Federal Heights (Denver), CO 
Camenisch Park - Badlands Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #2 (Taken 8/2008)
3 / 247ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 sponsors



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 81
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
Challenging, poorly signed.

1    6/18/2017   6/29/2017
Review By: 3woodmanbenjamin3
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Once you figure out what you're doing and where you're going, the course is actually quite rewarding, especially if you're not out of discs by six. Lots of shot variety from the teebox, plenty of trees, and even some water hazards (looking at you, #6). Baskets are in good shape with varying heights from hole to hole; makes for some excellent/scary putts. Plenty of picnic tables and lots of shade for those hot days.
Cons: Literally no indication that you have arrived at the course. No signage to help first-timers, little to no direction in the front 5. I accidently played #13 on hylands from #3's teebox due to confusion, and #2's teebox was marked with a loose board on a gravel access road. Granted most of these concerns are due to this being my first time at the course, but I was hoping a course with a 3+ rating would be a little more clearly marked/better maintianed.
Other Thoughts: It looked like most of the locals opted to play 6-18 first and then finish up with the front 5, which looked a lot more sensible. So much potential in this course; could definitely use some help/love.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

A beautiful course that provides a challange

2-4    6/20/2017   6/23/2017
Review By: BrianElander
Played: 60  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 1.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The warm-up area if fantastic with 3 Innova baskets spaced a good distance apart so you can putt from one to another.
-The baskets are great, and catch splendidly, with some having additional chains added.
-The tee are concrete, and are a decent Leigh allowing for a full run up.
-There are no "boring" holes, each shot had a nice challenge, in elevation, distance, trees, water hazards, or OB. There is no "gimmies" here.
-As just stated there is every kind of shot, with a few tightly wooded holes, downhill bomber holes, steep uphills and everything in between.
-This is a beautiful park, with lush green mowed greens. Its almost like playing on a ball golf course with shorter, funner shots, and no carts.
-They make if a comfortable experience with bathrooms, (1,3,18) and places to sit on almost all of the tees.
-Its not overly crowed, sure there might be a backup on the holes but there is not swarms of people and discs flying everywhere.
-Each hole has lots of different pin locations with a few having around 7, so if you play here more than once there is a high chance it will be a completely different layout.
-No a lot of non-discers here and you basically had the park to yourself and the other golfers.
Cons: -It is very difficult to follow, even if you have played here more then once, because the holes will be in different pins, sometimes nowhere near where they used to be.
-The tee signs are awful. They are covered in vandalism, or completely faded away. Its impossible to tell the distances or pins from the signs.
-The tees are not flat, and that can mess up your run up more then you think.
-The pond water is gross, if you throw into it there is no way of seeing your disc through the merk, and even if you could there is no way that you would want to get into the filthy water to get it back.
-Fairways cross multiple times (1,3 5,6 15,16 17,1). This can potentially cause a safety risk.
-Although the grass is mowed on every fairway there are a few holes (across the lake from that golf course grass) where there are stickers that are extremely uncomfortable if they get stuck in your shoes.
Other Thoughts: I love this course and it may be one of my favorites in the Denver Metro area, and the reason that I'm giving it a three star it because there are things wrong with the structure of the course, such as the slanted tees and the terrible signs, however the actual disc golf is wonderful, with all types of shots in a amazing and beautiful park . If the other issues are taken care of this would be one of my favorite courses with out a question. Would not recommend for beginners because its a rigorous place to start and would not be a fun experience. Defiantly come try it out, but maybe have a local to help direct you.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Find a guide

1    6/2/2017   6/6/2017
Review By: spacin_mason
Played: 13  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Unique layout, a variety of shot selection, some water hazards, a lot of potential.
Cons: Markings, spent more time looking for the teebox/next baskets than actually playing. Ended up going over to the Hylands after 2 or 3 holes.
Other Thoughts: I feel I would enjoy this course with a local who could direct me where to go. Will definitely return next time I'm in Denver and hopefully be able to play the full course.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Hilly

1    4/3/2017   4/6/2017
Review By: sjroesinger
Played: 37  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 1.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A few challenging holes near the water
Easy to find discs
Cons: Some holes on the hills were boring (up, down, up, down)
A few tee boxes were hard to find
Other Thoughts: Very hilly course gives you a good workout
Wind made it challenging

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

A good course for locals

1    8/20/2016   8/20/2016
Review By: nckirksey
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 1.1 Years
This review was updated on 10/22/2016
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The first hole is awesome if you like throwing downhill. Par'd it on its longest tee placement (~650 ft.) using my DX Leopard to tee off and my Aviar the rest of the way. I'm a beginner and don't par many holes, so it felt nice to par such a long hole. If the hole were flat, it would be closer to 350-400 ft.

Scenic views on holes beginning on top of hills

Not many disc-eater holes

Varied pin placement makes the course play differently. Each hole has about 4 different placements

Course has a very nice practice area with three practice baskets.
Cons: INSANE to try and navigate for the first time. No available maps on-site and I couldn't find one online either. Navigation was absolute hell.

Some tee pads have mud on them in places. If you like a spotless tee pad, you won't find too many here.

Signs at the tee pads are mostly defaced. This makes it really difficult to know which pin to play, since most aren't marked with their hole number. Many holes have 2+ pins in view that could reasonably be where you're supposed to throw.

It got very crowded around 9:45 a.m. on a Saturday. 12 people showed up within 5 minutes of each other, congesting the hell outta the front 6 or so holes.
Other Thoughts: The Badlands is a really fun course with varied holes. Out-of-Towners might want to avoid this one, though, unless you have a local to show you around. In the 4 hours I was at the course, 2.5 (easily) were spent looking for tee pads and their corresponding pin. In the end, I was so frustrated that I just left.

I'd play this place again, though, if I had a local to tag-along with. Or the park could make a map of the course. That would be most preferable.

If this course gets tee signs (that last - and that are repaired if defaced), a map for out-of-towners, markers for each pin with corresponding numbers, and signs directing players to the next hole (when not obvious), the Badlands gets an EASY 4.5 rating from me.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Good spot for locals

1    7/15/2016   7/15/2016
Review By: Parataxis
Played: 23  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 1.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Course is mowed and well-maintained
Elevation changes
Some tree shots in the mix
Course setup is border-line genius... from the perspective of a course that you come to time and time again, having the ability to change the course setup so much is pretty exceptional.
Cons: Course setup is maniacal for a first-time visitor... from the perspective of a place you might visit once or twice you'll spend an inordinate amount of time figuring out where the next tee is, particularly the first 6 holes.
Other Thoughts: Bottom line, if your live near this course you should familiarize yourself with it - once you get a sense of the layout you'll enjoy it. If you don't live near this course... I wouldn't bother, who wants to spend half their time on a course trying to figure out where the next tee is?

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Solid Denver-Area Course

5+    8/30/2015   9/9/2015
Review By: Lightbringer
Played: 11  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There are two major advantages that both Caminesch Park courses (this one and Hylands) share; they are mowed, and they make good use of elevation changes. Many other courses in the area are mainly flat and have fields of tall grass that make finding discs a pain.

Another plus to this course is that the course designer, Ronnie, is a great guy and he's almost always there. You can usually catch him playing the course or selling discs out of his van in the parking lot. He's always willing to help out and talk about disc golf, and he will probably approach you and introduce himself if you are a fresh face.

The quality of the course design here is largely dependent on the pin positions. Ronnie moves them every two months, and they have a dramatic impact on how the course plays. At the time of this review, most of them are in their "long" positions. Holes #1 and #11 stand out as being significantly more difficult in this position. In their shorter positions, some of the holes are just open throws from the tee to the basket.

Some of the more memorable holes are; #2, which plays from a tee pad in a depression across a fairway with several trees and an algae pond to the left; #5, which is over a creek bed through a narrow alley of trees; #6, which forces you to choose between throwing a right-turning shot around a copse of trees or risk throwing straight through them with an absurdly low ceiling; and #12, which is over a corner of the cleaner pond.

The cement tee pads are in excellent condition.



Cons: As noted above, when the pins are in their "easy" positions, those holes can be simply unobstructed shots up or down a hill. It's probably good that they have those positions for newer players to enjoy, though.

There is a scum pond near hole #2. I dare you to go in there and look for your disc.

The signs are basically useless, because they have been completely defaced. If you are confused, ask another player on the course. Or, follow this advice: From hole #3, tee #4 is back up the hill close to the first tee and the basket is toward the western edge of the park close to the creek bed. From there, cross to the other side of the creek bed to find tee #5 shooting back across through the gap in the trees. From basket #5, walk East and cross back to the other half of the course, tee #6 is to the left shooting back toward tee #5. Holes #7-#11 zig zag up and down the hill ending up on the East side of the course. Tee #12 is on the walkway about halfway up the pond. Tee # 13 is east of basket #12, next to hole #3 of the Hylands course, shooting north up the hill. Hole #14 shoots back down the hill, #15 shoots west across the hill about halfway up, #16 is directly east and shoots down, #17 shoot west across the bottom of the hill, and #18 shoots back up toward the parking.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course that is definitely a cut above many other Denver-area courses. There is also a pretty solid community supporting both Camenisch courses, including Ronnie and BADCO, Phenix Disc Sports and a lot of dedicated players. With two very solid courses right next to each other, Camenisch Park is a good destination for disc golf in the Denver area.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Decent Course Near Denver Metro

5+    7/3/2015   7/10/2015
Review By: SteLaG
Played: 76  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 14.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/4/2016
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Compared to the other courses around the Denver metro area this is one of the better ones. Offers a variety of shots and multiple (3-5) pin locations with lots of elevation change between holes. Good mix of long bombs and technical shots that go between vegetation and water. Pin locations change somewhat frequently, making the course a whole new experience every month or so. Has a great putting area with three pins at the front of the course near the parking lot.
Cons: Like most people have mentioned the course layout is a bit hard to follow especially for first timers. With so many pin locations that frequently change, its just the nature of the beast. There are some signs posted on the holes, but many of them are damaged or non existent. Also, the signs that do remain look like they have been drawn by a kindergartner and don't translate very well to the actual course. I would highly recommend using map on your phone if you have not played here before and don't want to get frustrated by the layout. Some updated signs with accurate information would really do a lot to improve this course.

The last 6 holes on the course are pretty weak compared to the first 12. They are basically wide open shots (which I have become accustomed to with most of the Denver courses) that don't really offer a whole lot. It seems like there is plenty of space to potentially improve these final holes.

Hole 18 has a particularly bad tee pad that is small, uneven, and shared by a sidewalk. I like the fact that the course takes advantage of using existing sidewalks as tee pads on various holes, but in this case feel like i'm going to sprain my ankle every time I throw from it. On a hole that is long and pretty much straight up a hill a proper size pad is really necessary.

There is also somewhat of a missed opportunity at hole 16 regarding the tee pad. There is literally a giant existing built up concrete pad that could almost qualify as a helicopter landing pad right next to the actual tee pad that was built right beside it. They could have used this as the tee pad for at least one hole if not multiple holes to make things a little interesting. It seems strange that they went through so much trouble to use sidewalks as tee pads throughout the course, but decided not to use a seemingly abandoned over sized pad that you literally have to walk over between the holes.
Other Thoughts: Really fun and challenging course that has a lot of potential to be better. If the course could be fixed up and cleaned up a little bit it would be pro level course. They should almost start doing pay to play to generate the money to make the necessary improvements. Regardless, its still by far one of the better if not best courses around Denver. Also, has the new and improved Blair Witch/Hylands course on site making it well worth the trip!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not impressed

1    7/2/2015   7/3/2015
Review By: bengal4life11
Played: 19  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.4 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Only real pro is that the course wasn't busy
Cons: Very hard to follow course design. Tees not marked well at all with most having graffiti on them. Pads not marked well either. Hole # 1 completely hidden from view. Holes 6 and 7 confusing placements. Basket 13 could not be located nor the tee for hole 14.
Course did not flow well at all.
Other Thoughts: Here in Denver visiting family, will not be playing this course again when here. Very disappointed.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun but needs a lot of TLC

1    4/6/2015   4/9/2015
Review By: stubborn puppet
Played: 48  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 6.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
> Nice and hilly with a good mix up up, down and flat shots.
-
> Relatively challenging for a shorter, easier course which has little in the way of obstacles.
-
> Good flow - the length, difficulty and topography of the fairways is mixed up nicely to avoid all monotony and avoid exhaustion.
-
> The downhills are kind of a hoot because they reward control by offering players the distance without a full powered throw... and they generally have a severe punishment for overshooting.
-
> The pro shot over the pond was fun... as it's at just the right lenght to be totally doable for most players, but just scary enough to make you want to play it safe and take time to throw carefully.
-
> Navigation along the Badlands 18 was pretty easy without a map.
-
> Nice opportunity to jump off onto the Blair Witch course to make this a 27 hole game.
-
> Cool that this park has 3 convenient practice baskets.
...
Cons:
> I find this course design to be UNSAFE. 11 of the 18 holes have shots going over biking/walking paths... even teeing off from them in some cases. I don't ever find these scenarios to be excusable because things still happen, even if you're the most careful player ever. I had the displeasure of totally cringing in fear as I watched a player who thought he was being safe send his drive within a couple of feet of a ladies head who was strolling along one of the paths with her dog. It would have easily been a massive injury and law-suit.
-
> In many cases I found the design to also be UNSAFE for player - as several holes share a fairway and/or cross each others path.
-
> The tee signs here are an embarrassment. They are all damaged and graffiti covered... and barely legible at all.
-
> A great many of the concrete tee pads here were very unlevel. Sloping pads are just awkward and I feel it could have been easily avoided with just a little extra work.
-
> The distance and fairway shape to almost every basket seemed like it was formulaic: It was almost always "drive 300' then putt". I think I could have played the course with two discs - a stable fairway driver and a putter. The uphills were shorter and the downhills were longer... but that is actually part of the problem... as every hole felt like the same amount of distance. Mind you, this is a minor complaint.
-
> Also a very minor complaint is that the course seemed to have very few obstacles. A few hazards... a few trees... but not much in the way to force you to think about interesting shot shapes or disc selection.
-
> The course could certainly use some trash cans at the tees and the park needs a good litter-pickup as well.
...
Other Thoughts:
> I enjoyed the course and played relatively well for being a first-timer at Camenisch. I think it would be even easier on me after another game or two and I could come out well below par regularly. The walk was nice and scenic and the park seems like a pretty relaxing place.
-
> I honestly feel like there is plenty of room that this course could be redesigned to keep golf discs and folks using the paths away from one another completely. The same redesign would also easily be able to keep fairways separated to keep players from ever throwing at each other.
-
> Plan a little extra time and take advantage of playing the second, 9-hole course that starts between 12 and 13. It's a very nice compliment and contrast to the Badlands.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.