Port Aransas, TX 
Port Aransas DGC Share
Uploaded By: dpmarine Hole #8 (Taken 1/2017)
3 / 177ft.   3 / 175ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Very good, short course -- bring Mosquito repellant

2-4    12/25/2020   1/11/2021
Review By: Forehand Shiver
Played: 54  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well-maintained beginner course that is centrally located and makes good use of very limited space. Once you find the first basket, good flow -- very hard to get lost. Considering how few DG options there are in the area, Port A residents are lucky to have this course.
Cons: Very short course. Swampy area and the mosquitos attacked in swarms. Florida swamp courses (like Gordy in Fort Pierce) have nothing on this place. This course is next level, as far as mosquitoes are concerned.
Other Thoughts: Deet or Thermacell required.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Nice Short Course

1    10/25/2020   11/5/2020
Review By: xJediDadx
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: All holes are marked with sign posts.
Nothing to technical about the course.
12 hole course with Red and Blue tees on all but the last 3 holes. Could easily play this as a 24 hole course if you want. Playing Reds one round and Blues another.
Cons: No tee boxes, most of them are in sand.
Water near 4/5
Need to be careful on 6 for tee-off. Could lose a disc in someone's backyard with a bad throw(like I did but went and asked for it after after I was done)
Other Thoughts: Nice little course that's played around the aquatic center and baseball fields. Hole 1 Blue tee is next to the skatepark at the far end of the parking lot, again no tee box, just launch off the sidewalk. same with Hole 2 tee behind a park sign. Need to watch for traffic on 9-12 as they're played around at the entrance to the park.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

good

1    7/8/2020   7/8/2020
Review By: dylandance
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice and short course to hit before you go down to the beach. Wind and natural obstacles make it challenging even though the holes are short. All the grass was cut nice and short all the tees and baskets were in place
Cons: By 10:30 AM it was extremely windy, I couldn't play it after that but I'm a newbie Pretty bad mosquitoes
Other Thoughts: Hole 1 is by the batting cages / skatepark

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Eaten Alive

1    7/8/2018   7/8/2018
Review By: Ballas
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Ok, the main "pro" is the law of real estate: location, location, location. Having a course to play, blocks from the beach is awesome. The surroundings are beautiful. You play half the course in and through a salt marsh adjacent to a coastal nature preserve. As for the course, even though it's short, it has enough obstacles to be technically challenging. Play it with the local rules and it will be really tough. They have a hole that they play as an "island". Don't hit the green, and you take strokes for missing the island. There are two holes that have a narrow fairway. On 2, you are playing between the marsh tundra on one side and the outfield fence to a ball field in the other. On 7,there's another outfield fence and a row of back yards. Even though I chucked it over the fence on both holes, I enjoyed the challenge.
Cons: Cons? One word: mosquitos. Swarms of the most tenacious, voracious and apparently wind-proof mosquitos I ever saw. We forgot bug spray, but figured, what the hell, the winds blowing a steady 15 kts. They'll be hunkered down in that wind. Nope. When I say "swarms", I'm not exaggerating. I beat myself silly with my putter and every time I looked down, there were twenty or thirty more feasting on my legs. They were biting straight through my clothes. One landed on my eyeball. I couldn't kill them fast enough. Now, two days later, I got more red bumps than a fifteen year old boy on prom night. Seriously, do not go out there with anything less than 100% DEET slathered all over you. Maybe wear a bee keepers outfit and carry a smudge pot around. These are not normal skeeters. Skin so soft and citronella will just make them laugh.
Other Thoughts: Seriously, getting eaten alive WAS horrible, but it's a funny story and so, it was worth it. I'll go back next time I'm on the island but I'll be prepared next time. The course was fun, it's great having a course to play when I go down to Port A. The two missing holes are still out, but I believe they are working on getting them replaced. I'm no good driving from dirt tees, but that's on me. It's part of the game. It really was a pretty setting for a round, so all in all it's worth the time. Just bring DEET!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not worth the time

1    3/27/2018   4/5/2018
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 950  Reviewed: 346  Exp: 32.8 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Has 7 baskets right now?
Has Blue and Red posts on most of the holes
Nice view of the nature area
Cons: No tree's
flat
Dirt tees
Under construction at the moment with 2 baskets missing
Tee signs only show the hole number.
Other Thoughts: This course is not much, you have 9 holes that go around the baseball fields. They are upgrading them at the moment so holes 3 and 5 are missing.
No tee signs to show distance or next hole. You pretty much need a map, but the course is not that hard to follow if you pay attention.

Hole 4 is interesting in that you have sort of an island hole. However after throwing the hole, you have to walk back to 5 tee pad that is near 4 tee pad.

Then you have some longer wide open holes, 6 and 7 that throw between the homes and the ball fields. Right now that area has a lot of construction equipment, the giant culverts did add a little to hole 6.

Holes 8 and 9 are also pretty open and hole 9 has you throwing across a court.

The holes should be shorter, if you want disc golf in this park, the course should be a pitch and putt course for families. There is nothing out here to make it interesting for a seasoned player.

Would I play here again.

Well, it was fun coming across the Ferry to get from Ingleside, however I would never play here again. Only playing each hole as a island hole would make any of the holes sort of interesting. It was windy, but the wind is to your back on the holes you would worry about getting way off in the rough. The holes against the wind, you risk turning over into the ball fields or the disc carrying over into the backyards. (I did hit the fence on hole 7)

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Port Aransas DGC

1    7/8/2017   7/15/2017
Review By: reezyF
Played: 215  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 12.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: My three pros:

-ITS RIGHT NEAR DA BEACH!

-The back side of the course is very pretty with views into the nature refuge behind the park, a couple of pretty ponds, a large grassland and very nice mowing of the fairways. Although the course is routed around a baseball field and existig park stuff the outer fringes of the park were surprisingly pretty and made for the closest environment to playing at the beach that I've encountered yet.

-Two Tee signs at each hole with blue signs at the longer tee and red signs at the shorter tee. The tee signs are visible from each previous basket making navigation pretty easy once you find the first tee located near the skate park area. The blue tee shots mostly required a mid-range with 6-9 requiring longer shots into a pretty constant headwind, the red tees however were pretty fun playing with just putters. While the two tees werent super spread apart, they were different enough to make 2 rounds thru exciting.
Cons: My three cons:

-No tee pads, just grass/sidewalk. The course is still so new the grass isnt worn in yet near the signs so its unclear where the intended tee pad is. The first tee sign is a few feet from a covered shelter near the skate park which is a nice idea but the space felt a little cramped for throwing. Most other holes had a little more room to throw but the teepads were a bit of an oversight or a work in progress.

- Several holes throw along the walking path around the park which is a universal DG no-no. Lucky for me there was no-one at the park so no-one to look out for. Also there arent many blind areas so theres not much hazard of hitting someone you dont see, rather maybe having to wait for people to walk by. I have to imagine theres rarley anyone walking the paths here though.

-No shade. I played on a hot day and it was hot. Like super hot.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course for several reasons. Being located in Port A is nice because in my case I was only there for the day and the course is in a convenient spot considering the Port A traffic. Also the bird viewing area down the road was pretty sweet and theres a nice hiking trail behind the park. Theres a skate park and swimming pool at the park itself also. The course was really well maintained with no trash, nice mowing and some pretty views.

One area for change is that the course is possibly too short on some of the blue tees considering the space available. It also looks like theres plenty of room near the entrance of the park for more holes so maybe they could expand in the future.

Something to consider before bringing beginners out here is the wind was a pretty strong and constant 20mph+ blowing inland from the coast and unfortunately the last three holes play strait into the wind. Add to that the fenceline that runs along the last few holes and theres a good mix for a disc getting blown right over the fence. Similarly #5 throws perpidicular to the wind with a pond on the left waiting to eat a uncomitted toss.

This course is a fun rec. course that could be fun and a little challenging for beginners. I will definitely play again when back in the area!

FIRST REVIEW!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.