Waco, TX 
William Cameron Park Share
Uploaded By: sub ceroh Hole #11
3 / 264ft.   3 / 264ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
Awful

1    6/13/2017   10/18/2017
Review By: Jmk5704
Played: 46  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 15-23 were good holes. to be honest if the was a 9 hole course I would give it a better rating than this course altogether
Cons: Tee signs, tee pads, and baskets were all in poor condition. The holes them self were not good holes at all very poorly designed. Had I not be playing with a local I definitely would have got lost trying to find my way around.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Best course in Waco

5+    12/25/2016   1/30/2017
Review By: tankmlee
Played: 17  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course has it all, short and technical, elevation, long and challenging, hazards, natural OB, places to rest, active local scene, activities for everyone.
Cons: the bottoms 14-23 can get crowded with non disc golfers during the beautiful days, can be hard to navigate if you have not been before and some signs are missing.
Other Thoughts: this is a must play course, for a more experienced player it might be a little easy but there is always the Beast across the river if you are up for a real challenge.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Damn Fine Course

1    6/10/2016   6/10/2016
Review By: jbeezus
Played: 29  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.4 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Excellent variety of shots- a number of ace ops- some hyzer bombs and some anny's. Very well maintained and easy to navigate.
Cons: Nada
Other Thoughts: One of the more "fun" courses I've played. Easy enough for beginners to not get frustrated and techincal enough for experienced folks.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Good course overall

1    3/15/2015   3/15/2015
Review By: Dday301
Played: 11  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 10.4 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good variety of shots needed
Friendly and helpful locals
Cons: Hard to navigate (there is a map between holes 4&5)
Not strictly a disc golf park so lots of passers by, especially on second half
Other Thoughts: DO NOT OVER THROW HERE, doing so will either land you in the creek or down a hill. That being said it's a fun course, mostly short and technical. The creek plays a big part in the first half particularly so be careful. Lots of elevation change here also. Navigation can be difficult and lots of people in the second half of the course using the park for other things. Those 2 things made it a 3 for me. If it was easier to get around and you didn't play through the middle of a big park it would get a 4. Good overall, just be careful.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Love This Course

1    10/4/2014   10/12/2014
Review By: Joe6Pack
Played: 34  Reviewed: 18
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Very well maintained course in community park
- Tons of shot variety (every type of shot imaginable)
- Good baskets
- Good tee pads
- Plenty of parking and restrooms
Cons: - Can be difficult to play if park is crowded with non-disc golfers
- Hard to navigate if you don't download the map
Other Thoughts: One of my favorite course in Texas. I make a point to stop here when I'm traveling on I-35. Worth traveling out of the way if you can, especially since the east course is right around the block to play as well.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Ups and Downs Plus Variety

1    7/10/2014   7/21/2014
Review By: balanceseeker8
Played: 13  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 17.4 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Lots of ups and downs in the course (for texas). There is a variety of different types of holes.
Cons: The breeze off the river can be hard to handle. This course can also be a little crowded. The whole just past the old fountain has too much ground cover.
Other Thoughts: It's cool to hear the animal chatter from the near by zoo.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Lovely Park

1    4/11/2014   4/14/2014
Review By: Notorious21
Played: 64  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 7.1 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros:
- Beautiful multi-purpose park with mature trees along a large river
- Significant elevation change on many holes, requiring unique shot shapes
- Creek behind many shorter holes, adding risk when attacking the basket
- A nice variety of wooded and open holes, although each type is all grouped together
Cons:
- A surplus of short, left-handed holes, starts to feel repetitive
- Very busy
- Sprawling park with windy roads, difficult to locate first hole
Other Thoughts:
The scenery at this park was great. It felt clean and peaceful, and the locals were friendly. We came upon a herd of Baylor cliches with their raybans and croakies, but they let us play through.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 William Cameron Park

5+    3/14/2014   3/15/2014
Review By: MrCoff3y
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.9 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Beautiful Course! Lots of trees to shoot around/through. There are a lot holes that you can flick which I appreciate being a RHFH thrower. Good mix of long and short holes. Tee signs are beautiful and more importantly accurate and also available at every hole.
Cons: It's a busy park. If you go in the afternoon you may be waiting at every tee box and there will be a lot of people playing soccer/football/catch on holes 14-23.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Very Nice

2-4    6/23/2013   6/23/2013
Review By: JeremyKShort
Played: 69  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 5.8 Years
This review was updated on 3/22/2014
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has become one of my favorites, it's better than most equivalently rated courses in the DFW area. Lots of nice wooded holes, many different kinds of shots needed. Lots of trees to shoot around and under. Most of the rough is cleared out enough to keep it from being unbearable. The Houck tee-signs are excellent. Cameron Park itself is an amazing park, lots of stuff on it along the Brazos.

Holes one to four play in a single single area. Five through fourteen make another group. These fourteen holes are mostly wooded shots, save for three oir so open holes. Fifteen to nineteen are across the road from the others (the road is an elevated bridge, so you actually cross under it). These holes are much more open than the rest of the course, and really feel like a different course. Twenty throws across a creek that feeds into the Brazos. Twenty-one to twenty-three play in another fairly open area, back on the same side of the road as the others.
Cons: The transition from 4 to 5 is awkward. The park is very busy, 15 through 19 are in an area that can be very busy. 21 through 23 can be almost impossible to play on weekends. There seems to always be an organized event, or just a large number of people to work around. In our trips there we have not been able to play them due to everything from triathlons to larpers.
Other Thoughts: I really don't understand the low ratings on this course. It is well above all 3.7ish courses I've played. I understand there have been some issues in the past (mainly old baskets, signs and reconfigurations). These have all been taken care of at this point, and the older reviews don't do Cameron justice.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Alot Nicer then the OL'

2-4    8/18/2011   8/18/2011
Review By: JeffThroW
Played: 296  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 12.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/21/2013
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Redesigned finally with more sidewalks to utilize out of bounds the new holes make the course more fun.Dual pin locations,Excellent idea to protect the tree on hole 5 wrapping a protective plastic over the tree!There wasn't but a couple or three really boring holes out here so thats not bad at all.The ground is not full of foilage on the densely wooded holes which makes for easier play,Check out the awesome sign that explains where all the holes are under the bridge by the kids water park.
Cons: I liked the course it was kinda hard to figure out where hole 4 is but someone helped its past the pavilion to the west all the way across the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: Bring swimshorts for the natural spring thats a must to take a dip in after or before hole 10.Bring a fishin pole too for bass wrangling along the Beautiful Brazos river as well.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.