North Charleston, SC 
Wannamaker County Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: JoshuaWayneHester Hole #8 (Taken 3/2018)
3 / 216ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Not for the family

5+    3/5/2018   3/16/2018
Review By: Sparkles
Played: 22  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 10.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is an easy to navigate 9-Hole heavily wooded course. Every hole has great signage with a gravel tee box. Post with numbers and all Innova Discatchers in good shape. The course features small hole distances allowing for a few ace races. The park is very quiet.
Cons: This course is heavily wooded with an almost "Pray and Spray" attitude on every hole. No matter what your skill level this course falls short with the fun factor. Every hole features the same layout, and bugs are a huge factor. Not safe for younger players, there are too many ways for them to get hurt. This course can become a main player in South Carolina, but it needs alot of work first.
Other Thoughts: I hope that the park continues to improve on this setup, by clearing trees to allow a "flight line".

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

More work needed!

5+    3/3/2018   3/3/2018
Review By: JoshuaWayneHester
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 10.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Easy to navigate 9 hole course with Labeled Tee signs and maps.

*All Innova Discatchers in great shape.

*9 Nicely created Tee pads with rocks, very unique compared to the other courses in Charleston.

*Very quiet and relaxing with parking across the street. Only $2 per person to park.

*Short hole distances are great for younger players, my 7yr old really enjoyed this course.
Cons: *The course is poorly designed, with no variation of hole distances and basket layouts.

*Wildlife is a major concern in the warm weather, mostly referring to snakes. This is an extremely wooded course.

Other Thoughts: I actaully did enjoy playing a new course in the Charleston Area, and as this course gets better tender, love and care I will play again and update this review. I personally and hoping that they will work on this to make it better, however as the course is now, I have to rate in low for the lack of design.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Wannamaker a better course.

2-4    4/1/2017   4/3/2017
Review By: DiscGolfCraig
Played: 314  Reviewed: 308  Exp: 15.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wannamaker is a shorter, wooded course. Played it with two discs and enjoyed two quick rounds.
- The Charleston area is nothing if not consistent with its layouts. If you've played Tidal Creek (still not calling it its lame nickname), James Island, Johns Island, Haut Gap, or Sewee Outpost, you've played this layout: short, heavily wooded fairways. When you're throwing great, you don't even see the trees. If you're slightly off your lines, you're hitting trees on every single hole.
- Good course for beginners or casual players. There's almost no chance of losing discs. And at times, you just need a little bit of luck to throw through the lines of trees - either to avoid the trees, or to get a good skip off one of them.
- Good course for a quick round. I played with a Buzz & Aviar, and played through twice in about 40 minutes.
- Good course to practice your short and mid-range game. I had birdie putts after great tee shots. I had plenty of scrambling chances after hitting trees off the tee.
- Great park for the family. There's a huge playground (although parents seem to let their kids run wild and unsupervised) and a water park. You can easily sneak away for a quick round or two.
Cons: Course felt like one long continuation of the same hole 9 times in a row. Yes, there's is variety. But, by the end of my round, it all blended together into one melded hole.
- Every hole has the same element: narrow-ish fairway with plenty of trees and some dogleg element. The only hole that is essentially straight is #7, the short hole with the most non-existent fairway. Basically, if you throw dead straight on every hole, you'll probably see 8 pars and a tap-in birdie on #7.
- Course has an irritating vibe to it. I was glad this is only 9 holes with its current layout. I would have felt trapped in some cruel joke if I had to play 18 holes of this ilk. The frustration is that there's plenty of room to carve out a solid, more creative layout. I do hope an 18-hole version of this course isn't just 9 more holes that play the exact same as the existing 9. In that case, I'd rather just drive to Park Circle or Naval Weapons Station.
- No trash cans or benches. Also no tee pads. Not that any are needed.
Other Thoughts: The best way to enjoy this course is to combine it with a trip to CSU's 9-hole layout 3 minutes away. Wannamaker and Buccaneer Bay can offer a fun, yin and yang layout: 9 heavily wooded holes followed by 9 wide open holes.
- I feel like this course was put in with the least amount of trees being removed. A better layout is available, it would require more effort. I just don't know if that's in the park's or county's interest.
- You've got a couple sharp dogleg, high sweeping throws on #5 & 6. Other than that, most holes are relatively straight for the first half, with the dogleg not coming into play until the final portion of the layout.
- This was a bland, unimaginative layout. The positive is that it makes every other course in the Charleston area seem that much better.
- It only costs $2 to play. Technically $2 to enter the park.
- It's the closest course to where I stay when I'm in town. Until more work is done, I'm going to keep on driving to one of the areas better layouts.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good for creating turnover discs

1    10/29/2016   10/31/2016
Review By: eric_vdberg
Played: 762  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 36.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice baskets, tee posts and defined tee areas.
Cons: No tee distances or diagrams, footing is rutted sand.
Short, but with ridiculously tight lines on many holes.
$2 entrance fee.
Other Thoughts: Worst mosquitoes I have ever experienced, but this could be due to the aftermath of Hurricane Matthew.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Tough tee pads

1    10/15/2016   10/20/2016
Review By: discchris
Played: 47  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It has good potential the area it's in looks really nice, hopefully in time it gets better
Cons: Tee pads are tough to throw from, some holes have no distinguished lines to throw to the basket.
Other Thoughts: There could really be a good course at this park

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.