Baytown, TX 
Evergreen Flyways DGC Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ   (Taken 1/2017)
Practice Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Great Course in Unexpected Place

2-4    12/28/2017   12/29/2017
Review By: blake833
Played: 33  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 8.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: An absolutely beautiful course built on an old ball golf course, Evergreen made the change very well. The holes tend to be long (two 800+ft), but most are reasonable, and a few pretty short. And as Ricky Wysocki showed at the Texas Championships, they are all birdieable.

In suit with a pro course, the teepads are excellent, full-size concrete pads, the baskets are in great condition, and being on an old ball course, the greens are phenomenal. This park also drains incredibly well. I played after a couple days of steady light rain, and there were no puddles, and no mud on the fairways.

Basket 15 is on a brick embankment, with the cliff side facing the basket. Either you have a super high layup, or you throw onto the green and risk missing the basket and walking all the way back down. Messes with your mind.

There are many iconic holes on this course, and in 18 holes you never feel a sense of redundancy, or that you played that hole already. I think that's pretty incredible in an 18 hole course of this size.

The layout over the former ball course is fluid, and fits together nicely. The only chance you have to throw into another player would be an exTREMEly errant drive from maybe one or two holes. It's nearly impossible, especially at this level of play

Here's the biggest pro: The open yet challenging holes. When you walk up to the tee for the first time it seems like just another open drive, but when you start to plan it out, you begin to think, "I bet I could make it to the basket if I just..." and you go for it. This is a course that will grow you as a player.
Cons: I think all the cons it has are in the process of being improved:

There is no signage at the tees, or at the beginning of the course. But small mounts for signs are in place with distances on them.

A lot of the fairways and approaches are fairly open, but some small trees have been planted, and after they grow in it should be an even more fun course.

Some of the water on this course, you have to throw to blind. There's some small hills that hides how far inland the pond cuts in behind it. So you think you'll have a great drive, to walk up the dune and see you're in water.

Wind can be a factor on this course. That generally goes for every course, but it's particular openness, and adjacency to the Houston Ship Channel, makes this course particularly prone to a good breeze.

This is not a course for beginners and learners. Some holes already have shorter tee pads, and I bet they'll do that for all of the holes.
Other Thoughts: The water in this course is a huge factor, but then again it's not. You are never forced to throw over water, except on 8 and 9, and that's a shallow, narrow creek. The holes by the big ponds have ways around. My friend Cody Miller only gave me one piece of advice before I played the course: "don't be a hero." That didn't stop me from losing a disc...

This is a wonderful course, worth a drive out of the way to try it out. Once it's all spruced up with signage and shorter teepads, it would be an easy 4.5, maybe 5 disc course

This is a pro-level course. It is not for beginners (yet, but maybe once the rest of the tee pads are in).

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Big, Bad Evergreen

5+    7/15/2017   11/15/2017
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 218  Reviewed: 156  Exp: 5.7 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I've noticed that courses that are built on old/current golf courses can be real hit or miss. Evergreen Flyways is one that is a hit. It has a wide variety of hole length and shots, from a booming 800' hole 8 with a short water carry at the end, to shorter holes like hole 9 that involve a little bit of finesse.

Water is abundant on the course, but I look of this as a pro on this course because it forces you to play safe or play more aggressively. Hole 3 is a perfect example of that as it gives you a lay up option a few times on the couple water crossings or you could play two big shots over water for a chance at a 3.

There is a small amount of elevation, but I thought it was executed well. Nate Sexton, who played the course in March 2017, agreed that the baskets and tees were placed well with the elevation in certain parts of the course, holes 4 and 5, I believe.

The course is brand new so there are new concrete tees, some of the longer holes have shorter tees, which is nice. The baskets are also brand new as well. The course is very picturesque.
Cons: The reason I think some disc golf courses are not good on old ball golf courses is because of the lack trees and obstacles, which is just a fundamental difference between the two games. Evergreen Flyway is no exception to that as there is little to no "woods" shots minus hole 16. It is very much a wide open course, but the trees that are present to add difficulty on otherwise easy holes.

Navigation is not really an issue, but it would be nice for tee signs or other markers. This is more of a nit pick issue.

With the close proximity to the Ship Channel, the wind can be an issue at times
Other Thoughts: This definitely is not a course to bring a first timer to come and play. It is a challenging, long course that will wear you down. Personally, I like it; I feel it fits my play style better, so obviously that reflects my high rating.

With this course and a solid Jenkins Park up the road, Baytown has a solid line up of courses.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

This Course Should Only Be Played By Guys Who Play It With Their Shirts Off!

1    9/30/2017   10/2/2017
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1180  Reviewed: 1125  Exp: 39.7 Years
This review was updated on 10/4/2017
10 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Notice, I didn't mention the female persuasion in my title. I believe I'll stay away from any reference of them playing without shirts on. What my title refers to is, if you still have abs and you're willing to show them off, then this course is probably a fine course for you. If you don't take your shirt off in public, then you might want to head over to Bayou Bend for an easy nine.

So this golf course like piece of land is prone to flooding. I understand that. What I don't quite understand is, who maintains this huge tract of land? And foots the bill?

The course featured my first ever alligator warning sign and then kept telling me to throw over ponds just slightly smaller than Lake Erie. Some I passed on, others I conservatively played around and on one, I splashed down on and was able to pull my disc out using this long stick.

The restroom was open today. After my 18, splashing water on my face without alligators in it was most refreshing. There is no signage here. My theory is, the designers knew that showing you the distance on those water carries would cause some nervous disorder syndrome. The tees are nice and long. The Discatchers are attached to a big circular concrete base. I don't think anyone will be walking off with a basket or a gator .

# 1 starts you off with a 350' hole with a water carry but you could play around to the right if you have your shirt on.

# 2. It's 400' over the pond. You probably need to throw 300' to clear the water. At this point, the realization hit me that this course was bigger than me.

# 3. 630'' with a water carry but there are short tees for guys with their shirts on.

# 5. I was happy to see the tee pad placed at the top of the small hill. Nice design.

# 8. 815'. This is golf hole on a disc golf course. An awesome looking hole. About 600' out is water. So I think strong armed shirtless players will be looking at throwing over it on their second shot. This might be the signature hole for some but I thought # 15 was more signature.

# 9 is a fun 200' shit over water to an slightly elevated basket.

# 15 has both long and shorts. It's another beautiful hole. The basket sits atop a cinder block wall with a fairly small landing zone. It' s lovely and challenging and evil all at the same time. I love it.

My initial thought on # 18 was this in one boring hole to finish with, 550' and wide open. There is a nice looking elevated basket here. I think the designer missed a golden opportunity here to transform this open boring hole to an awesome finishing hole. There is this large water feature here that is no longer in operation. I would put about 16 basket sleeves all around and in this water feature and change the basket everyday. It's pleading with you to incorporate this feature in hole 18. Players would want to come play it every day just to see which cool placement was used that day. Then move the elevated basket to another hole which could use some spiceing up.

Update: Two players have messaged me concerning my concern about the # 18 basket location. The story is the designers originally placed the basket up on the water feature hill. The neighbors didn't like the looks of it and requested that it be moved to a less visible location. Too bad.


Cons: There was only one other group playing on this beautiful Sunday morning. The course is just too big and intimidating for most players.

Add a second set of shorter tees on each hole. This would increase your participation.

The elevated baskets are very pretty and well constructed but other than that, they don't play much different. Add two more feet onto the # 9 basket and really make it a challenging putt.

Definitely, move the # 18 basket up and on the water feature. And then change it up often.

Please add some signage like Bayou Bend DGC has. They are lovely and they are vandal proof.
Other Thoughts: This course is so interesting, exciting, long, beautiful and treacherous. But it's so limited in the players who can actually compete here. Adding short tee pads on every hole would bring in those players who play with their shirts on. They want to experience this beautiful course but they have to be able to play it without being completely overwhelmed by it's length and water carries and alligators.

10 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Bring bug spray and disc retiever

1    6/3/2017   6/5/2017
Review By: SportyTX
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Well designed course. I believe it is the best course in the Houston area.
Varied hole distances with elevation changes.
Cons: Lack of signage-
Lots of mosquitoes
My threesome threw 6 disc in the water. Bring a retriever or extra discs.
Other Thoughts: Check out the 2017 Texas State Championships on youtube to get a good preview of this course.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Destination Disc Golf in Baytown

2-4    5/26/2017   5/26/2017
Review By: coyotepower
Played: 57  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 12.4 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Country Club Disc Golf
-Beautiful and Scenic
-Outstanding Challenge for all levels
-Exemplary Design and use of land available
-YouTube Videos to watch afterward of the TXDGC and wonder how the hell Ricky shot -17 on the GOLDS!!
Cons: -Lost Discs. R.I.P. Feldberg Boss. R.I.P. Neutron Wave
Other Thoughts: This course is just an amazing experience. A must-play in the area. Houston is generally blessed with great weather and a lot of parkland that floods 5 days a year so there cannot be any houses. This course is an actual prime piece of property that Baytown has been kind enough to entertain Disc Golf as a park option. The Park is now home to fishing, excellent walking paths and the beauty of discs flying.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Lost and Found

1    5/13/2017   5/15/2017
Review By: piratestros
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.5 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Being an ex golf course it gives it a feel of a golf course. Some sand bunkers are still around but no a problem. If your in for a challenge this course will give it too. It still has a mystic to it.
Very challenging.
Cons: Could loose a disc or two. Grass burrs are taking over were the original putting surfaces are. Poison ivy on 16 also sticker bushes.
Other Thoughts: There is always a chance that you can loose your disc. And on this course It's a higher possibly with all the water around.
Its a challenging course. But most of all take a friend and have fun.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Potentially one of the greats, with some gunfire

1    4/15/2017   4/15/2017
Review By: Kursk
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.1 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Amazing greens and course design.

Plenty of water that works for both strong and newer players alike.
Amazingly quiet and peaceful. A looooooong peaceful walk.

They do have bathrooms and an amazing spot to have picnics or large group outings.
Cons: Water water everywhere. There is a reason there is an "Evergreen Ate My Discs" group.

The bathroom was under construction and full of construction materials but it was at least there and it worked.

Desperately needs some signage. Any signage.

Needs water fountains. There aren't any convenience stores nearby so make sure you take plenty of fluids with you.
Other Thoughts: Evergreen could easily be one of the great courses out there. The design is spectacular with a blend of short and ridiculously long holes. Waterfalls and woods make the course a really relaxing course.

8 and 18 are gorgeous and are real hallmarks.

In the field behind the course, people were training duck dogs to retrieve so you did have the sound of shotgun fire. That was the only non-nature sound I heard. That is if you call the sound of a disc going into the water natural...there was a fair amount of that sound.

As long as the course stays maintained, it will be a well known must play course.

Make sure to download the image of the course or you will get lost. Even with it, it was confusing at times.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Walking with nature.

1    4/15/2017   4/15/2017
Review By: dockrebs
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.7 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This was our first trip to this DGC. Other than it is the largest DGC I have played at to date, it was an awesome experience.

It is very quiet. You can hear nature and watch it as it moves around you.

Lots of room for making practice shots.

Trash cans where their needed.
Cons: No master map at the front of the property to guide you through the course.

No paper course maps available except online.

No direction or par signs are available along the course and tee decks are not marked.

No seating available along the course, especially at the 9th hole.

Lots of food & beverage trash found about the course.
Other Thoughts: A very wonderful course! Looking forward to playing here again.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Now this was fun

1    4/6/2017   4/7/2017
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 405  Reviewed: 213  Exp: 29.8 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Tee pads for the blue tees
Nice use of the elevation, tree's, and water
Cons: Needs tee signs, although it was not too hard to follow
Other Thoughts: This use to be a golf course so man made hills and ponds really make the course pretty.

Love the finishing hole 18, basket located on the top of a hill with a waterfall behind the basket.

Played the gold tees used for this years Texas States. I wish I had just played the tee boxes, I don't have a big arm and I was worn out throwing hard all day.

Course makes good use of both the ponds and hills made for the ball golf course. Even some of the bunkers make for good OB spots on the course.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Fly with green, evergreen

2-4    3/24/2017   3/30/2017
Review By: richspor
Played: 45  Reviewed: 9
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a new course as of 2017 I believe. All of the baskets reflect that and are in perfect condition to catch discs. The concrete tee pads were nicely done on all holes. It's a picturesque course and has a great feel/vibe to it. Hole 8 is surely the signature hole. 18 holes of challenging and fun golf here for sure.
Cons: Navigating the course is tricky for newcomers with no map/guide. Use the DGCR map if you think you may need it.

You will probably lose discs here given the large amount of water. I must be cautious not to lose 100s of dollars in plastic.

No tee signs yet. I'm hoping they are coming.

Practice basket could be in a more simplistic place.
Other Thoughts: The course can have windy conditions. The parking is plentiful. The ball golf putting green is cool to have to be able to practice on if you bring the sticks too.

I liked this old golf course and had many great rounds on it. I'm happy it is now and still a golf course I can play on though. Enjoy!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.