Franklin, NH 
Franklin Falls Dam Share
Uploaded By: Pfuller Hole #8
5 / 850ft.   5 / 1179ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 

1    8/1/2019   8/1/2019
Review By: Mnowak61607
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good corse if you go there a lot
Cons: Fist time it's hard because the tee has directions and when you need them you don't have them
Other Thoughts: Pretty good if Ben there before

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good bones

2-4    8/28/2017   8/28/2017
Review By: Tuckerman
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.1 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is a good combination of wooded fairways and wide open bomber lanes. There are tree tunnels, and narrow gaps to shoot through. The fairways have obstacles, but there is a "fairway". There are no holes where you just chuck and pray. Several holes take advantage of elevation changes. Signs at the tee pads are generally good and each basket has a hanging arrow underneath showing the direction to the next tee.
Cons: It's good to have a few holes where big-armed players can grip and rip to their heart's content. However, holes 8 and 14 are the most boring use of open space possible. You are quite literally throwing in an open field with zero obstacles and no shape to the lines. Holes 9 and 13 are similar, except they're not even long enough to throw bombs. Really, holes 11 and 12 are the only reasons to bother with anything from 8 to 14.

Then we have the lack of tee pads. This problem appears to be a work in progress. They have some new boxes and crushed stone in place. I'm guessing those will eventually get covered with rubber pads or concrete. For the moment, they are bad. Also, walks between holes are just long enough to make you think, "did I miss the tee pad?"
Other Thoughts: I was in the white mountains on vacation for the week when I played here. It's beautiful country up there. Yet, this course seemed like it was built on an old Department of Public Works site. Walking off hole 7 and seeing the big dam made for a visual highlight, but otherwise this is not an attractive course.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course, but bring bug spray!

2-4    6/20/2017   6/20/2017
Review By: Lupulus
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Fun mix of wooded and open holes
- Amazing tee shots from 8 and 13
- Free course on federal land
- Great baskets
Cons: - SO...MANY...MOSQUITOES! And ants. And ticks.
- Tall grass (about 18-24") on holes 9-12 make it hard to find discs until you stumble over the top of them
- Occasionally having to wait for other park users to clear the fairways
- Tee pads are just wood boxes with gravel in them, which were very rutted and uneven last time I played
- Signage needs to be improved, especially for telling how to get from each basket to the next tee
Other Thoughts: This was a fun course with a great mix of wooded and open holes. My last round, however, was basically ruined by the insects. Holes 1-7 are in the woods and the mosquitoes are terrible. Every time I stopped moving, they were swarming me. It was hard to tee off because I was just slapping them away constantly. Also, there are massive ant hills in the fairways on those same holes and every time I put my bag down, there would be a dozen ants on it when I picked it back up, and then they would crawl onto me. Make sure to do a tick check when you get home; I had two on my legs during my most recent play, one of which I saw on the course, the other I saw when I got home.

Holes 8-14 are wide open, which is a nice change of pace from the tight wooded holes. 8 is a 1,200 foot par 5 with a huge elevation drop from the tee to the landing area. It is a lot of fun to just mash the drive and watch the disc fly so far. The tall grass on holes 9-12 is annoying because it is hard to find your disc if you don't know exactly where it landed. I walked within a few feet of my disc several times, but didn't see it because it was hidden in the grass. The drive on hole 13 has a 300+ foot carry across the spillway that adds a lot of tension to the drive. Don't even attempt it with a disc you don't want to lose, because there is no chance of getting it back if you go in the water.

Holes 15-18 head back into the woods, but it is woods with a different character from the first holes. These last four holes have straight pines creating nice alleys with interesting lines and the need for straight, controlled shots. What doesn't change, unfortunately, is the level of mosquitoes. As soon as you get back into the trees, the mosquitoes start swarming again.

All in all, I enjoyed my play at Franklin Falls, but next time I will bring bug spray with me, which will hopefully make the woods holes tolerable.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Will get better with time

1    11/19/2016   11/19/2016
Review By: Jmano33
Played: 14  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.6 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a new course, so obviously there is work that needs to be done. That will come with time.

The course itself is fun and inviting! A ton of different shots that will utilize every disc in your bag, without a doubt.

Every course needs a signature hole, one that will keep you coming back time and time again. Well, an 1100+ foot par 5 where you're shooting off of of a dam wall into an open field is signature enough for me! If that isn't enough, then a 300 foot drive over open water to a pin on the other side is the second signature hole!

On hole 13, only drive the pro tee if you are CONFIDENT in making a 300 foot drive!!! If you aren't, then pick an old disc you no longer use because if it goes in the water, you are NOT getting it back... I counted 25 discs under water when I looked down, and with the current and proximity to the dam, you can't go in and get it without risking your life.

Great course that will only improve, this has the chance to be something amazing and put NH on the map, but it needs to have the right improvements made.
Cons: Tee pads - The holes that have them, they are rough and gravel. There are many holes that don't have one at all! This is one of the improvements that needs to be made, because with holes as long as this course has, you shouldn't need to worry about your footing.

Signage - More permanent signage needs to be installed, and correctly marked. The 4th hole sign says that it is 477 feet.. Without a doubt there is no way it is more than 280 feet, you'll see it when you play. There is also some miss signage in terms of diagrams, it shows holes to the right, when the pin is right in front of you.

Signage (con't.) - Path signage needs to be implemented in between the holes. Thankfully there is pink ribbon installed on some trees to kind of help golfers... But it is so easy to get lost, and we did several times trying to navigate the front nine.

Ticks - Not necessarily a negative, more of a warning. I found a tick on me today after finishing hole 14 in the field, and this is when the grass is dead. Next spring / summer, it is so crucial for the upkeep of the grass. If that grass gets long, you can forget about disc golf without ticks, you will be pulling them off of you all night.
Other Thoughts: Great course that just started. It needs work, and that will come. But for a course that hasn't been around for long, it has a ton of potential and is already fun.

Make sure to utilize the practice hole at the beginning to warm your arm up, because you will throw more than most courses here.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great Design and Getting Better

2-4    11/13/2016   11/17/2016
Review By: Nantuko
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.1 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Varied terrain, offers a bit of everything
Shots for power players and technical players
Excellent rec tees
Gorgeous scenery
Cons: Not well marked from basket to next tee
Tees could be improved
Pedestrians walking through the course
Other Thoughts: This course is fantastic. A few of the holes make the trip worth it on their own, and taken all together you get so much variety that you can make a whole day of it. Definitely a long course with some hiking around, so bring plenty of water. The plans for next year will fix the cons I listed with regards to signage and the tees. The pedestrians might be more challenging...there was one hole where we were basically throwing right at people walking their dogs.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Golden Tee Course that will place NH on the Map!

5+    10/28/2016   10/31/2016
Review By: Pfuller
Played: 33  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 25.5 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Golden Tee level course. Championship level play. Epic!

-Pristine park. Franklin Falls ACOE site a is very well maintained area offering all kinds of outdoor recreation.

-One of the most varied terrain courses in New England, wooded technical shots, combined with wide open power shots, vast elevation gains, water hazards. Looking for "that shot" Franklin Falls probably has it.

-You travel from deciduous New England forest, to terrain that feels like your playing in the open pines of the Rocky mountains, to tight red pine forest and of course wide open flood plains where you play around a historical CCC era dam.

-#8 You get to power drive off of a 325 foot drop off onto a 1,100+ foot lane. Very satisfying feeling.

-#13 (pro-tee) Will become one of thee most infamous holes in New England (There is a safer rec. tee).

- Ample opportunity to throw as hard as you can throw on holes 8,9,12,13 and 14 where power players will certainly have an advantage but you still need to bring a finesse game for many other holes where technical players can shine.

-You will get a work out playing here. 2.5 miles from start to finish. Eat your Wheaties before coming out to play.

-Practice basket is a must play and on any other course would be a designated hole.

- A shorter 9 holes can be played starting with practice basket then onto 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 then skip over to 17 and 18.

-Very nice recreational tees are in place for #8, #10 and #13. For those who don't want to risk losing a disc (#10 and #13) I highly recommend using them.

-If you have been looking for a place to play a BIG game, this is it!

-I could see national level championships being played here in the future.
Cons: - This course has come along way from the first work days in Spring of 16 till this date of review(Oct.31). But still some work planned for the future, regarding tees, signage, elevated tees and such.

-Make sure you grab a map of course from kiosk if playing the first time as signage is not complete.

-The is a very BIG course. 2.5 miles long with some big hills to walk. If playing in the heat of the summer make sure you hydrate.

-If playing all 18, not a course to introduce a new player or out of shape player. Though certainly a new player will have fun playing the shorter modified 9 course listed in Pros.

-There is NO retrieving your discs from river/spill-way. NONE! You would be risking your life in doing so.
For players who do not wish to risk losing discs on #13, please note there is a recreational tee for #13 located on the other side of the spill-way on the gravel road next to the eastern corner of the dam. Also note, recreation Tee for #10.
Other Thoughts: I have played DG since 1993 and for over ten years I have envisioned a course at the Franklin Falls ACOE site. I immediately jumped on board as a volunteer from the very start and have had the privilege to see this course come along in every phase.

As of this review, I likely have played the course more times then anyone, starting from the time when there were no baskets installed and very little clearing and I would just play safari to where it is today (though still a work in progress) where I play it about four times per week.

Being in my 40's my arm strength places me in a recreation/AM category in regard to power drives. Hence, making par/birdies on some of the open distance holes will likely be a dream. However, there are plenty of holes where a sound control game will keep me in competitive.

This is a course that will place NH on the map for championship level play.




8 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.