Federal Heights (Denver), CO 
Camenisch Park - Badlands Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #5
3 / 180ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 80
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
A beautiful course that provides a challange

2-4    6/20/2017   6/23/2017
Review By: BrianElander
Played: 77  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 1.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The warm-up area if fantastic with 3 Innova baskets spaced a good distance apart so you can putt from one to another.
-The baskets are great, and catch splendidly, with some having additional chains added.
-The tee are concrete, and are a decent Leigh allowing for a full run up.
-There are no "boring" holes, each shot had a nice challenge, in elevation, distance, trees, water hazards, or OB. There is no "gimmies" here.
-As just stated there is every kind of shot, with a few tightly wooded holes, downhill bomber holes, steep uphills and everything in between.
-This is a beautiful park, with lush green mowed greens. Its almost like playing on a ball golf course with shorter, funner shots, and no carts.
-They make if a comfortable experience with bathrooms, (1,3,18) and places to sit on almost all of the tees.
-Its not overly crowed, sure there might be a backup on the holes but there is not swarms of people and discs flying everywhere.
-Each hole has lots of different pin locations with a few having around 7, so if you play here more than once there is a high chance it will be a completely different layout.
-No a lot of non-discers here and you basically had the park to yourself and the other golfers.
Cons: -It is very difficult to follow, even if you have played here more then once, because the holes will be in different pins, sometimes nowhere near where they used to be.
-The tee signs are awful. They are covered in vandalism, or completely faded away. Its impossible to tell the distances or pins from the signs.
-The tees are not flat, and that can mess up your run up more then you think.
-The pond water is gross, if you throw into it there is no way of seeing your disc through the merk, and even if you could there is no way that you would want to get into the filthy water to get it back.
-Fairways cross multiple times (1,3 5,6 15,16 17,1). This can potentially cause a safety risk.
-Although the grass is mowed on every fairway there are a few holes (across the lake from that golf course grass) where there are stickers that are extremely uncomfortable if they get stuck in your shoes.
Other Thoughts: I love this course and it may be one of my favorites in the Denver Metro area, and the reason that I'm giving it a three star it because there are things wrong with the structure of the course, such as the slanted tees and the terrible signs, however the actual disc golf is wonderful, with all types of shots in a amazing and beautiful park . If the other issues are taken care of this would be one of my favorite courses with out a question. Would not recommend for beginners because its a rigorous place to start and would not be a fun experience. Defiantly come try it out, but maybe have a local to help direct you.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Find a guide

1    6/2/2017   6/6/2017
Review By: spacin_mason
Played: 13  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Unique layout, a variety of shot selection, some water hazards, a lot of potential.
Cons: Markings, spent more time looking for the teebox/next baskets than actually playing. Ended up going over to the Hylands after 2 or 3 holes.
Other Thoughts: I feel I would enjoy this course with a local who could direct me where to go. Will definitely return next time I'm in Denver and hopefully be able to play the full course.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Hilly

1    4/3/2017   4/6/2017
Review By: sjroesinger
Played: 37  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 1.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A few challenging holes near the water
Easy to find discs
Cons: Some holes on the hills were boring (up, down, up, down)
A few tee boxes were hard to find
Other Thoughts: Very hilly course gives you a good workout
Wind made it challenging

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and Long

5+    9/24/2014   7/5/2014
Review By: xskatx
Played: 21  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 7.7 Years
This review was updated on 10/2/2014
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Elevation changes, Long holes, extra 9 holes in "blair witch" area is very fun. The layout of the course is great and this can be a very challenging course. The grass quality has improved in the last few years
Cons: Terrain and ponds are disgusting. It looks like someone dumps waste there. Broken glass on some holes and trash, beware if you bring a dog not to let them walk on the glass.
Other Thoughts: Overall, it's a good course to play in the spring and the blair witch is very fun and heavily wooded

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Up and Down at the Badlands

1    4/8/2014   4/11/2014
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 365  Reviewed: 358  Exp: 9.4 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Lots of elevation, most holes had some and a lot of them had significant changes in elevation
-Pads were fairly nice and grippy despite being pretty old
-A few water shots. #12 long is a pretty good challenge for most players. There is an alternate tee to the right that is shorter and much more approachable if you're afraid of losing a disc.
-9 bonus holes in the back after hole 12.
-Discatchers were also pretty old but were in decent enough shape.
-3 practice baskets!
-Flow is pretty good, it is relatively open so you can usually see the next tee or follow the group ahead of you.
-Blind tee shots are usually aided by some kind of flag on the basket.
-Hole 5 was fun with many trees and it would be good if they were able to incorporate more holes like that into this open course.
Cons: -The water is foul smelling and looking. Signs tell you to stay out and I would recommend following them.
-Tee signs are either old, vandalized, or a combination of both.
-It was really busy during the day on a Tuesday, it has to be horrible during the weekend.
-It would be a little more fun if there were more trees on many of the holes. Some of them seemed too open.
-This is a long course, if you are out of shape it might tire you out pretty good.
-This isn't the nicest neighborhood despite being right next to the water park. There was a car with a broken out window in the small parking lot and the park wasn't overly clean. The creek and ponds were clearly polluted and there was lots of evidence of homeless people living in Blair Witch.
Other Thoughts: -This course and Blair Witch should really be combined into one solid 27 hole course. They flow right together and I would guess that nobody plays Blair Witch without playing this course first.
-If they got new baskets and tees for BW and tee signs for all 27, this course could be a great 4.0 or better rated course. It had a high fun factor despite all that was wrong with it. I would recommend stopping here as it was one of the best in the Denver area.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Nice change of pace

1    9/24/2012   7/17/2013
Review By: Golden Tuna
Played: 129  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 16.7 Years
This review was updated on 8/29/2013
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Somewhat challenging - nice concrete tee pads - good variety of shots used even in wide open areas- restrooms - well maintained park

This course is a nice change of pace from the other courses in the area. There are plenty of green rolling hills and some good distance with a decent amount of challenges. Though we didn't see any walkers, there were walking paths that wound through the course, so I would imagine it gets pretty crowded during peak time.
Cons: Wide open course without many technical shots - poor tee signs and we got turned around in a couple areas due to poor direction

We were there in the morning, so there weren't any locals to follow around, but we found our way. They could use some more descriptive tee signs, but we were able to find our way just fine. Some of the holes are completely wide open, but that made it easy to find the errant shot and encouraged multiple throws on each hole.
Other Thoughts: Fun course without a lot of back and forth. There were a lot of longish ace runs to go after. But, they could really use better tee signs and more directional arrows to help with course flow. Throwing over the lake was a nice addition

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 An interesting course

1    6/1/2011   6/13/2011
Review By: OMGChaos
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This was relatively challenging, if nothing else for the hole where you had to clear the lake! It was also pretty long, so players with long arms could definitely get active.
Cons: The course was pretty tough to navigate for a first-timer. The signage was junk and finding the next tee pad wasn't always very intuitive. Also, it was pretty dirty when I was there (lots of rusted out trash cans, turned over cans, etc.)
Other Thoughts: Overall is wasn't awful, but I certainly wouldn't make this my normal course.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Badlands DGC

1    3/14/2011   3/21/2011
Review By: jwetter
Played: 96  Reviewed: 30
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Very nice use of elevation changes
-nice tees and decent baskets
-18 holes of varying lengths (also has a 9 hole course on site)
-many interesting throws where the hills come into play
-benches at almost every hole that was nice so you could put your bags on it
-nice park but there were a lot of people there so we had to do a lot of waiting
Cons: -the signs are very poorly done
-can be confusing where to go next after you finish a hole
-the hills get frustrating because you are always throwing up or down hills
-it was really windy the day we played and it made the course frustrating
Other Thoughts: worth the play if you are in the area. It was a fun course and different from many of the courses I have played.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Starts off strong, but falls short in the end

2-4    8/27/2009   9/2/2009
Review By: ibgollie
Played: 61  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 12.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Elevation with blend of short and long holes
-Lots of pin locations
-Decent concrete tee boxes
-The newer tee signs are good enough, but the prettiest, but they get the job done.
Cons: -Design quality of the finishing holes drops off significantly on the last few holes. It's relatively fun in the beginning, but the last few holes are pretty blah.
-Navigation is confusing without a guide
-Some tee signs need to be updated/replaced.
-Mostly open shots, not too many technical holes. The holes that do have trees, they are all around the basket, so it's a wide open drive to a wooded basket which, with a good drive, makes the holes pretty easy.
Other Thoughts: I played this course 6 years ago and thought it was boring and poor condition. This time when I played it I had low expectations, but it was better than I remember. From what I can tell of courses in the area, this is probably the best one to play. My score -6.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/14/2009   8/21/2009
Review By: russkins
Played: 13  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 16.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a well laid out course n i think its one of the better ones in the denver area ( i know i didnt come close to playing them all). Alot of different shots needed for a good round. Benches and garbage cans are plentiful, but bring fluids because there are no water fountains.
Cons: Man the denver heat and no shade can make this course brutal. the blair witch project is DIFFICULT. Ijust walked the first few holes and there is no way i was going to attempt it. Also the up n down the hillside get kind of annoying,
Other Thoughts: All in all this course i a good, definetly next time im in colo this will be a definate stop.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.