North Charleston, SC 
Wannamaker County Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: JoshuaWayneHester Hole #3 (Taken 3/2018)
3 / 188ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Its Tight and Technical, but a look into the future for this park

1    12/8/2019   4/29/2020
Review By: pmay5
Played: 191  Reviewed: 147  Exp: 17.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great new DISCatchers.
Tee signs with distance and par and small hole layout.
Heavily wooded course right near park entrance and outdoor pool complex.
Easy to follow course since you can see the next tee pretty easily.
Most of the lines seemed fair to me, great chance to work on your technical game.
Cons: The gravel tees are a good effort, but they are short and pretty dug out at the fronts. Seems it wouldn't be too tough for park maintenance to walk thru and smooth them out regularly.
Several holes had strange layouts:
#1 - probably the widest fairway straight ahead, then a right turn and probably another 50-60' to the basket. Kind of tough to make that turn, then keep going another 50'.
#6 - short hyzer hole, not sure if it was changed after the tee went in, or the tee was installed wrong, but the tee is about 45 degrees off the correct angle.
#7 - definitely the tightest fairway, a straight path only a few feet wide, and another path wider, yet deadends before the basket.
Other Thoughts: This course is right near the entrance gate ($2 to park) of this growing park. There are already several amenities, waterpark, playground, shelters, lagoon and walking trails. The park appears well kept and the staff were very friendly when I stopped in. Since this course is very near the outdoor pool complex, it would be an easy walk over for a nice break. Really, from any activities in the park, come here and play a quick round on this fully shaded course.

Yes, all the holes are heavily wooded, #1 probably the least wooded, but I felt most of the lines were hittable, except for the #7. Since it is a short course, average hole length is just over 200' (with one at 250' and one at 300') so if you miss a fairway, the recovery won't be too long. The nice yellow bands on the DISCatchers are helpful in planning your shot.

The only tricky transition was after the frustration that is #7, you have to walk back a little to get to #8 tee. Overall, its a pretty quick play.

Talking to the staff in the office, the Master Plan for this park has an entirely new 18 course planned to go in the north end of the park. Not sure of the future of this 9 hole tract, but it may be here just to judge interest for the planned course. So if you are in the area and want to get in a quick nine, it would help to show some interest in this course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


1    12/7/2019   12/9/2019
Review By: al birdie
Played: 140  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 50.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice DISCatchers. Adequate tee signs. Red tape on basket spoke pointing in the direction to the next tee very helpful.
Cons: Very tight fairways. 1-2 select trees on almost every hole need removing for better flight lines. Gravel tees need material to level pad surface. Several directional "next tee" signs are needed to help with navigation.
Other Thoughts: I think this is a great beginner, family style course.
Very clean & safe park area near park entrance.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Not for the family

5+    3/5/2018   3/16/2018
Review By: Sparkles
Played: 22  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 11.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is an easy to navigate 9-Hole heavily wooded course. Every hole has great signage with a gravel tee box. Post with numbers and all Innova Discatchers in good shape. The course features small hole distances allowing for a few ace races. The park is very quiet.
Cons: This course is heavily wooded with an almost "Pray and Spray" attitude on every hole. No matter what your skill level this course falls short with the fun factor. Every hole features the same layout, and bugs are a huge factor. Not safe for younger players, there are too many ways for them to get hurt. This course can become a main player in South Carolina, but it needs alot of work first.
Other Thoughts: I hope that the park continues to improve on this setup, by clearing trees to allow a "flight line".

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 More work needed!

5+    3/3/2018   3/3/2018
Review By: JoshuaWayneHester
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 11.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Easy to navigate 9 hole course with Labeled Tee signs and maps.

*All Innova Discatchers in great shape.

*9 Nicely created Tee pads with rocks, very unique compared to the other courses in Charleston.

*Very quiet and relaxing with parking across the street. Only $2 per person to park.

*Short hole distances are great for younger players, my 7yr old really enjoyed this course.
Cons: *The course is poorly designed, with no variation of hole distances and basket layouts.

*Wildlife is a major concern in the warm weather, mostly referring to snakes. This is an extremely wooded course.

Other Thoughts: I actaully did enjoy playing a new course in the Charleston Area, and as this course gets better tender, love and care I will play again and update this review. I personally and hoping that they will work on this to make it better, however as the course is now, I have to rate in low for the lack of design.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Wannamaker a better course.

2-4    4/1/2017   4/3/2017
Review By: DiscGolfCraig
Played: 361  Reviewed: 355  Exp: 16.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wannamaker is a shorter, wooded course. Played it with two discs and enjoyed two quick rounds.
- The Charleston area is nothing if not consistent with its layouts. If you've played Tidal Creek (still not calling it its lame nickname), James Island, Johns Island, Haut Gap, or Sewee Outpost, you've played this layout: short, heavily wooded fairways. When you're throwing great, you don't even see the trees. If you're slightly off your lines, you're hitting trees on every single hole.
- Good course for beginners or casual players. There's almost no chance of losing discs. And at times, you just need a little bit of luck to throw through the lines of trees - either to avoid the trees, or to get a good skip off one of them.
- Good course for a quick round. I played with a Buzz & Aviar, and played through twice in about 40 minutes.
- Good course to practice your short and mid-range game. I had birdie putts after great tee shots. I had plenty of scrambling chances after hitting trees off the tee.
- Great park for the family. There's a huge playground (although parents seem to let their kids run wild and unsupervised) and a water park. You can easily sneak away for a quick round or two.
Cons: Course felt like one long continuation of the same hole 9 times in a row. Yes, there's is variety. But, by the end of my round, it all blended together into one melded hole.
- Every hole has the same element: narrow-ish fairway with plenty of trees and some dogleg element. The only hole that is essentially straight is #7, the short hole with the most non-existent fairway. Basically, if you throw dead straight on every hole, you'll probably see 8 pars and a tap-in birdie on #7.
- Course has an irritating vibe to it. I was glad this is only 9 holes with its current layout. I would have felt trapped in some cruel joke if I had to play 18 holes of this ilk. The frustration is that there's plenty of room to carve out a solid, more creative layout. I do hope an 18-hole version of this course isn't just 9 more holes that play the exact same as the existing 9. In that case, I'd rather just drive to Park Circle or Naval Weapons Station.
- No trash cans or benches. Also no tee pads. Not that any are needed.
Other Thoughts: The best way to enjoy this course is to combine it with a trip to CSU's 9-hole layout 3 minutes away. Wannamaker and Buccaneer Bay can offer a fun, yin and yang layout: 9 heavily wooded holes followed by 9 wide open holes.
- I feel like this course was put in with the least amount of trees being removed. A better layout is available, it would require more effort. I just don't know if that's in the park's or county's interest.
- You've got a couple sharp dogleg, high sweeping throws on #5 & 6. Other than that, most holes are relatively straight for the first half, with the dogleg not coming into play until the final portion of the layout.
- This was a bland, unimaginative layout. The positive is that it makes every other course in the Charleston area seem that much better.
- It only costs $2 to play. Technically $2 to enter the park.
- It's the closest course to where I stay when I'm in town. Until more work is done, I'm going to keep on driving to one of the areas better layouts.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good for creating turnover discs

1    10/29/2016   10/31/2016
Review By: eric_vdberg
Played: 886  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 37.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice baskets, tee posts and defined tee areas.
Cons: No tee distances or diagrams, footing is rutted sand.
Short, but with ridiculously tight lines on many holes.
$2 entrance fee.
Other Thoughts: Worst mosquitoes I have ever experienced, but this could be due to the aftermath of Hurricane Matthew.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Tough tee pads

1    10/15/2016   10/20/2016
Review By: discchris
Played: 47  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 12.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It has good potential the area it's in looks really nice, hopefully in time it gets better
Cons: Tee pads are tough to throw from, some holes have no distinguished lines to throw to the basket.
Other Thoughts: There could really be a good course at this park

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.