Greenville, MI 
Tower Park DGC Share



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
A picturesque challenging couse

5+    11/25/2017   11/28/2017
Review By: jaredfestjared
Played: 56  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has a little bit of everything, elevation, a few open holes, blind tee shots, hyzers, anhyzers, tight and technical, long holes and a few pitch and putt holes. Beautiful mature hard wood mixed in with huge pines sets the tone to the round. The course plays through out a 44 acres in the city with gorgeous views of Baldwin lake. The course is within a nice neighborhood with little traffic as the park is near side streets not busy roads making it very peaceful. The main parking lot is located in the middle of the park making getting back to your vehicle very easy. There a four different parking lots you can park at to access the course if need be and there are bathrooms throughout the park conveniently located. The layout of the course offers a bunch of small loops that bring you back to the parking lot which is perfect for quick practice before tournaments and leagues or quick rounds if time is of the essence. Not only will this course test skill sets with elevation it will give you a work out doing it. Many of the holes will make you hone in on your strengths and confidence. A lot of the holes play harder than the par or distance make you perceive due to the elevation. Some of the holes offer multiple fairways to utilize your skills making you want to try different shots each round. You're going to implement very shot you have here making it a fun and challenging course.
Cons: Its a work in progress, there are a few things that are unfinished in its current state that are in the future plans. Natural tee pads are starting to wear in from constant play. Basic tee signs don't give you the layout of the holes which would help being a heavily elevated course. The park offers multiple amenities throughout making the layout confusing with navigation to a couple holes the first time you're out there.
Other Thoughts: The city has been very receptive and open to the course and is very helpful with projects and improvements to the course. Along with the city, local clubs are very helpful with upkeep also. Tee pads have been approved for next year, 2018. Along with tee pads there will be professional tee signs and added signage to help navigate new comers throughout the course with ease. Once these improvements are completed this course will be a disc golf destination.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    11/25/2017   11/28/2017
Review By: trout_smith
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Challenging, wooded course
Requires varied skillset
Spread out enough that one hole doesn't interfere with another
No OB, but not needed due to growth and layout
Cons: Dirt/sand tee pads are only marked by pin flags. unsure if they are in the correct location or if someone has moved them to a more advantageous angle/location.
Hole layout not shown on tee signs (some baskets are difficult to see) This is a non-problem after you have played a couple of rounds.
Other Thoughts: This is my favorite course in the area. With better tee pads and signage, I would have rated 4.5.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Never Again.

1    11/27/2017   11/27/2017
Review By: A-Aron
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 25.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/29/2017
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good elevations, cool holes
Cons: Horrible design
Cross numerous busy roads to get from hole to hole
I played on a Monday morning and the cars were non-stop
Between hole 6 and 7 you walk a 400 foot path, then hole 7 is a steep uphill anhyzer
Random Holes are right next to each other
Couldn't find hole 5, thought it was hole 18. Couldn't find other holes.
Hole 17? Is the tee pad the angled cement block with a bike rack in it? Where is the tee pad? Where is the basket?
Could go on and on

Signage was terrible
One property had a no trespassing sign near a basket. The house with the no trespassing sign is on a gorgeous lake along the course between holes 6-11. I'd be irritated if I lived there. No respect of the social contract. Bad for disc golf.

Leaves were ankle deep on every hole. Like maintenance was non existent.


Over 20 years golfing, this is the worst course I've played. Needs to be redesigned for better flow

Other Thoughts: This property has the potential to be one of the best courses in Michigan. Get a professional to help and REDESIGN.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Almost there!

1    9/11/2017   9/12/2017
Review By: BuzzArmStrong
Played: 47  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 10.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a destination course. This is a very idyllic peace of land for a frisbee golf course. With sharp hills and mature trees to spare this is the dream land for a technical wooded course and Towers certainly delivers on that.

On some courses you can read the distance on the tee sign, take a look at the basket, and throw just as well the first round you play at the course as you would on any other day. This course is the exact opposite and that is what contributes to the draw that courses like this can have. This is a course that you have to play multiple times to get a feel for the distance because the elevation changes and angles force you to hit lines and have great control over your distance. You could play this course 10 times and still be learning angles and shots.

I'm not sure if there is an actual limit to where elevation change gets to be too much but this course could certainly make you questions it. There are very few drives on this course where elevation is not a factor in how you are throwing, it is a major feature of the piece of land this course is on and it is used to the maximum extent. Forces you to land discs on different angled greens. Also forces a number of death put situations.

Good mix of right and left turning fairways. Nearly every shot in the bag can be utilized at this course.

Number of memorable holes including the "island green" on hole 9(?) tat features the basket perched on a peninsula of land with steep slopes that could turn into some really nasty roll-aways.

13 is also a well designed hole that plays a righty anny or forehand line off the tee box and a long straight approach through a tree sprinkled slightly uphill fairway to the pin. This hole comes in as a 543 foot par 5..Whether or not it's a soft par 5 or a tough par 4 is probably legitimate debate but either way it is a demanding and well thought out hole.

18 is a great finishing hole after a tough round. This is the kind of finishing hole that makes you empty your entire bag. a 400 foot down hill with a left hooking fairway. This hole has a nice wide fairway as it is used for skiing in the winter. This hole allows you to unwind on your final throws after a grueling round.

While there are a few walks between holes it's not terribly bad for the most part. Good signage to guide discers from hole to hole.
Cons: Natural tee pads

Lot of small tree stumps sticking up in fairways and walking trails to next tee pad.

Erosion - While it's not a really bad issues at this moment there are certainly some areas where the ground is pretty loose and footing is questionable. As this course grows this needs to be constantly maintained and it would be wise to address these issues before they become more serious.
Other Thoughts: This course is well on its way to becoming a 4-4.5 star course. When a few of these loose ends are tied up this course swill be a great challenging course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Great YOUNG Course

1    2/18/2017   2/25/2017
Review By: keven.krieger
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course being as young as it is played incredibly well. The layout, if you're name isn't fatbob (general moron) is not confusing as it follows a clover shape. The use of land that was preexisting was ingenious. Yes it crosses the road several times because it has to. Other than assigning crossing guards to hold your hand I think we are all adults and we can manage to navigate it properly. No brush piles that I could find at all! Fair lines and the rough was clear for up shots. You get plenty of views of the lake too which was awesome. The last hole is absolutely epic.
Cons: Being a fat guy like fatbob I can see where his frustrations actually came from. This course is built on a course that is also home to a ski hill. I found myself getting a lot of exercise which is fat guys don't always like. There was quite a walk between one of the holes that could have used one more sign, but as said previously, I'm not a monumental idiot so I was able to find it.
Other Thoughts: I can't put this in the cons section as I see it is being worked on. You really need better tees. I see that fundraising efforts have begun for cement which will make this course very VERY good. Having built a top 30 Michigan course myself I found myself so jealous of the topography and landscape. It's a beautiful piece of land that was taken advantage of. Congratulations on building yet another great west Michigan course. Also, I was able to cross the road too. Didn't even need someone to hold my hand!

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Terrible layout

1    2/18/2017   2/22/2017
Review By: fatbob11
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I enjoyed the challenge, playabilty, and layout of each hole themselves. I think they will be really nice once tee boxes are complete.
Cons: Overall course layout. Its extremely confusing I recommend printing or downloading the map of you've never been there before. There's no way i would have gotten through the course without the map and it's still difficult to navigate with the map in spots. To much crossing roads also. It took us a few hours to play 16 holes.
Other Thoughts: I feel it has the potential to be a great course of the course flowed better. 9 holes on each side of the road would have been great or as close to that as possible.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Very Good Course

1    11/20/2016   11/22/2016
Review By: steelniel
Played: 84  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 14.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very technical, heavily wooded course with good distances for the type of terrain. Good baskets, well groomed and cared for. Nice area, beautiful property! Gonna be even better once there are tee pads.
Cons: Maybe could have been designed so that you don't cross the road so many times. Wont be going there in the winter when there is snow because of the last two holes being to close to other park goers using the sledding/skiing areas. Just not worth the risk or the hassle of moving holes just to use the sledding hill in my opinion.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 guys with carts...

1    11/10/2016   11/10/2016
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 317  Reviewed: 298  Exp: 9.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Aesthetic-- plays over very hilly terrain in a large multi-use park bordered by a lake. Beautiful setting. Doesn't really play close to park amenities.

Baskets-- DGA. In good shape. no real differences between the baskets from the old Greenville course and here.

Challenge-- the challenge here lies in the physicality. Every hole incorporates some form of elevation.

Variety-- a whole lot of everything. Long, short, left, right, etc etc etc

Teeboxes-- when in their final state, these will be sweet. tees have already been marked and in some areas built but not paved or whatever.

Teesignage-- they recycled the old DGA signage from Davis and there's only 9 signs but I'm sure killer signage is to come

routing and nav-- the leaves were thick but the locals had leaf blown the paths clear and the basket areas to help with nav. no real issues. 4-5 and 5-6 were slightly sticky but the map helps immensely.

Cons: Not finished-- this course nestles snugly between the killer workout of bertha brock and the great round of Branstrom. Somewhere between there this course is a great addition to the scene.

Flags-- could seriously use baskets or some form of mark to know where baskets are. This was a big sticking point for me. Not only does the elevation hide some baskets but the thickness of the woods doesn't help.

Not super stroller/cart friendly-- some places are very steep to descend or ascend and it makes it even more physical to traverse with a kiddo in a stroller. plan accordingly.
Other Thoughts: instant classic. get out here and check it out!!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.