Springdale, AR 
JB Hunt Park Share
Uploaded By: oldmandowntheroad Hole #12 (Taken 10/2016)
3 / 298ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Approach



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  

1    6/17/2018   6/18/2018
Review By: Krekelly
Played: 19  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 12.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Maybe the best well-kept course I've played! The city mows a portion of this course every day and they do a great job!

The baskets are in great condition and all holes (except 1) have an arrow pointing to the next tee box.

Great concrete tee boxes on each hole.
Cons: Good luck getting a disk out of the woods if you happen to throw one in there. It can get thick for sure.

The course layout is decent. I would have liked to see hole #18 ending up closer to the parking lot, but they do a great job of making use of the grounds for sure.
Other Thoughts: Hole #1 - Throwing into tight woods. Nice and straight, short hole. Well marked and easily understandable.

Hole #2 - Wooded tunnel shot, short hole. Straight again with a gully to throw over, finishing uphill.

Hole #3 - Fades from left to right in the woods, short hole. Slight RHBH ani or a RHFH.

Hole #4 - Open fairway shot ending uphill through some guardian trees/bushes/greenery. Moderately long.

Hole #5 - Slowly up-sloping hill, wide open. Finishing in the edge of a clearing with a number of guardian tree trunks.

Hole #6 - An interesting tunnel shot. Starts in the open, has a small tunnel (40' or so), back to open, back to tunnel. Good little hole for sure.

Hole #7 - Easy and short hole that starts in the open with a large tree making your drive interesting. Finishes in a clearing of trees.

Hole #8 - Short and tight tunnel shot through mature evergreens. Finishes with a basket that is mounted in the stump of an old pine tree.

Hole #9 - Longer, downhill drive that gets interesting as the power lines and the bushes/trees come in to play for sure.

Hole #10 - Longer par 4 hole that has a creek on the right and a walking trail on the left as OB. Straightforward and somewhat wide open.

Hole #11 - Wide open, uphill drive that plays a lot longer than what it is due to the incline. Right now it isn't guarded by any thick trees, but they have planted some immature trees that will definitely add character to this hole in a few years.

Hole #12 - Moderately long hole that has a somewhat tunnel drive off the tee. If you can clear the trees (pretty easy to do) you will land in the fairway which is nicely mowed. Finishes in a small clearing of trees. A well-placed upshot is necessary as it could leave you with a death putt as there is a drop off behind the basket.

Hole #13 - Shorter, wooded hole where mature trees are plentiful. No brush or anything else impeding your shots, but picking a flight path can be tricky.

Hole #14 - A moderately uphill drive that starts barely in the woods, giving way to a wide open fairway. Plays slights longer than marked due to being uphill.

Hole #15 - Drive off the tee has to be well placed as there is a large grove of trees slight offset of the middle. Upshot and basket are wide open and located on a moderate decline.

Hole #16 - Moderately longer hole at 360+' (if I remember correctly). There is a creek that runs right to left at about 300' out off the box. This is the only hole I couldn't find an arrow pointing me to the next tee box which was awkwardly located across the bridge and across the street.

Hole #17 - Long, par 4 hole that is wide open and finishes with a few guardian trees.

Hole #18 - Mature trees to the right and wide open to the left. Hole finishes slightly to the right at 250' within a group of mature guardian trees.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great all around course

5+    6/7/2018   6/7/2018
Review By: ThirtyShort
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Great mix of open and wooded shots of varying length. Nice mix of changing elevation. Grass is always nicely manicured. Nice new tee signs and course flow making it easy to navigate. Probably the best concrete teepads you can find anywhere.
Cons: Can get a little rough if you go off the fairway.
Other Thoughts: Great all around course for moderate to advanced players. I hear there is a championship level and a beginner friendly course in the works. Great place to play!

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

JB Gets on the Good Foot

1    5/6/2018   5/9/2018
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 381  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 15.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: JB has never let me down. James Brown, John Bell, jelly biscuits. Add JB Hunt to the list. It is a great course in a really nice city park. The amenities are as good as you could ask for, and the landscape is perfect for this game. Lots of big hills with terrain ranging from wide open to heavy woods. A good sized ravine with streaming water runs along hole 10 and 17, and crosses the front of the 16th green.

Concrete tees are decked out with good signs. Baskets are nice Innova Discatchers. Layout is easy to follow, fun to play and has an interesting mix of shots. Park grounds were immaculately kept and clear of litter.

It is not the most difficult course, but there are a couple of par 4's, and several holes that offer a chance to get birdies. The shorter holes will usually have heavier woods keeping it from being totally pitch and putt. I liked the flow, and mix of looks as you move through the course. Not all of them were head scratchers, but interesting at least for the majority.

Favorite holes were probably 9 and 16. Surprise, they are both long downhill bombers, like I say in most every review of a course with moderate elevation changes. 9 has a fairway that is lined with trees on both sides, but still has room to glide if you hit a nice line. 16 is wide open, and has a creek in a fairly deep ravine in front of the basket, running parallel to the road. 5 is a good longish hole with a basket tucked in the woods in a slight depression near the end. 8 was a shorter narrow tunnel with a basket perched on a tall stump at the end.
Cons: There are a couple of holes that are a little too open, but fit the set up well, and would still be good holes at other courses. Not a lot of room to create alternate tees or extra pin locations.

There were not many benches or trash cans along the way, but there are good facilities with bathrooms near the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: JB hunt is not my favorite course in the Natural State, but it is near the top of the list for sure. It is a great city park setting, and the re design was very well done.

I only played the one round, and finished with a 57, one over par. My lone birdie was on hole 7, and it was bracketed by bogies on holes 6 and 8. There are lots of chances to be under par with several holes under 275', but the shorter holes do tend to have heavier rough. I lost shots trying to recover from bad drives that bounced into the trees. Spent time searching for discs on hole 1 and hole 6. Didn't lose anything, but I was digging around in the honeysuckles and brush a good bit.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Hard to find complaints

1    12/29/2017   12/29/2017
Review By: themcmc87
Played: 28  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 1.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Having just played a really excellent course in Rogers, AR, I decided to switch it up and head out to Springdale to check out the JB Hunt Park to see what else NWA had to offer. And I was thoroughly impressed
Pro's include:
Obvious starting place, right next to the main parking lot. I did not use the facilities, but it looked like there were bathrooms available. Plenty of parking.
Good course map.
This is some of the best course marking I've ever seen. Pretty much every hole has an arrow pointing you to the next tee (with one exception! see below). Every tee has an accurate sign.
Good concrete teepads (except on the holes where the teepad is the walking path, but still well marked and easy to use). Baskets are in good shape. Love the wooded shot with the basket elevated out of the stump.
Really excellent hole and line variety. Great mix of shorter, wooded shots and open field shots, including a few long shots.
Quite challenging in places. Requires a good test of lots of the shots in your bag, hyzer and anhyzer, precision and distance.
Well manicured park. Lots of elevation changes. It's a good 2-2.5 mile hike to do the whole thing, so bring some water.

Cons: Hard to find many.
The one place on this course that I couldn't find a next tee sign (And I could have just missed it!) was hole 5. I followed the road past the basket, and it lead me to the basket for 6 on the right, easy enough to follow the fairway back to the pad. You just need to go back and to the right from the basket on five to go around instead. This was a super minor inconvenience though, relative to how great the navigation was elsewhere.
I went on a cold December morning, so there weren't a ton of other people in the park. But the big par 4 on hole 10 has you throwing over a walking path. I could see it getting a bit hairy if there are lots of other park patrons.
I was down a few times fishing my discs out of the dry creek-bed. I don't know if that thing is ever actually full, but if it is, there is definite disc losing potential.
Be careful if you get out into the rough on some of these holes. There are vines that don't look very thorny until you get into them, and then it's too late.
Again, I'm stretching here to find negatives.

Other Thoughts: I am definitely going to come back to play this course again when I'm in the area. This was a great course with really high re-play value that I think would be excellent for players of all skill levels.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

JB Hunt

1    11/13/2017   11/13/2017
Review By: JohnDeere
Played: 11  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: New concrete tee pads
New Dynamic Discs Full Color Tee Signs
Incredibly maintained
Discacther Baskets
Not a whole lot places to lose Discs
Fair to all skill levels
Directional signs for navigating to the next tee
Cons: No Benches
Woods can be a little thick
2 Tees are on the walking trail
Not many long holes
Other Thoughts: Best maintained course I've been to

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice

1    7/19/2017   7/20/2017
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 474  Reviewed: 262  Exp: 30.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: GREAT mix of holes
Both tight wooded holes
And long bombers up and down hills
Cement Tee pads on all the holes (except 10 which is teeing off the asphalt trail)
Good shape Innova baskets
GREAT direction markers at all the holes needed.
Cons: Only tee posts, no signage or distance marked.
A few of the holes have sidewalks that come into play.
Other Thoughts: What a fun course to play. The grass is mowed very nicely and apparently is like that all the time. Even the wooded holes had well defined fairways.

You have several decent wooded holes that are not too short, nor too long. Hit the line and you have a putt.

Plenty of elevation on several holes. You get to both throw up, and throw down large hills. Hole 16 was fun, 400+ across a creek downhill.


Hole 10 is the longest hole on the course. along an OB creek and down the sidewalk. It took all of two drives for me to get my 3.

Would I play here again?

Yes, this is one of the better courses that will make you a better player.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Much better layout than before

1    11/20/2016   11/20/2016
Review By: bball7273
Played: 67  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 7.7 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Innova Discatcher pro baskets are in great shape
- Well maintained grounds
- Grass is always mowed
- Lots of variety on this course. The holes never seem to get repetitive like the last layout. It is very nice that each hole is different. Holes alternate from tight and wooded to open and long. You will throw every throw in your arsenal on this course!
- Great navigation. Arrows are placed conveniently near each basket to help with navigation to the next tee, one easy feature that helps this course flow extremely well and keep the player in the right direction.
- On that point, the course flows very well. There are no holes that seem to be drastically out of place from the others, and the walks in-between holes is a quick one.
- They really used every feature available in the park on this course. Im happy that they cleared out and used lots of the wooded land that was available. The variety of holes will keep me coming back time and time again.
- The natural tee pads are very flat, which is good for footing
- Alternate pin positions are a big plus
- There are lots of risk/reward shots that make the course pretty challenging, which is a great feature many courses don't have.
Cons: - Natural tee pads. While they are flat, I would like to have seen concrete tees.
- The course comes in contact with or very close to the concrete trail that pedestrians use. This flaw will make playing a round on a nice weekend nearly impossible.
- I would like to have seen better signage for each tee. A few times, we had to walk nearly half of the hole to find out where the basket was placed. This could have easily been avoided with some maps at each tee.
- The rough here is, well, rough. Very rough in fact. Finding discs is a very hard task at this place, especially in the summer. There is A LOT of poison ivy and sticker bushes that can make a round not so fun.
Other Thoughts: The new design has finally come! the NWA disc golf community now has a gem here at JB Hunt Park. So many improvements have been made to help this course reach its full potential. From a park that used to just have some baskets scattered (since navigation was an absolute nightmare and tees didn't exist at all) to what it is now, this course has transformed into one of the best in the area. I love the vast variety of holes this course offers, and I believe that the redesign uses every aspect of the park in order to make the most fun and challenging course possible. This is a must play if you are in the area!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Really fun course to play

1    10/29/2016   11/8/2016
Review By: oldmandowntheroad
Played: 74  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Park is very well maintained. Most of the pins are challenging, but not so difficult that you can't score well if you play well. Accuracy and shot shaping definitely pay off. Once you find #1 tee, navigating the course is easy with directional arrows to the next tee at every basket except the few where the next tee is clearly visible. Course flow is very good, with only a little back tracking on 16. The course has excellent variety with tunnel shots, shaped drives, bomber runs, uphill shots and downhill shots. On most pins, unless you really throw a wayward shot, finding your disc won't be a problem. However, there are a few spots (12 & 15 come to mind) where the rough looked pretty thick if you didn't hit your line.
Cons: Most of these are things that aren't big negatives, but would improve the course. Natural pads. When I played it was dry so this wasn't an issue, but if it were wet, concrete pads would be a plus. No benches or trash cans. No distance on the tee markers.
Other Thoughts: I found this course to be really fun to play. As the previous reviewer stated, the course has been totally redesigned. Kudos to those who put in the work to create a great course. Below is a basket by basket description. As far as I know, no one has created a distance chart, but as you would expect, the tunnel pins are shorter, with the more open pins generally 400-500ft, with a couple of bomber pins (10 & 17) thrown in.

#1 Tee from the open into a downhill tunnel, over a little valley to the basket on the other side. Basket a little to the right.
#2 Tunnel shot that doglegs to the left. Approach is over a little valley to the basket.
#3 Tunnel shot that tees over a little valley then doglegs a little to the right.
#4 Open tee shot over a valley with fairly large trees on both the right and left of the fairway, so accuracy and some shot shaping needed.
#5 Open tee shot over an open rise to the tee protected by trees.
#6 Tee through a tunnel that then opens on the right. However, the basket it straight back in another tunnel, slightly to the left.
#7 Open tee with a medium sized tree right in the way about 40 feet out  Basket is in a tunnel to the left straight behind the tree.
#8 Tunnel shot to an open area with the basket mounted on a stump, slightly to the right of the tunnel.
#9 Downhill highline fairway which is decently wide but narrow enough that some precision is required to stay out of the rough.
#10 Bomber run. Tee from the paved path with the path running along the left side and a dry, open creek on the right. I would guess that after heavy rains, the creek would have some water but appears to be dry most of the time.
#11 Tee from the paved path uphill to an open basket. Probably the easiest pin on the course.
#12 Tee through a semi-tunnel over a mid-size valley then open to the left. Not far enough left and you are in the rough, too far left and you are in the rough. Open back to the basket, but it is just in front of a wooded drop off so there is a definite risk reward for making a run at long putts.
#13 Tee through multiple smalls trees to the basket. Windows are there but accuracy is needed to hit them.
#14 Tee out of a short tunnel to a wide open basket. Slightly uphill. This is the one pin that I thought could have been made more challenging by tucking it into the trees down the right hand side.
#15 Tee from an open area through a gap in the trees maybe 100-130ft out from the tee over a valley to the basket on the opposite side of the hill.
#16 Big downhill tee to the basket on the other side of the creek. Here the creek is pretty wide, but was dry except for standing water by the bridge (which is the easiest way to get the basket and back).
#17 Bomber run for sure. Long open fairway with the basket tucked in trees at the far end of the open field. A huge cottonwood would need to be avoided for a monster drive down the right hand side of the fairway (RHBH).
#18 Tee to basket tucked in trees straight ahead.

I would rate the course higher if it had multiple pin placements and / or multiple tees from concrete pads. That being said, on a 'Fun Meter' this course rated really high for me.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

JB Hunt - New layout/design

2-4    6/18/2016   6/24/2016
Review By: ronnie
Played: 19  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 15.2 Years
Pros: Course flows well. Easy to follow signing. Love the mix of wooded/open holes as well as the signature stump basket hole! Elevation plays a huge part in nearly every hole - giving you a tough look or upshot on almost every hole.
Cons: Underbrush is still rough. Poison ivy is on the course in spots as well. City is committed to correcting it, so it'll be a 4.5 when that happens.
Other Thoughts: The redesign was long overdue and it really is fantastic. Can easily be a premier disc golf destination with some TLC and the teepads when they're installed next year (2017) will be a welcome site as well.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.