Rogersville, AL 
Joe Wheeler State Park Share
Uploaded By: bjreagh Hole #9 (Taken 6/2017)
3 / 279ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers

1    6/15/2017   6/18/2017
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 270  Reviewed: 259  Exp: 20.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good wooded technical course in a very nice state park on the shores of beautiful Wheeler Lake/Tennessee River. Holes 1,10,11,18 more park style and are really fun, and the rest are heavily wooded and will test your accuracy and discipline on every shot, yet there are plenty of rewarding chances for birdies. There is a some variety of elevation mixed in utilized effectively. Good job in hole design to have variety from hole to hole in regards to fairway shape (some straight, left, and right).

Newer course, still looks it, but actually looked more broken in than I anticipated. All fairways are completely fair (no poke & pray). In mid-June there was hardly any thick growth off the fairways, making finding discs easy even leaving the challenge in the recovery shot- the way I think disc golf should be.

Excellent course map at kiosk, good tee signs. Navigation easy with the course map, and in fact there were paper scorecards and course maps available at the kiosk (a rarity these days). There is even a marker in the basket indicating the direction of the next tee- very helpful especially when crossing the road to know where to go. I always like when a course has 2 loops of 9, which this one does.

Monkey Trap baskets. This was my first exposure to this brand/style. They are very similar to Machs and caught putts very nicely. Coated in red [or is it crimson, because everything in Alabama has to be red, right?], which is not the color I would have chosen to be the most visible on a wooded course, but really I had no trouble finding the basket on each hole.

The restrooms at the parking area were a nice bonus.
Cons: Lacked the wow factor and no real signature holes or holes that are unique from other technical woods courses.

Carpet tees- which were acceptable, but concrete is always preferred to me for levelness, aesthetics, and permanence.

Hole length- I got about 3/4 through and thought how almost all the holes so far had seemed to be about the same length. That is when the onslaught of the few longer holes all hit you back to back to back with 15-17, plus much of it is uphill. Tough finish. Nit picky, but I wish that there was more of a mix throughout instead of having similar holes in bunches.

Park fee- $4 per person per day to use the park. Not a bad price considering how nice the park is, and it will likely result in the course not being crowded. My issue was nobody was there to take money as I entered, or even as I left (a weekday morning in the June). Seemed strange considering that area of the park also has a swimming beach- which not a person was at either!? There is an honor box to put your money in, so bringing exact cash is recommended.

No water in play, despite bordering the lake.
Other Thoughts: This was a fun and enjoyable round. It is very shady throughout, especially nice in Alabama on a hot summer day. I rate it a strong 3.0 [good] presently, but with some maturing over time to improve the aesthetics, and maybe the addition of better tees, I could see it as a 3.5. Nothing here really stood out as being spectacular or a national destination, but this course could be enjoyed by most every level of disc golfer and I would recommend it to others if in the area. I hope to play here again sometime in the future.

Parking for disc golf is the same as for the tennis courts.

Northern Alabama is developing in a decent area for disc golf with McFarland and Veterans in Florence to Flying Dragon in Decatur and Sparkman in Hartselle, and now Wheeler State Park in the middle. And all this does not even include all the established Huntsville courses.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Over the hill and through the woods

2-4    3/19/2017   3/20/2017
Review By: wericsson
Played: 27  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Some serious challenge, mostly in the form of tight wooded fairways, often with elevation changes. Well laid out, with a broad mixture of shots required. Now has tee signs, which are straightforward and accurate. Black plastic on each basket points to next tee.
Cons: Roads run through fairways 1 and 18, and 11 can but needn't be played wide over the road. That said, traffic is minimal. A couple holes run alongside or over hiking trails, on which traffic is not infrequent.
Other Thoughts: In general, don't be afraid to play shorter but clean - the forest can be pretty serious. Lake Wheeler is not really in play at all, unless you really mess up (I almost did). Hole 16 is a beast. Yes, that tee sign really does show the actual shape of the fairway, and no, you can't really cut the chicane. I'm a bit curious about whether the soccer field next to 10 is actually used, and when, but I wasn't readily able to find out.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Challenging course thru the woods

1    1/29/2017   1/29/2017
Review By: GMcAtee
Played: 378  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 8.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Every hole is different.
Plenty of shade in the summer.
Easy to navigate - plastic piping on basket pointing to next hole.
Good signage.
Challenging course that makes you think.
Located in a beautiful state park with other activities for the family.
Great Monkey Trap baskets.
No long walks between holes.
Cons: 17 tightly wooded holes can be a con to some.
No water shots.
Carpet tee pads.
1 & 18 throw across park roads. 11 has a hyzer route across a park road. Park road is not busy though.
Other Thoughts: I thoroughly enjoy playing this course every time I get the chance. Birdies are available if you throw a perfect drive. If not, you need a good up shot to save par. This course will punish the high speed driver thrower. Disc down! Play it smart. Some of the longer holes require placement.

First time I played this course, I got lost after hole two and walked up the park road thinking it would be a great place for some holes. There are some open areas using the road as OB that remind me of a few holes at Mt. Airy Forest. With that being said, I believe this course has potential to be #1 in northern Alabama if there was 6 holes added: a 3 hole loop after hole 2 with the area I mentioned, and a 3 hole loop after hole 11 incorporating a water shot or two. There are currently no long walks between holes. So, if a long walk came about by adding some signature holes, it wouldn't be a big deal.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Awesome Course

1    12/30/2016   12/31/2016
Review By: RollTideRikard
Played: 27  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course is well layed out , with a little bit of everything (uphill,downhill,tightly wooded, more open holes) You definitely benefit from playing it smart and trying to play along the fairway. Also has some great views along the course.
Cons: At the time I played there wasn't any tee pads signs, I'm sure since it's a newer course it's something they are planning to add .
Other Thoughts: Overall a awesome Course that is very well layed out . If your in the surrounding areas you should definitely try this course out .

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Outstanding

2-4    11/20/2016   12/5/2016
Review By: AUfantastic
Played: 128  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 17.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great area for a course. The designers did a wonderful job of giving you some of everything. There is up, down, left, right and straight. This is a great course for those who enjoy woods and some elevation changes. Course is new, clean and easy to maneuver. Hats off to all who had a part in putting this together.
Cons: None at this time. Will have to see how the course holds up in the wet months. Should be fine though.
Other Thoughts: Congratulations to the State of Alabama Parks department for allowing this course to be built. Camping and disc golf go together. This is a match for all of us who do so. Thanks again.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice New Course

2-4    8/23/2016   8/26/2016
Review By: KC4KAA
Played: 36  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: New baskets, long and short holes, all wooded, requires mostly straight and skilled shots
Cons: Heavily wooded, if you want a nice easy course this isn't it
Other Thoughts: The upkeep seems to be great, with it being in a State Park, probably will stay in great shape

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.