Westminster, CO 
Westminster DGC Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #10 (Taken 8/2008)
3 / 402ft.   3 / 402ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee Sign


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 Long Drives. Lose Discs.

1    6/11/2010   5/27/2011
Review By: 14erDisc
Played: 40  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 7.7 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Nice Baskets
-Many Long Shots
-Not many other visitors
Cons: This course had no imagination, and had very few shots that were not straight. It was nearly impossible to find the first hole, and the confusion continued on from there. While there were a few long bombs, this fact was overshadowed by the bushes, grass, and brush that would consume your discs. Unlike others who seem to lose discs in the river, I spent far too much time searching for discs amongst the little bushes, grass, and cacti which seemed to eat every throw. On the back nine, I lost a disc in the thick brush by the river. There is also minimal shade cover from the sun on a hot day.
Other Thoughts: If you like long, straight, uncreative shots... this is your course. You can bomb it and aim straight for the basket. The course seems to improve as you go along, and the back 9 get a bit better, however the lack of creativity and presence of "same-ness" is why I rate this course low.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Westminster DGC

1    3/15/2011   3/21/2011
Review By: jwetter
Played: 96  Reviewed: 30
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -nice baskets and tees
-has potential to be a fun course with some interesting landscapes and some fun holes
-located on a nice park
Cons: -the back nine holes were all right on the edge of the river and were not very much fun to play because of the risk of throwing into the water
-the first hole is a long ways from the closest parking lot
-the 18th hole ends about a mile away from the parking lot that was closest to the first hole
-the holes do not flow very well and many times when you are walking between holes you back track a lot
-the main problems are that the course was laid out terribly
Other Thoughts: There were groundhog holes everywhere and they were pretty annoying but it does not really affect the play

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Big Drives and Approach Shots

5+    3/18/2011   3/19/2011
Review By: Headbabe
Played: 20  Reviewed: 13
This review was updated on 5/26/2011
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Holes 11, 12, 14, 15, 16, 17, and 18 offer nice lay-outs and are a challenge to birdie. Some new pins placments have pumped some new life into a sometimes forgotten Denver metro course.
Cons: Still plenty of LONG wide-open holes. It would probably be a discouraging course for beginners who don't throw a consistent +300'. If you get wind it will kick your a$$ even more on the longer holes.
Other Thoughts: I think it's easy to bag on bag on Westy but it is a nice lay-out and makes good use of park space that would otherwise go un-used. I have enjoyed knocking the rust off the early spring arm there.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, but bring extra discs

2-4    11/6/2010   11/18/2010
Review By: aaronoutside
Played: 15  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is one of my favorite courses, but I just can't seem to hold on to discs here. There are lots of variations in the holes with some great long distance shots. Good tee boxes. Really fun course and I keep going back even with all the lost discs.
Cons: This course runs right by a river that seems to have an amazing pull on my discs. It makes for some interesting shots, but the water is nasty if you decide to hop in. It is a pretty rough course so shoes and long pants are a good idea.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Westminster DGC

2-4    9/8/2010   9/29/2010
Review By: Dreeley
Played: 22  Reviewed: 7
Pros: Some tough shots throughout the course.
Can open up for big arms, and also tighten up for some accuracy.
Less traffic. Can play through as a single at ease.
Cons: NO UPKEEP! I swear every time I've been to this course the grass/weeds/overgrowth needs to be cut. It's so easy to loose a disc here it's incredible; That being the hole layouts shouldn't make it so.
Lack of helpful signs. Layout can get confusing.
Other Thoughts: Not a bad place overall. If you know the layout, then it can be very fun.
If the grounds had better care, this course could be one of the best in this area.

 Hot Day in Westminster

1    8/8/2010   8/8/2010
Review By: snwbrdr301
Played: 19  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.5 Years
Pros: - Long holes
- Difficult shots
- Natural Vegetation and surroundings
- The terrain varies from long open plains to hills and across creeks
Cons: - Foot tall grass/weeds everywhere
- Occasionally difficult to find disc
- Holes cross and overlap too much
- Pin positions can be difficult to locate
Other Thoughts: Although I enjoy that the surroundings and plant life are native and natural it is very easy to loose a disc. Not a great course to play by yourself as you may need help locating a disc. The holes are long and difficult. Very fun though, especially withe people who have played the course before as some of the pins are hard to locate.

 Eh.

1    7/27/2010   7/27/2010
Review By: mgcarney
Played: 92  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 8.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice long holes, and a variety of shots. Best hole was #8. The obstacles were fun. The tees, baskets, and markers were all in great shape except an over grown 18th tee.
Cons: The biggest problem with this course is layout. There are long walks between baskets and tees, and you often have to backtrack. Additionally, the layout leaves you stranded at the back of the park. This course forces some extremely risky shots. Very easy to lose discs. The stagnant water makes for many bugs.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty Open Course

5+    7/10/2010   7/10/2010
Review By: rhinos00
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Love the tee boxes...good length and the concrete holds up very well. Numbers on the back of signs makes it real easy to find the next hole. In terms of the course itself: holes 1-6 offer longer distances to make up for a lack of obstacles...great for getting the arm warmed up; some of the shorter holes (like 7, 9, 10, 14, 15) offer a some variety with the addition of water obstacles. Some of the previous reviews disagree with me, but I actually love the prairie field type terrain...especially when the fields have been mowed.
Cons: Lack of maintenance. The first few times I came here, 3 ft. weeds dominated the fairways making it real difficult to spot your disc. Depending on the time of day and if the weeds have not been mowed, mosquitoes become a nuisance on holes 3-7. Some of the water obstacles are really stagnant preventing disc retrieval if one should throw a disc in the water.
Also, try to avoid coming after a heavy rainfall as holes 1-6 can become muddy in parts. And this is really being picky, but sometimes the chirping of the prairie dogs can become quite annoying, especially when they follow you on every hole.
Other Thoughts: If the fairways are maintained, like on the day of this review, then the course can be fun. On the flip side, if the fairways are not maintained, I highly recommend going elsewhere. Also, being new to the area, many have recommended Badlands over this course...I don't get it. I much preferred the layout and environment of this course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great in the Offseason

1    6/19/2010   6/19/2010
Review By: AtomicCEO
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4
This review was updated on 3/2/2017
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Long holes, good tees, close to my house
Cons: Can get overgrown. Holes are set up around areas that can vary wildly between dry hills or swamps depending on the time of year.
Other Thoughts: I was too harsh on this course originally, so I'm editing my review. I played it once when the water was high, and the prairie grass was out of control. I played it again today when it was in good condition, and the course played much better. On this sunny February day, it seemed more like a hidden gem. It's kind of a long walk, but it's a nice place.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Open to long drives

2-4    1/30/2010   1/30/2010
Review By: ShazzyDGA
Played: 19  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 12.7 Years
Pros: Open areas for long drives.
Great clean tee boxes.
Grounds were well taken care of.
Easy to find your disks on the terrain.
Overall it is one of my favorites because i get to use a majority of the different types of disks I drag around with me. Keeps me from getting to rusty with the mid-range drivers.
Cons: Hard to find or see certain baskets from tee box.
Water hazards can hidden by bushes or trees.
Can be fairly muddy when snow melts.
You have to think before you throw on some of the water hazard holes otherwise your going to be fish for your disk.
Other Thoughts: Watch out for the critters that live in the area. Also watch out on windy days the disk like to glide due to open area.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.