Lewisville, TX 
Tom McCutcheon DGP Share
Uploaded By: SeanR Hole #1 (Taken 4/2017)
3 / 183ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Fun Course with Risk and Reward shots

5+    9/28/2018   10/8/2018
Review By: LeftyPower
Played: 33  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 29.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Right on the lake
Nice very long XL tee pads
Nice risk/reward shots, especially the 2 holes enticing you to go over the lake to get to the basket in 1
Most of the course by the lake plays good after a rain with sandy soil
Lots of elevated greens framed with railroad ties
Good signage
Good next hole markers
Several tough to reach baskets
Cons: One set of tees
Static basket locations
Mammoth sized mosquitoes on new woods holes with lots of standing water back there
Several of the holes are right on the lake road and you need to watch out you do not hit traffic when you arc your shot over the street
Other Thoughts: This course was slightly redesigned within the last couple of years and I find I miss a few of the old holes on the lake side of the course although I did appreciate the new woods holes which are on the other side of the road as well. The new holes in the woods are short and mostly tight LHBH or RHFH shots which suited my leftyness for a couple of birdies. I did get attacked by a swarm of mosquitoes last time I was out there although their humongous size , twice the size of any mosquito I have ever seen....made them easier to swat...I am just glad I didn't let a single one get me but it did make me rush my play through here and not even consider using the benches by the tee pads. A couple of the other new holes are longer par 4s that play along roads and are more open, mostly enticing you to air it out over the road and bring it back in to get more distance. Nowhere near a scary as the lake but OB nonetheless. My favorite holes are still the original ones on the lake side that have the elevated greens and lake there that force you to choose your shot wisely and put some pressure on you not to go into the drink.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Probably more fun the second time around

1    8/22/2018   8/22/2018
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 231  Reviewed: 172  Exp: 6.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tom McCutcheon DGP is a really solid course that plays right next to Lake Lewisville. I thought the course had a really great mix of types of holes from big bomb holes over the lake to more wooded holes and everything in between. All of the holes felt fair in the fairways with no head scratching obstacles that creates a luck factor.

There is quite a bit of rolling hills and elevation change throughout the course especially near the lake. I caught myself being winded after one walk between courses, though I think that has a lot to do with me being woefully out of shape.

Hole 12 was the longest hole out on the course, and it was my favorite as it takes two really good shots to have a chance at a 3 and a few massive trees are in the optimal landing zone, so you have to have some skill to navigate it. I also really enjoyed hole 7 where you can risk it and throw a hyzer over the lake, or you can play it safe and snake through the trees along the shore.

Navigation was a hair tricky, but there were next tee signs after every hole, which I really appreciated. (though take a picture of the course map at the beginning, just in case) The concrete tees were giant and there were very detailed tee signs on every hole. The course uses a lot of land in the park, so I appreciate the fact that it starts and ends right next to each other.
Cons: I think all courses play better the more times you play them. You are used to the holes, know what to throw etc. This course would be so much better on your second play. More than half of the holes have baskets that you cannot see from the tee, so you might have to do some running up in the fairways to see exactly where you are throwing to.

At the holes near the lake, the ground is loose sand, which makes traversing the holes difficult to walk in tennis shoes. I know I am really reaching for the cons.

A few of the holes played pretty close together, or some of the walks between holes walked right next to another hole's tee pad. Hole 6 to hole 7 and hole 15 to hole 16 are the two culprits that stick out in my mind.

Like I mentioned before, navigation is a bit tricky, but taking a map will be helpful.
Other Thoughts: This was a fun course. I really enjoyed the variety of holes. I understand this to be one of the better courses in the DFW area, and I could definitely see that being the case.

This course is definitely worth the stop in. It seems to have completely recovered from being decimated by the storm a few years ago.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Tricky, but fair

1    6/16/2018   6/17/2018
Review By: Notorious21
Played: 69  Reviewed: 47  Exp: 8.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
- A good variety of distances and shot shapes off the tee
- Large teepads and great signage (navigable without a map)
- Cool breeze coming off the lake
Cons:
- Confusion between hole 15 and 18's baskets
- Fishing people on holes 3 and 7
- Run of three straight left-handed holes in the woods feels repetitive
Other Thoughts:
Most of the holes are held over from the old Lake Lewisville course, with a few substitutions. 1-7 are mostly the same, and 9-12 are new. Much more of a short, technical course than a big bomber, but it makes for a good experience for a variety of skill levels.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Excellent course

5+    6/9/2018   6/13/2018
Review By: aclay
Played: 146  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 34.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -- Excellent use of terrain, with both uphill and downhill shots.
-- Water in play, although less so than previously. No. 7 still has you basically throwing over the lake (I've lost a disc or two there), but No. 3 doesn't as much. You can take that RHFH left path over the edge of the water, but the more common path is the other way.
-- Fun factor is high as is the risk/reward factor. The intermediate player has a chance to make 2 on many holes, but 4 or worse comes into play if you make a bad shot.
-- Lots of shade.
-- Facilities (port-o-potty) on site.

Cons: -- Roads. I've seen shots reach the road on as many as eight holes.
-- The redesign brought some very nice holes (especially 9-11 in the woods), but it added some long walks between holes.
-- Navigation. After 7, you have to go up the hill and cross the road to No. 8. After 8, follow the path to the left into the woods on a longish walk to get to No. 9. After No. 11, come out of the woods and go right (and toward the road) to get to No. 12.
-- No drinking water.
-- People oblivious to disc golf. Runners, walkers and people just enjoying the lake are present, so be aware.
Other Thoughts: -- Still one of the best courses in DFW, especially after a rain.
-- Parking is along the main road that divides the course, so you're car could get hit by a disc. On the other hand, you come by your car during the round, a plus on hot summer days.
-- I've listed as many cons and pros on a 4-disc rating. That's because most of the cons are small problems that can mostly be addressed by planning ahead (drinking water and navigation) and decent play (staying out of the road).

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Hard to follow but nice

1    9/11/2017   9/11/2017
Review By: ivanhenson
Played: 140  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 7.6 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Really good course
The lake is great.
Lots of variety
Not easy
Some short some far some trees
elevation changes a little water
Cons: Very hard for me to follow
No distance markers any where
and sometimes very hard to find the next tee
Other Thoughts: A few signs or even pain on tee box with distance would make this an excellent course

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

nice course

1    5/31/2017   6/1/2017
Review By: topcide
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Good Mix of shots

-Pretty location, plays along a lake with the water directly in play on a few.

-Friendly locals

-Uses topography well

- Challenging but not impossible
Cons: -A few holes play literally right next to roads. This is just a recipe for disaster. Also, no mention if roads are OB ( no signs at tees)

-Few, If any trash cans. I saw a fair amount of litter cluttering the tree clumps

-No benches at all, good to have a stool here as I could see this course getting packed.

-Navigation is very difficult with no real next tee signs. there were some temporary ones though. Even finding the first hole was difficult,

-No practice basket

- No tee signs

-a few of the holes play pretty tight to one another. You gotta keep your eyes peeled.
Other Thoughts: I am from out of town and in Texas for work and I really did enjoy playing this course and plan on hitting it again while I am here. I am not trying to trash this course, I thought it was a really good course and had a ton of fun playing it, but it does have some cons.

The course had some really cool holes and a huge variety of topography - The lake being in play on this course is a nice touch, you literally play a few holes on the beach with the lake completely in play. I would prob call the hole ( #5 i think) with the big hyzer line over the edge of the lake the signature hole on this course.

A lot of shots were needed, and there are not whole ton of easy birdies which i like as way too many courses are deuce or die these days it seems. with that said, there are many birdy-able holes if you execute well.

The actual holes themselves are well designed, and the park space is utilized well.

The navigation on this course was bad- i understand that not every course is going to have a perfect flow, but if it doesn't navigation signs really are a must and would have alleviated this issue completely. Also, with a course that has this many blind shots and tucked away baskets you really need tee signs as well. Had I not played with locals, I would have been really frustrated with finding my way around and finding the baskets on a few holes.

Personally, I think that breaking into the "4" disc rating is when you start to really get into upper echelon courses, and to get into that tier you need to have the small little fit and finish things in addition to good holes like benches, brooms, next tee signs, good tee signs., trash cans, ETC- just the little stuff that really makes a course pop. Like I said I am not trying to trash this course, it is really good and is definitely worth playing- but it does lack the little stuff that would be needed to put it over the top.

with all that said, go play this course. I am glad i did.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good Mix

5+    4/21/2017   4/22/2017
Review By: Prost
Played: 20  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mix of holes (some near water, wooded holes, etc.); Great mix of long holes and short; Need to have a good mix of shots to excel; Great mix of open shots as well as narrow placement shots; Great tee pads; Very few holes have interference from park visitors directly; Great parking
Cons: Very, very busy most days; If there is windy it swirls and is difficult to read at times; Some holes need additional signage to point out baskets or paths (recently updated course so this takes time); Beware the children playing in the woods who don't pay attention to flying discs; Can be very littered; Casual water is rough just after a rain
Other Thoughts: The negatives are annoying, but not deal breakers. This is a great course to play that is very challenging. Worth the wait and there are places to pass slow playing groups if needed.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great course.

1    4/17/2017   4/18/2017
Review By: SeanR
Played: 15  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Varied holes, water traps/dog legs/long fairways/ wooded areas/hills. I loved the raw feeling of the lakeside & the dense trees across the street. There was even city trucks out there doing some sort of maintenance on the course that day, good to see that upkeep is constant.
Cons: A few areas make it rather easy to loose a disc. That aside, the baskets could really use some reflective tape along the pole, or something. one set of baskets, 9 & 18, are quite close to one another.. numbers could easily solve this.
Other Thoughts: As clean and trimmed up as the course was (4/17/17) I could only imagine it getting very out of hand, just a tad scary. Also, we had noticed there wasn't any pictures for this course, so we took some and uploaded them!!! :D

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Awesome Course

5+    3/10/2017   4/3/2017
Review By: 34blast
Played: 33  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 21.5 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Lot's of variety
Lot's of Challenging holes
Lot's of shade
Nice trees and scenery
Cons: There a a few places where it is easy to lose a disc in the lake or the brush
Other Thoughts: Great all around course. They changed the course some in the last year. Some of the holes are different now with shorter tight woods shots and right hand turn shots. Lot's of shade and a beautiful course. This is probably my favorite course.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Not a beginner course

1    3/10/2017   3/16/2017
Review By: AVR_
Played: 16  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Nice tee pads
- Fairly easy to navigate altho got some directions from a regular before our round. There is also a google earth map posted on a board near hole 1.
- Awesome views of the lake
- Some very challenging holes
- Baskets in good condition
Cons: - Definitely not a course for a newer player
- It seemed every hole was a par 3 and quite a few are impossible to birdie
- Lots of rough terrain to walk. Dont bring a cart!
- Potential to lose discs fairly easily
Other Thoughts: This course was a bad choice for me as its only the 2nd course I have played since recovering from a shoulder surgery on my throwing side. However once I get my power and form back I will be giving it another go. I couldnt imagine playin this course in the dead of summer tho with all the rough terrain to hike. It was only 75 degrees or so when I played and I was dead tired after 1 round. Overall tho it is a nice long challenging course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.