Chesapeake, VA 
Deep Creek Elementary School Share
Uploaded By: Jimb Hole #3 (Taken 8/2020)
3 / 70ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Showing its age and some neglect

1    8/5/2022   8/6/2022
Review By: armiller
Played: 267  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/7/2022
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- convenient location off a major freeway
- Discatcher baskets with numbers; 5 of the 9 original holes are playable as designed
- beautiful mature trees in latter half of course
- safari/practice potential
- this school is on "Forehand Drive" - teach 'em young!!!
Cons:
- though some tee signs are present, there are no demarcated teeing areas (this would probably help kids get a feel for disc golf)
- construction and school features significantly affect first half of course (hole 1 unplayable due to no basket, holes 2-4 semi-playable)
- as designed, it was never more than a pitch-and-putt
Other Thoughts:
Some playgrounds and new/active constuction affect holes 1-4. #1's tee sign is present, but the sign shows it throwing directly into some (new?) modular buildings, and the basket is absent. #2 is <100 ft and even that short distance goes over construction and through playgrounds. #3's tee sign is missing and basket has a low (temporary?) construction fence within a yard of the basket. #4 now throws over a 5-6' chain link fence.

I suggest parking by the high school instead (near turn in Margaret Booker Dr, coordinates: 36.7553358, -76.3507097) to avoid jumping any fences.

That said, baskets 4 through 9 are all in a contiguous green space with quite a few nice and very mature trees. The good news is that holes 5-9 are completely unaffected by current construction and school equipment as of August 2022. These holes are short and pretty boring, but the mature trees are really excellent, and I admit to having a lot of fun carving some lines with my Opto Pure even on the designed pitch/putt holes.

The most fun I had while playing here was after finishing hole 9 and then creating "choose your own adventure" lines through and around the trees. Thankfully, this open/treed area is accessible through openings in the school fence, and there is parking closer to the high school (near the bend on Margaret Booker Dr). I say this even though it avoids one of the most aptly named streets ever: Forehand Drive. After playing this course, one might consider contacting Chesapeake officials to change to an even more appropriate: "Lazy Putter Way."
[**EDIT** I now realize this street is probably named after Judge V. Thomas Forehand Jr., a local judge and Virginia delegate who passed away in 2014.]

This is a nice opportunity to practice or throw some putters, especially since it's so close to I-64. I suspect it poorly reflects on the prior state and its designers' intentions back in 2015.

Rating comments: Given the current status of the course, I'm giving a 1.0 for "Poor," agreeing with DGCraig's recent review. Even if holes 1-4 were unaffected, I can't see this being higher than 1.5 or maybe 2.0. The mature trees and safari/practice potential of baskets 4-9 are the course's redeeming features.

As always, I do appreciate the school's effort in purchasing and installing baskets. Thanks to Deep Creek Elementary! Please respect the property/rules and keep this place safe!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

I played here simply because I was stuck in traffic.

1    6/17/2022   6/27/2022
Review By: DiscGolfCraig
Played: 491  Reviewed: 463  Exp: 18.3 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Short, basic, nine-hole course. For once, the UDisc length review is all that's needed for a course.
- This is an eight hole (basket for #1 is missing), 1100-foot layout. Sparse trees and modular buildings (#1 & 2) create the obstacles.
- It's installed at the perfect location. This is for kids as well as any beginner or people practicing. Or, in my case, someone realizing you're two minutes from a course that will take less than 10 minutes to play, and can add one more to your played list.
- Average hole length is in the 130 foot range. Bring two or three putters, and leave the bag in the car.
- Trees do create slight challenge with lower ceilings or slight sweeping shots. Honestly, this is a layout to practice other shot types, such as throwing with your off hand, try to learn a roller, skip shot, etc.
- Good for ace runs.
Cons: Basket for #1 is missing. That said, based on the course map, it's a bad layout, throwing at and around modular buildings and the playground. I don't think grade school kids are going to have the best aim or judges of distance. So the risk of an errant throw seems high. Maybe that's why the basket is gone?
- Same argument could be said about #2, as you're throwing between the modular buildings. I liked bouncing my disc off the side of one. The school probably doesn't want that done each time.
- Tee sign for #3 was missing.
- Other than that, things are straight forward and simple. Yes, a lack of challenge will be a negative. But I've yet to find an 1100-foot, open field course that isn't easy.
- No trash cans or bathrooms for the public. If that's an issue for a 15 minute round, that's a you issue.
Other Thoughts: I've played Deep Creek Elementary dozens of times before without ever playing here. Once you play one short pitch and putt course, they're all the same.
- There's really no difference from one hole to the next. Sure, you have branches or trees in the way on some holes. But it shouldn't be an issue.
- The real challenge here is to shoot a sub 18 round. That be fun.
- Whether I rate this a 0.5 or 1.0 is a moot point. The course is mediocre at best. No bonus points because it's 'for the kids.' I only played because while sitting in traffic at a light, I saw I was less than a mile away.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Pitch and a Putt

2-4    10/9/2021   12/2/2019
Review By: lee76007
Played: 107  Reviewed: 102  Exp: 3.1 Years
This review was updated on 10/9/2021
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: ***October 2021 Update

-Very short course that gives an excellent opportunity to work on your short game.
-I now have a course I can bring my 5-year old Grandson too.
-Signs on each hole with distance, except for one that was missing.
-Huge course map as you enter the property.
-Its on an Elementary School playground, and the city takes good care of the grounds.
Cons: -Don't expect a challenge here, just remember your here to work on your short game or perhaps your a short range thrower or learning the game.
-Not able to use the course during school hours.

***2 of the baskets are leaning over, and another driven into the ground just a few feet above it. Don't remember seeing this almost 2 years ago.
Other Thoughts: Its too far away for me to work on my short game here, but the 3-18 hole courses I rotate on take care of that with practice baskets. The only way I'll be returning here is if I'm able to bring my grandson. I did like No. 4. I throw right to left in the open fields, on this hole that took me over the playground equipment, not sure if that will ever happen else where. In the background is a Little League Baseball Stadium with all the bells and whistles. Perhaps I can bring my grandson here next spring when a game is gong on, and we can toss disks into the baskets as well.

***Decided to stop as I was passing by. Carrying only a putter the round took 10 minutes. Reduced rating as reflected in conditions of the three baskets and missing tee sign.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Kids course, not for a serious disc golfer

2-4    2/15/2018   2/15/2018
Review By: jophus21
Played: 127  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 16.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Excellent signage except for hole 3 which was missing its sign and hole 1 and 2 which had been moved closer so as to not endanger the kids on the adjacent playground.
-Awesome baskets for such a small course! They had brand new disc catcher baskets from Innova on every hole. One was a little short, but other than that, they were great.
-Great course to take your kid to. There's a playground right there if they get bored.
-Pretty good design for the space that they had, even though 6 holes were pretty much wide open 150 foot shots, there were some creative uses of mandos and trees to shape a couple of the shots off the tee.
-Plenty of parking on site, and the course id right off the highway, so finding it was no problem.


Cons: -Some drainage issues on holes 2-4 with soggy ground around the tees and baskets, and some large puddles of standing water to avoid.
-no permanent tees, just throw next to the sign.
-no sign on hole 3 and hole 7's basket was about a foot low.
-kids on the playground until about 4:15, even though the course says its open at 3:30, I couldn't play the first three holes until after the kids left.
Other Thoughts: THIS IS A KIDS COURSE!!! I reviewed it as such! Don't expect to come here as an adult and have a challenge. I was able to routinely birdie 7 out of the 9 holes, and once I figured the other two out, I birdied them too. I would say the holes are more like a par 2 for any experienced player. It's a great place to bring a little kid and let them get some play time on a course where they can shoot par or better. My 5 year old would pretty much par every hole.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.