Lewisville, TX 
Tom McCutcheon DGP Share
Uploaded By: TheHipstick Hole #3 (Taken 5/2018)
3 / 242ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Tricky, but fair

1    6/16/2018   6/17/2018
Review By: Notorious21
Played: 67  Reviewed: 47  Exp: 7.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- A good variety of distances and shot shapes off the tee
- Large teepads and great signage (navigable without a map)
- Cool breeze coming off the lake
Cons:
- Confusion between hole 15 and 18's baskets
- Fishing people on holes 3 and 7
- Run of three straight left-handed holes in the woods feels repetitive
Other Thoughts:
Most of the holes are held over from the old Lake Lewisville course, with a few substitutions. 1-7 are mostly the same, and 9-12 are new. Much more of a short, technical course than a big bomber, but it makes for a good experience for a variety of skill levels.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Excellent course

5+    6/9/2018   6/13/2018
Review By: aclay
Played: 138  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 33.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -- Excellent use of terrain, with both uphill and downhill shots.
-- Water in play, although less so than previously. No. 7 still has you basically throwing over the lake (I've lost a disc or two there), but No. 3 doesn't as much. You can take that RHFH left path over the edge of the water, but the more common path is the other way.
-- Fun factor is high as is the risk/reward factor. The intermediate player has a chance to make 2 on many holes, but 4 or worse comes into play if you make a bad shot.
-- Lots of shade.
-- Facilities (port-o-potty) on site.

Cons: -- Roads. I've seen shots reach the road on as many as eight holes.
-- The redesign brought some very nice holes (especially 9-11 in the woods), but it added some long walks between holes.
-- Navigation. After 7, you have to go up the hill and cross the road to No. 8. After 8, follow the path to the left into the woods on a longish walk to get to No. 9. After No. 11, come out of the woods and go right (and toward the road) to get to No. 12.
-- No drinking water.
-- People oblivious to disc golf. Runners, walkers and people just enjoying the lake are present, so be aware.
Other Thoughts: -- Still one of the best courses in DFW, especially after a rain.
-- Parking is along the main road that divides the course, so you're car could get hit by a disc. On the other hand, you come by your car during the round, a plus on hot summer days.
-- I've listed as many cons and pros on a 4-disc rating. That's because most of the cons are small problems that can mostly be addressed by planning ahead (drinking water and navigation) and decent play (staying out of the road).

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Hard to follow but nice

1    9/11/2017   9/11/2017
Review By: ivanhenson
Played: 126  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 7.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Really good course
The lake is great.
Lots of variety
Not easy
Some short some far some trees
elevation changes a little water
Cons: Very hard for me to follow
No distance markers any where
and sometimes very hard to find the next tee
Other Thoughts: A few signs or even pain on tee box with distance would make this an excellent course

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

nice course

1    5/31/2017   6/1/2017
Review By: topcide
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Good Mix of shots

-Pretty location, plays along a lake with the water directly in play on a few.

-Friendly locals

-Uses topography well

- Challenging but not impossible
Cons: -A few holes play literally right next to roads. This is just a recipe for disaster. Also, no mention if roads are OB ( no signs at tees)

-Few, If any trash cans. I saw a fair amount of litter cluttering the tree clumps

-No benches at all, good to have a stool here as I could see this course getting packed.

-Navigation is very difficult with no real next tee signs. there were some temporary ones though. Even finding the first hole was difficult,

-No practice basket

- No tee signs

-a few of the holes play pretty tight to one another. You gotta keep your eyes peeled.
Other Thoughts: I am from out of town and in Texas for work and I really did enjoy playing this course and plan on hitting it again while I am here. I am not trying to trash this course, I thought it was a really good course and had a ton of fun playing it, but it does have some cons.

The course had some really cool holes and a huge variety of topography - The lake being in play on this course is a nice touch, you literally play a few holes on the beach with the lake completely in play. I would prob call the hole ( #5 i think) with the big hyzer line over the edge of the lake the signature hole on this course.

A lot of shots were needed, and there are not whole ton of easy birdies which i like as way too many courses are deuce or die these days it seems. with that said, there are many birdy-able holes if you execute well.

The actual holes themselves are well designed, and the park space is utilized well.

The navigation on this course was bad- i understand that not every course is going to have a perfect flow, but if it doesn't navigation signs really are a must and would have alleviated this issue completely. Also, with a course that has this many blind shots and tucked away baskets you really need tee signs as well. Had I not played with locals, I would have been really frustrated with finding my way around and finding the baskets on a few holes.

Personally, I think that breaking into the "4" disc rating is when you start to really get into upper echelon courses, and to get into that tier you need to have the small little fit and finish things in addition to good holes like benches, brooms, next tee signs, good tee signs., trash cans, ETC- just the little stuff that really makes a course pop. Like I said I am not trying to trash this course, it is really good and is definitely worth playing- but it does lack the little stuff that would be needed to put it over the top.

with all that said, go play this course. I am glad i did.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good Mix

5+    4/21/2017   4/22/2017
Review By: Prost
Played: 20  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mix of holes (some near water, wooded holes, etc.); Great mix of long holes and short; Need to have a good mix of shots to excel; Great mix of open shots as well as narrow placement shots; Great tee pads; Very few holes have interference from park visitors directly; Great parking
Cons: Very, very busy most days; If there is windy it swirls and is difficult to read at times; Some holes need additional signage to point out baskets or paths (recently updated course so this takes time); Beware the children playing in the woods who don't pay attention to flying discs; Can be very littered; Casual water is rough just after a rain
Other Thoughts: The negatives are annoying, but not deal breakers. This is a great course to play that is very challenging. Worth the wait and there are places to pass slow playing groups if needed.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great course.

1    4/17/2017   4/18/2017
Review By: SeanR
Played: 15  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Varied holes, water traps/dog legs/long fairways/ wooded areas/hills. I loved the raw feeling of the lakeside & the dense trees across the street. There was even city trucks out there doing some sort of maintenance on the course that day, good to see that upkeep is constant.
Cons: A few areas make it rather easy to loose a disc. That aside, the baskets could really use some reflective tape along the pole, or something. one set of baskets, 9 & 18, are quite close to one another.. numbers could easily solve this.
Other Thoughts: As clean and trimmed up as the course was (4/17/17) I could only imagine it getting very out of hand, just a tad scary. Also, we had noticed there wasn't any pictures for this course, so we took some and uploaded them!!! :D

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Awesome Course

5+    3/10/2017   4/3/2017
Review By: 34blast
Played: 25  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 21.1 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Lot's of variety
Lot's of Challenging holes
Lot's of shade
Nice trees and scenery
Cons: There a a few places where it is easy to lose a disc in the lake or the brush
Other Thoughts: Great all around course. They changed the course some in the last year. Some of the holes are different now with shorter tight woods shots and right hand turn shots. Lot's of shade and a beautiful course. This is probably my favorite course.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Not a beginner course

1    3/10/2017   3/16/2017
Review By: AVR_
Played: 16  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Nice tee pads
- Fairly easy to navigate altho got some directions from a regular before our round. There is also a google earth map posted on a board near hole 1.
- Awesome views of the lake
- Some very challenging holes
- Baskets in good condition
Cons: - Definitely not a course for a newer player
- It seemed every hole was a par 3 and quite a few are impossible to birdie
- Lots of rough terrain to walk. Dont bring a cart!
- Potential to lose discs fairly easily
Other Thoughts: This course was a bad choice for me as its only the 2nd course I have played since recovering from a shoulder surgery on my throwing side. However once I get my power and form back I will be giving it another go. I couldnt imagine playin this course in the dead of summer tho with all the rough terrain to hike. It was only 75 degrees or so when I played and I was dead tired after 1 round. Overall tho it is a nice long challenging course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Well designed and challenging.

1    1/28/2017   1/30/2017
Review By: AeroPurt
Played: 46  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 9.9 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Baskets are in good shape.
- New layout includes new holes that add a more technical aspect to the course.
- Long tee pads in good shape.
- Course plays along Lake Lewisville which provides for some great scenery on the front nine.
Cons: - There's a few holes where if you aren't careful you could end up in jail.
- Since they had to rearrange the course a bit, there can be a bit of confusion finding a couple tee pads (most notably the transition from 15 to 16. It's better to take the trail behind 15's basket than walking to the left around the trees or you may find yourself walking through 18's fairway.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

a new twist on an old classic

5+    12/30/2016   1/17/2017
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 313  Reviewed: 247  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/17/2017
17 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -most of the old course is still intact, 13 original holes remain
-the new holes are a contrast and a challenge
-the new routing through the course works well and still starts and finishes in the main area
-new trails in the woods are already worn in pretty well
-some new temp signs for the renumbered holes
-mostly shorter holes but many technical shots
-lots of blind baskets and challenging pin positions
-GREAT concrete tee pads, longer than you will need
-baskets are in good condition
-sandy soil drains quickly after a rain, doesn't get real muddy
-trash cans, porta-johns, and benches
-friendly locals, weekly minis, great tournament events

*UPDATE*
new "next tee" signs in various places around the course but no new tee signs yet
Cons: -no alternate pins or tees
-old signs mostly missing or vandalized, really needs all new signs for the new layout
-lots of blind holes and poor signage = hard for 1st timers
-most of the holes next to the road are still there, parked cars can be in the line of fire
-the lake level is very low lately

A new biking and walking trail has been built through the park and it goes directly through what used to be the fairways of holes 8, 9, 11, & 12. The new layout avoids the trail well but there are lots of pedestrians.
Other Thoughts: The course at Lake Lewisville Park was in limbo for over a year after the 2015 rain storms severely damaged the park. Railroad ties were washed away and many areas were eroded including the ground around tee pad 7. After being redesigned by the swell fellows at Dynamic Discs Carrollton the course reopened in Fall 2016 and it is in great shape.

The first seven holes are the same as the old layout with a few small changes. The new trail goes right through what used to be the first tee pad so the new tee is on what used to be hole 8's green. It's a pretty fun tee shot and still very similar to the old shot, just with a smaller window. The basket on hole 3 has been moved back to the right, on top of that small ridge. Hole 5 has a new tee pad but I'm not sure why, it is directly next to the old one. I'm assuming they were trying to take away the high hyzer. Hole 7 has a new tee pad, a little further back and away from the eroding hillside but it's still the same tee shot. The green on 7 also no longer has railroad ties.

From there you go across the road and hole 8 is old hole 16. Then go into the woods on the trail on the left of old 16's fairway. Holes 9-11 play through the woods and all of them are tight tunnel shots that finish right. Walk out of the woods and to the right to get to hole 12, which plays along the road at the back entrance. It's over 500' slightly downhill and the main obstacles are a large oak tree and the OB road. Follow on to holes 13 & 14, old holes 17 & 18. Hole 15 is essentially old hole 15 played backward. The tee is closer to the tree line than the road (avoiding the previous green) and plays toward old hole 14. As you reach the old tee the fairway cuts into the woods on the right where there is a small green with a couple of skinny trees to get past. A trail through the woods leads to hole 16 (old hole 10, from old 14 tee) then hole 17 is old hole 13 and hole 18 is old hole 14 (from old 10 tee).

The old layout was a classic, the best course on the north side of the metroplex along with Towne Lake. This new layout preserves as much as possible while adding a new dimension to the course. Three very wooded holes, a very long hole, and 15 backward replace 8 (the easiest old hole), 9 (the longest old hole), 11 (another of the longest old holes), and 12. I'd say it's a fair trade plus the routing works well. The course really needs all new signage but that's all that is missing. A very well done redesign; huge thanks to DD Carrollton.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

17 of 17 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.