Semmes, AL 
The Admiral Share
Uploaded By: enragedmullet Hole #7 (Taken 2/2017)
3 / 177ft.   3 / 246ft.   3 / 246ft. Par / Distance:
Which door do you choose?



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Very Admirable Admiral

1    4/23/2017   6/10/2017
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 326  Reviewed: 218  Exp: 14.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Admiral is a standard top notch Houck design. It has not got the elevation changes that I like so well at some of his other courses Ive been to, but definitely makes the most of the land. Of course, the tees baskets and signs are new and the finest quality. There are multiple tees on every hole, and each one gives an interesting alternative rather than just adding or subtracting distance.

The layout is long, with 7 par 4's, and 2 par 5's. Many of the longer holes will offer multiple lines to approach the baskets, and some of the shorter ones do to. Two ponds are in play, one next to holes 7 and 9, and the other on hole 11. While it is over 8000', half of the course are par 3's, and many of them are reachable from the tee for birdies. The front and back 9 each begin and end near the parking lot if you would only want to play 9 for some reason.

Most of the holes have a healthy number of trees, but the fairways do provide viable routes and strategic landing zones to aim for on the longer holes. Terrain is flat for the most part.
Cons: Outside of my poor play, I don't have much to list under cons. I wish I could have spent the time to play a second round here. Control and accuracy are a must if you expect to stay around par, and I just didn't have it after a weekend full of travel and partying at a music festival. I lost a disc at hole 11, my tee shot was terrible, and reached far enough into the water that I didn't even try poking around to retrieve it.
Other Thoughts: This course has a sort of funky layout, but its easy enough to follow, with great maps and signage. It is beautifully equipped and installed.

I would be happy to play this course dozens of times annually. It doesn't have a stand above all others signature hole, but it is full of great quality holes, with nice variations throughout and versatility that will challenge amateurs and pros alike.

I was not playing very good, and scored a 7 over (72) on the single round I played. Made birdie deuces on holes 3 and 7. Also bagged 7 bogeys and finished the epic 18th hole with a double bogey.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Permission to come abroad the ADMIRAL

1    3/18/2017   3/29/2017
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 422  Reviewed: 193  Exp: 7.2 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has 3 sets of pads and the pads themselves are very ample. The signage is excellent as well. There is a great mix of short, moderate, and longer holes. I love the fact that there are multiple pads which all present different lines to challenge the players. There are few holes in which water comes into play to add to the challenge here.
The kiosk at the start of the course is a great informative overview of the course.
The elevation here is awesome and many of the holes are technical in nature.
There are both uphill and downhill shots here and dog leg left and right holes too.
The flow of the course is logical and there are directional arrows throughout to help guide you. There are trashcans and benches here too.
Cons: Long walk from 6's basket to 7's tee and 8's basket to 9's tee slows the flow of the round down a bit.
There were a few stumps here or there that needed to be flush with the ground so be careful.
These are minor cons however.
Other Thoughts: You need to have a solid control game to score decent on this course. It will challenge your shot shaping abilities as well as test your mental focus. I chose to play from the white tees upon my visit and would love to go back and experience this course from the other 2 sets of tees as well.
Hole 11 was one of my favorite holes with the basket being positioned up on a bank on the south side of the little pond. It had a good amount of length plus the water threat to keep you on your toes.
There is a splash park across the road from the course if the family would like to tag along and recreate while you are playing.

Being as this is John Houck's 100th course he really hit this one out of the park. I recently went on a week long disc golf excursion and this was one of the courses that I was looking forward to playing the most. It didn't disappoint and I want to go back so bad and play the other 2 sets of tees. I really wished it was possible to give this course a 4.75 as its that good.
This IS a destination course and a must play if you love quality disc golf.
This is a quality disc golf course that the locals are spoiled to have at their disposal. Even if you have to drive a few hours to get to this course do yourself a favor and make it out to The Admiral. You will thank yourself.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Lives up to its name

1    2/20/2017   2/21/2017
Review By: enragedmullet
Played: 60  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 5.8 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Free to play/Baskets in great condition/concrete tees for pro am and rec

- great signage, for the most part, including next tee signs

- the course is more or less a figure 8 in that after 9 and 18 you're back pretty close to parking and such. (the actual layout is very much not an 8 though)

- well maintained

- benches, trash cans and port-o-john - check, check, and check

- great variety of hole lengths, pars, types of shots needed and layout - there are some really creative, fun holes here the likes of which are not seen elsewhere in Mobile. Lines are present, some are obvious, and some are tight, requiring more precision

- natural elevation of the area is used nicely. the gradual slope of some areas hides baskets from view and forces you to think three-dimensionally.
Cons: - Seems a little cramped. See below.

- I played with dry conditions, but I can see how the holes near the pond are going to get muddy after long rains. Specifically 12 and 13.

- This will probably go away as time passes as the course is still new but, if you end up off the fairway at anytime - be sure to pick up your feet. there are still plenty of short stumps left behind from clearing that are the perfect height for tripping over.
Other Thoughts: The Admiral has quickly garnered a reputation as Mobile's new badass course. I can't say I disagree. It's a well thought out and challenging (yet fun) course that forces you to pull out all the stops. There are challenges here you won't find on other courses in Mobile.

There are some cool holes out here, and not just necessarily the long ones. Hole 7 in particular has a great aesthetic to it. Short, but fun. The question is which (corri)door will you choose? (see map). Also Hole 12 comes to mind. Though perhaps a little gimmicky, the main obstacle is a large strip of earth maybe 3'-4' tall running directly across your throwing path, forcing you to think of elevation in a different way, behind which there are sufficient trees to provide the basket with protection from potential ace runs.

As stated above it seems a little cramped. If it weren't for the signage present and course map I can see how someone could get turned around on some holes. Especially when you get done with say, hole 17, and the nearest basket you see is marked 5.

The course is still in its infancy and opinions may change over time but for now, the Admiral is already one of the top courses in the county. The residents of Semmes are probably happy they don't have to drive all the way to Mobile for great DG now, and rightfully so. It's a great challenge of a course; definitely not one that I'd bring a first timer to.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great course!

5+    1/24/2017   1/24/2017
Review By: contrast
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: Unique course to the area. 8,000+ft. Multiple par 4's and 5's. Nice variety of holes. Red, white, and blue tees. Benches and trash cans on every hole. Great signage. Bathrooms on site.
Cons: New course, so there's still some thick areas just off the fairways. A few long transitions, but there's signs in place to keep you on track.

1 of 16 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.