Tecumseh, ON 
Lakewood DGC Share
Uploaded By: esdubya Hole #2 (Taken 11/2016)
3 / 205ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Canadian Fun Worth Crossing For!

2-4    9/16/2017   9/17/2017
Review By: mrclc
Played: 324  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lakewood DGC is a course designed to appeal to all skill levels, and does so with a park design that's light on length but heavy on fun. The front 9 looks to provide a challenge for rec-level players, featuring shorter holes that play around mature trees while still offering multiple lines and angles of attack. The back 9 ups the difficulty slightly with a bit more focus on distance and placement around the green. Overall, the two halves complement each other well, with both finishing near Hole 1 to allow for a quick 9 holes if desired.

Wind provides almost half of the challenge at this course, as you're almost guaranteed to get some bluster across the length of the large, flat park or from the opposite direction off of Lake St. Clair. If you're not used to wind play, this course can give you a good intro without punishing misthrown shots too badly.

The park itself is set in a really nice lakeshore community, and it's fun to be disc golfing while surrounded by homes that look like they belong on a ball golf course.

The routing is pretty intuitive, and I only had to consult the map once (between Holes 11 & 12). Mach III's (red on 1-9, white on 10-18) are easy to see and catch well. Tee signs are attractive, with hole distance in both feet and meters. Concrete tees are large and well-installed.
Cons: There's space here for a lot more disc golf, but it seems the designer went with quality over quantity and a design that provides a good intro to the sport for the local community. Even so, I wish there were a few more holes or a bit more length here to bring up the difficulty a smidge.

Geese like Lakewood for its location near the water, which makes goose poop an ever-present obstacle. Teepads and fairways were covered on the day I played.

Hole 8 is a strange 125 foot dinker through a small cluster of trees, and it sticks out like a sore thumb on a course that's already unusually short for the space.
Other Thoughts: Although it was dry the day I played, some low spots on the course looked like they had the potential to retain water.

The design itself is probably a 2.5, but the quality of the park and surrounding neighborhood nudge it up to a 3.0. Lakewood is a great addition to a well-populated area of western Ontario that's devoid of disc golf, and is worth a quick trip across the border. I can't wait to come back!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

One of the best "park" courses I have seen.

1    7/17/2017   7/17/2017
Review By: glassila
Played: 73  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - This course is set in a very beautiful park, with numerous gigantic trees throughout.
- The course is incredibly well kept, the grass is mowed everywhere - zero search time needed.
- The baskets are Mach III, red on the front 9, white on the back 9.
- Very nice 5' x 12' cement tee pads, level and lined up with the basket.
- I felt there was a good variety of hole distances - averaged 268', with four over 300' and one at 555'.
- The trees on the property were well used in the design, some holes were RH backhand friendly, some were RH forehand friendly, a lot were accessible from either side.
Cons: - There were no "next tee" signs or indicators anywhere - it is easy to head to the wrong tee pad on a couple of holes.
- If the park gets busy with walkers and bikers there may be times you will have to wait to throw as a park path runs throughout the area. The layout avoided the pathway as much as it could, I don't think there were any throws over the path.
- The tee signs are wood posts, showing hole # and distance in feet and meters (it is Canada), no diagram. This really is not much of a con since you can see the basket from the tee every time even on the 555 foot shot.
- There was one 125 foot hole (#8) which seemed completely out of place with the rest of the holes.
- No benches or garbage cans on the course. (easy fix)
- The biggest con for me was dealing with border patrol to get into Canada and back into the good old USA!
Other Thoughts: Overall, this was a very enjoyable course and well worth a trip across the border.
The designer clearly spent a good amount of time surveying the property to find the best locations to put baskets and create challenge and maintain safety for non-players.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Lakewood Belle

5+    5/27/2017   5/31/2017
Review By: esdubya
Played: 103  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 22.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Beautiful park setting, you wouldn't be able to tell it used to be a golf course. Prime location on Riverside Drive close to Lake St. Clair.
-Top of the line equipment. Powder coated Mach III baskets expertly installed. Spacious 5x12 concrete teepads. Signage is simple and fits in great with the look and feel of the park and course.
-Single set of tees and baskets leads to a certain purity of play. Everyone throws from the same spot on drives which is nice for comparing scores.
-Wind is always a factor, changing the shot types required so that every round can have unique challenges due to the changing wind.
-Variety! Hole lengths are always changing, keeping things interesting.
-Flow from hole to hole is pretty good. Course does a double loop so you can easily only shoot the front or back 9.
-Mosquitoes never seem to be a big issue.
- Nice wooden bridges installed over a few of the drainage ditches.
Cons: -Course can be flooded in spots after the spring thaw and/or heavy rain.
-Not a 'championship' level course if that is what you are looking for. This is more of an accessible, city park style course, with only a few longer holes.
Other Thoughts: I'm the designer FWIW.

This is probably the most aesthetically pleasing course I've ever seen, hence my unofficial course name "Lakewood Belle".

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice park style course

1    11/15/2016   11/15/2016
Review By: rohrean
Played: 93  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice course in an area that needs one. Congrats on getting a course in the Windsor area.

- Huge (6ft x 12ft ish concrete tee pads.
- nice custom painted DGA baskets (red for the front 9 and white for the back
- beautiful park setting, no risk of loosing discs here
- Good use of the large trees and landscape.
Cons: - Tee signs are coming, the majority of the holes are less than 300ft I believe.
- All flat / no elevation
- A few of the holes could benefit from installing simple walking bridges over a few of the small ditches. I could see this being a wear and tear problem in the future in the wetter areas.
Other Thoughts: Overall, great course. I will come back soon.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.