Kansas City, MO 
Water Works Park Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish Hole #1 (Taken 4/2010)
3 / 508ft. Par / Distance:
Looking back up the hill to Hole #1's tee from the short pin position



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 94
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
I'll Have the Works

2-4    2/5/2017   2/11/2017
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 320  Reviewed: 210  Exp: 13.9 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Water Works has the kind of elevation changes that will give you a good hike if nothing else. I love the big rolling hills, and mature trees that create defined lines on most holes without being totally unforgiving. You will have to make shots to go low on the scorecard, but there are not a lot of long holes.

The tees are concrete, and there are nice signs that illustrate the multiple pin locations. The baskets are all in decent shape. Versatility is good with all of the different pin placements available.

If you miss a drive, or get a bad roll there could be a toll to pay. Some spots have thick rough and potential to bonk trees. OB is a presence on some holes that are near the roads. I like these aspects, and think the layout adds nice challenge.

While newer players could have a rough time here, I think most who are avid disc golfers will really like this one. It is not super easy, but has a lot of good holes that require a variety of different throws, and plenty of opportunity to get under par. Uphills, downhills, peak to peak, wooded, open: a little bit of everything in a average length layout.

My first trip here in the summer of 2009 there was plush green grass and beautiful trees on display, and there is a really good view of the city available near the first hole.
Cons: The parking is somewhat limited and on a nice day there can be a lot of people on the course. Some may be on the course that are not there for disc golf. I saw a few folks out just taking a walk with their dogs.

Erosion has washed grooves down the hillsides in places, and there was some mud on hole 5 last time I played there. Nothing serious though.

A map can be useful if you are not familiar with the layout. There is likely to be a lot of people playing here on weekends if the weather is good.
Other Thoughts: I loved this course. I first visited several years ago, and did not get to play all 18. Recently I moved to KC, and got to see the course in its entirety.

The winter lawn was definitely not as plush as my first time here, which is to be expected since it was June on the first visit. The leaves gathered in some places could hide a disc pretty easily.

Most of the holes were in short positions, and offer at least a chance for birdie if you make the drives. I scored a 56, with 4 birds. Had missed putts on 3 or 4 others that could have been birdies. Went OB on 16 and 18 costing me a round under par.

My favorite holes are 1, 8, and 13, but there are not really any weak links. The elevation changes come into play big time on many holes, which is always a bonus to me.

A solid course, with nice equipment that is clearly very popular with good reason. I met some nice people out there on Super Bowl Sunday. Played a good round and will be back soon to try and get under par. Glad to be living within 2 miles.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

A Top Notch Course

1    9/10/2016   9/15/2016
Review By: dlopez916
Played: 36  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 5.7 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A nice mixture of shots providing some nice scenery while navigating the course. Quality sized teepads and every hole had a decent sign. Mulitple pins on almost every hole. I really liked the elevation changes, they didn't bother me much.
Cons: Tee signs are present but it is hard to tell which pin you're supposed to play. Some sort of marking on the sign would be helpful. I'd also add something to show where hole 1 starts as yo can easily drive around the course looking for the first hole.
Other Thoughts: This course was very well cared for. The grass was mowed, the course looked clean, and there was plenty of benches and garbage cans. This course will end up on my favorites list and I look forward to going back. PACK WATER!

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Water Works

2-4    8/27/2016   8/28/2016
Review By: JohnDeere
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 0.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lost disc return that goes to dynamic discs KC to pick them up
Nice concrete teepads
Flags on every basket
Cool views of the plaza skyline
Variety of shots
Cons: Navigation can be tricky from basket to teepad
There's 4 pins at each hole but there's only one basket so on blind shots you have to walk up the fairway to find it
Not many long shots
Other Thoughts: PACK WATER the hills are tiring
It does get muddy after a rain
Several steep drop offs possible disc loss
Makes you pay attention on the angle your disc hits the ground

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Up and Down

1    7/25/2016   7/25/2016
Review By: Balzac
Played: 36  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 15.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Tons of elevation, utilized well: some holes play downhill only, some play uphill only, some play both
- Concrete tee pads in good condition
- Multiple pin positions
- Benches and trash cans at every hole
- Views of the downtown KC skyline from a few spots on the course
- Flows well, usually easy to find next tee
Cons: - While there is no water in play, there are several steep drop offs where it would be very easy to lose a disc
- A new walking trail is being put in that is a little too close for comfort on a couple holes
- No map of entire course at the park
- Can get crowded on weekends
Other Thoughts: It cannot be emphasized enough that this is an extremely hilly course. While this definitely adds to the course, be prepared for an exhausting round. Bring plenty of water, especially on hot days.

The views of the skyline are a nice bonus. This course is also close to the downtown airport, so there a frequently private jets and smaller planes buzzing the course.

Definitely one of the top courses in the KC area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Water Works KC

1    7/4/2016   7/22/2016
Review By: jvbh792
Played: 16  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 1.2 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Great terrain, signage, use of woods and elevation, and locals are friendly. Great mix of left and right shots. One of my favorite courses I've ever played. Coming from St. Louis, it was fun to play a course with more dramatic terrain, compared to the many rolling hill public park courses in the STL area.
Cons: Not many long holes
Other Thoughts: I'll be back 100%

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Really nice course

1    12/30/2015   2/16/2016
Review By: Treehousebob
Played: 13  Reviewed: 11
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Great use of elevation.
Multiple baskets.
Great mix of technical and long holes.
Cons: There was about 3 inches of snow on the ground when I went which made the hills very slippery. I should have brought a sled, it would have been awesome. Pesky snowboarders and children on sleds kept moving just as my discs where about to hit them.

None of these things are meant to be negative about the course, just my experience.
Other Thoughts: Great course, I had a great time even with the snow.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Just play it

1    1/2/2016   1/2/2016
Review By: 30disc
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There aren't many courses in Missouri or Kansas that match up to this one. The hills are enormous but not too tiresome. The air you can get on some holes is incredible. What I really liked about this course was that it has several large holes fit into a relatively small park area, and even on a busy day it doesn't feel too cluttered. The course design is fit together very well and is easy to read. There are trashcans and benches at every tee, as well as a hole map. Each pin has a flag on top. The KC skyline view is icing on the cake. I even thought the water treatment facility for which the park is eponymously named was a rather interesting site, and perhaps a nice juxtaposition. This course is worth a drive even if you are within the Lawrence or Topeka area. The land chosen for this park inherently agrees with the spirit of disc golf. It's designers didn't have to look far for inspiration, it's a natural spot for this game.
Cons: There are many great shots on this course. Each hole was fun and unique. However, there weren't a great deal of "around the bend" shots, or many technically challenging throws (it had a few, don't get me wrong.) Most pins sat at a 12 o'clock position from the tee. It felt a little predictable. Some of the pins could be more inconspicuously located. Generally hard to complain. There wasn't much that could detract from really enjoying this course thoroughly. If you are in the area, play this course.
Other Thoughts: Overall I enjoy this course tremendously. Based in eastern Kansas, I intend to pay regular visits to this course. The hills and trees are just too great to pass up. If you enjoy disc golf, this course will put a smile on your face.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful Challenging Course Which Can Be Enjoyed By All Levels Of Players!

1    10/20/2015   10/23/2015
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1009  Reviewed: 959  Exp: 38.9 Years
This review was updated on 11/29/2015
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: My best analogy for Water Works DGC would be this: What if the best looking girl in your high school was happy and content going out with the most average Joe in your class? That's what is so amazing about Water Works! Here is this awesome, super challenging course set on a piece of rugged hilly terrain that wears out recreational runners AND yet, the average recreational disc golfer can play here and have himself a wonderful time. The course is so lovely and enjoyable, that while she is wearing you out, you're having such a grand time, you're not thinking about how beat down you're are. Not many of the top courses can so entertain and compliment such a range of disc golfers as Water Works can.

Sheer beauty. From the views of downtown Kansas City from # 1 and also the incredible views from the box on # 14, this course has to possess some of the most scenic views of any Mid-Western course.

The elevation and creative ways in which it was used here. The park sits on the top of a mountain overlooking KC and there's doesn't seem to be a level piece of ground in the whole park.

The amenities are all great, not over the top, take your breath away, like Bryant Park in Minneapolis, but just very serviceable. There are three or four basket positions on each hole. I don't know how often they're changed but I'm sure it's often enough to keep everyone interested. Nice course map at the beginning along with a kiosk, disc return box, 5 or 6 picnic tables, league and tourney information, etc.

# 1 was an incredible hole to start off your round with, 309' and a big downhill but with plenty of trees in your way. My local playing partner claimed # 14 is well known as the prettiest golf hole in Missouri. It's a long gradually sloping downhill (550' ?) with a prevailing headwind that helps to keep your disc flying. The large water tower looms in the background. It is a lovely hole.



Cons: We weren't always sure what position the pin was in on this particular day. Could use a system.

A few next tee signs would be helpful for us new to the course.

A few holes do play close to park roads. Take a look for cars, pedestrians before throwing.


Other Thoughts: I was so happy for the chance to finally get to play the famous Water Works. I was not one bit disappointed. She met or exceeded all my expectations. It was a wonderful to play a 4.5 rated course where a 64 year old recreational player such as myself could enjoy his round so much, not only golf wise but also physically. It's definitely a hike but it's not one of those killer courses like I played this summer in New Hampshire where you're totally spent after playing it one time.

If you ever get to Kansas City, experience Water Works!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Great, well maintained course

1    9/6/2015   9/8/2015
Review By: ryyedogg
Played: 47  Reviewed: 34
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This was a big bonus on my trip for a wedding. The course sits at a high point in the area, so there are awesome views of the city. Every hole presents a challenge with all the trees and elevation differences. You will see tunnel, uphill, downhill, over and around hills, and dogleg shots throughout the round. Nice tee pads and great signage make this course easy to play and follow. Many pin placements for each hole provides a good variety of shots needed for success. As technical as it can be, the course will still be fun for beginners.
Cons: Not really too much to complain except with a name like "waterworks", I thought it should have some water hazards.
Other Thoughts: This is one of my favorite courses now. It has mostly everything I expect in a good course. The random guy I played with was so nice and helpful, giving me a good excuse to come back to play this and many other great courses in the area.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

A Course with a Great View

5+    8/29/2015   9/1/2015
Review By: SirDreward
Played: 35  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 7.7 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 1 - Lots of elevation changes!
2 - Benches at each basket.
3 - Lost disc return.
4 - Well signed.
5 - Area the course is in is dedicated to the course.
Cons: 1 - Nicely maintained course.
2 - Nice park overall.
3 - Some great chances to lose a disc.
Other Thoughts: A great course that has holes that play towards the strengths of the distance players and some holes that play towards the the strengths of the technical players. On a few holes if you get into the woods get ready to scramble up and down steep inclines and through some well established undergrowth. Take some time to check out the KC downtown skyline while at the practice basket.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.