Hockley, TX 
Zube Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: michaelcox Hole #1 (Taken 10/2016)
3 / 285ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee: Basket off to the right, this is the only tee box that is well out of line with where the basket is



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Getting Better With Age

5+    11/20/2020   11/20/2020
Review By: Breckster
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1. Located in a fantastic, well-maintained, frequently mowed multiuse park, with picnic areas, clean restrooms, soccer fields and paved hiking paths.

2. Practice basket and covered picnic table near #1 tee, plenty of room to warm up between #1 tee and soccer fields.

3. Course is away from the rest of the park in a space designated specifically for disc golf.

4. Tee signs, concrete tee boxes, and great flow.

5. Great overall design with a number of fantastic holes (described below).
Cons: 1. Restroom is 1/4 mile away from #1 tee box.

2. Only 1 set of tee boxes and 1 pin placement per hole.

3. Shade is improving as trees mature, but you will still need sunscreen on a hot Texas day.

4. Perhaps a few too many (5) under 250' holes, though most of these offer a decent challenge in order to card a birdie.
Other Thoughts: Zube DGC was designed and engineered to be a disc golf course. It is always mowed and in excellent condition unless there has been recent heavy rain in the area. The holes in many cases have defined fairways marked by manmade hills and / or trees planted for this purpose which are now beginning to mature. As it ages, this course will continue to get better.

There are several terrific holes, including:

#2 & #3 - Long par 3's (420' and 530') with fairways defined on both sides. One could make the argument that #3 should be a par 4. Be sure to warm up before you start if you want to score well on these two.

#5 - Defined fairway again but with a huge oak tree in the middle of the fairway. Keep it low and miss the trunk and you're good, but be sure to bomb it because its 340' to the pin.

#7 - Only 198', with a cluster of trees in the middle of the fairway and fair throwing lanes to the left or right with the basket up on a mound - super fun birdie chance!

#8 - 264' starting in the open but throwing into a reasonably wide tunnel - beautiful shot.

#10 - Signature hole over a big pond with two huge trees also protecting a 310' shot to the basket.

#11 - Another signature hole, a double dogleg 684' par four with a defined fairway again defined by manmade hills and trees most of the way to the basket.

#14 - A challenging 400' dogleg left (especially for LHBH players like me). The distance can be cut to about 330' by going right at the hole, but there are significant obstacles to navigate if you take this approach.

#17 & #18 - The last 2 holes play into or through a decent number of older trees. Great shot lines that reward accuracy and can potentially punish a wayward throw with a bogey.

Conclusion: Undoubtedly one of the very best in courses in Houston - well worth a trip from anywhere in the area or if you are traveling through SE Texas.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Course of the Future

1    4/14/2018   4/20/2018
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 932  Reviewed: 345  Exp: 32.7 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice Kiosk at Parking lot
HUGE parking lot
small pavilion at course
Good course flow
Good use of land given
Well defined fairways on most holes
Cons: Restrooms are at the other side of the park
"Fresh" course that has new tree's planted
Other Thoughts: This is a course that needs some time in the ground to be a great course. This is also something new in that small hills were built FOR the course, something we don't get to see very often. The hills help define the fairways and do com into play on some holes.

Most of the longer hole throw down a defined fairway between these hills with trees planted on them. In several years, these trees are going to be large and shade and help define the course even more.

There are a few old tree's that do come into play on the course.

The course designer also did a good mix of longer open holes, and short technical holes. But when I say "open" that means the fairways are open, but defined by a line of new trees.

The only holes that don't have these hills and tree lined fairways are the holes around the tree's that were already in the park. Holes 17 and 18 go back and forth threw an old stand of trees. I was disappointed in 18 though, there is a big hyzer over the parking lot, specially with that strong northern wind I had when I played. I hate to see a mando, but I think the design was to have you throw in the trees with a slight turnover shot.

In all, I did enjoy my round, there was a lot of puddles on the course as it had rained the night before, but I did not find the course muddy.

Would I play here again?

Not any time soon, but in 10+ years, I would love to play a round and see how the course looks with more mature tree's. This is truly a course of the future.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Nice

1    1/15/2018   1/15/2018
Review By: bransten
Played: 58  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 15.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Concrete tees. Tea signs with distance. Good placement of tea boxes a fair amount of obstacles. Short holes to give yourself a chance to go negative. A mix of wooded and open holes. Nice grassy fairways with some mud puddles .challenging. I always like a disc golf course where it starts at the parking lot and ends at the parking lot
Cons: A couple holes are missing the distance. There really should be a course map in the beginning of the course Because it would be nice to see the course layout before you played it if you're a first timer here. And there is no link on this site on this course for a map ....most courses have a link to the map so if there is not a course map in the beginning of the course you can look on this site to find out The layout of the course in my opinion there isn't many cons or anything negative to say about this course for the first time playing it I liked it ,, it was moderately easy the first long hole says it's a par three it should be a par four because it's 500 and something feet anything over 500 feet should be a par four
Other Thoughts: The park offers a kids park in the front and bathrooms in the front also the walkway around the whole park is a plus if if you have family they could come there play at the park and walk around the park while you and your friends play the course also there is plenty of park benches to take a break if you need one on a hot day I think they can make another course at this park there is allot of room for improvement

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 My Favorite Houston Area So Far (by a hair)!

1    9/25/2017   9/25/2017
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1505  Reviewed: 1450  Exp: 42.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/24/2017
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Of the thirteen Houston area I've played on this trip so far, I feel that Zube has had the most honest, unbiased reviews. Zube as that same golf course feel as White Oaks and Agnes Moffitt. This new (2016) course has been built and designed for disc golf. As every previous reviewer has mentioned, there is a wonderful variety of hole lengths and designs. Distances range from 201' to # 11's 681'. There are open holes as well as a couple where you need to shape your shot around trees.

The course, being so new, has nice amenities. The concrete pads are great. New Chainstar baskets and simple little, almost vandal proof, signs. They are rugged.y built and just give the hole # and distance. And already, some marauding teenager has managed to tear the plate off the # 10 sign.

This is a large busy park. As I drove in, I was a little nervous to see about a million cars in the various parking lot but they were mostly here for the Sunday afternoon soccer games. The course begins at the back of the park near a large power line structure. I found navigation to be simple and intuitive. The course is almost flat with just a few little mounds here and there. There are scattered nature trees and scores of new plantings. Which will in time greatly change the nature of this course. Come back in twenty years and you might not recognize the course.

# 10 is both the signature hole here and the one you'll remember driving home. It's 306' throwing over a nice sized pond. The over the water carry is only about 200' which is enough to get into the heads of most recreational players.

The longer holes should appease the younger, better, big armed players while I think the variety will please everyone. It's just a lovely course to walk on. This designer understood the concept of mixing and matching hole lengths and types, not just throwing 350' hole after hole at you.
Cons: A few holes are tightly bunched. You'll want to keep your head up when other players are near.

I wasn't thrilled with 17 & 18. They weren't bad but didn't quite fit in with the course's ambience. Kind of like, the designer filled the green area with 16 holes and then scrambled to put in the last two.

Mostly flat with scattered mature trees.

The first tee pad doesn't exactly point at basket # 1. Makes you wonder what basket am I throwing at.

Other Thoughts: Someone compared this course to Agnes Moffutt and I think that's a good comparison. I'll give Zube the slight edge based on it's beauty and also it's nice variety. If I lived halfway, I'd enjoy playing them both as well as Texas Army Trail for that technical experience. I can happily say that Texas (Houston) does not suffer from lack of course choices. Keep up the good work, Texas. You might the first state to have 500 courses.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Good mix of holes

1    7/29/2017   7/29/2017
Review By: gpttigers
Played: 15  Reviewed: 7
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Some long holes, some short holes, a few wooded holes at the end
-Grass was well maintained and almost no rough
-Hard to lose a disc
-Good for beginners as well

Cons: -As others have mentioned, on a busy day I could see how there could be some risk of incoming cannon fodder
-Limited shade
-Mostly flat
Other Thoughts: The number 10 water holes takes about a 200 foot drive from the pad to clear. If someone doesn't want to risk it, they could shave 50 or so off of that and tee off in front of the pod.

Overall, it is a good course which I would certainly play more often if I lived closer. 400 foot par 3s are a good challenge.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

High Ceiling for this Course

1    5/6/2017   5/8/2017
Review By: MadGame32
Played: 66  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 3.9 Years
This review was updated on 3/4/2020
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Relatively new course.
-This course was built specifically for disc golf!
-Concrete tee pads on every hole.
-Some longer holes for a bit of distance challenge.
-Good flow from hole to hole.
-Very nice goals.
-Plenty of parking.
-One fun water hole that makes you nervous, but is easily carried.
Cons: -Very little shade right now so it is getting ready to be really hot!
-Grass is struggling on some holes to establish itself.
-Tee signs give hole number and distance with nothing else. The tee sign on hole 10 is missing.
-Discrepancy between the tee signs and actual lengths recorded on this site.
-There was no welcome sign with course layout.
-There are plenty of trees, but they are very young. They will be great after they grow for a few years.
Other Thoughts: -All in all, this is probably one of my favorite courses so far.
-I liked that it was built for disc golf from the start. (At least it looks that way.)
-I like longer courses that force you to put together multiple shots to get to the goal, and this one does that on its longer holes.
-According to PDGA guidelines, Hole 3 should be a par 4, and Hole 11 should be a par 5 for beginners. If the distance recorded for Hole 2 on the course sign is correct, it should be a par 4.
-This course has a lot of potential that I think it will grow into as the trees mature. With full grown trees, more descriptive tee signs, and a welcome sign, I probably would have gone 4.5-5 on the rating.

Out of the 60 courses I have reviewed, this is where this course ranks along with similarly rated courses:
Rank-Course, Location
14-Dolly Cooper Park DGC, Powdersville, SC
15-Foothills DGC, Easley, SC
16-Langley Pond DGC, Burnettown, SC
17-Century Park DGC, Greer, SC
18-Pipeline DGC, Spartanburg, SC
19-Zube Park DGC, Hockley, TX
20-Duncan Lake - East, Duncan, OK
21-Lindsey Park - Red Course, Tyler, TX
22-Veteran's Park, Arlington, TX
23-Griffin Park, Norman, OK

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty Typical Recreational Course

2-4    4/30/2017   5/1/2017
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 259  Reviewed: 154  Exp: 13 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Decent concrete tee pads but they feel a little bit short. Nice new Chainstar baskets all in good condition. Tee posts have hole numbers and mostly accurate distances with a couple obvious errors. In a secluded section of the park with only one walking trail to contend with should minimize interference with non-discers. Ample sized parking lot. A couple long holes but a lot of short holes and medium length holes can make you feel good about your game because there are a decent number of trees but the fairways are pretty wide. Navigation is pretty easy even without a map. No blind holes.
Cons:
As mentioned the tee pads feel a bit short. But easily the biggest con is the proximity of fairways #3, #11, #12, and to some extent #13. Those first three are long holes where drives are very likely to end up in the wrong fairway leading to some dangerous situations. Tee pad #1 is pointed in the wrong direction. Tee sign on #10 is missing.
Other Thoughts:
For a decent Advanced level player there's really only two holes out there that aren't twoable/birdieable (#3 & #11). Not a "destination course", but worth checking out if you're in the area.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Easy and Fun

1    3/25/2017   4/8/2017
Review By: benjamin3
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Chainstar baskets
Concrete tee pads
Kept up nicely (grass isn't too long)
Fun for advanced and beginner players
Cons: The ONLY con is that this course is extremely easy. It's almost too easy
Other Thoughts: If you've been having some bad rounds, go to Zube. It will make you feel better about yourself

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Decent Course in the Houston Suburbs

1    12/10/2016   12/12/2016
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 278  Reviewed: 207  Exp: 8.6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Zube Park is a very active park in Hockley, TX with bike trails, soccer fields, playgrounds etc. The disc golf course is placed in the back of the park with very little interference from the other park go-ers minus a single walking trail that passes through it. (No holes throw over the walking trail, which is good)

There are ample sized concrete tees, brand new Chainstar baskets, and small tee signs that have the distances on them. Navigations is also fairly straight forward minus finding the basket on hole 1 and locating the tee for hole 2.

I really enjoyed the wide variety of hole lengths that this course had to offer. A few of the holes were short ~200' holes where you need to get your "2" while others stretched near the 700' range where a "3" would be a solid score. Hole 10 is a notable favorite of mine as it is a short enough water carry that it should be an easy throw for even the most novice player, but it still can feel intimidating stepping up to the box.

Holes 15-18 were fun because they were the only true holes on the course that I felt had any kind of true technical aspect where you need to navigate a large number of trees to have a chance at a birdie.
Cons: Although I enjoyed the variety of the hole lengths, I did not enjoy the actual hole varieties. Minus about 6 holes, most of the holes were pretty straight forward with very little obstacles or shot shaping involved. Not too many holes stuck out to me as really rememberable holes besides Hole 10, which i mentioned earlier.

The fairways on some of the holes play pretty close together. The most egregious example of this is hole 11, which is the longest hole on the course plays very close to hole 12 and hole 3 fairways. In fact, I ended up right next to basket 12 after my first throw (then proceeded to almost black ace on accident) I played when there were not too many folks out on the course, and I am not sure how many people do get out of here, but it is definitely something to keep in mind.
Other Thoughts: I think this course will only continue to get better as the young trees grow and will shape the fairways more. I think a good comparison to this course is Agnes Moffit, this course has a little bit more distance to it though.

I didn't hate this course and think that it is done well considering the land that it was on. It is a bit out of the way for most people living in the Metro Houston area as it is outside of Houston's third loop, but it still is a good, solid course that can be knocked out fairly quickly.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Good course for an enjoyable round

1    11/6/2016   11/7/2016
Review By: krhowton
Played: 45  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.8 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's clear this course was intentionally designed to be a disc golf course and not a course put in sometime later. It features shaped fairways with small mounds dividing adjacent fairways. A nice mixture of straight holes, and dog legs to either direction. Most of the holes are somewhat short, but there are a few longer ones as well. And, while the course is mostly open, there are a few holes requiring some touch. Overall, it provides an enjoyable round and is not too challenging.
Cons: Because there is no course map yet, it's a little confusing to follow at first. The first tee is under the power lines at the south end of the back parking lot. The second tee is behind and to the right of the first basket. From there it gets easier to follow, but still gets confusing at times.
- Several of the tee pads don't directly point at the basket you're shooting at. The first tee box especially.
- The grass isn't fully grown in and this place would get very muddy following a good rain.
Other Thoughts: While this course seems to be finished, it still has a ways to go to be complete. The grass is not yet grown in and many of the trees are freshly planted, meaning they are still fairly small. Once this course is allowed to "mature" for a couple of years and the trees grow up some, it will add just the right level of challenge that this course needs. I could see this becoming my favorite course in the Houston are eventually.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.