Sacramento, CA 
Reichmuth Park Share
Uploaded By: Philrmonic66 Hole #9 (Taken 11/2021)
3 / 250ft. Par / Distance:



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
A great park with a great course

5+    11/21/2021   11/22/2021
Review By: Philrmonic66
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 0.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great signage
- The course varies from open to deep woods and brutal rough
- Great layout, considering the amount of land that they had to work with.
- A couple of elevated baskets add to the challenge.
- A perfect length for beginner/intermediate players.
- In the summer, it's lush and green, in spite of a California drought (see "Cons")
- The regulars are really friendly.
- I've never seen it really super crowded.
- It's only 7 miles from Downtown Sacramento.
Cons: - It's built on a reclaimed swamp, so it floods when it rains.
- Tee pads might be a bit short for some, but most holes don't need a big run-up `
Other Thoughts: There aren't many top notch disc golf courses in the greater Sacramento area, so they get an abundance of play. I'm not a fan of 2 1/2 hour rounds of disc golf, so this is a place I like to go to avoid the crowds and still have a bit of a challenging track. I can safely say that I've learned how to play disc golf on this course and one other (Shady Oaks)

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great local park course with multiple pins

1    3/13/2021   3/15/2021
Review By: Aec28
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 17.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great use of alternate baskets to turn a nine-hole course into an 18-hole course where the "front 9" feels different than the "back 9"
-Variation of hole lengths for a 9-hole local park course
-Well kept and nice tee pads
Cons: -Not the longest course, would be nice to have some longer holes (but park size limits this)
-Fairly busy during weekend mornings/afternoons and can run into bottlenecks
Other Thoughts: For a quick 9 or 18, this course is great to have close to the city. Better than other local park courses, such as oak park (not throwing shade at oak park), in terms of difficulty of holes and variety. Good course for what it is!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Got to go when I am in town

2-4    10/25/2020   11/18/2020
Review By: Bluehills Drive
Played: 20  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 1.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/27/2021
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It has a nice feel coming from a typical park environment right into the jungle. I was most surprised to see the difference in my skill level based on my first time playing there in July to playing this October 2020. My favorite part is that the course is just 2 miles from my sons house. It's just too convenient...gotta hit it! UPDATE 4/27/21 - played this course again and the course upgrades were amazing....this is now one of my favorite courses!
Cons: NONE!
Other Thoughts: Nothing bad that I can see. It is what it is. A fun course that is well taken care of.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good course for our first game.

1    8/27/2020   8/27/2020
Review By: jbbugin
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Liked that some holes were in the open and some in the woods.

Late enough in the season so no mud.
Cons: There were trash barrels but still a lot of trash on the ground.

First course we've played so review should be weighted accordingly.
Other Thoughts: First course as two newbies. Had done some practice throws at a park near our house but first time on a "real" course. We let two groups play through and everyone was very encouraging.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/18/2019   4/19/2019
Review By: bobmcnelly
Played: 242  Reviewed: 155  Exp: 10.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - good quality baskets
- navigation is relatively easy
- good variety of distances ranging from around 200 to 450 feet but mostly under 300
- good variety of technical wooded shots and more open shots
Cons: - very swampy course, the first 3 holes were very muddy when I played in mid April
- thick rough, easy to loose discs
- tee signs could use an upgrade
- course is definitely on the shorter side, other than hole 1, you can't really rip a shot
Other Thoughts: A good 9 hole when it's dry and with a signage upgrade it could be a solid course.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Mostly An Average Course!

1    1/26/2019   3/2/2019
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1546  Reviewed: 1491  Exp: 43.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Reichmuth Park was described as having punishing rough in the swamp area. The couple of swamp holes were decently tight and the punishing rough was fairly easy to avoid.

I was guided around by Ben and Eddie a couple of locals. They showed me a few alt holes that the locals play to spice things up somewhat. The course has decent concrete tee pads and nice little colored signs. The course has the DGA baskets with the always hard to read red numbers. There is a practice basket.

The course is probably a fairly challenging recreational course. I don't think it's quite an intermediate challenge. The park is flat and the course plays partly in the green, grassy park area and then mostly in the wooded swampy area. The on-line course map says that holes 2-3-4 & 7 are usually flooded and therefore, unplayable during the winter months. I thought Sacramento was hot and dry.

The course has a few technical holes in the 200', wooded but more open in the 250' range and two over 320'. The rough is there but avoidable.


Cons: The course was quite wet and boggy but the last few days have seen a lot of rain. The # 1 tee pad was flooded requiring you tee off beside it. The park's grassy area was also flooded.

If you get into the rough, I can see it be pretty ugly and probably challenging to escape from.

The tee pads are on the small side and the signs are pretty basic.

Mostly recreational distances. I think the course would have been a bit difficult to navigate without my two local heroes.

Other Thoughts: Reichmuth is a extremely average course. It's way too overrated for an average 9 hole course at 3.42. I can easily justify giving it a 2.5. It was fun and I could see myself playing here but it definitely lacks the "Wow Factor."

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Green grass!

2-4    10/14/2018   10/14/2018
Review By: Zack Wood
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice to have a course that isnt just all stickers. Each hole feels different from the rest. Some of the short holes are challenging even though they are short. Plays fast. Very shaded
Cons: Would be nice if it was a 18 hole.
Other Thoughts: This will go into my rotations of courses.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great small wooded course

2-4    8/26/2018   9/18/2018
Review By: MikeV
Played: 29  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + Unexpected good course
+ Nice technical woods play
+ Good flow and use of space
Cons: - Overgrown/Unmaintained, leads to lots of searching for discs
- Outside the woods, holes are pretty straightforward
- Small tee pads
- Can get very muddy in the rainy season, even from sprinklers, spots will be soaked.
-Signage is gone or worn down.
Other Thoughts: Sketchy part of town also. Not counted as a con, but should be taken into account.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun little course

5+    10/6/2017   10/7/2017
Review By: Joecuzzi
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5
This review was updated on 9/30/2018
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course has variety and almost every hole is different from the next. The swampland provides shade on hot summer days. This course is great for developing a forehand if you are a backhand dominant thrower because some of the shorter holes dog leg right.
Cons: I have lost more disc here than any other place. Thorn bushes and shrubs make it difficult/painful to find.
Other Thoughts: It would be cool if they made it an 18 hole course!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Super fun course!

2-4    9/9/2017   9/9/2017
Review By: the_bird
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/18/2017
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Some really challenging mid-range shots on offer at this course.

-The course really tests your accuracy and creativity.

Half of the holes are cut out of the thick shrubbery in the 20+ acre natural area. Because of this, your mid-range game is tested with tee shots that require real precision, as the landing (safe) areas are extremely small. Failing to execute leads to a disc in the blackberry bushes, which are thick as hell at Reichmuth.

-If you are able to control your shots you are rewarded here with several real ace runs.

-Worth noting are the straight/narrow tee shots required on holes 2 and 3. Both "fairways" are relatively narrow with slight undulations about 2/3 of the way to the baskets. If you play it right, the undulations can be used on both holes to help funnel your disc up close to the baskets. But, if you get a little loose on your shots you'll end up in the thick stuff (especially on #3 which has some of the worst thorn bushes on the course). They are both really good, fun holes.

-Hole #4 is another short, tree laden hole. It sets up for a rhbh hyper through the trees. The windows through the trees on this hole are tiny. For a short hole you will really feel good bout yourself if you are able to get it close. It is a really challenging little tee-shot.

-Hole #5, #6, and #8 are played on the edge of the natural area in the grass. Even so the natural area and it's insanely thick thorn bushes, trees, etc...are in play. Additionally, the baskets on these holes are set right up against the natural area and use the trees to guard against normal approaches. Instead, the holes require super low approaches, annhyzers, skip shots, etc...Even with these 3 holes all being relatively short (under 300'), the designer made sure to use the natural environment to keep things as challenging and fun as possible. For the pro they're wouldn't be very difficult, butter the average beginner/novice, they provide a real fair, fun challenge.

-Also worth noting is hole #1. It is by far the longest hole on the course, playing well over 400 feet. There is a little hill with two massive trees positioned halfway to the basket in the center of the fairway. Because of this it makes the drive really tricky. For a lot of us it is a two shot hole.

-I have never had to deal with any crowds or delays at this course. In fact, I've played it 4 or 5 times now (always during the week) and I have never seen more than 4 or 5 other golfers out on the course. So that is a definite plus--especially if you want to come out and throw a ton of discs around to practice or if you're looking for a super fast round.

-For a park in a city course it really offers up a diverse and unique set up holes.
Cons: -Some of the smells in the "natural" area on the course can be pretty off-putting. I imagine from the smells that there are several homeless "camps" back in the trees.

-There are tee signs at most of the holes, but there is nothing on them besides the hole number and a DGA sticker. Also, I thought the tee pads were a little small and awkward. I usually tee'd off next to them in the dirt/grass.

-Lastlly, there can be some real characters and shade-balls hanging out in that park. Both in the natural area and on the benches by the parking lot. It is a place you definitely want to make sure your door is locked in. Also, there are times that I'd recommend that you park on the street a little bit away from the parking lot (on the weekdays when you're one of the few cars in the lot). You'll know when that is when you drive up to the parking lot and look around.
Other Thoughts: This course was a really nice surprise. There is a fun little diversity to the holes on this course. It plays fast, rewards good shots, and is pretty close for those of us who live near downtown.

Just remember, the holes in the natural area are cut out of some thick, nasty stuff. The damn blackberry bushes/vines are dangerous as hell. Watch your step when you have to dig a disc out of there. I still have a cuts all over my leg from them.

Unfortunately, there are only 9 holes here. Hopefully they do follow through with adding the additional 9 so that we can have another 18 hole course in Sacramento. There is definitely room for 9 more holes here. Hell, there is room for an additional 27 holes--the natural area and adjoining park is that big. I just hope they follow up on making this an 18 hole course. There aren't enough of them and us disc golfers deserve it!!

-There is a long walk between hole 1 and hole 2, and it can be a little bit confusing there and in a couple of other places on the course.
***after the first hole you want to walk to the left (when facing the natural area from hole 1's basket). You will see a dirt trail that goes right into the nature area that will eventually (it's a little walk) to the second hole.

There are a couple of other places that are a little confusing, but after a minute or two of trial and error will be easy enough to figure out.

Remember to lock your doors!!!! And don't you ever leave any of your valuables in the car.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.