Des Moines, IA 
Becky Zallek DGC Share
Uploaded By: Nemmers Hole #17 (Taken 12/2016)
3 / 222ft.   3 / 222ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0
Reviews: 3
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Great start to a future dime

5+    3/20/2017   3/20/2017
Review By: hotoatmeal
Played: 18  Reviewed: 5
This review was updated on 4/21/2017
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent variety of shots. Forehands and backhands are required for a successful round here. Baskets are very nice and don't spit out. Fantastic use of elevation changes.

Many circles are reachable from the tee, but you could also be punished with a bad kick. Some open holes on the back portion as well as a 700+ ft bomber before a tight tunnel hole and then a picturesque downhill shot.

This course is absolutely perfect for a round of match play.
Cons: Small parking lot is about the only issue. Still a work in progress so some benches and signs would be nice (this course is so new I really knock this yet). One could say the 16 and 17 are boring but in my opinion you can't have it all. More than made up for by the rest of the course.
Other Thoughts: Not a long course but it does have a few longer holes you can take out the drivers on. Needs some time to grow in and take shape. BZDGC really adds something different to the already stellar Des Moines courses. It's perfect for a fun round with friends (especially if they aren't advanced players). I'm giving it a 3.5 for now but after a few years of more TLC it'll easily be a 4+. The mix of a shorter overall length and wooded + open holes makes it unique among the already stellar Des Moines courses. HATS OFF TO THE DES MOINES CREW!!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Unlike Any Other In DSM

1    12/22/2016   12/23/2016
Review By: deyo7
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 1/12/2017
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fairly technical.

Fun use of the woods (all but holes 2, 3, 16-18 use or along the woods; i.e., not completely in open if I remember correctly.)

While there are some technical holes, a lot are fairly short so they are still birdie-able which will make games fun and interesting. This also keeps it somewhat accessible for beginners. Even if you smack a few trees you'll likely be able to approach to make par or bogey at worst

The above make it unlike any course in Des Moines area.
Cons: Still in progress. No signs, still appear to be cleaning up and manicuring so to speak. I wasn't sure where the 16th tee pad was - ended up playing from a square pad that was really close to the basket and it felt like cheating.

I wasn't overly concerned about the sketchy locale....I played mid day with a buddy and felt safe... but should probably be mindful.
Other Thoughts: I think this will be one of my favorite courses and the use of the woods make it unlike any others in Des Moines.

There are some water hazards. 3 holes are along the river. Couple other chances to get wet.

***UPDATE: fyi, played yesterday(Monday 1/9) and my buddy had his passenger window knocked out and bag stolen. The sketchy locale issue is unfortunately real. This was between 3:00-4:00. Let's help keep an eye out for each others cars. Thank you to the other disc golfer that gave us a heads up.

Also there are a lot of signs of work being done since I first played this. Going to be a great course.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Another great Des Moines course!

5+    12/3/2016   12/4/2016
Review By: Nemmers
Played: 80  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 3.9 Years
13 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
- Awesome equipment! Boasting concrete pads and state-of-the-art Mach X baskets, Becky Z offers what could arguably be called the most advanced disc golf course in the state, certainly the most advanced in Des Moines. (With respect to equipment, that is.) Another plus is the fact that many holes have long and short tees as well as alternate pin locations (some as many as three) that can make it feel like an entirely different course.

- Well rounded! Winding its way up and down the hills and through the woods set along the Des Moines River, this course is technical to the extreme. It gives you opportunities to air it out on several holes with both drivers and mids, but a big arm will NOT get you birdies on most holes. Hitting your lines as you carve your way through the very tight fairways is an absolute must if you want to shoot par or below here. If you fail to hit your line, trees and their subsequent kicks could have you rolling like a phat blunt all the way down one of the many steep hills or worse, OB into the creek or the river, leaving you wetter than your girl's Levi's when I light up my Sketchers. However, she gives you opportunities to redeem yourself in the form of a few short ace runs and ridiculously fun downhill shots. In short, Becky Z has a little something for everyone.

- Technical! I know I said it before, but it bears repeating: Becky Z is FULL of technicalities. (Not sure I'm using that word right, but you get my drift.) Between the tight woodlands (which are straight-up North Carolina, by the way), numerous water hazards, blind uphill shots, steep drop offs behind the baskets, and deceiving fairways that end abruptly which you can't see from the tee, you must put an absolute premium on accuracy here. If you want to know if your game is ready for Steady Edd, Jim Warner, and W. R. Jackson at the IDGC down in Appling, Georgia, Becky Z would be an excellent way to put your skills to the test here in good ol' Iowa.

- Close to amenities! If you want a snack or a frosty adult libation during your round you don't have to travel far. The course is set between Hickman Road and MLK Boulevard (both major 515 thoroughfares) and it won't take much out of your tank to go scoop up some refreshments.

- Beautiful! Play this course in the fall and guaranteed you fall in love.
Cons:
- Sketchy locale. The city wanted the Des Moines Disc Golf Club to build a course here because of the illegal activity and somewhat unsavory characters that have called Prospect Park home for a while now in the hopes that more traffic will drive out the shenanigans. While it's getting better every day it's still a pretty risky place to play by yourself or, God forbid, glow. As of this writing I wouldn't play there without a squad or packing unless you got something on Deebo's 40, homie.

- Navigation. They made the best possible use of the land when designing this course, but the layout - specifically the march between holes - can be a little ambiguous. The walk from 4 to 5 is a little wonky and from 15 to 16 is a bit of a hike across the road. Not terrible, but if you're playing this course for the first time by yourself (which I wouldn't recommend anyway!) you may find yourself a little frustrated if you don't have a map handy.

- No topless Hooters girls frolicking along the #8 fairway.
Other Thoughts:
Becky Z at Prospect is a brand-spankin'-new course in Des Moines dedicated to a local legend (Becky Zallek #9388) who passed away too early from cancer. It was conceived, designed, and put together with the tenacity and love of many, many local Des Moines players who take a lot of pride in their community, both city and disc golf. As any new course does, it has some rough edges to smooth out - I was going to call not having benches or trash cans a con, but dang...it's not even done yet! - but in a year or two this course will either meet or exceed the standards that have made Des Moines one of the true Meccas of disc golf in the Midwest, if not the country. But even so, if you find yourself passing through Iowa's capital anytime soon, do yourself a favor and check out Becky Z...I guarantee it will not disappoint. I'm giving it a tentative 3.5 now, but that's damn good considering baskets were just installed last week. I'm betting this will be a 4 to 4.5 very soon and it's only going to get better as the years go by. Becky Z is gonna be a true gem in the Des Moines disc golf scene...just like her namesake.

13 of 15 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.