "All-Star Challenge".


Cons: -Lacks course variety, you're playing strictly meadows golf. However, each hole has its own unique features. Hole 2 has an open fairway and basket placement, but it's boring after you shoot the gap off the tee and hole 3 is just a little better on a blind basket placement. The rest of the way buckle up.

-Access to hole 6 and 7. On hole 6 long tee you're teeing across a road and parking, on a busy day you're going to have to move it to the short tee. #7 All-Star tee the fairway is between a ball field and parking, you may have to move it all the way up to the short tee, and if really busy you may need to skip the hole.

-Ghost fairways. Take a good look at that hole map with the longer holes. Most baskets will be hidden, as you're walking down fairways there are large gaps between large bushy trees to make you think the possibility that's the direction of the fairway. Had to walk up fairway a few times on longer holes.

-It's a beautiful park and on a nice day people could be wandering across fairways. With the possibility of ballgames, I personally would not play here on the weekend.

-Lost disc potential can be high, there is heavy brush and trees in some rough areas.

-Like all other courses in the Greenville area flooding. After heavy rain you may want to wait a few or several days if planning a course bagging trip.



Other Thoughts: I played the All-Star Challenge, and it was very challenging, but also very doable. My favorite holes were those shooting out of the gap to the fairway or lining myself for approaches to wooded basket placements. I found meadows type golf very scenic and enjoyable! I took a good look at the short tee pad placements and short baskets, and I think any type of player will find the course enjoyable and within reach of a good round.

With the "All-Star Challenge", the scenic walk thru the course, and a very satisfying round of golf my overall rating is anchored on a 5.0. West Meadowbrook is now 1 of 2 courses I give an overall disc rating of 4.0 without favoring it, the other course is Bayville in Virginia Beach. It's just my personal preferences weren't all met and having now played 5 of the 6 courses in the Greenville area, West Meadowbrook would likely be my home course if I lived there. But the unique feature's of each hole gives my overall rating a boost. The time to play also snapping tee sign pictures took 75 minutes.

Notable Holes: All from the All-Star Challenge

No. 4 Par 3 at 349 feet is a straight away hole to basket. From the tee a straight gap of 15-20 feet with heavy trees until open fairway at 55 feet. Need to stay center left, the basket is tucked into the right of the woods at 70 feet remaining distance. The course shifts into gear.

No. 10 Par 4 at 514 feet another straight away hole to basket. Throwing from an open tee to about the 230-foot mark are tree gaps in the fairway, some as small as 20 feet and heavy trees and brush both sides of fairway all along the way until about 70 feet from basket which sits in the open. I would hit two trees along my way to the basket.

No. 11 Par 4 at 558 feet is a tunnel tee shot about 20 feet until about 50 feet out into the open. The fairway meanders right at halfway point and then back left. At the halfway point is ghost fairway to the left, you're looking at the No. 12 fairway coming toward you. At 150 feet from basket back into the woods. You're going to see a new wooden fence, behind it is a mound of dirt about C1 in circumference. The basket sits on top about 7 feet up from fairway, protected by guardian trees, buried in dirt and a tough reach to negotiated. I found the best way to reach basket is a left to right around trees. At first thought it seem the fences may have had a garbage bin behind it, before seeing the elevated basket.

No. 17 Par 3 at 304 feet is an upslope fairway that downslopes a little more than halfway out. At the downslope the fairway doglegs right. At about 120 feet a clump of trees in the middle, you can reach the basket going left around them or going to the right. There is another collection of guardian trees just outside C1 making a difficult basket reach. The basket is on a downslope and just outside C1 a creek. A very difficult basket to reach and blind from the tee. As a lefty I went left and found two trees on my way to the basket.

Signature Hole:

No. 12 Par 5 at 868 feet the all-star tee was in the process of being built when I played it one month before the tournament. Natural when I played it, watching tournament coverage paver stones. The tee has elevation of about 12 feet and is straight away until about 270 feet turning into a dogleg right. Before the dogleg some protruding trees from the left into the fairway at about 150 feet out and narrow of about 70 feet all the way to the dogleg. Very bushy with trees and possible lost disc potential. Straight away for about 380 feet before another dogleg right hooking into the woods towards the basket. This portion of the fairway more open and can hug the wood line on the right to cut down distance. The last two hundred feet on the second dogleg narrows with several guardian trees in the fairway all the way to the basket, the basket is elevated on a knoll. Very scenic hole represents the course very well and intimidating from the tee.

Trouble Hole:
No. 8 Par 4 at 557 feet from the tee is a very narrow tunnel gap about 30 feet wide with several trees to navigate thru. The tunnel is 240 feet and meanders left as you exit to an open fairway. There can be trouble here with tree hits and racking up strokes. In the open fairway it narrows about 200 feet out from basket passing between trees and bushes, and again about 70 feet out. Basket sits within the woods with spacing. From the tee because of the long distance to get out of the tunnel and passing trees the most eye-opening look from the tee on the course. I don't mind saying I got lucky.



9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Since the start!

5+    6/14/2017   6/14/2019
Review By: takman
Played: 107  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 20.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/1/2019
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Multiple tees on most holes for variety
-Pastoral park that is mostly shady except for the middle back nine
-Great practice area on the front nine for pre-round warm up
-Great coursework by a caring club
Cons: -Rough can be very rough
-Course can flood with a good deluge
-Tee pads are small but flush
-Tournament has 20 hole layout
Other Thoughts: Not my favorite course but my favorite event to play. The local club has made the Down East Players Cup one of the best, friendly events to play in NC. They have made good use of the park space and have been challenged with hole changes and landscape needs. They have always stepped up to the plate.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Classic semi-wooded park

5+    4/7/2017   4/7/2017
Review By: Bennf
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 16.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Blues for almost every hole
-Great diversity of shots for a course with no real elevation element
-Well-kept grass with very little interference on greens from other park goers
-Course isn't hard but isn't a gimmie-train unless you're one of those guys who can shoot 15 down with only a whippet. Great balance for everybody under pro
-Concrete teepads throughout including blues.
Cons: -Teepads do feel a touch short on some holes
-Overall lack of elevation makes it feel a bit simple occasionally
-I got Lyme disease from a tick here a few years back--bug spray is HIGHLY recommended if playing any warm months into fall. Seriously, Lyme sucks don't get it.
Other Thoughts: The park itself is on the tar river and has a nice blend of trees and plants. Definitely prettier than most similar-caliber courses. I like that benches are on most holes. Holes also have nice signage for pin position and distance.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good course, but not the best in town!

1    7/4/2016   7/25/2016
Review By: pmay5
Played: 286  Reviewed: 181  Exp: 18.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tee signs on each hole, two concrete tees on almost every hole, baskets are in good shape, but the yellow bands are starting to fade.
Most baskets have a large green around them, very few buried in the trees.
The few truly wooded holes, have the brush beaten down, so no problem finding your disc.
Most holes are in the open, so good chances to let it fly. Seemed to be a good mix of right and left shaped holes.
Moves around two ballfields with very little interaction.
Cons: All the tee pads are too short, I had to start from behind them.
Lots of trash on the course, mostly due to the adjacent neighborhood, but still detracts from the course.
#8 was underwater and unplayable the day I was there, seems to be common for that hole. #9 tee was also very wet but playable. If #8 was bypassed, would make an even longer walk from 7 to the next tee.
There is a triple mando wooden frame in front of #10 basket, the same #10 that is an elevated basket. So how do you throw 130' under the triple mando then get it to rise to the elevated basket for an possible ace? Can anyone throw an air bounce at 130'? I get the fact they don't want players throwing a big spike hyzer on that hole, but it looks like a double mando would be sufficient.
Most of the holes have clear, open fairways, but if you stray off of those, the rough gets real thick.
Not sure why 13 and 14 have two baskets each. One on each is marked as ALT, and it looks like they are there all the time. Could be confusing, guess you have to decide which one you are playing to when on the tee.
Other Thoughts: I can tell this course gets a lot of play. There is plenty of room to throw your drives on most holes, with shot shaping trees there for a challenge.
The blue tees provide a real challenge, mostly from the added distance, but also some different looks.
It was a good idea to add two extra holes, 7A and 18A. 7A is not playable if a ball game is on (which it was on the day I played) and 18A may not be playable due to the playground, but 18A served as a good substitute for the underwater #8.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/3/2016   7/12/2016
Review By: reposado
Played: 278  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 10.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun course that should satisfy disc golf cravings on a daily basis. I'd categorize the course as park style and is mostly open with pockets of woods and brush that define that fairways and force almost every teeshot to be on a specific line for the basket to be reached. The actual fairway typically gives a lot of room to move the disc and flex it through open space. The course is flat but you will still have to throw pretty much everything in your arsenal as no two holes really use the same line.
For the most part easy to navigate and easy to play, West Meadowbrook aims for the intermediate player and really nailed the correct difficulty level.
Cons:
Totally flat and without real holes of interest, this isn't a course that should be sought out as a destination. Everyday course sure, but not the best course in town that needs to be experienced by travelling players. A few days post playing I'm struggling to think of what I really liked about. Don't get me wrong, it is a solid course, but the things that stand out are the negatives.
The course holds water. Hole 8 was completely underwater. I guess they found a replacement hole, but how to play the extra hole was not clear out there. Not a huge deal, just a single hole loss, but 8 looked like a fun one and the replacement hole seemed bleh. Other courses had wet fairways where other courses intown seemed dry at the time.
It also needs some pruning, especially in the tee areas. This isn't brush that is forcing your line. This is brush that is hanging over your head while standing on the tee or creeping on the back of the tee cancelling any run up. Not great.
Other Thoughts: Great example of a 2.75. Probably a 3.0 in better conditions and 2.5 in worse conditions. A little work, especially trimming around the tee areas, could make it a 3.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Worthy of Multiple Plays

5+    5/16/2016   5/18/2016
Review By: anhyzer09
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Multiple tee pads on every hole, some having up to four. 20 holes is fun. Course is much more difficult from blues than reds. It's a great course to go work on your different throws. There is a little bit of everything as far as backhand, forehand, overhand and even a roller or two. It's a fun, quick round from whites and requires some really nice shots from blues.

Well maintained and never really gets out of hand with bushes or weeds.
Cons: Tee pads could be longer. Other than that, I think they did a great job with the space and maximizing it's potential. Only one hole feels out of place, which isn't really bad considering some courses can feel like 5 or more were just thrown in there.
Other Thoughts: Very excited about 8 & 9 being moved. Love the current layout, but with the move, they should be more playable in all weather conditions and new holes are always great!

Down East Players Cup is a must play B tier on this course every year!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Mixed Bag

1    5/15/2016   5/15/2016
Review By: Balzac
Played: 76  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 19.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Nice mixed of wooded holes and open shots
- Two tee pads for each hole
- Plenty of benches
- Neat mando on hole 10
Cons: - Holes 8 and 9 (8 especially) tend to stay very muddy for along time after rain - can be bad enough that 8 is unplayable
- Small tee pads
- Could use a little better signage to help newcomers navigate the course, such as from hole 7 to 8
-A few holes are relatively close to playground and baseball fields, so need to use caution when playing on weekends especially
- No water hazards but there is some thick brush in which you could easily lose a disc
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a nice but not spectacular course through mature woods. It feels very different than the ECU course, and I waiver back and forth which I like better. They are pretty close to each other as well so if you are visiting Greenville and have the time you should check out both.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 A different view

1    3/3/2016   3/4/2016
Review By: KenanFlagler01
Played: 185  Reviewed: 180  Exp: 11.7 Years
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I'm not usually that out of whack with the rest of the crowd, but on this course, I am. It's a decent enough course, but no way would I say it's a high 3's, almost 4.0 course. There have not been many reviews in the last 2 years, so I'm wondering if the course has fallen on hard times. Regardless, as I played the course on March 3, 2016, I thought it was average, a 2.5 level course, and here's why:

PROS

1. Most of the course is very open. If you like this style of course, and being able to watch the flight of the disc on every hole, you will like West Meadowbrook.

2. Navigation was very simple with good signage and short walks from basket to the next tee.

3. The white and blue tees plus alt basket placements make for numerous approaches to each hole.

4. The man-made tunnel mando, where you have to throw through a square made of 2'x4's on your approach to a raised basket, is very unique.

5. No risk of disc loss here. It's very open and the rough didn't appear to be that bad.
Cons: 1. I played the white tees and they were way too small. No way to do your approach on the pad only. You have to start several feet back and finish on the pad, which I hate. The blue tees didn't appear to be any better.

2. Again, I played the white tees. In my opinion, these should be red tees. I shot under par and it was my first and only time playing the course. That NEVER happens for me on a white-level course. It's kind of a nitpick, but I think a more accurate assessment of this course would be to change the white tees to red and change the blue tees to white. If you're looking for an exceptionally challenging course, West Meadowbrook isn't that. It's a fun course, don't get me wrong, but not one that's going to really test the limits of your ability.

3. Hole 8 was completely under standing water: the tee, the fairway, and the basket. Totally unplayable. And the #9 tee was also under water.

4. I do enjoy open courses, so I thought I would like this one more, but there isn't a signature hole that really stood out to me. It's pretty repetitive.

5. The course and the area were not aesthetically pleasing. One of the things I like most about open style courses, at least the good ones, is that the grass is manicured, the scenery is nice, and it feels like you're on a ball golf course. West Meadowbrook is well maintained, but it's not much to look at.
Other Thoughts: I don't mean to be overly critical of this course. I'm probably coming across that way because I'm saying it's average while others have rated it "very good" to "excellent." It's not that, but it's definitely worth playing if you're in Greenville. It's convenient to downtown and ECU, it's well-maintained, it's easy to navigate, even if you've never played it before. But is it a "destination course" worthy of a 3.9 rating? Not in my book.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 More Meadow than Brook

1    8/2/2015   8/9/2015
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 502  Reviewed: 389  Exp: 18.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: West Meadowbrook Park was a solid course, and a good chance to regain some form and confidence after getting beaten down by some heavily wooded and often hilly North Carolina terrain earlier in the weekend. This course is flat but not entirely wide open. If you nail the drives, you should get birdie opportunities. If you miss slightly, you will probably still have a decent shot to at least save par. The layout is generally pretty logical, but I consulted the map I printed once or twice. Dual tees were all concrete, signage was posted at the red tees, and the baskets were all in nice shape. One extra hole thrown in between the baseball diamonds next to hole 7 and 8. I liked the placement of the holes around the clusters of trees and brush. You can get hung up in some heavy rough if you shank one, and there are a variety of lefts and rights, and some high and low lines. Given the landscape, the course designers did a great job.
Cons: There is a lot of open, grassy fairway, sunscreen may be advisable if you're prone to burn. Kind of a lot of litter on the ground. It looked like a few spots get pretty muddy after rainfall.
Other Thoughts: I thought West Meadowbrook Park was enjoyable, and would say it's worth playing if you're in the area. Not a 5 star, knock-out, must play, but fun and well equipped. My first and only round from the blue tees resulted in a 59, and I chumped out a couple of easy putts. I would say par would be 55 with a 611' hole 15, although the scorecard I printed called it a straight par 54. Anyway par is no dream here, even on the first visit. Sort of similar to Zebulon, but flatter, not quite as woodsy, and not nearly as clean and pristine.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Meadowbrook

5+    9/18/2014   9/19/2014
Review By: bigmikegervasi
Played: 41  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 15.3 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Great technical shots.
Not to many long holes.
Great for forearm and back hand.
Cons: Lots of trash on the course!
Restroom hard to find.
Wish hole 9 was close to holes 1.
Other Thoughts: Over all a great course. My favorite in Greenville.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.