Kansas City, MO 
Water Works Park Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish Hole #3 (Taken 4/2010)
3 / 276ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 97
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Elevation: It’s got the Works

1    5/29/2017   6/12/2017
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 225  Reviewed: 147  Exp: 13.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/23/2017
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Water Works is a well-executed, scenic course that's a joy to play.

• Variety: Very good. Most holes were somewhat to very open with very well-placed trees to make you shape some sort of shot to work around them, without necessarily forcing a specific line. Just enough wooded holes that require a tight line to provide nicely balanced feel overall, and a nice range of distances. Rotating pin placements (3 on most holes) looked like they are different enough to make this course well-worth replaying should you come back to the area repeatedly over a period of time.

• Elevation: Excellent. The course's defining feature, nicely utilized in a variety of ways throughout; gullies, uphill, downhill, sloped greens, over mild peaks. A few holes play flat (3-6) if you stay in the fairway, but drop off sharply along one side of the fairway, so that newb-hyzers or flippy shots escaping the fairway will likely require you throw uphill through the trees/brush lining the fairway to recover.

• Challenge: Excellent. Wonderfully challenging without being intimidating. High marks for being challenging enough to keep advanced players on their toes without blowing rec players completely out of the water (difficultly can change greatly based where pins are placed any given day). Splendid use of the abundant elevation makes you think about approaches and long putts from a technical standpoint. Features a few holes where being able to bomb is an asset, but noodle arms can still score well if they have good control. Whether you can throw 250 or 450, how you handle approaches and long putts on the varying terrain will likely be the biggest factor in determining your score. Giving shots a chance at the basket while minimizing the likelihood of rollaways is the name of the game.

• Equipment: Very Good. Concrete tees and baskets were in fine condition. Good signage makes it obvious if you went the right or wrong tee, and shows all pin locations with distances. Red and yellow flags on baskets assist in finding the current placement. Flags also give an indication what the wind is doing at that end of the fairway, and appeared to be color coded to match the red and yellow pin placements (didn't see any blue flags, but I can't recall if any of the baskets were in the blue position).

• Routing/Nav: Reasonably good. There are a few less than intuitive transitions, but no major issues. I found the map helpful (but not a necessity), and there should be enough local traffic to help you if you get confused.

• Fun Factor: Excellent. If you don't like playing here, I have no clue what you're looking for.

• Memorable Holes: Starts out with a hole that's as majestic as it is appealing. I really liked #13 (particularly with the dicey pin placement it was in when I played), and the view from 14's tee, (with the water tower and Missouri River in the back ground) should provide inspiration to rip a great drive.

• Cart Friendly: Yes. Very hilly (but not rugged) terrain may make it tough at times, but no worse than a fully loaded backpack/tourney bag.
Cons: Not that much to complain about - here's what I noticed:

• A few spots where a disc could easily end up in the road or hit a car/pedestrian. Caution is warranted, but you could usually see what's going on around you and wait for the trouble to pass.

• Could use a couple of holes that require a big, sweeping hyzer or annie line (this could be quite dependent on basket locations any given day)

• Tee signs don't indicate the current pin placement - had to walk a few fairways to spot the flag. Not a big deal, but quickly becomes a drag on such hilly terrain (especially if it's your 3rd round of the day in a town with lot of courses worth playing).

• Parking is limited for a course that gets this much traffic.
Other Thoughts: Wind is likely to be a factor more often than not - really places a premium on disc selection and shot execution. Can be exacerbated by the ever-present elevation; shots blown off line could easily find you slugging your way back uphill, piling up strokes quickly. You'll be rewarded for keeping it low and flat when/where appropriate.

A very pretty, park-style course that doesn't necessarily feel like your typical park-style course, Water Works appears to be aging quite gracefully, albeit with some obvious erosion in a few spots (not that bad really, considering the traffic this course sees). Without doubt, a truly excellent course, Water Works is a must play if you're in the area, and Destination Worthy IMO. I'd place just a notch below some of the more phenomenal courses I've played - Would give it a 4.25 if I could, but I can't. Nonetheless, if you hit KC and miss out on this gem, it's your loss.

Conveniently located near downtown KC, and pretty close to Kauffmann Stadium. Play a round in the morning, grab a bite, then catch your favorite team playing the Royals a great stadium.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great Hills and Trees

2-4    6/6/2007   6/6/2017
Review By: paulbmann
Played: 67  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 27.3 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Downhill shots, great opportunity to go hiking up and down, beautiful views from the top.
Cons: One hole (#13) punishes you for not being able to throw 350 ft. Seems to favor the 350 foot thrower a little too much. Lack of two-drive holes.
Other Thoughts: I wish I lived near this course.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

A Top Notch Course

1    9/10/2016   9/15/2016
Review By: dlopez916
Played: 36  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A nice mixture of shots providing some nice scenery while navigating the course. Quality sized teepads and every hole had a decent sign. Mulitple pins on almost every hole. I really liked the elevation changes, they didn't bother me much.
Cons: Tee signs are present but it is hard to tell which pin you're supposed to play. Some sort of marking on the sign would be helpful. I'd also add something to show where hole 1 starts as yo can easily drive around the course looking for the first hole.
Other Thoughts: This course was very well cared for. The grass was mowed, the course looked clean, and there was plenty of benches and garbage cans. This course will end up on my favorites list and I look forward to going back. PACK WATER!

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Water Works

2-4    8/27/2016   8/28/2016
Review By: JohnDeere
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 1.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lost disc return that goes to dynamic discs KC to pick them up
Nice concrete teepads
Flags on every basket
Cool views of the plaza skyline
Variety of shots
Cons: Navigation can be tricky from basket to teepad
There's 4 pins at each hole but there's only one basket so on blind shots you have to walk up the fairway to find it
Not many long shots
Other Thoughts: PACK WATER the hills are tiring
It does get muddy after a rain
Several steep drop offs possible disc loss
Makes you pay attention on the angle your disc hits the ground

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Up and Down

1    7/25/2016   7/25/2016
Review By: Balzac
Played: 36  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 15.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Tons of elevation, utilized well: some holes play downhill only, some play uphill only, some play both
- Concrete tee pads in good condition
- Multiple pin positions
- Benches and trash cans at every hole
- Views of the downtown KC skyline from a few spots on the course
- Flows well, usually easy to find next tee
Cons: - While there is no water in play, there are several steep drop offs where it would be very easy to lose a disc
- A new walking trail is being put in that is a little too close for comfort on a couple holes
- No map of entire course at the park
- Can get crowded on weekends
Other Thoughts: It cannot be emphasized enough that this is an extremely hilly course. While this definitely adds to the course, be prepared for an exhausting round. Bring plenty of water, especially on hot days.

The views of the skyline are a nice bonus. This course is also close to the downtown airport, so there a frequently private jets and smaller planes buzzing the course.

Definitely one of the top courses in the KC area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Really nice course

1    12/30/2015   2/16/2016
Review By: Treehousebob
Played: 13  Reviewed: 11
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Great use of elevation.
Multiple baskets.
Great mix of technical and long holes.
Cons: There was about 3 inches of snow on the ground when I went which made the hills very slippery. I should have brought a sled, it would have been awesome. Pesky snowboarders and children on sleds kept moving just as my discs where about to hit them.

None of these things are meant to be negative about the course, just my experience.
Other Thoughts: Great course, I had a great time even with the snow.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Just play it

1    1/2/2016   1/2/2016
Review By: 30disc
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There aren't many courses in Missouri or Kansas that match up to this one. The hills are enormous but not too tiresome. The air you can get on some holes is incredible. What I really liked about this course was that it has several large holes fit into a relatively small park area, and even on a busy day it doesn't feel too cluttered. The course design is fit together very well and is easy to read. There are trashcans and benches at every tee, as well as a hole map. Each pin has a flag on top. The KC skyline view is icing on the cake. I even thought the water treatment facility for which the park is eponymously named was a rather interesting site, and perhaps a nice juxtaposition. This course is worth a drive even if you are within the Lawrence or Topeka area. The land chosen for this park inherently agrees with the spirit of disc golf. It's designers didn't have to look far for inspiration, it's a natural spot for this game.
Cons: There are many great shots on this course. Each hole was fun and unique. However, there weren't a great deal of "around the bend" shots, or many technically challenging throws (it had a few, don't get me wrong.) Most pins sat at a 12 o'clock position from the tee. It felt a little predictable. Some of the pins could be more inconspicuously located. Generally hard to complain. There wasn't much that could detract from really enjoying this course thoroughly. If you are in the area, play this course.
Other Thoughts: Overall I enjoy this course tremendously. Based in eastern Kansas, I intend to pay regular visits to this course. The hills and trees are just too great to pass up. If you enjoy disc golf, this course will put a smile on your face.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

A Course with a Great View

5+    8/29/2015   9/1/2015
Review By: SirDreward
Played: 35  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 8 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 1 - Lots of elevation changes!
2 - Benches at each basket.
3 - Lost disc return.
4 - Well signed.
5 - Area the course is in is dedicated to the course.
Cons: 1 - Nicely maintained course.
2 - Nice park overall.
3 - Some great chances to lose a disc.
Other Thoughts: A great course that has holes that play towards the strengths of the distance players and some holes that play towards the the strengths of the technical players. On a few holes if you get into the woods get ready to scramble up and down steep inclines and through some well established undergrowth. Take some time to check out the KC downtown skyline while at the practice basket.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

2-4    10/10/2012   10/14/2012
Review By: blowers04
Played: 22  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros:
-Good tee pads.
-Nice variety of holes.
-Pretty well marked holes.
-Multiple extra baskets for practicing.
Cons:
-Very hilly/rough.
-Difficult course when windy due to lots of elevation change.
-Signs at holes are starting to fade.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course. One of the best, if not the best in Kansas City. Very hilly, which is a plus or minus depending on your physical abilities. There is a good mixture of holes, allowing different play styles. Good views of down town.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Powerplantthom

1    8/27/2012   8/27/2012
Review By: powerplantthom
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Fun fun fun! Lots of trees yet very open. Up and down makes for fun shots. Nicely maintained!
Cons: Even though there are trash cans at every hole there was trash all over the place. I picked up a handful of cans, bottles, porn mags, wrappers or a combo of such at every hole. I noticed trash all over this city.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.