Fort Washington, PA 
Fort Washington DGC Share
Uploaded By: Scott12701 Hole #17 (Taken 10/2020)
3 / 343ft.   4 / 404ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Red Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
True Gem

2-4    10/31/2020   11/3/2020
Review By: kindableu
Played: 105  Reviewed: 15
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -well designed, two baskets on every hole give a ton of great layout options
-great signage tee pads and a bench on every almost every hole
-beautiful course that nailed that grass fairway through the woods look perfectly
-not having a big arm won't hurt you on the par 4s and 5 where accuracy is rewarded more than distance
-definitely a use every shot you've got type of course
-excellent use of elevation and downed large trees
-even though it can be crowded the design really hides the other players from you despite them
Playing only a few feet away
Cons: -the rough is rough! It definitely pays to
Be accurate because when you are off the fairway you are in a sticker bush.
-if you are playing the Longs, while the par 4s are gettable for non pros some of the par 3s definitely are only birdie opportunities for the pros. Not a huge con but you need to realize you are playing for par on a few holes if you don't have 400ft power

And that's about it, this course went through a lot of evolutions and in its final form the designers obviously knew what it should be.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course, there really aren't bad holes. The par 4+ require accuracy and a good game plan for how to attack them. The short baskets are still really great holes mixing in precarious approaches and technical shots

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

A Work in Progress

2-4    6/1/2020   6/6/2020
Review By: In The Rough
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Even though a majority of the course is wooded, every hole has a "fair" fairway...sometimes more demanding and sometimes more forgiving, but there is always a legitimate path to aim for.

The holes flow nicely from one to the next, and where "next tee" signs are present makes this even easier.

I loved being able to play both the short and the long pins...felt like two different courses at times.

New tee pads (with awesome benches made from logs) are great...and worked exceptionally well even after some of our recent heavy rains.
Cons: There is nothing "wrong" with the course, but it also does not have enough charm (lacks a signature hole) to draw you back. I'll keep playing because it is close to home, but it is not a destination course (yet).
Other Thoughts: While my review thus far hasn't been exceedingly flattering, I have to give HUGE kudos to the recent upgrades. You can see what the course was compared to where it is, and your work is terrific...KEEP IT UP! And as you continue to make improvements (like permanent signs), try to get a bit more creative with a few of your pin placements (hang one from a tree? start a hole in the woods that finishes out...or vice versa)

I can't wait to revise this review after more upgrades have been made.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Good course, getting better

1    8/22/2019   8/25/2019
Review By: HyooMac
Played: 158  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 3.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
+ A good park course featuring 11 holes with alternate pin positions

+ Plenty of parking (use lot #2), a practice basket, a lost disc box, and bulletin board

+ Good new teepads, great new Chainstar Pro baskets in the "red" positions

+ The alternative baskets positions are pretty close to one another (you can usually see both from the tee), but they're just different enough that playing the course twice makes for a fun round of 22 holes

+ A few holes with nice touches, giving the course some extra personality: The elevated teeshot on #7 is into a narrow alley guarded by a huge tree that's fallen diagonally across the mouth of the opening, and the new basket on #8 is placed atop a fallen tree trunk that lays across the green - creating an elevated basket

Cons:
- The original painted map near the first tee shows only the initial 9 holes (and I think the tee positions are out of date too). You can use uDisc. The navigation is also pretty straightforward - and you'll notice the old tees (which were probably set up for the old baskets) along the fairways

- #10 and #11 are the newest holes, and they're missing signage. I had to walk around a little (especially on #11) to figure out the holes. I didn't find a teepad for 11. I imagine this is all still work in progress

Other Thoughts:
~ Although this course is set in a heavily wooded park, the holes have well-defined (if narrow) fairways. There are some guardian trees, and some of the baskets are tucked away, but this isn't "woods golf" requiring really tight lines

~ The course obviously gets a lot of attention, both from the park staff and from a supporting club or volunteers. Thank You!

~ This is a great example of an original design evolving and getting better. On many of the holes you'll find the old tee areas (brick frames in the ground), and you can see what the original hole was. In almost all cases, the new (longer) tees, and new baskets really improve the holes. The additional benefit is that by putting in tees, you've improved both the original hole (by making it a little longer), AND created a whole new challenge by placing a second basket


2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Grrrrrreat

5+    6/20/2019   4/21/2019
Review By: FTWbushwacker
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/9/2020
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: challenging and unforgiving rough. Straight thorns on thorns. You have to hit your fairways unless you want to play army golf amongst the thorns (barbed wire. This is a pro, don't get me wrong. The course is much more strategic than it appears and the course makes you throw intentionally and specifically, rather than hard and low or some other vague aiming.
Cons: unforgiving, especially during dense foliage
Other Thoughts: love this course, and the way it makes way your options

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Great 9 hole course

5+    2/16/2019   2/21/2019
Review By: owvanguard
Played: 152  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 12.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Two baskets on every hole
Paver tee pads
Great course flow
Lost and found box at tee of hole 1
Great supporting club
Cons: The rough as many thorns
Other Thoughts: I rate this course as a RED level course (850 - 900) and subsequently will be enjoyed by players of this level the most.

This 9 hole course will be an 18 hole course by the end of 2019. The fairway of hole 10 has been cleared.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great course that's expanding

5+    2/10/2019   2/10/2019
Review By: Scott12701
Played: 59  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 30.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/28/2020
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fort Washington DGC is located in beautiful Fort Washington State Park and was originally a boy scout project using object poles. After years of neglect, it was transformed into a top notch, 9 hole course with 2 or 3 (basket) pin placements per hole. Each hole has two permanent baskets - Red (short) & Silver (long). The course is challenging but fair, with most of the course traversing the woods with plenty of trees to navigate. All holes have a clear cut fairway, where good throws are rewarded and bad throws are penalized. Throughout the woods, the rough consists of thick sticker bushes adding difficulty to the scramble, forcing players to use a variety of shots to get up and down.
Tee pads are brick, and there are Tee signs on every hole indicating yardage with a clear picture of the hole. The course is easy to navigate, with clear cut paths between holes leaving little confusion as to where the next tee box is located. A good variety of Par 3s and Par 4s, and even a Par 5 (Hole 10 Red).
Overall this in an excellent course that is beautifully maintained, well designed, and challenging and fun to play. With the multiple pin placements per hole, you can play a full 18 hole round many times over without playing the same layout twice. It is a must play for anyone visiting or passing through the southeast PA / Fort Washington area.
Pros: Beautiful scenery. Highly maintained. Well designed. Clear fairways provide a clear line on every hole. Good shots rewarded. Bad shots penalized.
Cons: Tee boxes could be a little bigger and can be slippery when wet.
The course gets muddy after heavy rains.
Not an overly "long" course. Only a few holes allow for a true grip it and rip it (if you're looking for that type of course)
Other Thoughts: Now a FULL 18 Holes!! (as of August 2020)

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Extremely Clean And Most Enjoyable Nine!

1    4/29/2018   4/29/2018
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1505  Reviewed: 1450  Exp: 42.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The DGC at Ft. Washington State Park is a super clean, enjoyable little nine hole play. At the beginning is a kiosk with scorecards and other information. The tee pads are brick with a nice clean border. There is even a shoe cleaner at the first pad. The pads each have a house number. The signs are laminated, colored ones. They look great but obliviously won't stand up to any teen vandals. The baskets are Chainstars complete with next tee arrows. Each sign list two distances for the different basket placements but there isn't anyway for you to know which placement-Long or Short, the basket is currently in. There are also quite a few next tee signs here making navigation easy.

The course plays at a comfortable recreational level. With the baskets set at the Longs, holes can be up to 85' longer, with the longest playing out to 460'.

# 7 is my choice as signature hole here. It's 320' and slightly downhill. The basket is visible down yonder sitting in a pretty little, grassy area. The toughest part here is hitting 30' gap about 200' ahead with deep rough on both sides, with maybe worse on your left. I also liked the next hole, # 8. It plays 165-215', depending on where the basket is set and like # 7, is a very pretty little hole.

Another plus here is I don't think there is the state park fee to get into this park. I didn't see any kind of a ticket booth.
Cons: Laminated tee signs won't withstand the forces of the dreaded teenagers.

No system of knowing which position the basket is in today.

No terribly challenging for better players.

Muddy/boggy in places.
Other Thoughts: This is a very nice, 9 hole course. It's currently a bit overrated at 3.60. It's extremely clean, does have a nice design and flow and does have some pretty holes. But in the end, it is only 9 holes and lacks that epic hole or scary water carry. It's also just a touch above a recreational course which is great for a below average rec player such as myself. But I believe, younger better players will want more challenge than this.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Course Near the Conshohocken Ikea

5+    8/13/2020   10/1/2017
Review By: itsRudy
Played: 45  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/14/2020
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Everytime I come here there's something new and positive to the experience. It has a very involved club and that's always spells good things for a course. It was easily the best 9er in the area the first time I came here and now it's growing to be an 18er, which I expect will be done within the year and polished by next summer.

Tees are excellent and well sized, bricks in a frame, about 10'x6'. They mostly give me a good experience. All holes have two baskets, DGA iirc (?) and a more distant Chainstar Pro. More often than not, the chainstars adds to the course. Beginners and Intermediates can feel at home here.

The course is forested with generally generous fairways on each hole with a few exception. The rough gets less rough every year but a bad throw will still land you in rough brush. It's feels mostly flat, 6 and 7 are downhill but I didn't feel much of an uphill on the first five although it has to be there. There is no water on the course, which for me is a plus.
Cons:
I have to update everytime I visit and I feel my review is outdated by the time I type it? Work-in-Progress and lots of progress. Most cons feel transient.

Consider my point rating for the original nine still. It's said there is 17 holes now, I know the original course well enough, with much trouble I found three or four more holes off of #7 basket, going right. The new but transient ad hoc signs were't really all that helpful in pointing me in the right direction of new holes. UDisk had no complete maps after 13 nor did the course itself. There was a lot of chainsawing going on so I wasn't eager to find the rest of the new ones anyway at that moment. I may be stupid but I ain't dumb.

#6 and especially #7 with all that underbrush are where disc loss will occur.

Yesterday (drizzly) the tees were rather slippery like there's a layer of algae growing on them. Most tees are flush but there are a few that look like I can fly off of and prematurely end my promising career in the prestigious noodle arm league.

The distant chainstars have the effect of feeling like the real hole as they take that extra turn or whatever and make the shorter baskets feel like less developed holes unto themselves.

About the only real gripe is that it's busy, especially on weekends! Park crowd is mostly away from the course but there are a lot of players. If you like to play alone, check local club events and do it early on a weekday.

Field Practice space seems limited to the field on neighboring Parking Lot #3, which is also on a similar incline as the course.

There are a few other minor nitpicks, like laminated paper signs on the original nine, well illustrated, but I assume the medium is temporary.
Other Thoughts:
Starting Point: First tee is located 40.116208, -75.228925 (Google Maps), near the end of Parking Lot 2. Tees 2 and 4 can be accessed through parking lot 3 with a little bushwacking.

Amenities: Has the nicest restrooms ever seen in a State Park, on parking lots 1 and 3. All the original nine holes now have generous benches. Surprisingly, on this course or section of park, there wasn't a trash can to be found although the distant bathrooms have them.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  First Timer!!

1    7/25/2017   7/25/2017
Review By: Gliz
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Varying Types of Shots
-Lots of Elevation Play
-Very Clear and Maintained Fairways
-Great Parking
-Signage to Lead to Pads Everywhere
-I Saw Some Deer!
Cons: -Very, very bad roughs. Losing a disc on a nuffle is a good possibility.
-Narrow Fairways in Many Places
-Pads were mucky and not so great
Other Thoughts: I really did have a blast at this course. I wish I lived closer. The elevation play was fantastic and not overbearing as some elevation play could be. Some of the holes were just very cleverly laid out and fun. Hole seven and hole eight were both a blast I thought. On a couple less than spectacular throws, I clipped a tree and almost lost a disc to the extremely high grass. I will certainly be coming back however when I get back up this way. Thanks a bunch for the great time!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/7/2017   4/10/2017
Review By: matthew215fisher
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 0.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/17/2020
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great 18 hole course with tremendous upside:

- New baskets (2 baskets on each hole now)
- Impressive new course design (2 new holes already in 2019 - 10 and 11)
- Plenty different types of throws
- Different elevation and shots
- Defined fairways
- Nice signage for next tees
- Willing group of locals to improve further
Cons: - LESS thorns off the fairways are rough, though they have be thinned (much less thorns now)
- TEES HAVE BEEN UPGRADED
- Now 18holes (2 baskets on each hole now)
- Yield to non golfers, so of the local walkers are clueless
Other Thoughts: I'm a bit of a homer since this course is 5 minutes from my house and I've helped a bit with the club heading up the revitalization. In other words, this course has a special place in my heart, so my rating might be a half a star too much BUT this course really is the best 13 hole offering in the area. Located between other busy courses, this is a great alternative or perfect warm up course to the bigger, more crowed 18 hole courses nearby. Come check it out and I'm sure you won't be disappointed. My favorite hole is #7 and the signature hole is #8. **Obviously this review has been updated over time!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.