Hampton, VA 
Hampton 9 DGC Share
Uploaded By: Don Dixon Hole #3 (Taken 1/2018)
3 / 180ft.   3 / 229ft.   3 / 214ft.   3 / 258ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Red Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Course of Confinement

2-4    2/15/2020   2/20/2020
Review By: lee76007
Played: 59  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 2.1 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I played Red tees/Red baskets and White tees/White baskets
-Good hole signs with distance, par, and rules. The rules state penalties for O.B and missed MANDOS. Their are several of them
-Baskets are in great shape.
-Most fairways are kept in good shape by the city.
-Holes 1 thru 3 are fun to play with what looks like a type of birch tree. Several of them.
-4 different 9-hole layouts.
-The course is scenic for the most part.
Cons: -The course has a big safety issue. An errant throw could hit a building, pedestrians, traffic, and parked cars. There just off of the fairway. Must have good control of your throws or put errant discs away. Only use those you trust. Felt like I was confined, which I don't mind for natural causes, but not manmade, and this is the result of my overall rating.
-Gravel tee pads are rutted and sunken in on forward portion of tee pad.
-Holes 1-3 and partial 4 are muck from recent rains. Likely to stay that way for the next several months.
-Holes 6 thru 8 share same large fairway. If the course is crowded on a warm weekend, likely to do some waiting or possibly hit somebody.



Other Thoughts: As in the title I felt confined, restricted, handcuffed, etc. Some discs I kept in the bag that I would normally use because of distance, but can go off line. Only pulled those out that I had control over or just backed off of the throw, resulting in lost distance. You feel you should be picking up more birdies on the course. I like to approach baskets to throw past them, to give the best chance to drop them in the basket. But, on some baskets had to back off to not risk throwing out into the street, or miss my mark down the fairway and find myself in the parking lot or traffic. Despite being cautious, came close a few times.

There are a few enjoyable holes, and I wouldn't mind coming back in the summer when the foliage returns.

In my opinion:
Signature Hole is No. 9, Par 3, White tees/basket 450ft. The hole is wide open with the longest and widest fairway. However, an errant throw can still find itself out in the street on both sides. The fairway starts wide and then narrows at about the 260ft mark where it bottle necks with three large canopy oak trees on the left (red basket sits in the middle of them) and on the right is a very large utility tower, with a base of about 15 feet. Whether its your drive or a second shot, theirs about a 50ft gap between the trees and tower to throw thru. The canopy can knock you down, and cant go around either obstacle with going out into the street. The white basket sits alone in an open field. The hole a final reminder not to go O.B., which is the theme of the course.

Trouble Hole is No. 2, Par 3, White tees/basket 242ft.
for those who have the distance, your going to want to go for it! Theirs a line thru the birch trees (I think that's what they are) with some high canopy to the basket. On the left it looks like a berm all the way down fairway, but if you take a look on the other side, its a narrow canal, all the way behind the basket and lined with trees. Theirs just about 10 feet of safety behind the basket before you hit the canal. On the right side of fairway about half way down is a fence, on the other side a maintenance building. An errant throw can make it over the fence. Their is lost disc potential on this hole. Back behind the basket and canal is a ball course with a sand trap. At first glance, gives the illusion that it could be part of the hole, but its too far away. When the foliage returns, it will be a more difficult hole.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Quick Play - Multiple Layouts!~

1    6/1/2018   9/16/2018
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 327  Reviewed: 298  Exp: 11.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Aesthetic-- plays around an aquatic center/community center in Hampton, VA. You will play near roads, sidewalks, parking lots and a walking trail... be careful.

Teepads-- Nice crushed stone teepads here. just roughed up enough to keep them grippy. I was wearing Chuck Taylors and never felt like I was going to slip/fall.

Teesigns-- Nice and on both tees. Descriptive of both basket positions

Baskets-- Dual placements on every hole. Although this is a nine-holer, you could play 36 distinct holes. Each Tee/Basket combination gives you a different look.

Cons: Upkeep-- when I was there, the "grass" was long and scratchy. It doesn't seem like there was a lot of actual "grass," more weeds in the field.

Hole 9-- Yes, it's nice to be able to open up a little, but this hole is both out of place and somewhat dangerous. Playing between a driveway on the right and a sidewalk on the left...
Other Thoughts: I literally played through 9 holes in <45minutes. Very quick play but very fun nonetheless while on a work trip.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great

5+    9/24/2017   9/24/2017
Review By: reichmusic
Played: 13  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very close to town. Great signage, great powder coated baskets. Genius design in a relatively small area. In a well maintained beautiful park. Not too much course traffic like the others in the area on weekends
Cons: Some of the trees need to be trimmed to make the mandos fair.
Close to a recreation trail system and need to be weary of pedestrian traffic. Since its a 9 hole system, once this course gets popular it may slow up play
Other Thoughts: New tee pads just went in, stone dust, new signs, lots of great locals doing lots of work and maintenance on the course. so thankful for Don Dixon and his friends like Andrew, Kat etc

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  A good set of 9, no course fee

1    9/10/2017   9/16/2017
Review By: mattlock
Played: 27  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is well-marked and makes good use of trees to set up the baskets. It is not terribly difficult, but a fine place to bring friends and family who would not enjoy 400 ft holes. They have added tees to each hole since this year.
Cons: A couple of holes are right up against the highway. Also there are walkers/runners that you need to watch out for.
Other Thoughts: The course design has a number of mandos, which is good or bad depending on how you feel about them.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Hidden in Hampton

2-4    1/4/2017   1/4/2017
Review By: erocker
Played: 25  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.1 Years
This review was updated on 3/8/2017
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Hampton 9 is a newer course, located by a rec center. It is definitely close to the populous areas of the peninsula, and bridges the gap in courses between Newport News Park and Bayville. The layout loops around, and there are signs by each hole. There is also two layouts for each hole, a red and a white. I came in expecting an easy course, and was surprised to find it more challenging than I'd expected. While there are plenty of birdie opportunities, the mandos and OB keep this course interesting. The chainstar baskets are in great shape and catch well. There is a bathroom in the rec center and plenty of parking nearby. The course was not busy at all, I was the only one playing when I last went.
Cons: The biggest con is the constricting space. The 9 holes are very tightly packed, and often threaten to overlap each other. Hampton Roads Center Highway is much too close to the course (one white tee is within 10 feet of the road). However I can't say that I'm not baised (some dude who was hard up for entertainment jumped out of his car and stole my favorite putter) but that's another story. The tee pads are just stakes in the ground, and there are no benches or posts by any of the tees. There are two mandos on nearly every hole.
Other Thoughts: For me this is a good technical practice course, thanks to the abundant mandos and OB. It is close to my house which is great, but lacks the space and amenities needed to make it anything more.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.