Olathe, KS 
Prairie Center Park Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish Hole #6 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 396ft.   3 / 455ft.   3 / 455ft. Par / Distance:
Hole # 6 Tee: OB street to right


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4
fun course

2-4    8/10/2017   8/19/2017
Review By: kcufo
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 0.4 Years
Pros: well maintained
nice tee pads
nice baskets
nice signage and map
well defined lines
variety of shots
clean well maintained park
Cons: the course got somewhat confusing for a newbie.
hole #11 is behind the baseball diamonds. some signage pointing the way would have been VERY helpful
basket for hole #9 was hard to find
Other Thoughts: As a newer player I like playing on this course. Hole 2 or 4 has the basket on the island in the cul de sac which is neat and a challenge.
I usually play holes 11-16 to start. I park by the baseball diamonds, throw those 6 holes then park near hole #1 and finish my round. I am too old to be hiking that far between holes.
As a new player I found most of the holes a challenge but with proper technique and some luck par is definitely possible. Overall I found the course fun and challenging, I seem to love throwing discs into trees !!
Definitely recommend this course if you haven't tried it.

Decent at best

1    4/9/2017   4/9/2017
Review By: ChadNewman
Played: 40  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 1.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Every tee had an okay tee pad a few had multiple pads, seemed like the majority or all had seating around and a trash can.

Great parking and bathrooms close by, along with a shelter not far from the first hole, which is awesome if you are meeting up with a group.

Nice signage showing the multiple pin locations, normally 4 different placements, didn't have the ability to show current placement.

The majority of shots are going to be a technical shot, where you are breaking up the hole into two different parts.
Cons: Course is at a public park that has MANY other users which makes it very challenging to disc golf. A lot of the holes run next to walking paths or right up to a baseball or soccer field.

The back nine is challenging to navigate and it would be nice to have an arrow towards the next hole for first timers.

Hole 10 and 11 had a mini tree farm between the pad and pin, so there is no real fairway you can see. If the trees grow up at all these two holes would need to be changed.
Other Thoughts: Decent course, knowing the Olathe area and the local disc golf club is very good at keep the course up to date.

If I'm in the area, I'm not sure I would choose this course above birdland or even heritage, but it is worth the play if you can get out early on a weekend or during a week day.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 happening place

5+    10/11/2015   10/15/2015
Review By: air show
Played: 137  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 17.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + Ample concrete tees, Discatchers, and informative signs.
+ Multiple pin locations.
+ manicured turf
+ abundant trees including thick pines make for a controlled round.
+ though course does not play back to parking lot during round - tee pad 8 comes close.
+ pack water disc for one challenging water hole.
+ hole 2 very challenging island green.
+ not much elevation change but a long enough walk to get a workout.
+ KCFDC league on Monday nights including glow league during winter months.
+ Established course with many admirers.
Cons: - multi use park results in large numbers of people.
- asphalt walking path borders many fairways.
- navigation becomes tricky after hole 10 so be prepared to walk aimlessly to find the next tee pad.
- had to skip hole 11 because of soccer fans.
- No bomber holes!

Other Thoughts: If you are into the technical game you may love this course. But if your in the mood to grip and rip theres a course 2mi south called birdland. Either way they are both quality DG courses.

Prairie Center disc golf course has been around for many years. The course is established and has a great tradition. The club members always make sure it is ready to play and should be commended for their efforts.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A good course

2-4    10/3/2015   10/4/2015
Review By: SirDreward
Played: 35  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 8.2 Years
Pros: - Well maintained
- Good signage
- Front nine almost impossible to lose a disc
- Restrooms conveniently located
Cons: - Navigating the course gets a little tricky the farther you get into it
- The course plays primarily through the mixed use park areas
- Back nine relatively easy to lose a disc
- Not much in the way of elevation change
Other Thoughts: This course can get crowded quickly. A few holes have more than two placements for the pins. The front nine is in a park setting while the back nine gets into a more wild and wooly setting. I would say the course plays more to the strengths of the technical player and not the distance player.

 

2-4    9/16/2014   10/3/2014
Review By: akray21
Played: 14  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Some good technical shots
Cons: - A lot of park traffic. One time there was a soccer game going on and there were people sitting 3' from one of the baskets.
- A lot of walking between some of the holes
Other Thoughts: - The holes in the woods are the best part of the course, very technical and fun

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 very nice course

1    6/21/2014   6/21/2014
Review By: t55dude
Played: 18  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 3.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent course for all players. Front 9 is very easy to follow and the flow is perfect. Back 9 is longer and more difficult. I love the multiple tee pads, giving players of all level the chance to enjoy the course. Great use of the entire park. Fixing in and out of the other athletic facilities, while for the most part not in the way. The second hole island set up was awesome and the only water shot has tees set up for players with the big arms and small arms. Kids can just skip the pond and start right on the other side.
Cons: Back nine is hard to follow. Holes 8-9, 10-11 and 16-17 are very long walks with no signage to point the way. Hole 10 runs right along the parking lot and when the soccer field is in use, cars park on grass making the pin at the end of tree line a tricky play. The multiple pin placement hole were hard to figure out since they were not consistent. One hole played a another b and others c. Fairway grass from 12-16 was not mowed and was mid calf high.
Other Thoughts: Considering it was my first time playing this course, I was very happy that a course that was this big and covered such a big area was so easy to follow. I went on a Saturday morning so the park was in heavy use, soccer, baseball and party's in the pavilions, with the exception of 10th hole, was very easy to play away from. If I lived in kansas I would definitely make this a regular course to play.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice fun course with a good amount of trees

1    8/17/2013   8/17/2013
Review By: Musicphan
Played: 29  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.4 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I really enjoyed this course - I'm a beginner and found it challenging without being too hard. I did not throw the water shot... can't afford to lose a disc right now. Little bit longer than some of the courses I've played but its fairly level ground so an easy course to play.
Cons: Water shot tough for a beginner.
Other Thoughts: Enjoyed it enough I put it on the "return play" list

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Trivial front, but oh so complex back

2-4    6/5/2013   6/10/2013
Review By: SuperRocky
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Open but challenging front nine. Lots of potential birdies, few easy. Extremely challenging back nine. Several long and complicated holes that play beautifully.
Cons: Tall grass and brush in parts of the back nine make losing discs relatively easy. I didn't lose any, but my playing partner lost three.
Other Thoughts: Relatively muddy. Lots of puddles and mud holes.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  So close not to like it.

5+    2/2/2013   2/6/2013
Review By: cconaway01
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Some easy to par/ birdie shots on the front 9 back 9 gets challenging with long, wooded drives. Hole 15 over the pond is a great place to lose a disc. Some good holes to work on straight shots. Good use of trees.
Cons: The long walk form 16-17. A lot of small stumps on back 9 wooded fairways. A lot of mud since it was wet from snow.
Other Thoughts: I now live a 90 second walk from my front door to tee one so its great for me. I can pop out any time a go play. Seems to be a good place to work on your game or just have fun with my kids.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 The best course in Olathe

5+    9/2/2012   9/2/2012
Review By: prhodes
Played: 13  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A whole variety of holes. From shorter birdie opportunities, to ridiculously long par 4's through the forest. There is a hole where water comes into play, a hole where you have to shoot onto an island surrounded by cement, and one where you shoot through a field of young trees. A variety of shots is needed, and coming out of the back nine even is a challange.
Well maintained course, has very good signage, including pin placement, distance, and hole number. There are also other amenities, such as good teepads (multiple teepads on 5 holes) benches on most holes, bathrooms on sight, practice basket, trashcans, and picnic shelters.
Cons: A few holes come into contact with the soccer fields, and on a Sunday there are quite a few spectators, to the point where if you want to play 11 and 12 you'll have to ignore the teebox and just kind of drop in the fairway to avoid hitting anybody.
Other Thoughts: I would reccomend bringing some old beat up plastic if you are going to try throwing over the water.
There are people who enjoy the herb while playing, but I've seen cops driving through every once in a while, which seems to curb that.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.