Williamsburg, OH 
Williamsburg Community Park Share
Uploaded By: sisyphus Hole #12 (Taken 10/2015)
3 / 141ft.   3 / 141ft.   3 / 141ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Williamsburg DGC

5+    6/30/2017   6/30/2017
Review By: joshtrum
Played: 21  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 5.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Scenic
- Mix of open holes and wooded technical holes
- Men's and Women's restrooms with water fountain
- Benches, Stumps, or Rocks for seats throughout course
- Good variety of lines that reward a good throw and punish a bad one
Cons: - potential for high standing water on many holes
- first couple holes very simplistic pitch-putt holes
- for those who have a hard time traversing, some of the terrain may prove too difficult.
- some crossover between holes causing players or hikers to walk across fairways
- could benefit from maps or next tee directions
Other Thoughts: Williamsburg DGC is a single pin placement, 18 hole course located in Williamsburg, Ohio

The course is a mix of tight and technical lower ceiling shots and wide open shorter "pitch and putt" holes. The distance varies from 150 to 515ft. There are restrooms located on premises with a water fountain, and a shelter for inbetween rounds. Each hole has something whether it's a bench, rock, or stump to sit on. Some of the terrain may prove difficult to some and is not friendly to disc golf carts. The course does play from one hole to the next, but could benefit from some maps and signage. There are a few times you have to cross back over a previously played hole, so caution is advised when crossing over. The course is a 3.5 because some of the baskets are showing their age and rusting. It was well kept, but standing water did play a factor as well, so it is I'll advised to play if it has rained a lot. A must play under the right conditions in the greater Cincy area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    5/27/2017   6/8/2017
Review By: Flyhigh513
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Scenic
-Wooded
-18+holes

Cons: -Front 6 wide open short holes.
-Standing water bad on 1 and 7 during rains.
-When water is up, errant shots may land in creek and be inaccessible.
Other Thoughts: In great shape after the work day by the volunteers of the local disc golf community.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good teaching course

5+    8/29/2016   8/29/2016
Review By: Armus Patheticus
Played: 16  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Excellent shot variety
-Good course progression
-Recently improved tees
Cons: -More or less permanent swamp on holes 1, 7.
-Confusing/contradictory/missing signs
-Bland finishing holes
Other Thoughts: This is a valuable course. The (mostly) short holes make it immediately accessible to new players, while the variety of shot shapes mean that more and more birdies will be unlocked as a player progresses. The wooded holes are a good introduction to fairway play, and in the case of 8 and 10, offer good lessons on risk/reward. After playing here probably 50 rounds, I still find the course engaging, and as a beginner it has done much to improve my play.

A few thoughts on the holes:
-1-4 are mostly unobstructed. This part of course looks boring, but the wind and elevation and length variety make these fun holes and a good warm-up. 4 is surely the easiest and most boring hole on the course, but I still somehow miss the birdie very often.
-5 is short and simple, but deceptively difficult for newer players. A great hole for learning a low, straight/turnover approach.
-7 is long, low, and usually wet. The fairway would be wide enough to tempt some rollers if it weren't for the ponded water. As it is, it's best attacked with anything straight off the tee and a sidearm approach. A 3 here is a great score.
-8 If you're unfamiliar with the conditions, it's worth checking the level of the water before driving. If the river to the right or small creek crossing the fairway are very high, a layup may be wise.
-10 is a great hole. Kicking left shoots your disc into a deep, steep gulley, and all the trees on this hole kick left. There's a great birdie line in there though... have fun finding it!
-11 I still have no idea how to 2 this hole. A sharp left turn and guarded, downhill approach/putt makes this an awfully tough 260-footer
-12 another example of a super-short hole that isn't a gimme.
-Played toward sunset, 13 and 14 are the most attractive holes on the course, in my opinion.
-15-17 are good birdie opportunities, all with very different shapes. It's nice to have these toward the end of the course to keep the hope of a good round alive.
But, after 17, I feel like the round is over. Sure there are guys who can birdie 18 and 19, but very few of them play here. For everyone else, these will be at best boring threes and impossible (barring a throw-in) twos. I think the hole stats on this site would back me up here. I don't know if anything can be done to spice up hole 19 especially, but for now, it just feels like something to do on your walk back to the car.

As usual, I haven't got anything much to say about amenities, as I don't go outside for amenities. As far as it affects play, everything is more than adequate, and the new turf tees are an improvement over (literally!) the rubber ones.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

A nice course off the beaten path

1    8/21/2016   8/22/2016
Review By: UFM82
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 7.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Played this course with a foursome and we all had good things to say. It starts off to my liking; open, easy holes that let you get warmed up before heading into the woods. Definitely a plus in my book. Pros:
1) Most holes have signs, some are missing. Signs that are there are good, showing distance and elevation change. Somebody took the time to do it right the first time but they need to be looked at again.
2) Concrete tee pads are good unless wet/muddy. Then they are slick. There are a couple pads that are turf- they worked great.
3) Lay-out was good and the next tee was as expected on most cases. The middle of the course was confusing add some signs got moved but we figured it out and played on.
4) Course is quiet, scenic, challenging but not overwhelming and the round was excellent. I'll make the trip back for certain.
Cons: It is right next to the East Fork of the Little Miami River and the water table is high. That is, soft areas, standing water and mud were abundant. Water next to a couple holes is very close by and we lost a disc when an errant throw went right off of 9 and it wasn't very far off right. You have to be careful. Baskets show some age and several were not straight, chains have rusted and some were bent but they seemed to catch well.
Other Thoughts: This was my first trip to The 'Burg and it won't be my last. Really liked the layout of the course as I was able to loosen up on the first holes. A course map somewhere would have been good to have and definitely wear shoes with bite. This is no walk down a smooth path. Lots of ravines, hills, rock and downed wood make this a rigorous trek if you veer off the narrow path. Someone local takes time to manage the course a bit as rocks/timber was placed in areas for the benefit of the players. All in all a nice course that just needs a tweak. Could be a 4 on my scale with a little attention.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Wish It Was Closer!

1    11/22/2014   11/24/2014
Review By: esc1
Played: 21  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4 Years
This review was updated on 1/21/2016
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +Variety of different shots
+Nice teepads
+Clean
+Scenic
+Uncrowded
Cons: - Riverbank can cet quite soggy
- Water in play isn't a bad thing but getting a disc back would be
- Might have to wait for walkers (non zombie) or runners
- Baskets could be better on early holes
- Signage not the best
Other Thoughts: This was worth a 30 minute drive and then some. I'll be back for sure. I did not find the layout difficult to navigate. Beginners will want to play with caution near the river. The bank is too steep to go down for a disc and the river would take it away anyways. The signage is shotty on some holes, but the length is noted on all so that is good to know. The park is really clean. I had fun and the beginning holes made good practice after playing a full round even if the baskets are not the best. It was an easy thing to forgive. The bridge and stone bench were unique aspects. Hole 10 with the 145ft (if not more) straight down shot was fun. Not sure why one reviewer would not like it unless his disc skipped away to the river. This course was fun. I was surprised to be the only one playing it at the time. Go check it out and enjoy.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course in a nice town!

5+    11/1/2014   11/12/2014
Review By: GMcAtee
Played: 378  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 8.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Has a little of everything: open, wooded, elevation, water.

Fun course that's easy to find with food nearby. Locals have taken a lot of pride fixing up the course adding drainage, stairs, and flymats on the hill holes.
Cons: The only con is the numbering. If it's your first time, you will get confused. Some of the signs have three different hole numbers on them.

Going from 16's basket to 17's tee you pretty much have to walk by the creek hole's basket (#?)
Other Thoughts: I would give this course a 4 if the signage/numbering got fixed.

Don't throw your favorite plastic near the creek! It will be lost for good after bouncing off a tree. Once saw a kid cry over it. Great hole!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 The Burg

2-4    6/30/2013   7/1/2013
Review By: Chainchaser
Played: 41  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 8.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course seems to have taken a beating in the past in reviews and for me that is not that relevant as I did not play it then. Right now this course is in great shape.
It has some decent concrete tees and some ok flymats in the woods.
It can make you feel good about your game and bad all withing a few holes. This is a fun course and with the extra TLC that it is getting lately is the reason I am giving it a 3.5. The effort definitely needs to be rewarded.
With a good combination of wooded and open holes this course can definitely challenge and intermediate player but is still ok for a semi beginning player. The park itself seems to be packed but the course is not overcrowded at all so you generally can move through the course rather quickly.
The last hole is a great place to air it out and i always like that about a course that you at least have one hole to let it rip.

Cons: Need new signage and can be a bit confusing if it is your first time playing.
Hole 15 is really unneeded but that is a personal thing because I don't like those short straight downhill shots. You could eliminate it and the course would still be a 3.5 in my book.
Going from 8 to 9 can be confusing. Nine is to the left up the path as you aproach the basket on 8. Also 15 to 16 can be tricky just go across the bridge and look for the next tee on the right.
Other Thoughts: This course is a definitely a fun one. We as a family travel 45 minutes to play it just because we enjoy it so much. Hopefully with a little more work and some new tee signs along with next tee sign you will see this course become a legitimate 3+ course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Looking Better

5+    6/21/2013   6/22/2013
Review By: alex513ninja
Played: 128  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's looking the best it has in a while. With an upcoming tournament, the locals have taken upon themselves to clean it up. Holes 7, 8, 16 & 17 have had a lot of the weeds cleared out. Weed eating has been done around baskets and also the fairways in the woods holes have been cleared. Although not a nuisance on those holes it makes the course look prettier. Pretty dry overall with just one puddle in 7 fairway to speak of. Dead trees removed in spots.
Cons: Although weeds have been cleared in spots, you can put one in the nasty stuff if you grip-lock your shot or get an unlucky bounce off a tree. If you make it into the tall stuff hopefully you are wearing pants or have skin of steel. Some people say they're nettles and some call the stuff stingweed, either way look out for the stuff because the stems are lined with stingers that leave skin burning and itchy for a few minutes after contact.
Other Thoughts: If you have been hesitant to play this course due to the upkeep, reviews or past bad experiences, now is the time to play the course. Also if you have a machete, you might want to carry it. I carry one on this course and have not had an issue with the nettles/stingweed when wearing shorts. Also the baskets on holes 1-6 and 18 are a little shoddy, putt gently or prepare to be angry, discs commonly go through the chains on these holes, however I view that as extra challenge on holes 1-4 as they are pretty easy wide open holes.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  First and last.

1    5/19/2012   5/19/2012
Review By: Cincyfan0591
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.4 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The cement tee pads are nice, I think that is the only thing going good for this course.
Cons: Seems like some holes are out of order.

4-5 foot tall weeds on some holes. Some regulars were playing before us and they lost 2 discs on one hole. I got out of the extreme weeds and had bumps all over my arms and legs.

Other Thoughts: This was my first and probably last time playing here unless someone cuts the grass and gets rid of a lot of the overgrown weeds.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Split Personality Fun

5+    4/13/2012   4/13/2012
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 296  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/2/2014
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: After Osage Grove, this is the nicest course in Clermont County, Ohio (East of Cincinnati).
W'burg's first 8 holes have concrete tee pads, as do the last 4 [edit: the other seven are now flypads!]. The tee markers are some of the best I've ever seen: a graphic representation of the hole stamped in durable (PVC?), with distances -and elevations!- clearly marked.

Williamsburg starts with open field shots which at least use the hill elevation, then runs alongside the woods & a small river/stream, ducking a few holes in that have to finish to the right. Then it has a long (535') 'lane' hole, and a pretty neat 8th hole that forces you to risk the ravine in front of the basket 281' away through the sparse trees, and the chance of going in the drink to the right.

The fun starts on hole 9 (Lower) and 9 (Higher) -I'll talk about that later--, where you go steeply uphill and 'into the woods', with an excellent variety of challenges up there, from a 90 degree left turn with a mando, to a short uphill ace run (if you can sneak past the obstructing trees), to a meadow 300 footer with a guarded basket at the end, and then to a tree nicknamed Karl who tries to swat down your effort to reach the basket, and the steepest drop shot in town, before you finally exit the woods on the 18th hole you play (...wait for details). You finish alongside and then across the outfield of the baseball diamond, where the big arms can stretch out and show 'em off a little.

So, a good mix of hole types, shots and distances, with a couple of chances at aces for everyone, and a couple that challenge even the Open players to deuce.

The park is usually uncrowded, has a nice kiddie playground, a picnic shelter, sand volleyball, restrooms, drinking fountain and pop machine, plus excellent hiking opportunities in through the woods, and near the river. Almost every tee has a bench, and trash cans are available. There is really little trash around, and the dedicated 'locals' do a great job of keeping the fairways clear, and the underbrush in check.

[edit 2014: "The Drop" steep downhill now HAS some stairs put in for safety. A few more were added after hole 9 to get up top. With flypads up in the woods, this course offers a tremendous amount of variety, challenge and fun for the Recreational to Intermediate skill level.]
Cons: Some of the baskets are a little unforgiving/worn down: I've heard the phrase "You got 'burged" when my disc fell out.

Hole 8 is a disc devourer, depending on the level of the water to your right and the muddy ravine just before the basket.

Finally, the hole numbering is confusing (see below).
Other Thoughts: I've taken to naming the holes, and used to record them as 1-9L,9H,12-20 (which totals 19). Now that they are numbered on here 1-19, I just ignore it when the signs differ. I once nicknamed the holes to limit the confusion. The names are descriptive for rhbh throwers: 1 mando anny, 2 flag raising, 3 open slopin', 4 pathside, 5 lo branch, 6 woods entry, 7 the lane, 8 riverside, 9 (9L) pathside, 10 (9H) cross-hill bridge, 11 the hyzer, 12 shorty, 13 the meadow, 14 tree guards, 15 the drop, 16 creekside, 17 the return, 18 anny fields, & 19 big arm finish. Play here once, and see if you like these names.

There has been (idle) talk of adding holes to get to 21-24 or even 27. There are some ideas which could put a hole after #9L which would solve the numbering confusion for now.

Overall, this is a real great course when it's dry, and a 'diamond in the rough': well worth the trip from other parts of town!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.