Quinlan, TX 
Quinlan Park Share
Uploaded By: TheHipstick Hole #7 (Taken 4/2018)
3 / 256ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Great BEGINNER course

1    7/30/2019   7/31/2019
Review By: ivanhenson
Played: 380  Reviewed: 137  Exp: 9.9 Years
Pros: This course has some awesome additions. It has a walking path. I real waking path up to most of the tees pads. Great well marked tee pads and new baskets. The signs are perfect and even have disc trivia one new fact per hole. I thought this was awesome. Almost every hole is an ACE try.
Cons: Very very short and no elevation. Lots of snake holes and spiders in woods.
Other Thoughts: This is a perfect place to introduce a new player to the game. It would be fun for a beginner. Its to short though if you have played for a while.

 Introduction to the sport

1    4/22/2018   4/23/2018
Review By: TheHipstick
Played: 164  Reviewed: 69  Exp: 17.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course had nice big concrete teepads with the hole number on the pad.
Nice Discatcher baskets
Each hole has a teesign, no layout of the hole, but none is really needed.
Good course to practice in windy conditions
Course was well maintained, very nice and clean park.
Cons: No difficulty to this course.
Either mids or putters off the pad.
A couple holes you can use your fairway drivers and grip and rip.
More trees or obstacles would make this a better course.
Other Thoughts: Great park to get introduced to the sport. A few walking paths, but you don't need to worry about hitting anyone with your throws.

If your in the area, a quick stop to bag the course, but don't expect a whole lot.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Kids course

5+    3/10/2017   10/18/2017
Review By: Jmk5704
Played: 58  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 6.5 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: It's a good course for the kids in the elementary school that is right beside it, and good for beginners. A nice practice basket placement and set up that I think the circle surrounding it is 30 feet
Cons: All the shots are the same and it's really small. Hole 3 will puddle and get really muddy. A long shot on 9 could land in the parking lot.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 simple park course

1    6/29/2017   7/22/2017
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 340  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 14 Years
This review was updated on 8/30/2017
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -uses limited trees, small creek, and obstacles
-brand new discatchers
-concrete tees
-detailed tee signs
-practice basket
-splash pad, pavilion, and restrooms near the parking lot
-plenty of parking
-not crowded, you will probably have the course to yourself
Cons: -very few trees and obstacles, could use some planting of new trees
-walking path circles the course, fairways are constrained inside the circular path on some holes or between the path and the park boundaries. OB are indicated on the tee signs for each hole.
-mostly short holes, it's a small park
-distances seem a little shorter than listed on some tees
Other Thoughts: Quinlan is a small town and it's pretty cool they have a disc golf course. Quinlan Park also sports a splash pad (its main attraction), a walking/jogging trail, a pavilion with park tables, restrooms, and a parking lot that is plenty large for a park and city of this size. The course is on the back end of the park, fairly separated from the other park amenities except the walking trail.

The course is designed around the walking trail. The first 4 holes have the path as OB on the left side of the fairway and the trees and thick rough of the park boundary on the right. Holes 5-8 are inside the circle the trail makes. Nobody was using it when I was there (midday in the summer) and I imagine it doesn't see much traffic (like the course) but you could end up having to wait on some tees since the walking trail is in play on nearly all the holes. Hopefully shouldn't be a safety issue on this short course.

Hole 9 has a green just beyond a very small creek with a tree line on the left. Hole 2 has a very tight window but at 140' you pretty much just have to make the window and you have your birdie putt. I liked the well-framed but open fairway on hole 3, you need a straight 250' shot. Hole 4 has two trees to beat and an OB path near the green. The rest of the holes are mostly wide open or have one or two trees to beat but tons of room to work around them.

The course makes for a quick round if you happen to be in or near Quinlan but it's pretty out of the way and not worth traveling any great distance. The course and park were in good condition on my visit and the grass was mowed. A few strategically planted trees could make some holes a bit more interesting several years down the road. It's a well-executed short course for locals and course baggers only.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Great beginners course

5+    6/23/2017   6/25/2017
Review By: Printmiser
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good disc catchers, good tee boxes, practice area, water park close to cool down on hot summer day, restrooms near
Cons: Can get swampy after rain, just nine holes
Other Thoughts: This area was a marsh prior to being a park, they did a nice job with it. I believe with a little work can be much more challenging.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Par 2 course?

1    8/24/2016   8/25/2016
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 993  Reviewed: 353  Exp: 33.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice new DISCatchers
Good Tee Boxes
Good tee signs
Cons: Not enough trees to make it remotely interesting.
Very short holes
Other Thoughts: I think it is GREAT that a small town of 1400 has a disc golf course. The park is small, so it has a small course. The park is new, so the course is still rough. It does not look like they have mowed the course yet.

Easy enough to follow, I doubt you will come across any other players when you are there.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.