Ennis, TX 
Ennis DGC Share
Uploaded By: FlyBy Hole #2 (Taken 10/2020)
3 / 276ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 Work in Progress! A few New Tee pads!

2-4    10/3/2020   8/8/2020
Review By: FlyBy
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.9 Years
This review was updated on 10/3/2020
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: fun course getting some much needed maintenance in the form of New Tee Pads on a couple of holes so far! The City of Ennis looks to be taking care of business! New Tee Pads also have poles for future signage. (I hope.)
Cons: Course is very hard to navigate even with U-Disc, and there is a ton of rubble from the construction going on, but hopefully that will all be cleared up soon.
Other Thoughts: I am 30+ miles away from this course, but I will definitely play it again.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Needs alot of work and upkeep

1    5/30/2020   6/1/2020
Review By: Gregzky
Played: 36  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 31.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course has several holes that would be fun to play if there was any sort of maintenance happening here. Unfortunately, that's just not happening. The course has some elevation changes, mix of left and right turning fairways, tunnel shots, risk/reward, longer and shorter holes and a creek that runs thru it. Signage on some of the holes.
Cons: Tee boxes are in bad shape. Fairways are being narrowed down by the overgrown rough. Some of the baskets had to be cleared of overgrowth while playing. Couldn't find tee pad on one of the holes Too many short holes. Too many blind shots. Several of the holes would play much better if some of the baskets were visible from the tee. Maintenance, maintenance, maintenance.
Other Thoughts: If the course were to be maintained regularly it would be a decent course to visit. I think with a few hole/layout modifications it would be average at best.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 How long will this be a work in progress?

1    1/20/2018   1/28/2018
Review By: TheHipstick
Played: 164  Reviewed: 69  Exp: 17.9 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Set on a very nice piece of property
Good elevation, good mix of open, tunnel, left to right
Great course to work on shot placement or picking your lines
Baskets are in good shape (Mach II's)
Many holes are wooded, but it never seemed to get boring
Great job with layout and flow
Cons: Hole #3 was missing it's basket
I couldn't locate hole #4's tee area
A few minor tweaks and this would be a GREAT course
Concrete teepads would be huge, I found myself sometimes searching for the next teepad
Hole signage would be another great plus for this course
Trashcans would be a nice touch, did see some trash on the course
Other Thoughts: I was really impressed with this course. The players in this area are very lucky to have such a great course. After reading some of the other reviews however, it seems as this course has been going through "work in progress" phase for a while now. Would really love to see some of these improvements on the course. If that was done, I would love to keep coming back to this course.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Work in Progress

1    3/22/2017   3/23/2017
Review By: twshartle
Played: 43  Reviewed: 4
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Provides numerous opportunities for birdies to boost your confidence. A few holes are nothing more than a pitch and putt, which is fine. Tight fairways make the course more about shot placement than driving distance. A few water/terrain hazards make you focus. Plenty of shade. Good elevation change.
Cons: This is not a long course. I would prefer more opportunities to release the frustration of the trees and let one rip. Everything that grows in these woods has thorns or causes a rash. Standing/stagnant water will cause a extreme mosquito hazard. Needs better tee pads.
Other Thoughts: This course is a work in progress. The local club is doing good work, they just need more time to complete the course.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 good start, needs work

1    12/21/2016   12/29/2016
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 340  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 14 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -good signage
-brand new Mach baskets
-some good holes that make good use of the terrain
-lots of good land to work with for future developments
-course is very playable at the moment
-there are a few tee boxes of railroad ties filled with crushed rock (not my favorite), luckily on the tees that are least likely to change
Cons: -the design of half the holes is poor
-too many fairways that don't allow for realistic golf shots
-some very rough rough
-looks like some poison ivy in the rough
Other Thoughts: This course is off to a nice start and it's cool that a town like Ennis has a course like this. The first six holes are pretty good (except the weird fairway on hole 3) making good use of the elevation next to the reservoir and the pre-existing paths through the trees. Then the course heads deeper into the woods and it starts to go downhill. There are lots of very short and tight holes which on its own is fine but some of them are poorly designed. Holes 11-16 are pretty decent (i liked 11, 15, 16) but 7-10 need some rethinking. There is lots of room to work with and from the look of fairway 10 clearing some more trees shouldn't be a problem. Speaking of hole 10, there's a really poor basket location. The last two holes play in the same area as the first couple and I really like 18 for a finishing hole.

Hopefully whoever is in charge of this project isn't in too big of a hurry to finalize things before a better layout can be planned. I think this could end up being a good course with some relatively minor revisions. Also, many of the natural pads in the wooded area are pretty good. I'd personally prefer them to stay that way rather than the crushed stone pads on the first few holes.

I hope to get a chance to come back and see what happens with this course. It is a nice piece of land to work with that has a lot of potential.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Still in the clearing phase

1    10/19/2016   10/21/2016
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 989  Reviewed: 353  Exp: 33.1 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: First off, let me say this course is still in development. I will update this review if I ever play it again.

Holes were well marked with temporary tee signs and temporary direction signs showing where the next hole was.

Good baskets
Cons: course is still very very rough
Front 9 has most of the open holes, once you get to the end of the dam, the course shortens up with short tight ridiculous holes.
Other Thoughts: I am always glad to see new courses go into the ground. For that reason I am glad the Ennis is building a course.

A lot of time has been spend making the fairways there are out there. I commend those that have spent there blood sweat and tears clearing those holes.

However I must give my review based on how the course played.

As usually happens when a new course goes in, the area the course has been build is in an area the City does not maintain. Therefor the grass was pretty long when I played. Even though a ton of work has been done clearing the main lines, more clearing off the fairways is needed to make this a reasonable course for rec players.

Many of the holes go though an area that was very thick to start with. unfortunately the holes are very short and several are so hard right or left that it makes them 3 shot holes under 300 ft (at least one was under 200) So unless you go over the top, the best you can do is a must get 3.

YOU do not want to be off the fairways. It is thick and hard to throw out. Trust me on that one.

Clean up the lower small branches and the briers and this course would be a lot more fun to play.

If you live in the area, get to work on this course. with more clearing and making some of the holes longer, this would be a much better course.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.