Knoxville, TN 
Pellissippi State Community College Share
Uploaded By: swatso Hole #3 (Taken 11/2019)
3 / 468ft.   4 / 665ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Practice/Bomber course on a beautiful campus

5+    7/30/2020   7/31/2020
Review By: autocrosscrx
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Best course in the area for unobstructed play. Not only is this course frequently empty, but there are several holes where one can logically start a round if another group or 2 is on course.
- Well kept, beautiful campus. The holes that border the pond are absolutely beautiful at sunset.
- Short and long tees. The longs provide a totally different shot on several holes.
- Wide open bomber course. Enough distance to entertain long arms, enough space to let beginners and rec players learn how discs fly and develop distance without getting frustrated.
- Generally good drainage, which is very important in this area.
Cons: - Water. Water carries on 7, 8, and 9 on an open generally windy course means a very good chance to lose a disc. The pond is very murky and even with a retrieval tool, the chance of getting your disc back is pretty random.
- Natural tees on the shorts. These get pretty muddy/slick after a rain.
- Repetitious shot. Only a handful of shots (low canopy trouble right on both 7 tees, 9 short shapes to an RHBH anny flex) require something other than a RHBH hyzer or straight shot with left fade.
- I think it is easy to fall in a place where the shorts are a birdie fest and the longs are drive, approach, tap in for par.
- It is a very popular multi-use area, so you have to be very mindful of walkers and people using the open area to play with their dog, play catch, kick a soccer ball, play ultimate or flag football, etc.
- Geese. Lots and lots of geese and all things associated with geese.
Other Thoughts: This site lists 3 and 8 short as par 3's. They are marked par 4 on the course and scored as such in leagues. The tee for 5 long is virtually inaccessible. Storms last year knocked down some trees around 1's green and 2's tee, so be careful in that area.

It pains me to give this a 2.5 because the pros (empty course, great practice course, good drainage) are massively important to me and for that reason this is my primary course.

For those that don't live in the immediate area, I think it is a very worthwhile course to pair with Plumb Creek, Admiral Farragut, Powell Station, or the Oak Ridge courses.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Bomber Course At The Local College

1    6/16/2019   6/21/2019
Review By: MrFrosty
Played: 645  Reviewed: 269  Exp: 27.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Pellissippi State Community College is yet another newer ( Est. 2017 ) disc golf course sitting west off of I-40 and up TN 162 in the general Knoxville area , This course is mostly a flat play , other than maybe parts of 4 & 5 . If you like water carries , #'s 7 thru 9 will be right in your wheelhouse . Wind will be a factor here .When you enter the college , go to the back of it , in the parking lot across From a big white J L Goins administration building ( maybe bathrooms in there ? ) . You will can park lengthwise in the shade just a little further on if you want you car to be cooler on sunny days . There is a kiosk near the parking lot , and an online map the looks like someone from the graphic arts dept. made up ( nicely done ) . The course boasts 2 tees per hole , a red shorter placement with mostly tees , and the longer blue tees that are cement . The baskets are the nice white Veterans .The tee signs are on short wooden posts that wrap around it and show the hole # , distance and picture the hole . These are the nice kind that show up on all the good courses in Knoxville . The course kind of follows a clockwise path around ( and behind ) the lake . #1 will start off near the parking lot and bend you a little left to some woods , where the basket is tucked into . The #2 tee pads are set in the woods to the right of the basket . If you want the longer cement tee pad , you will have to walk past and behind the red tee pad a good 100' or so . You throw through a doorway in the woods to where it opens up to the right and the fairway flows a little downward to the basket ( 311' ) . #3 is a long open hole that ends down by the lake . #4 is a long level drive towards the front of the college and away from the lake , that drop off straight down hill to an enclosed green surrounded by rough on 3 sides .pretty nice finish for a hole . the tee pads for #5 are accessed by different ways , For the longs , you walk up the driveway on your right and turn left after the brush ends . The short tee is a U on your left . on the other side of the brush ( maybe someone can cut out a path through the brush directly to the tee on the other side : ) . Anyway , from the longs on 5 , it is a window shot across the hill you are throwing from to the next hill where the tee is located on 338' away . The window is starting to close because of the foliage surrounding it not being cut . If you throw through it , try to control your drive . The short tee is an uphill throw about 250' but feeling like it is maybe a little more.#6 is a shorter hole ( 259' or 319' , but is through an edge of trees that have canopies that will affect your drive . #7 is the first of the water holes . It can be windy on this course , so make sure you can bend your drive a bit . The hole on the longs is 359' and across the edge of the lake , but you might feel it is longer because of the wind affecting your drive . The short tee pad sits to the slight left of the lake and gives you a more direct route and spare your driver . The hole finishes to a basket that sits behind a small rock formation , looking picturesque from the tee . #8 is likely the most dangerous hole . it sits 408' or 578' and puts the lake in play all the way down the immediate right side of the fairway , will you will finish up throwing across an edge of that lake to a basket sitting on the hill . If you are going to play this hole , use extreme caution with your better drivers . I used a Destroyer , the wind picked up right after I let it go and it went out and tried to fight it's way back , losing the battle about 6' from land . If the drive goes any further than 3' in the water , consider it gone . My disc is presently being used as an underwater boogie board for the fish . #9 is a nice finishing hole with a downhill throw across a little channel of the lake to the basket placed on the level with enough land , as long as you don't throw way short or throw to the right . that you can set your disc down safely with a good chance for a birdie . This is a surprisingly strong course , with its length , wind and design . There was actually a pretty long thrower emptying his bag with drives on the course while I was playing . As far a campus courses go , this can be a keeper . I don't know if Pellissippi College wants to extend the course to 18 , or even has the land , but the could carve out a few from the neighboring woods or the land to the left to maybe making it 12 holes or so . Just an idea . This a a great play for the students after a day of studies , or even the locals that want to sharpen up their drives . This is NOT for newbies or families looking to get in a quick round . Whatever the course loses on elevation , it makes up for in water .Even though I drowned a disc , I thought that this course deserved some praise . Signature hole : #5 window shot from hill to hill .
Cons: #1 The water . You can easily lose a disc in the lake on 7 , especially 8 and possibly 9 . Don't ruin your round . #2 wind . The chance for a windy round is pretty good since the course plays out in the open . #3 the rough shouldn't factor in much , but it is present on #2 from the blue tee , and in the general putting area of the hidden tee on #4 . There aren't any amenities to speak off for this course like Trash cans , benches or noticeable bathrooms or water , but it is only 9 holes and you won't be here all that long , anyway .
Other Thoughts: As far as 9 hole college courses go , this one is a keeper . 2 tee pads per hole . a picturesque setting in front of the college , with the lake or woods playing a part and an adequate course design .This course is a smart idea to introduce the college to the area population . I might not play this often if I lived locally , but I would play it every year . The students should gather and have a fun league during the week for something to do . This would make for meeting new friends and classmates every semester while school is in session. My recommendation : Maybe try the course , but don't go too far out of your way . Maybe couple it with the Mounds , Secret City or Plumb Creek , only 15 minutes away .

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 2.8

1    2/28/2018   2/28/2018
Review By: Jashwa
Played: 153  Reviewed: 82  Exp: 16.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pellissippi is situated in a relatively open patch of land on a community college. The course starts right next to the school, so if you're a student there you can be on the disc golf course two minutes after class gets out. Here is what I liked about the course:

*Two layouts can be played thanks to two different tee locations. The red layout is a good for beginners, while the blue layout is more challenging. The blue layout is the only layout with concrete tee pads; the red one uses natural tees

*From the blue layout, there are some BIG holes that can really let the distance throwers bust out their drivers.

*The final three holes on the course bring a pond into play and have a high level of "risk reward." I played the course on a rainy day, so I played super safe out of fear that I'd shank a drive, but in better conditions it would have been really cool to "go for it" on those holes.

*Tee signs are well marked and descriptive

*Hole 5 from the blue tee is a fun challenge. It plays over a stream through a patch of trees with some OB on the left.
Cons: *This is a very open course, so there's not much variety in the shots demanded off the tee. Holes 1 and 2 at this course do play through the woods, but are not very exciting. I believe that these two holes are situated on land that has potential for two great wooded holes.

*The course plays near a walking path that could be dangerous depending on pedestrian traffic

*I could not for the life of me find a good way to get from 4's basket to 5's blue tee. I found myself going completely around the stream, and it felt like I had to go WAY out of my way just to get to the tee! Maybe there's a bridge or something that makes it easier, but I sure couldn't find it!
Other Thoughts: I would say that this course really falls somewhere between a 2.5 and a 3.0 rating. If you live in the general vicinity, this is a nice course and worth checking out. As an out-of-towner, I will not be seeking this one out next time I'm in the area.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic 9-holer for beginners to advanced players

1    12/26/2017   12/27/2017
Review By: KenanFlagler01
Played: 166  Reviewed: 160  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/7/2020
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pellissippi State DGC is a terrific 9-hole course -- the best I've played. Compared to the other 9-holer I've bagged in Knoxville, Admiral Farragut, Pellissippi wins in a first round knock out.

+ First off, the setting for this track is gorgeous. The campus for this community college is beautiful. The course plays around a small lake with two fountains. There are rolling hills with sweeping views of the lake from all over the course.

+ Red and blue tees...and the reds aren't just shorter versions of the blues. They offer a different look. The reds are great for beginners to intermediate players. The blues are long enough to really challenge intermediate players. Advanced players will have lots of birdie looks.

+ Great concrete tees for the blues.

+ Excellent navigation with tees signs (with yardage, layout and OB) on the red *and* blue tees.

+ Brand new, white DD Veteran baskets.

+ Good use of the few trees on the property. Hole 1 is 290 feet, mostly open, but with thick brush and guardian trees around the green. Hole 2 is an S-shaped fairway, 311 feet, weaving out of the woods and back to the open area.

+ If you like to bomb, you'll love Pellissippi. Hole 3 is a good example. It's a 665-foot par four. This is listed at a water hole, but it's far enough away from the shore -- and it has a man-made OB rope line -- to keep you safe. This is a wide open hole though. See how far you can throw it.

+ Pellissippi also has good elevation. Hole 4 is another long one: 399 feet. But you can't see the basket from the tee. It looks like you're just throwing it on a basket-less field. But wait. If you can throw it 350 feet, you'll make it over the crest of the ridge and down a steep hill to the green. The slope up the first 350 is gradual. The last 50 feet to the basket is a drop of a good 20 feet. Hole 5 also uses elevation, playing uphill 230 feet from the reds. (It's 338 feet from the blues, of you're brave enough to cross the creek to the 5th tee.)

+ Hole 6 is the most unlike the rest of the track. It's 319 feet, playing down a straight row of mature tees with low-hanging branches. You can either play it as a tunnel hole or flick or anhyzer to go around the obstacles.

+ If you like water tracks like I do, you'll love Pellissippi. From the blue tees, there are 3 true water holes: 7, 8, and 9. #7 is 359 feet playing over one end of the lake. An aggressive play at the basket is about a 340-foot water carry. If that's too much for you, you can hyzer (RHBH) and bite off a 250-300-foot chunk of the hole before attacking the basket, which sits atop a cool rock formation. #8 is a 578-foot par 4 playing around the lake. As long as you don't flip your drive and approach shot over, you're safe. The basket is on a murderously steep hill above the lake. A missed putt and roll away here winds up in the drink. Awesome and diabolically fast green. #9 is perhaps the easiest, but most picturesque hole on the course. It's 279 feet from a hill looking down over the lake. Cross a cove of the lake and hyzer (RHBH) to a peninsula green.

What makes Pellissippi a great water course?
1. Beautiful setting
2. Great use of the lake (peninsula, fast greens, risk/reward)
3. True water carries on 7 and 9.
4. There are bail-out zones if you can't carry over the water. You don't have to have a big arm to enjoy this course.
Cons: The cons are minor and shouldn't detract you from trying this course:

- The lake being a central feature of the course, there's a whole gaggle of geese living here. Dozens of (if not a 100 or so) geese means...goose poop. Tons of it. Watch your step.

- This one is more of a personal quibble. Others may disagree. Being a noodle arm intermediate player, I found myself right in between the skill levels needed for the red and blue tees. The reds were a little too short and easy; the blues were a little too long and produced a lot of "guaranteed 3's". Most blue holes were too long for a good look at 2 (there are a few exceptions, especially #9), but too open to bring bogey into play, apart from major mistakes.

- The only hole with a serious flaw, in my opinion, is #5. After #4, you have to loop around the underbrush to the left of that hole, pass by the #5 red tee, and cross the creek. The creek is in a steep gully. You have to hop across the slippery rocks in the creek. It's fast moving water (sort of a waterfall). Slippery getting down to the creek, crossing it, then climbing up the other side to the #5 tee. Then you have turn right back around and cross it again to walk to the #5 basket. I think the course would flow better relocating the blue tee (or just play from the red tee on this hole).

- Natural tees for the reds.

- This course is a little *too* open. That's more of a personal preference. If you like to bombing drives, you'll love this track.

- One more pro: instead of cramming in a mediocre, short, cris-crossing 18 holes, the designers put in an awesome, long 9 holes. I'm sure there was pressure or talk of doing shorter holes, especially on a community college campus. I'm glad they resisted. However, it is a bummer there isn't more land to put in a full 18.
Other Thoughts: Excellent track. Try it out.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.