Cincinnati, OH 
Winton Woods Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #7
4 / 210ft.   3 / 210ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 46
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Hone your upshots on a historic course

5+    1/22/2017   1/24/2017
Review By: onthemile
Played: 74  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
+ Accessible. Whether you've been playing disc golf for a few days or a few decades, you'll appreciate the hassle free nature of Winton. Mostly flat, minimal thorns, and only a few chances for a lost disc.
+ Quick. While some courses in the area ask you to set aside 2-3 hours for one round, you can probably play 5 laps at Winton in that amount of time.
+ Historic. Winton is Steady Ed original and one of the oldest courses in Ohio. Play the course just once and you can really gain an appreciation for the how far the sport has come.
+ Fun! I think of this course the way a pro golfer might think of a casual putt-putt outing. No windmills though. I always leave Winton thinking I'm much better than I really am.
Cons:
- Simple. I would never go so far to say this course is boring, but you may want to pass if you are looking for a serious challenge.
- Crowded. Some days are better than others. Stop by on a summer evening and you'll stand in line on every hole.
- Muddy. Always. The course gets so much traffic that some of the fairways are just one long drainage ditch. Bring an extra towel and watch your step.
- Repetitive. There's 8 or 9 holes here that play the same. The design does a good job spreading these out and punctuating them with more unique lines.
- Tattered. Some tees are nearly washed away and the baskets need some TLC. Buy an annual pass if you get the chance and know that your money might eventually go toward some much needed improvements.
Other Thoughts:
As others have advised, don't skip a chance to play Winton Woods just because you've heard how basic it is. If you give it a chance, I promise you'll be back for more.

Be advised that the course is very much geared to casual and first-time players. In the two years I've been playing here I've seen middle school gym classes, church youth groups, large families, etc out on the course. Be courteous and show these future pros that disc golf is a patient game for dignified individuals.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Billy Boys Review

5+    1/1/2017   1/4/2017
Review By: BillyBoy
Played: 107  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A great course for beginners to learn on, and for experienced players to practice on. This original Steady Ed design helps new players learn different types of throws and lets them focus on accuracy more than power. For the advanced player; think of it as a great practice course. Each hole has multiple approaches, can be easily birdied and even aced, but if you miss the ace you may trade your birdie for a par or worse. Think of it as a nice technical course without having to bother with drives. Play a day here and your short game will improve for sure.
This is a busy course so plan on meeting new people of all levels of play, yet, amazingly, you can finish a round in 20 - 40 minutes. The course flows very easily so you don't need to worry about finding your way. There is plenty of safe parking, bathrooms, and water at #1, #9, & #18. There is a practice field for drives next to the parking lot, but there is no practice basket for putting. The basket for #9, however, serves well for putting practice if the course is not too busy. The flora and fauna is as beautiful and divers as any course in the region, If you are there first thing in the morning, you may even see herds of wild turkey.
Cons: The Tee pads are pretty broken up in places and the signage has long since worn to unreadable, though you really don't need the signage to play. The baskets are old and broken in places, but somebody does make repairs as needed from time to time. The baskets are set in asphalt circles that can damage you discs, so plan on some wear. There are some pretty nasty thorns around so be careful if you end up in the rough. Not much poison ivy or poison oak to worry about, but it is there. While this course does play fast and easy, allowing you to play many rounds in a day, the tee pads are often right next to the previous basket. So, if you are playing on a pretty weekend afternoon, plan on spending some time waiting on other players.
Other Thoughts: There is a $3 per day parking fee ($10 per year).

For the beginner:
This is the place to start! Don't be shy about asking for pointers from the more advanced players, either. Most people here are happy to help.

For the advanced players:
Don't turn your nose up at this course right off. Play a few rounds. I'm sure you'll find it far more enjoyable than you had expected at first glance.

For everybody:
If you have some time, explore the rest of the park. Winton Woods is huge and has a lot to offer.

It should be noted that many trees had to be removed over the last couple years leaving the course more open than before, and many of the pictures out dated.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Meh

5+    5/13/2016   5/14/2016
Review By: ERKelated
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Short. Flat.
Cons: Tees are in horrible condition. Holes are surrounded by concrete and gravel. Fairly easy to lose a disc in the brush.
Other Thoughts: An odd course to play. The holes are all fairly short and there aren't any hills so you would think its a decent course for new players, but the trees and brush make it easy to lose/damage a disc.
My main gripe is the concrete around the targets. If you don't sink your put you are going to scuff up your disc.
I do not recommend playing this course with your good discs.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Learned to Play Here

5+    5/24/2014   10/23/2015
Review By: DGDanG
Played: 25  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 18.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Technical holes that require finesse and well thought out approaches.
- Short course, able to be played in under a half hour walking.
Holes 1, 9, 10, and 18 all converge at the center of the course by the restrooms, making a start on either the front or the back easy.
Cons: - No holes over 300 ft.
Other Thoughts: This course is where I first learned to play disc golf. I was horrible, even here, going over course par with disc golf discs... but now, 14 years later, it is still one of my favorite courses to play, if for nothing other than nostalgia. This is, I believe, the oldest course in Cincinnati, if not all of Ohio, and is an original Steady Ed design. I'd heard that this was originally a 9-hole course, but I have always known it to be the 18 short holes that it is now.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 A Slice of History

2-4    8/9/2014   8/11/2014
Review By: mrclc
Played: 266  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 3.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Winton Woods is a quaint, throwback course northwest of Cincinnati that serves as a little time capsule of the early days of our game. An original Steady Ed design, the history alone makes for an enjoyable round. It helps that most holes--while considerably dated in their design--have an elegance to their simplicity. Every hole is an ace run and birdies are never out of reach, which is enough to entertain for a round or two.

The course attracts a varied cross-section of people, making it feel more like an open activity area than a disc golf course. During my rounds, I saw families playing with children, younger teens playing with dollar frisbees, casual players holding one or two discs, and serious players with full bags. Personally, I enjoy the fact that Winton seems to provide an inclusive disc golf experience in line with the spirit of the game.

Asphalt tee pads are small but functional, and you won't require much of a run up anyway.

Navigation is no problem when the course layout is a logical, ball-golf style figure 8 comprised of two 9 hole loops.
Cons: Safety can be a major concern here, as most teepads are painfully close to the previous basket. If there's no one behind you, it might be wise (and courteous) to wait for the next tee to clear before throwing your own tee shot.

The course can get very crowded due to its popularity and the popularity of the park as a whole. Be prepared to wait more often than not.

Skill levels beyond rec likely won't find much challenge or intrigue here. She's a beginner and rec course through and through.

Strange asphalt circles at the base of the baskets can eat up non-premium plastic. Not sure about the purpose there.

Tee signs list only hole number and old, outdated pars. Play it as a par 54 and you're still likely to have an exceptionally low round.
Other Thoughts: Like all parks in the Great Parks system of greater Cincinnati, a pass is required ($3/day, $10/year). Some might see this as a con, but the fee is minimal and the resultant benefits shine through in the cleanliness and maintenance of the facilities.

The casual atmosphere and limited challenge make Winton the ideal place to introduce spouses, children, and other newbies to the sport of disc golf. Go show someone who's never played what all the fuss is about!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Little Course

1    7/24/2014   7/25/2014
Review By: esc1
Played: 21  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + Quick play through with a nice flow
+ Beginning, middle, and ending at the same place
+ Woods that are not too thick
+ Plenty of parking right next to the course
+ Lots of ace potential
Cons: - Lot of baskets too close to the next tee
- Tee pads are also showing some age but not too slick
- Cement surrounded baskets
- No distances indicated
- Pretty busy
Other Thoughts: There are no waste baskets, but since there is a restroom at the middle point I feel this does not matter. The course is very clean. I had fun here and can't wait to play it again in the fall. The 12th hole is a beaut and certainly my favorite. Won't need a big driver here, just some finesse. Definitely a good course for anyone starting out.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Winton Woods DGC

5+    9/14/2013   1/21/2014
Review By: joshtrum
Played: 20  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Quick Rounds
- Good short game practice
- Great for Beginners
Cons: - Course needs update/remodel
- Can get crowded
Other Thoughts: This course has it's downfalls. It is not in its best shape, it definitely needs to be fixed and updated. Fact of the matter is that this course is a great learning course. Want a harder course? look at the course map and go to one. This course is best used for working on Fairway - Putting, you will not be driving unless you're new to disc golf. Go play this course. It's a classic and great practice for the most underrated part of disc golf, short game

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Troll's Review

5+    10/3/2013   10/3/2013
Review By: Eric troll Biscuits
Played: 31  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 28.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Its one of Ohio oldest, so you can see what old school disc was like, back when people called it Frisbee Golf, before had we even had "disc" or fancy plastic

Its a family course, short and easy, stroller friendly, A great way to introduce the sport to, new, and younger players.

Its only takes about 40 minutes at most to play 18, good for lunch games
Cons: Its a county park, so it can get crowded
Rangers are aware of what disc golfers may carry, hide your beer! Have a park pass...

Its more of a rocky, concrete fairway, so its hard on pro and dx, plastics
Other Thoughts: This is where I lost my Disc virginity, I hit my first tree, and ace here, as well as to drive 300 ft. learned my hyzers and anys ... So be careful when challenging me at winton.

I do make certain trees mandatory to give a little challenge

Also its a great course try switching style, go forehand all day,(if ur rhbh)

Good for a putter only challange

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Winton Woods

5+    6/4/2013   6/10/2013
Review By: pmorgan1214
Played: 36  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Ok so time do Winton Woods. This course is for beginners. People looking to just have fun and get outside. For serious disc golfers, we just come here to try to get an ace. 2 holes are over 275 feet.
Good things about this course is if you are looking to get your first ace or hole in one this is the course. The baskets are nice 24-28 chains and catch the disc very well. So if you hit the chains good chance for the ace. I do bring all of my discs here and try for the ace. If you are older the course is not very large and is not hilly. But honestly if you are serious disc golfer you are going to be disc golfing at monroe, idlewild, banklick, osage disc golf courses.
Cons: There are a few cons to this course. First the tee pads are very rough and have cracks. Around all of the baskets are concrete and gravel. if you throw too hard then you will have your disc skip 20 feet passed the hole.
Other Thoughts: Not a bad course for beginners. I love going to this course just to ace or work on midrance. If you get a new disc and need to see what it does without any risk of losing it this is that course. Other than that not much hear other than acing or if your a beginner trying to learn this awsome sport. By the way it does cost money to get in sometimes if they have someone there. It is 3 dollars per day and 10 dollars for the year to get to all hamilton county parks. I also have not night disc golfed this course but that would be fun and i think exhilirating. Enjoy this course if you go to it.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great for what it is.

2-4    5/26/2013   5/30/2013
Review By: sgamerp
Played: 88  Reviewed: 65  Exp: 9.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Cement Pads - (See also Cons)
- Baskets - Nice baskets
- Perfect pitch and put course with a little bit of challenge
-Cleaned up - This place is in very good condition. Looks like it's mowed fairly regular although I only played two rounds on the same day.
Cons: Pads- Aren't pointing towards the baskets which makes it a little hard to tell sometimes where to go.

-Cement Under Baskets - Not on every hole but a few holes have it which can take a toll on some discs.

-Teesigns - They have something that tells the number but not the distances or placement

Distance - A few too many holes under 150 and none over 300

Glow Golf - They only run tourneys/events for this. We camped thinking that we could play glow because we camped which is not part of it. We didn't beg at the front but we called and asked to rent it and they said no.
Other Thoughts: For what this place is it's top of the line. If it had some good tee signs and the tees were pointing at the baskets I may rate it as a 3.5.

DO NOT GO HERE IF YOU WANT TO HAVE A TOUGH COURSE. This place is perfect to make you feel good about yourself after a nice long day at Idlewild.

We went with a group of 8 guys and played 2 rounds in 2 hours. First round half of us finished and the second round we did only ace race rules.

This is the perfect Starter course, that will make a good rec player have a run at every hole as an ace. I played with a zone, ion and a Roc3 and had almost every shot needed for this place.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.