Dallas, TX 
B. B. Owen Park Share
Uploaded By: MacGyver214 Hole #11 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 411ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 42
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Ugly

1    3/25/2017   10/18/2017
Review By: Jmk5704
Played: 47  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 3.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There was good variety in the shots that you need to play this course.
Cons: The baskets were homemade! The signs, tee pad, paths between and some holes just were aweful. The front 9 were really crammed together and you easily could hit someone with an errant drive, or worst case land on the road where there is a lot of traffic.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

High variability with average difficulty

5+    1/25/2017   2/1/2017
Review By: jamminbales
Played: 30  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 1.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -GREAT tee boxes
-Good for beginner and intermediate players because it has a variety of shots with very low chance of losing a disc

Cons: -Won't be very challenging for high level players
-Tee signs are either hard to read or gone
Other Thoughts: Difficulty (2.5/5): The difficulty is my favorite part of this course, as a beginner. It only has a few wide open holes, and those are generally the longest holes. Besides that, there's always a handful of trees around to make you shape your shots and a couple of tunnels thrown in for good measure. But the difficulty isn't overwhelming for me as a beginner. If I miss my line by 10 feet, I'm not clanking off of a tree, I just have a harder upshot/putt.

Maintenance (2.5/5): The grass is kept short, no complaints there. They have the best tee boxes of any course I've played. Long, concrete, and tapered down to point towards the basket. The tee signs are in poor shape, though. I think 3 are completely missing, and the rest are extremely faded or covered in graffiti.

Variability (4/5): BB Owens has a great amount of variability. I usually use every single disc in my (admittedly small) bag. Off the tee, I'll throw hyzers, skips, anhyzers, bombs, layup placement shots, and straight shots playing the fade. And what's great is on a handful of holes, there are multiple ways to attack the basket so you can play it different everytime. The high variability with only average difficulty is what keeps me coming back to this course.

Flow/Experience (3/5): It's pretty easy to navigate this course by yourself, especially if you take a picture of the information board map near hole 1. The first time I played here I was playing by myself. I navigated perfectly except for I went from Hole 2 to Hole 6. I quickly realized my mistake and went back to Hole 3. The experience here is a bit below average for the most part. The scenery isn't that great and it's bordered on two sides by busy roads. There is a ton of trash in the woods and no holes that could be considered signature. That being said, I raised the experience rating by a whole point when I realized that there are two "secret" holes in the woods, 16A and 19. They are extremely narrow and short, but worth the play!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

My One Year of Playing B. B. Owen Park Review

5+    6/16/2016   6/17/2016
Review By: Jimbotten
Played: 20  Reviewed: 12
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hole Variabilility: 3.0*. Great assortment of Shot Paths, and Difficulties. Course has Multiple Pin positions that seem to change at least once a month. Several holes have sharp turns left, while some have sharp turns right, which makes for good and fair variability.

Par Difficulty: 4* With some of the alternate Pin Positions, making par consistently can be a challenge for non-competitive players, good for private competition.

Environment: 4* Pathways in between holes are well kept, and lined with stone blocks that have been useful in muddy times. Over the year, credit to the course maintainers, I've noticed subtle updates to the course: new pin positions have been carved out in the woods, and touch-up landscaping, such as new stone blocks lining a few tee boxes. Seems like a good tournament course with a few great alternate grass tee locations.
Cons: Environment: Ant hills are everywhere, this course in particular has more than others. Signage is inconsistent (some info is faded) and needs some touching up. Only one or two walks in between holes are scenic. To me a perfect disc golf course balances wilderness with park moreso than B. B. Owen does.

Hole Variability: Not the greatest assortment of short, mid, and long holes. I judge this based on the number of different dics i use, and i use one driver on 50 percent of the holes. Only 1 threatening water hole and it isn't very scenic.
Other Thoughts: Two different parking lots allow you to decide if you want to start on hole 1/8, or start on hole 9.

Some players like this challenge and others do not, so i did not list it in the pros or cons, but: Several holes throw directly East or West, which can be blind shots directly into the sun depending on the time of day.

This is my first long review; I tend to prefer short and to the point reviews. Thus, I conclude by saying this course is easily not perfect, but it is still a solid goto course once a month for friendly competition, especially if you live within a 30 minute commute.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice intermediate level course

5+    7/8/2015   9/11/2015
Review By: Tommy2am
Played: 33  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 4.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Convenient location right off 635. Concrete teepads. Fairly hard to lose discs. Has some tight areas to throw through such as holes 1 and 17. Port-a-potties are typically well maintained. Because of the layout and type of grass, this course is ALWAYS playable, even after huge rains, ice storms, etc. This course holds up well to inclement weather. Because of the layout, you could play quickly if you are short on time. There are two or three alternate pins for almost every hole. Some elevation changes. A nice practice basket sits right by the parking lot and hole 8. There is a guy that sells new and used discs out of a truck on Tuesdays and on the weekend. There are tournaments on Tuesdays, and they do bring out some big name players. There are a couple of "secret" holes that are two of the best on the course.
Cons: There are several wide open holes. While there are some light trees about, they really present no challenge on these holes. The wind can be a factor as some of these are w-i-d-e open shots. There are a few signs torn up or missing. The fairways are close on a few, so you will have to watch where you throw. The homeless. Ahhhh, the homeless. There are several that live in the woods in the park. They are mostly harmless, but they will ask for money and they will creep up on you...so be aware of your surroundings. The streets do come into play on a couple of holes. There is an enormous amount of trash around...always. This isn't the best of neighborhoods. I suggest going in the day and being aware of what's around you. Being in a group doesn't hurt either.
Other Thoughts: If you live near the course, then it is an OK one to go to...especially since there aren't many others too close by. This was my home course for awhile, so I may see it in a better light than some. It's a decent course, but it can have a lot of traffic on it. It really missed the marked on using the great woods and creek that go through the middle of it however. The tee signs need to be repaired/replaced as well. It's worth going to, but there are certainly much better courses around.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 My Home Course

5+    1/21/2015   1/21/2015
Review By: MacEZ
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Well laid out course with multiple pin positions
-Quick playing and short holes
-Fair amount of left and right handed holes
-The only real course in Dallas Proper
-Concrete Tee boxes
-Dries quickly after rain.. usually within 2 days
Cons: -Many of the tee box signs are missing
-The front 9 can be confusing for new people
-A lot of trees to lose your discs in on the back 9
-lately, creepy forest dwellers
-crazy annoyingly busy on the weekends on nice days
Other Thoughts: This is my home course.. I've played it over 100 times easily over the last 7 years. It's a good course but usually very busy.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun playing Course

1    6/28/2014   7/14/2014
Review By: snunnone
Played: 59  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 5.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Open holes. Good obstacles on some. Easy play course.
Cons: A little crowded. Some tee boxes and baskets a little hard to find. But not a big issue.
Other Thoughts: Great course to just go and have some fun. Love the hole that plays by the road and an anny shot over the creek. Some tunnels to play into. Good mix of open and treed shots.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    8/31/2007   6/3/2011
Review By: ezyrider
Played: 42  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 25.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good course for working mid distance drives with accuracy. This was my home course for six years while living in Dallas.
Cons: Course is heavily played. Afternoon rounds can be slow.
Other Thoughts: Fun course that can be played quickly if pressed for time.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Finally played this course

2-4    8/7/2010   8/31/2010
Review By: johnwangg
Played: 143  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 7.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1. Course is designed to make the best use of the park it sits on (but at a cost, see cons below)

2. There is plenty of parking and pretty easy to get to. Its almost right off 635.

3. There are a few intimidating shots (if you do not trust your throw).

4. Has some good holes to put up some aces (every course should have 1 or 2)
Cons: 1. Layout is very arkward, hard to navigate. Has too much Zig Zagging.

2. Can get over crowded. Everytime I have gone here it was filled. (But then again I have gone here twice).

3. Besides the couple of the more difficult holes, the rest are plain simple (simple is not a good word, these holes are more forgiving should you have some bad tosses).

4. Its in the middle of the city, so you have some street hazards with heaving amount of cars passing.
Other Thoughts: This is a decent course, should you have some free time. This is one of the faster flowing courses should you be short on time. The people that play here are very friendly, so should you need help, they are more than eager to assist.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Snug by the Shrub

1    8/17/2009   10/13/2009
Review By: Donovan
Played: 238  Reviewed: 186  Exp: 30.7 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course runs along the edges of a slightly wooded creek eve if it rarely ventures into it. The course has some really good pin placements that make you throw a variety of shots. If you are a left-handed backhand dominant thrower, then this is one of those few courses you might refer to as "friendly". There are enough holes that provide a challenge that it will leave you wanting to throw more than one tee shot. This place does have cement tee pads and the sign do have maps on them. They have lots of trashcans. There is a message board for the course at the parking lots edge.
Cons: A bunch of holes are slammed in tight and if the course gets busy, this will become an issue. It's mostly flat and the baskets are not the greatest. The signs have lots of graffiti on them and some of them are even missing. Not all the footage is accurate on the signs nor are all the pin placements. The layout does not flow simply, so a map may be helpful. There were no restrooms at the park, but there are places very close by.
Other Thoughts: The fun factor for this course was decent. There were as many holes that were really fun to throw at, as there were plain ones. If you live close by this will surely be good place to play. This is a place that I intend to play again..

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Quick and challenging

5+    7/20/2009   7/29/2009
Review By: rocnroll
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 19.8 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This park flows very nicely. Good combination of big arm and tecnical shots that keep me coming back for more. Always a good golf experience-even for those who have never thrown.
Cons: Sometimes there can be lots of traffic on the course. Go early. Especially on the weekends. There are two busy streets near the course.
Other Thoughts: I love playing here. The minis are run very well and the payouts are great. The course is challenging for almost any skill level. Combine that with the friendly crowd and it's always worth coming back to.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.