Aiken, SC 
Odell Weeks Share
Uploaded By: RussMB Hole #9 (Taken 4/2010)
3 / 305ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
9-hole, par 3 practice course

5+    10/8/2017   10/10/2017
Review By: JSDG
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 22.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/16/2017
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -quick and fun practice course
-discatcher baskets
-concrete tee pads
-park has nice facilities
Cons: -course often congested or being used for other purposes
-lots of potential to hit pedestrians if inaccurate
Other Thoughts: I consider this my "home course." I have played this course hundreds of times (no exaggeration). Those of you that I see out here equally as often can confirm this! I love this course, but am clearly bias. This course is a great test of disc golf fundamentals. It's a 9-hole par 3 with most holes being around 300' in distance. There are open shots (#1,3,9), minor elevation shots (#4,5,9), slight right (#4,6,7) and slight left (#7,8) bends, and even semi-low ceiling tunnel type shots (#2,5). For a small area, they really did a great job fitting in some basic tests of disc golf skill. I have played this course more than any other course because it's my home course, but I truly have come to appreciate the simple beauty of the course. The concrete tee pads and Innova discatchers are awesome-my personal favorite basket and tee pad types of all. I miss them anytime they're absent when playing other courses. The park is great, and very family friendly. There are bathrooms on site open during business hours and water fountains nearby always running outside (Along the track by the rear/public tennis courts). Sadly there are a few things that take away from this course. The park is used often by many people for multiple reasons. Though 2 signs are posted reading "caution-disc golfers at play" (#6,9) many people will use the various fairways for recreation, so be sure to look first here! I often see cross country training, yoga and cross fit classes taking place on various fairways and next to baskets making the holes unusable for the day. Disc golfers must share their space, and I am glad to do so, but it does detract from an already short course. I hope that Aiken parks and rec decide to extend the course to a full 18 holes. Adjacent "Carolina Bay" would be an ideal location for a difficult and beautiful back 9. This area is under used by comparison to the adjacent park and seems a hand in glove fit for the missing back 9. Fingers crossed! If you're looking for a fast and fun beginner grade disc golf course in a family friendly public area, then this is the course for you.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Home course

5+    5/3/2014   6/11/2014
Review By: johnmatkinson1
Played: 20  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.9 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice mix of long, mid and short shots. Hole locations are easy to find and marked well. Nice to have 18 in such a small area.
Cons: February we had a huge Ice storm which wrecked havoc on the trees and course overall. Hope the park can shape some of the trees up and remove a lot of the dead debris.
Public park so be patient.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty decent

2-4    8/14/2010   8/30/2010
Review By: rpeterson24
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Very open, great beginner course, impossible to lose a disc. Quiet, doesn't look like it's used much. Nice tee boxes. Nice baskets
Cons: No much, it's a bit open in places, not all that challenging but great for beginners or families. Could be longer.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Suprising

1    11/19/2008   11/19/2008
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 228  Reviewed: 181  Exp: 19.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/24/2008
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Good solid design no hokey shots
-Plays quick
-Easy to navigate! With map online, at msg board, and stocked in box, and signs.
-Open park setting
-Cement tees now
-Allows a beginner to learn, anyone else it's just tough/long enough to be interesting and enjoyable.
Cons: None really, it is what it is and it works.
Other Thoughts: Don't know why it got 2 thumbs downs, that's all that needed to be said about this course. There are no cons- it's good for what it is designed to be and has no issues at all.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.