Seguin, TX 
Max Starcke Park Share
Uploaded By: XEROXER Hole #10
3 / 314ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Approach



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 Solid City Park Course

1    2/24/2019   3/4/2019
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 292  Reviewed: 210  Exp: 9.3 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is the second course installed in the Seguin area, the first is Texas Lutheran University, and this course simply blows it away on all fronts - challenge, course flow, baskets/tee signs, play-ability, variety.

The course plays through massive, old pecan trees with low hanging branches. The low hanging branches add the most amount of challenge than anything else. Though at no points are the branches too low where the shot is impossible. The course has places where you can really rip it without the worry about hitting obstacles and some other shots need a more finesse shot to avoid. The distances of each holes were a wide range of length, which is always nice to see on a course.

There were three holes, 8-10, that had elevation. I thought they were easily the best holes on the course. Hole 9 is one of the longest holes on the course and plays uphill. A three is a big challenge, but rewarding when you get it.

The course has great sized concrete tee pads, brand new Discatcher baskets, and colorful and helpful tee signs. Navigation is not really an issue here, but the tee signs do point which direction you need to go to the next hole, which is always a great feature. The river plays very close to the front few holes, which adds some challenge and risk to the holes
Cons: Besides previously mentioned holes 8-10, there is not much more elevation or variety with the other 15 holes. The holes are still solid, but not much else sticks in my mind as being above average holes.

The tee signs are a little wonky, as the tee is shown in different orientations across the tee signs. It really is not a huge deal; it is just something you will get used to.

There is a pretty hefty walk from basket 17 to tee 18 and then tee 18 back to the start of the course. But we are all out there to walk anyways.
Other Thoughts: This is a solid course that is worth your time. It has great length and challenge. With the TLU course being all around bad, this is a refreshing addition to this quaint town of Seguin.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/29/2016   8/29/2016
Review By: gsw_03
Played: 77  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 21.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Mature pecan trees provide plenty of shade. I did not find the low-hanging branches to be excessive - instead, I think they provided much-needed challenge to this relatively wide open and enjoyable course.
The course makes use of the only available elevation.
Cons: Tee signs need to be re-oriented with the tee at the bottom and the pin at the top of the hole map.
A short hole could be placed between 17 and 18 to reduce the walk between the two.
Other Thoughts: Fantastic course on a gorgeous piece of land. The City of Seguin deserves much praise for providing disc golfers an alternative to the SA courses!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Shade the way!

1    8/6/2016   8/17/2016
Review By: aterrell2
Played: 16  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: First and foremost lets talk about the beautiful pecan trees that provide shade during most of the round! the trees provide MUCH relief from the hot Texas sun.
Now to the course, my first impression is WOW! the course layout provides lengths from 249ft-689ft. Each tee pad has signs directing you towards the next tee pad.
And at the restrooms near hole #1 you have a huge course map that not only shows the course but it also has info for every basket.
Cons: Their isn't much to complain about on this course but if i had to pick something it would be that many of the shots all offer the same straight narrow lines to basket. There isn't much elevation change besides baskets 8-10.
Other Thoughts: I'm sure there is much more that needs to be done but i hope the parks department has plans to trim some of these magnificent pecan trees. In some cases the trees are way too low and allow for almost no throwing lane to the basket.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Made in the Shade

1    8/12/2016   8/15/2016
Review By: WD09
Played: 512  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 17 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a pecan grove, with large, mature trees that provide great shade (a huge plus on a hot Texas summer day!). The trees establish interesting lines and (on some holes) interesting choices for shots off the tee and from the fairway. There are also many recently-planted trees that tend to be 10-15 feet tall, at this point. Low-hanging branches from the mature trees create a relatively low ceiling for shots and the smaller trees provide a different kind of challenge, as they must also be navigated around or sometimes over. The combination of the two means that shots must be made with precision to avoid being deflected or slowed down.

Tee boxes: Very nice concrete runways, all level, uniform size and shape, and pointed in the right direction. This improves the look of the course, as well as safety and makes it easy to spot the next tee pad from each basket.

Signs: There is an informative course and park map near hole one. The tee signs are prominent, well-placed, and informative, with one small quirk (more on that later). There are two long walks on the course, between holes 4 and 5 and between holes 17 and 18. There are directional signs for both of these walks, as well as "next tee" information on the tee signs, so there is little chance of getting lost, if you pay attention.

Baskets: New, double-chained Discatcher baskets. They are easy to see and they catch very well, though they are low (more on that later).

There are various hole distances, from 241 feet to 628 feet. This helps to add variety to the many holes that play very similarly. There are two holes that are marked "Par 5," at 628 feet and 623 feet. Both of those would probably be considered par 4s for tournament play. There are three holes marked "Par 4." They are 499, 432, and 453 feet. They might play as long par 3s for tournament purposes, but obviously assigning par to holes is a much-discussed and often disagreed upon subject. This is just my interpretation. Total course length is listed as 6671 feet. I used my range finder on several holes and all the holes I checked had accurate distances listed on the tee signs.

The property is beautiful and offers a lot of extra amenities. There is a large playground and also a wave pool, plus several pavilions. It has good restrooms that appear to be well kept. It would be a good place for families to enjoy the day, beyond just playing disc golf.
Cons: The baskets throughout the park are consistently low. I don't know if there was a mistake in the installation or if those installing them just didn't know the intended height of a disc golf basket, but I believe that all 18 baskets sit too low in the ground, by at least 6 inches and maybe more.

15 of the holes are very, very similar to one another, other than the length. They are flat and straight, with a fairly low ceiling. The distance of the upshot (or sometimes the drive) changes, but that's about it. Holes 8, 9, and 10 are the best holes on the course, in my opinion, and they break the pattern. 8 is a short blind shot with an interesting side-hill pin position; 9 plays as an uphill dogleg right par 4 (marked par 5) through some small trees, and 10 is a downhill shot with OB road behind it. When I got to these holes, I was excited by the prospect that the course was getting more fun and interesting.

The large pecan trees in the park are in dire need of trimming. The branches are carrying way too much weight and are hanging down in places they shouldn't be. Hopefully a major amount of tree work will happen in the near future, not just to improve the course, but to save these magnificent trees.
Other Thoughts: The tee signs are done in an unusual way that I have not seen before. The map of the hole on each sign often is not oriented in the direction of the hole. Sometimes the tee is at the bottom of the picture and the basket at the top, sometimes the tee is at the top, and sometimes the hole is depicted right to left or left to right or at some unusual angle. I think what may have been done is that a zoomed-in portion of the course map was used for each hole, so whatever direction the hole is pictured on the overall course map is what you get on the individual sign for that hole. It threw me off a little bit until I got accustomed to looking at the signs that way.

This is a solid course with good tee pads and signs that plays through the shade in a nice park that has other amenities. It is fun to play and is a welcome addition to the area!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.