Bowling Green, KY 
Lover's Lane Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #6 (Taken 12/2016)
3 / 370ft.   3 / 370ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Basket to Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 53
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
Windy Meadows

1    12/29/2016   1/31/2017
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 113  Reviewed: 89  Exp: 3.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: (2.616 Rating) A fairly open well manicured park.
- CHARACTER - The park has an overall good vide and has the felling of an established well-played course. There's a great community board and map posted right in front. There's a shelter, water fountain, picnic table and port-o-potty at the entrance as well. There is adequate hole signage throughout the course too. About half of the tees are shaded and there are good sized concrete tees. If I were to add something, I'd add a few more benches.
- PRACTICE AREA - like a lot of courses that get a lot of use or have a club, this one has the practice basket. However, Lover's Lane "uped the anti" on all the rest I've played by including distance pavers at the practice basket. It was my first time seeing this feature at a course.
- SHELTER - Great shelter by the an ideal junction of several tees (1,4, 6 and 10) as well as near basket (18).
- QUICK PLAY - A single should be able to complete a round in a about an hour when the course is empty. Groups of 4 probably would finish in about of two hours in normal conditions.
- NAVIGATION - Being fairly open, and with only one blind basket, I found the navigation to be a breeze. I took a picture of the map at front but had to only reference it a couple of times. Course is also great for roller caddies.
- LOCATION - A five minute drive from I65. Perfect for a freeway stop between courses.
- NIGHT GOLF - This is an ideal night golf course. Spacious fairways, few trees, no overgrowth and no water hazards in play.
- RAW BEAUTY - The raw beauty of the course is about average or a touch above. The course grounds were kept up very well for my visit. It appears that from prior reviews that the course is constantly manicured and mowed.
- BEGINNER FRIENDLY - due to the low overgrowth and absence of a water hazard, this would be an ideal course to bring beginners to. The course is probably also great for rec thru intermediate players as well. Advanced players won't really be challenged however.
Cons: No major issues with Lovers Lane, but it does have less than normal uniqueness and difficulty in the holes.
- UNIQUENESS - Perhaps the thing lacking the most is the uniqueness. About half of the course plays open and the other half plays threw moderate tree lanes. There is only one blind basket (14), there's only one dogleg (18) and only a handful of holes have to bend or skip into a pocket. There's no water in play to force a line, (some may considering this a blessing). There are five short par 4's along the layout (350-500 feet) and that I'm sure many players play them as all 3's. I do want to add that I spotted a bunch of newly planted trees, so a good thing to look forward too.
- DIFFICULTY - Well below average. Advanced players should have no problem being well below course par and should probably play them all 3's as mentioned above. I'm baffled as to why hole (4) is listed as a par 4 at all, especially when five other par 3s are longer than it. Intermediate and Rec players may be delighted however as it can be a feel good round. It's a great opportunity for those players to finish around even.
- ELEVATION - They use it a little bit here and there, but it's really not used in the finishing of a hole at all. Total elevation change is probably 40 feet. However, there are no shots that rise or fall, basket to tee, by more than 15 feet. Hole 3 thru 5 play across a valley that dips 30-35 feet or so, but the pin is generally located at the same level as the tee. It would been nice to have at least one hole that played up, and one that played down, on a more aggressive slope.
- SPACING - A bit below average, Several of the fairways feel partially shared. Discs will likely end in other fairways on several holes.
- WIND - Due to the lack of trees, wind will likely be a major issue. I personally was greeted by 20-30 mph gusts during my visit. As stated by some other reviewers, wind will likely be the most challenging aspect of the course, and I agree.
Other Thoughts: My first time playing a Kentucky course and it was a fun stop. The course is definitely geared to rec and intermediate players. course would also be good for beginners and family's. There's a nice playground inside the park grounds as well.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/18/2014   5/18/2014
Review By: broseberry1808
Played: 16  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.1 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good open course. Well maintained. Grass seems to be cut regularly. Easy to navigate from one whole to the next.
Other Thoughts: I only played 9 holes the day I visited this course, but I am looking forward to returning to play the entire 18 holes soon.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Home field

5+    3/14/2014   3/14/2014
Review By: Yeahrightman23
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great course for beginners.
Virtually no chance of loosing a disc.
Well manicured.
Easy to find. Convienent.
Cons: Not challenging - of course I still haven't gotten a hole in one. No wind breaks, on a slightly windy day you will feel it. that is really the only thing about the course that is challenging.
Other Thoughts: Me and my buddies work close enough that we can play the front nine at lunch and do so regularly. If you are out there between 11:30 and 1 on a weekday you'll probably see us. Because it is open and not incredibly challenging, it is great for beginners.

The big tree in the middle of the back nine can eat your disc if your not careful. Hit the giant hole in it and it will fall down into the tree 8 or 10 feet. if you played this course and pulled an orange groove out of that tree, it is mine, hit me up.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 City park style sort of open course

1    10/14/2013   10/15/2013
Review By: gmoney1984
Played: 175  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 4.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Good Tee pads

2. Good baskets

3. Good course flow

4. Virtually no chance at losing a disc

5. Chance to post a good score and still feel like you were challenged

6. No rough or foliage to deal with

Cons: 1. Not much variety

2. Mostly flat

3. Too wide open on some of the holes

4. Too many straight shots

Other Thoughts: This course was overall was fun and if your looking to get in a quick round of 18 in Bowling green this is where I would do it. It's a little to wide open on the back 9 but the front 9 has decent amount of obstacles. It just felt like most holes were relatively the same and it didn't have much character to the course or signature holes. This was a This was stop #3 on our 111 hole day and was really easy to whip thru in a short period of time. We were jogging at times but it took 2 avg players 1:30 min to play.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Blame it on the rain

1    7/25/2013   10/12/2013
Review By: Declarkus
Played: 110  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 14 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good signage, good flow, good tee pads and baskets.
Cons: Not much variety
Other Thoughts: Lightly wooded on a few holes but mostly way too wide open and uninteresting. The uphill holes in the trees were the best part. The rain was the worst part.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent Casual Course

1    9/19/2013   9/19/2013
Review By: Fluxell
Played: 17  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is a great course for a beginner or intermediate player. A mix of short and long holes with some subtle elevation changes and some trees makes for a great course without the risk of losing a disc on almost every hole. The course was also very well maintained and easy to navigate.
Cons: More advanced players _might_ find the course a bit too easy.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Let It Rip...

1    4/28/2013   4/28/2013
Review By: dad_of_dg_junkies
Played: 47  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 5/24/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The first thing I will say about this course was the access to this park was very easy. It is only about a mile off of I-65 in Bowling Green. The park itself is VERY VERY nice. The beautiful landscaping is nice and the grass is well maintained. (lots of actual grass and very few weeds)

The course itself would be considered as gently rolling. The concrete tee-pads are in good shape and the signs are in good shape, easy to find and accurate. This course does favor a player that can drive the disc 320 or more. You will need to get loose before the first tee. The baskets were also in pretty good shape.

Hole 1 is a dead straight 405' that just begs for you to launch it.

Holes 2-8 are lightly to moderately wooded holes that offer a good test of shotmaking while providing ample opportunity at making birdies.

Hole 9 is a very short par 3 that is a HARD turn to the right. There is a mando on this hole that required a very hard turn (rhbh) or big (rhfh) fade. Very tough hole for a rhbh.

Hole 10-12 are back to the lightly wooded holes where long drives will provide chances at birdie.

Hole 13-18 are very open and relatively flat. There are a few trees and at least 1 area of o.b. in this section of the course, but there is an out (safe area) on just about every hole.

Even though this course is pretty long, it didn't seem to overly favor the longer arms. My playing partner and I have very different games, but we both wound up with our usual scores as compared to par.
Cons: Even though I absolutely loved the first 12 holes, 13-18 could use a few more obstacles to make this a Top notch course.

I don't remember any low ceiling required shots.

Two other things that I found missing were benches and water. They may have been there, but I didn't find them.
Other Thoughts: I will absolutely be back to play this course again. It does provide some challenges for the technical player while also providing the big arms several chances to let it fly. I really enjoyed the scenery of the park. Well worth the hour drive each way.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Got a controlled 350+ drive?

2-4    3/9/2013   3/12/2013
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 292  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 5.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The quaintly named Lovers' Lane park disc golf course is situated in the lightly rolling front quarter of a large park otherwise dedicated to over a dozen soccer fields (some lighted). Holes that range from 225 to 500 feet (most in the mid 300's) combine with voluminous parking to make this course an easy add to the annual Bowling Green Ams, where the occasional winds can influence shot selection.

Awesome concrete tees, huge park trees to define lines, and no underbrush add to a creative course layout to let the Intermediate to Advanced disc golfer really show off their distance drives. During tournament play, the clean rock lined drainage areas are used as out of bounds to force even more control of said drives.

The flow of the course is mainly intuitive because it is so open: you usually only have to look for the nearest tee sign from the basket you just completed. Starting by the shelter at the left front corner of the (first) parking lot, you angle out 400' across the open field, then hit a couple of annies (rhbh) - hole 2 being a little contrived, and hole 3 feeling longer and tougher than its stated 285' - before reaching two of the prettiest holes on the course. Hole 4 drives over a rolling valley to the other side, and 5 comes back the other way with more trees and rocks to 'worry' your shot. The next really interesting shot might be the #9 mando anny that now has a tarp instead of the less attractive chain link seen in the picture. At this point, you're back near the shelter, so you might want to catch your breath, because the back nine feels quite a bit longer.

Hole #10 is lengthy, and you'll need to keep your drive low or to the left of the tree 150 feet out. 11 and 12 basically parallel each other, before crossing the entry drive for the lengthy hole 13. #14 shoots between a pair of large pines, and the 500' #15 ends all the way across the field to the left of a gorgeous, huge tree (wish I knew my tree species!). 16 & 17 work back to the main driveway, which you cross to take on the sweeping hyzer finish on 18. Overall, when you finish Lovers', you'll have loosened your arm up a bit more than some of the other, wooded, technical courses in town.

The (Innova disc catcher) baskets catch very well, but do have the dreaded chastity belt at the top, which I manage to clank only on what should be 'gimme' birdie putts! Tee signs (as seen in the pictures here) are decent: they show the primary line to the basket, as well as some of the obstacles to avoid, and appear to be fairly accurate for this course.
Cons: For a relatively lengthy course (almost 6000'), there are surprisingly few benches near the tees (though I did note two or three picnic tables along the course). There aren't a lot of other activities inside this park for non-discing members of the family to stay entertained (though it is right next door to an elementary school, so their playground might be accessible?). And depending on the season and the way the wind is blowing, the extensive cow pastures lining the southwest side of the course can be, shall we say, 'aromatic'.
Other Thoughts: This course will force a typical Rec level player to make good upshots and putts to keep hitting par 3's, while the longer armed players at intermediate and above have a good chance of putting together a number of birdies: it just depends on who has an accurate 320-350' drive in their bag.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Good start

1    12/30/2012   12/31/2012
Review By: DG addict24
Played: 28  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 6/26/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There were a few holes early that were in some trees, where if you missed your line you would be scrambling to make par. Other than that the course was pretty open. One thing it definitely had going for it was length though. With an average hole length of 330, and multiple holes in the 400 ft range you could throw it hard and let them fly a lot. The course was in good condition with sinage, teepads, and baskets all being good. The place itself was nice and the grass was amazingly green. (it was strange) It was just a nice park with a pretty good disc golf course.
Cons: Too open, some of the holes got repetitive, and honestly if I lived here I'd stop after 12 and start over again. The last few holes were just out in a field and decent length. But they really had no character and they got to be boring. Also there's a cow pasture running along one end of the course, and lets just say it wasn't the greatest smelling thing the world had ever known.
Other Thoughts: The first 12 holes I really enjoyed, and actually if the open holes stopped at about 15 that would have been fine too, and the course was definitely a 3.5 if not a 4 at that point. But it just got boring. Overall it was a nice park with a nice course but it doesn't deserve as high reviews as it's gotten in my opinion.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great stop on way to Louisville

1    9/22/2012   9/27/2012
Review By: ricklev
Played: 22  Reviewed: 22
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Really nice grass for a disc golf course. I'm used to Florida's sandy courses, so this was a real treat. You can play while on vacation, and your clean sneakers will remain clean.
-Attractive
-Signage was very good.
-Cows next door to a few holes. I consider this a plus (even with the cow smell). It was fun to hear moo'ing while driving off the tee.
-Good variety of shots, with mostly trees, rocks, and hills for difficulty
Cons: -Wind (or is that a Pro...you decide). I always have a tougher time in the wind. Since I was on vacation, I only had 1 disc with me, and it was the wrong one. I'd bring more to this course next time.
Other Thoughts: A pretty course with nice variety and great grass. Easy to get to from the freeway, it's a really nice place to stop on your way to Louisville or Nashville. Fun.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.