Olathe, KS 
Prairie Center Park Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish Hole #15 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 304ft.   3 / 304ft.   3 / 304ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee: OB water short. Second tee for straight over water position has since been added to the left.

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 39
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers

5+    12/26/2010   1/25/2011
Review By: kevinmzane
Played: 118  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 9.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The cement teepads are nice and on some holes there are alternate tees. There are tee signs at every hole with an overhead view and distances for the baskets, and alternates w/ par. The fairways seem to always be well kept and free of debris, but there is still enough hazard to keep you thinking about a good line. It is in a nice part of town, with plenty nearby if you need snacks/ drinks/ gas...anything. Benches and trashcans are plentiful here so no need to carry a grocery sack full of everyones elses trash you pick up. I do play kind of off hours, but it has never been overwhelmingly crowded like some of the other nearby courses can get.
There is a nice mix of holes with alternate placements here ranging from short tunnel, a couple short technical shots, to long open bombs, sometimes an island shot on a cul de sac, a shot over the water on 15, with the water behind the basket on 14, shots into or out of the trees, some slight elevation, plenty of obstacles but no "unfairways".
Some ace opportunity here, and some nice challenging birdies, but there are definitely a couple to keep your score in check.
Cons: A section of the course (from 11 and back from 16) is a long walk from the rest of the course, but worthwhile nonetheless. Take a map with you or you may get lost after 11 or 16. The evergreens will swallow your discs, so watch what they hit.
There are a couple holes with nearby soccer and baseball fields so during games, you may have some excessive traffic but people are usually understanding when you let them know they are in a fairway (nicely).
Other Thoughts: I really enjoy this course. My parents live nearby and I play it almost every time I go home. There are a lot of very good courses around this area, so this is an easy one to overlook when coming through town. If you can find the time for a round here, it will not dissapoint you.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Home Course

5+    12/19/2010   12/21/2010
Review By: kguyty
Played: 13  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well kept.
- Pins are changed at regular intervals.
- Island pin on #2/#4 makes for an interesting upshot.
- Not overly busy.
- Good for all levels - beginners can learn to use different techniques, intermediates can make par, and pros can try multiple birdie/ace attempts.
- Benches/trash cans on almost every tee.
Cons: - Trees on #7 (disc-eating pines), #9, #18 can be aggrivating.
- Soccer games/spectators can be a nuisance on the weekend.
- Not much elevation change (fairly flat except #15/#16).
-It's a long walk between #11 and #12.
Other Thoughts: I live only a few miles from this course so I play it almost every week. It was the course I learned on and the first place I made a birdie. The difficulty is good for beginners, but not overly tough. Intermediate and pros will enjoy multiple birdie and a few ace opportunities.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 cedar tree mayhem

1    10/22/2010   10/22/2010
Review By: buzzz killington
Played: 36  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: tuff with wind
my home course!
great neighborhood compared to other kc courses
makes you throw every shot
good people, great league
Cons: flat
some locals dislike the cedar trees eating discs
Other Thoughts: cool course when set up for tourny paired with kansas wind it can prove to be quite difficult.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Good for beginners and advanced players

5+    8/8/2010   8/13/2010
Review By: jayhawker737
Played: 52  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 9.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/3/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pros for beginners: The course has an overall short average distance. The course does not require specialty shots. Besides from 16-17, the course lays beautifully.
Pros for advanced players: A lot of birdieable holes, though you still have to be able to hold a steady line through and over trees to get that birdie. Its a quick play.
The lake provides a nice watar hazard.
Cons: If you do not have the best accuracy, this course will expose that. There are some shots you have to go through a tunnel of trees, but if you have the accuracy, you will be fine.
Going from the 16th basket to the 17th tee is a very long walk, and if you are there by yourself for the first time, it is hard to find.
Other Thoughts: This course is built for people with good accuracy and not so much distance players. Though distance is a key on a couple of holes, if you are accurate all day, you will be looking at a good score.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 17 good one and a odd finish

5+    7/17/2010   7/18/2010
Review By: Magnatizer
Played: 24  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 29.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/31/2010
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good variety of hole lengths. Multiple pins and occasional multiple tee pads add to the interest. Unique island green (#2).
Cons: To many holes feel like other holes on the same course. 18 may be the worst finishing hole in KC, could flip it with #7 or take one of the pines that sits about 100' off the tee out. Wouldn't be bad in the middle of the round but not worthy of a closing hole.
Other Thoughts: Grass way to tall today. Must have been a long time since it had been cut. Also, loads of tree's/tree limbs down. 12 has a big one blocking 80% of the fairway. 15 tee is covered. 7/31 update: trees cleared, grass cut. Solid again. Raised rating and very thankful for the quick response of grounds crew to the tree issue.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    6/27/2010   6/28/2010
Review By: Penichillin
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 10.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/29/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great layout, with lots of variety.
-Challenging, yet not intimidating to beginners (except maybe 15)
-The back 9 is rarely busy.
-Very well kept with several pin placements on each hole
-Had a few improvements done for the worlds last year.
-A few memorable holes; namely 2 and 15

Cons: -Front nine sometimes gets congested.
-Not much elevation on this one
-Probably some confusion after hole 11 for 1st timers
-Beginners may want to pass on driving over the pond, my friend lost my wraith in there
-Potential issue with traffic/sporting events, though I haven't had much trouble.
Other Thoughts: My home course and I love it.

*EDIT: After another year of experience at this course and others, I bumped my rating up from 4 to 4.5 This course is just so well kept compared to 99% of the courses you run across. Considering they are dealing with pretty boring/flat topography, the holes are extremely well laid-out. I have probably played here 100+ times and I never get tired of it. I am blessed to live within 10 minutes of this course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 All around great course!!

5+    6/24/2010   6/24/2010
Review By: seymourdiscgolf
Played: 172  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 15.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course! There are at least 2 pin placements for every hole. A couple of holes have mulitple pads. Great mix of trees and open shots. Enough variety that both righties and lefties will love it. Course is short enough that it is very possible to play under par but with the mix of shots, tree locations and pin placements you are just as likely to shoot over. Short #18
Cons: The course is intertwined with baseball diamonds and soccer fields so there is a descent amount of traffic, both vehicles and pedestrians. The trafiic does not really come into play that much unless you grip it (OB or deep). Long #18
Other Thoughts: HAPPY DISCIN'!!!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 That Blurr was the Parks Crew on Rangers!

1    3/24/2010   3/25/2010
Review By: Donovan
Played: 238  Reviewed: 186  Exp: 31 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is so well maintained, there were park crews out working the grounds, even in the rain. They move pretty good driving those rangers. LOL This course has some slight elevation, great pin placements, nice cement tee pads & baskets, accuracy holes and air it out holes. The tee signs are fantastic. There are lots of trees in the first 11 holes that make this course fun to navigate many of your drives. The island green on #2 surrounded by a circle cement driveway is very cool. As the trees mature, #9 and 10 are going to get tougher for sure. #15 is a shot about 150 feet over a corner of a pond and pending on the pin placement maybe across a road after that. This place has a bench and a trash can at almost every hole. They have a bathroom on site also.
Cons: If it's your first time, take a map. The long walk form 11 to 12 and 15 to 17 will get you lost. From 11 basket head around the back of the ball field to 12 and from 16 basket you will need to walk back past 11 basket and you should see 17. These walks are not that big of a deal but it is worth mentioning. #14 sign was missing, but I am sure that is temporary.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor here was really high for me. Some of these layouts were just so much fun to throw on. I enjoyed the hole variations and well placed baskets. This was just a great place to play! It has got to have at least 1 hole for everyone, considering the variety of shots needed. I have to say I really want to go back and play this one again.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


5+    11/3/2009   3/3/2010
Review By: wraithman
Played: 34  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.8 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is a great course. Well maintained, Located in a city park inside a neighborhood. Easy to find this course. Off of k-7 and 135th st (sante fe). Each hole has multiple pin placements, changed almost weekly, and nice cement launching pads. Some holes have ace oppurtunity. Hole 2 has an island in play during some placements. Hole 3 is a tunnel shot. Hole 15 has a lake to cross. One placement for the pin is on waters edge. But over all one of the best in kanas city, Lots of air outs but still need to have the technical skills. Signs updated for the worlds in '09
Cons: Have to walk a bit from hole 11-12. and holes 16-17. In the summer lots of trees can be in play alot. Some times the pin on hole twelve is inside a group of trees. In the fall there is alot leaves on the ground. can be a bit crowded, but if no one played it wouldnt be here.
Other Thoughts: A must course to add to the resume, Also watch out for a crazy icecream driver. (he might accuse you of taking his money), Long story

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent course

5+    11/11/2009   11/19/2009
Review By: Mr. Sir
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: All kinds of different holes to perfect your skills. As the other reviews said it is well kept. Big arms can have some easy birdies and lots of shots at aces.
Cons: Only a few holes that you can go all out with a drive, thats what i really like. Can get crowded and along holes 2 and 3 it backs up to houses with lots of dogs. I had to fight one last time i went, it was crazy.
Other Thoughts: Shoot for the ace hit the bird.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.