Boardman, OH 
Boardman Park Share
Uploaded By: DiscinOhio Hole #12 (Taken 3/2018)
3 / 243ft.   3 / 243ft.   3 / 243ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Basket to Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Great variety!

1    12/8/2019   12/9/2019
Review By: Jags
Played: 56  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If your looking for a course that has variety when it comes to hole design then look no further. Boardman has a little bit of everything and then some. Water, OB, tight fairways, open shots, technical shots, raised baskets, island holes....just to name a few. I feel that the hole designs are quite evened out for right handed and left handed throwers. Even on these holes there are other lines you can use that might be a tad more risk/reward shots but they are there. I really like the fact that there were steps and bridges in needed areas. It is nice to see this dedication in areas where they are needed. I have also not had the chance to play on MVP baskets before. No course I know has them installed. I thought they were very excellent quality and the chains caught very well. There is also a very nice parking lot right near the practice basket so parking should never be an issue.
Cons: The tee signs do not have the hole design or distances to the pins. Both are important but I feel the distances are the most important. I got a rough idea on distances by using my UDisc app which gave me a general idea. Since the tee signs do not show where the baskets are, several times throughout the round one of us had to walk up and see where it was at. The open park style holes had concrete on the tee pad we were using. I believe the red tees throughout the whole course are just dirt so use caution if you are playing from these ones. Wet weather conditions can get a little muddy in spots. The holes that were throughout the woods were all dirt tee pads which at times were slippery and some had tree roots sticking up which made them uneven. I played with a group of people who have played here before so navigation was not hard but I could see it being complicated your first time here since there are no directional signs pointing you to the next hole. Some of the wooded holes need some of the dead trees and branches cleared out just to help with the flow of the course. I believe it was on hole #12... It was a wide-open tee shot with the flagpoles on the left. A real nice area was cleared out on the right in the pine trees for the one pin position. There is a pine tree about 13 feet away from the basket that just seemed out of place considering it was a nice cleared out area with the exception of this tree. I also heard a lot of complaints about the thousands of quarter size saplings on the edges of the fairway. Where I feel that some of them could be thinned out, it is also the price you pay I feel for not staying in the intended fairway. Walking paths come close to some of the holes which could be an issue. I was told some of the pin positions can be blind shots which on an errant throw could be dangerous. Just beware of your surroundings.
Other Thoughts: When I give a review I give examples of details that are important without giving away to much. I think some surprise and mystery are what make traveling to play a new course worth it. This is only the second course I made the trip to OH from PA to play but found it to be very enjoyable and worth the drive. Boardman Park definitely has variety and some very interesting hole placements. I only got to see the park from the course since I have never been here before but it seems like it is rather busy even in colder weather so just be vigilant of your surroundings and other park goers. To close out this review if you haven't played Boardman before you should. Will I be back...definitely! Would I recommend...absolutely!!!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Parks & Recreation

1    10/18/2019   10/19/2019
Review By: kinger
Played: 83  Reviewed: 83  Exp: 10.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
~Variety is the spice of life, and this course has it
~Clean, well manicured park
~MVP Baskets are in pristine shape
~ Multiple tee pad locations
~Mixes traditional park style and wooded golf
~Nice warm up area with picnic tables and practice basket
~18-hole layout forms a complete loop at the parking lot
Cons:
~Tee signs do not show hole layout or provide distance
~The 10-wooded holes do not have concrete tee pads
~Navigation for the 1st time visitor is a touch tricky in spots
~Only 1-set of concrete tee pads for the 8-parks style holes
~Some of the wooded holes still need some minor clearing
Other Thoughts:
Visited on a sunny October day, and thoroughly enjoyed my time at this park. Boardman Park in it's entirety is gorgeous, and one of the most impressive city parks I've been to. Ton's of recreational space, activities, walking trails, and clean facilities. This is a top notch place, and the disc golf course fits well into the overall terrain for the most part.

It appears this course has grown from 9 to 18 holes fairly recently and the layout(s) may have been adjusted more than once or twice. It's current form plays the first few holes in the open park setting then dives into a wooded area intermingled with stone hiking trails and creeks for 10-technical shots, and finishes back to traditional park style golf for the last handful of holes. Overall it's a great mix of parks and woods golf and the variety of the layout overall is impressive.

The holes that impressed me the most were a wooded stretch of 8, 9, 10, and 11 that provide great technical lines incorporating elevation and meandering water hazards. Holes 15, 16, and 18 also stand out as great parks style design utilizing more mature trees and defined grassy fairway lines. Hole 2 is a bit underwhelming as it's just a straight shot and completely open once you get past a generous two tree gap, and Hole 12 in the woods needs a more fairly defined line from tee to basket, currently it's a Plinko hole in which you either bite of short distances or hope to get lucky.

If I could give this a 3.25 rating I would in it's current condition, it's a very good course but there are a few big items holding it back. First of all the tee signs do not indicate hole distance or layout which proves cumbersome to the non-local player. There is a lot of fairway walking to get a lay of the land and guess work on disc selection since distances can get tough to guess. Next up is navigation, while the layout makes sense and flows fairly well next tee indicators on the basket and maybe a few signs between some areas would make course direction a breeze. I had to back track and wonder around a few times between holes to find where I needed to go. The last improvement needed is concrete tee pads for the 10-wooded holes. the natural/stone pads are decent, but still uneven and rooted in some locations, concrete would be a huge improvement for course enjoyment, and hopefully it's in the future plans for this course.

Overall I would not hesitate to visit again and again, this is a good course that is close to becoming a great course. Awesome variety, and a very welcoming park. Great Job MVDGA on this fun filled course!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Updated: Now 18 Holes!

1    7/31/2017   6/18/2017
Review By: DiscinOhio
Played: 136  Reviewed: 131  Exp: 11.7 Years
This review was updated on 3/25/2018
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: One of the best parks in the area. Hiking, playgrounds, tennis, softball, pavilions, and now disc golf are all available in the massive park. It's called the "Green Oasis" for a reason! Boardman Park is right in the middle of a shopping hub.

Now 18 Holes! The front 9 has three sets of tees for anyone to play. Beginners, intermediate players, and advanced players will all find some challenge. The back 9 was installed with advanced players in mind. Only one set of tees (blue) with tight fairways and some elevation changes. A very good mix of distances, elevation, and tree cover.

The MVP baskets are some of my favorite on the market. Temporary tee signs serve their purpose and provided details for every hole.

FAVORITE HOLES

#4: Air it out for your drive, then shoot a tough downhill approach shot with trees surrounding the basket. Great test of arm and accuracy!

#8: Fun par 3 that takes a sharp turn to the left. Features a fun drive with a tough approach. Basket is in a tough position, tucked in the trees on the edge of a tiny pond.

#14: The steepest elevation change on the course with a tough pin position on a hill. Plays off a steep little cliff over the creek. There's a nice bridge at the bottom of the hill to cross into the fairway. My favorite hole!

#15: A tough, tight Dogleg left with a cool pin position. The basket sits on a "peninsula" with water surrounding the basket.




Cons: Boardman Park is almost always crowded. Keep an eye out for kids, dogs, joggers, etc. right in the middle of fairways. You might find yourself waiting a while to throw. A few holes are too close to roadways.

Navigational signs are lacking at the moment, but I'm sure that will change once the course continues to develop. For now, you need a map to play. Navigation would be almost impossible without one.

Front 9: Three sets of tees, but only the whites are filled with gravel. Reds and blues are just grass/dirt.

Back 9: No gravel/concrete as of yet. Only one set of tees per hole and they're just dirt marked with a strip of metal.

Too many mando's mainly on the front 9.

The back 9 is still fairly rough and could use some more clearing. As the course grows it will get worn in so I'm not too worried.



Other Thoughts: I'll try to play at the Green Oasis every time I'm in the area! It'll work it's way to a 3.5 and maybe even a 4.0 as it matures and gets worn in. Great to see how many people are out playing! Great start for a course that's here to stay right in the heart of Boardman.


4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad, but tees are a bit confusing

1    12/28/2016   12/28/2016
Review By: sharkey
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.9 Years
This review was updated on 12/31/2016
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good parking, great hardware for the baskets, some nice mix between tree obstacles and wide open shots. Multiple tees. Hole 4 offers a tremendous challenge with multiple obstructions and a hole that you can't see until the second or third shot. Hole 5 is a nice tunnel through the trees, easy if you can make it though, but hard if you can't.
Cons: Tee Variety - While there are multiple tees (3 for each hole), they offer little variety in relation to the holes, they really only shorten the shots by a few feet for each hole.
Tee Quality - It's unclear whether or not the intent is to build some actual tees, but currently the tees are only represented by small 1 foot high flags. There are no actual tees, just grass.
Confusing tees. The map I acquired from the park office was mostly helpful, until I got to hole 7 where there were no flags where the map said there should be a tee. There were some tee flags in a location not represented on the map behind hole 9, but I'm not sure if those were intended for hole 7, if they were, it would be a very short hole.
Fairways 7 & 8 appear to crisscross - it was unclear where the tee for hole 7 was, but if it was where the map indicated then the fairway for 7 & 8 Crisscrossed.
Other Thoughts: The park is well kept up, and while most of the space for the course is public green space, they seem to have avoided most areas where people might obstruct shots. Unfortunately on the day that I was there, much of the grass was saturated with water and a bit muddy. It seems like the course has not officially opened yet, but will be in the spring of 2017.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.