Fort Washington, PA 
Fort Washington DGC Share
Uploaded By: will1442 Hole #8 (Taken 10/2017)
3 / 215ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Great course that's expanding

5+    2/10/2019   2/10/2019
Review By: Scott12701
Played: 40  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 28.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fort Washington DGC is located in beautiful Fort Washington State Park and was originally a boy scout project using object poles. After years of neglect, it was transformed into a top notch, 9 hole course with 2 or 3 (basket) pin placements per hole. Each hole has two permanent baskets - Red (short) & Silver (long). The course is challenging but fair, with most of the course traversing the woods with plenty of trees to navigate. All holes have a clear cut fairway, where good throws are rewarded and bad throws are penalized. Throughout the woods, the rough consists of thick sticker bushes adding difficulty to the scramble, forcing players to use a variety of shots to get up and down.
Tee pads are brick, and there are Tee signs on every hole indicating yardage with a clear picture of the hole. The course is easy to navigate, with clear cut paths between holes leaving little confusion as to where the next tee box is located. All holes are currently par 3, except for the C pin on Hole 4, which is a 500' par 4.
There is another 9 holes currently in development waiting approval from the State Park. Two of those 9 holes are in the preapproved area and are cleared for development. Hole #10 was recently finished/cleared with the exception of placing the permanent baskets.
Overall this in an excellent course that is beautifully maintained, well designed, and challenging and fun to play. With the multiple pin placements per hole, you can easily play a full 18 hole round without playing the same hole the same way twice. It is a must play for anyone visiting or passing through the southeast PA / Fort Washington area.
Pros: Beautiful scenery. Highly maintained. Well designed. Clear fairways provide a clear line on every hole. Good shots rewarded. Bad shots penalized.
Cons: Tee boxes could be a little bigger and can be slippery when wet.
The course gets muddy after heavy rains.
Not an overly "long" course. Only a few holes allow for a true grip it and rip it (if you're looking for that type of course)
Other Thoughts: When the remainder of the back 9 is installed, this will be an excellent 18 hole course that should attract disc golfers of all skill levels. Hole #11 should be cleared by Spring 2019.
A number of the holes have been lengthened to make the long (silver) placement more challenging. Holes 4, 7 & 8 were all lengthened in 2018.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Extremely Clean And Most Enjoyable Nine!

1    4/29/2018   4/29/2018
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1379  Reviewed: 1294  Exp: 40.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The DGC at Ft. Washington State Park is a super clean, enjoyable little nine hole play. At the beginning is a kiosk with scorecards and other information. The tee pads are brick with a nice clean border. There is even a shoe cleaner at the first pad. The pads each have a house number. The signs are laminated, colored ones. They look great but obliviously won't stand up to any teen vandals. The baskets are Chainstars complete with next tee arrows. Each sign list two distances for the different basket placements but there isn't anyway for you to know which placement-Long or Short, the basket is currently in. There are also quite a few next tee signs here making navigation easy.

The course plays at a comfortable recreational level. With the baskets set at the Longs, holes can be up to 85' longer, with the longest playing out to 460'.

# 7 is my choice as signature hole here. It's 320' and slightly downhill. The basket is visible down yonder sitting in a pretty little, grassy area. The toughest part here is hitting 30' gap about 200' ahead with deep rough on both sides, with maybe worse on your left. I also liked the next hole, # 8. It plays 165-215', depending on where the basket is set and like # 7, is a very pretty little hole.

Another plus here is I don't think there is the state park fee to get into this park. I didn't see any kind of a ticket booth.
Cons: Laminated tee signs won't withstand the forces of the dreaded teenagers.

No system of knowing which position the basket is in today.

No terribly challenging for better players.

Muddy/boggy in places.
Other Thoughts: This is a very nice, 9 hole course. It's currently a bit overrated at 3.60. It's extremely clean, does have a nice design and flow and does have some pretty holes. But in the end, it is only 9 holes and lacks that epic hole or scary water carry. It's also just a touch above a recreational course which is great for a below average rec player such as myself. But I believe, younger better players will want more challenge than this.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Nice Local Course

1    9/26/2017   10/1/2017
Review By: itsRudy
Played: 33  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 2.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/16/2017
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First tee is located 40.116208, -75.228925 on Google Maps, near the end of parking lot 2. Tees 2 and 4 can be accessed at parking lot 3 with a little bushwacking. Has the nicest restrooms ever seen in a State Park, on parking lot 1 and 3.

Even though the signage is pretty good, it's recommended to snap a photo of the course map presented near tee 1. There is only one big difference right now between the map and actual course, the middle section shows as a big clear area but right now is unmowed with heavy growth.

This seems to be a very nice revamped course. These are the best tees in the greater local area, other than French Creek, both in size and just quality (as of writing, tees 7, 8, and 9 still unfinished).

Begins with a few short shots and then has distance throughout. Backhand and forehand were useful on various drives. Most are straight drives are gentle curves. There are no water hazards to lose discs on. Someone with a decent arm and aim can probably drive to the circle of the basket on almost every hole.
Cons: It's a dense forest on parts, discs may be effectively lost on bad, long drives on some holes, particularly on 5 - if you're in a rush.
Other Thoughts: A well worth 9 hole course, would drive about 15-20m out of my way to get here in this area. Wish I was around here more often.

Terrain: Forest with decent-sized fairways but brush/growth on all sides for most holes.
Chance of Losing Disc: Low-Medium, greatest on holes 5-6-7 imo. No water hazards though.
Challenge: Low-Medium for precision throwers. Medium otherwise.
Crowded: Not when I was there, weekday.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 First Timer!!

1    7/25/2017   7/25/2017
Review By: Gliz
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Varying Types of Shots
-Lots of Elevation Play
-Very Clear and Maintained Fairways
-Great Parking
-Signage to Lead to Pads Everywhere
-I Saw Some Deer!
Cons: -Very, very bad roughs. Losing a disc on a nuffle is a good possibility.
-Narrow Fairways in Many Places
-Pads were mucky and not so great
Other Thoughts: I really did have a blast at this course. I wish I lived closer. The elevation play was fantastic and not overbearing as some elevation play could be. Some of the holes were just very cleverly laid out and fun. Hole seven and hole eight were both a blast I thought. On a couple less than spectacular throws, I clipped a tree and almost lost a disc to the extremely high grass. I will certainly be coming back however when I get back up this way. Thanks a bunch for the great time!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/7/2017   4/10/2017
Review By: matthew215fisher
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 12/7/2018
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great 9 hole course with tremendous upside:

- New baskets
- Impressive new course design
- Plenty different types of throws
- Different elevation and shots
- Defined fairways
- Nice signage for next tees
- Willing group of locals to improve further
Cons: - Thorns off the fairways are rough, though they have be thinned (much less thorns now)
- Tee pads are "ok" but could be upgraded (TEES HAVE BEEN UPGRADED)
- Only 9 holes (2 baskets on each hole now)
- Yield to non golfers, so of the local walkers are clueless
Other Thoughts: I'm a bit of a homer since this course is 5 minutes from my house and I've helped a bit with the gentleman heading up the revitalization. In other words, this course has a special place in my heart, so my rating might be a half a star too much BUT this course really is the best 9 hole offering in the area. Located between other busy courses, this is a great alternative or perfect warm up course to the bigger, more crowed 18 hole courses nearby. Come check it out and I'm sure you won't be disappointed. My favorite hole is #7 and the signature hole is #8.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice 9

5+    4/9/2017   4/10/2017
Review By: RuthlessDiscGolf
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Played this course years ago when it was just posts and I thought how great it would be to have baskets. Low and behold they are here now! Nice layout with elevation and a mix of a couple long holes and a couple that you can get a possible Ace. I live close by so this will be my new "home course" I hope that this draws more players to the park. I would love to see another 9 put in. Facilities are well kept and bathrooms are clean. Very nice State Park.
Cons: Still under construction so tee pads need a little work.

Stay on the fairways, a lot of Thorns!
Other Thoughts: Plays fairly quick, good for that quick game on the way home from work.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fun little course

5+    3/21/2017   3/22/2017
Review By: will1442
Played: 13  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.7 Years
This review was updated on 9/14/2017
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Played this course for the first time last night and I have to say I am impressed with what they have done with it.
-Good variety of short and long holes
-Some very cool and unique holes
-Nice new Tee Pads
-Works in many different shots
Cons: -only 9 holes
-Lots of Thorns
Other Thoughts:

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.