Bowling Green, KY 
Kereiakes Park Share
Uploaded By: timg   (Taken 12/2016)
Course Map / Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 52
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
Excellente!

2-4    4/7/2007   6/7/2019
Review By: takman
Played: 95  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 17.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Perfect blend of short and long holes
-Groomed to perfection, feels like a country club
-Challenges your game
-Great elevation for Kentucky
Cons: -Probably too short to host an MPO major
-Low ceilings on some holes make them touch to reach
Other Thoughts: Played R1 here in my first Bowling Green Am, did not want to leave. Ranked in my Top 5 still after 12+ years since.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

A Strike in Bowling Green

2-4    11/21/2018   11/21/2018
Review By: njgrosser
Played: 35  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 8.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a fun course. It is not too difficult, yet also forces you to hit some fairly technical throws. It is a good course for all skill levels, and everyone can get something out of a round here.

The course itself is in a park with some trees. I wouldn't consider it a "wooded" course, but there are too many trees for it to be considered "open." It falls somewhere in the middle, and the trees are used really well to force you to shape shots. The elevation is also taken advantage of.

There are some holes with two tees, and a couple holes with two baskets. The layout was clearly shown on a map at the beginning of the course, and each tee has a map of the pin(s). The baskets catch discs well, and the teepads are appropriately sized for the course. An added bonus, a fairway strip is mowed shorter than the "rough", so it is easy to follow where the holes are supposed to go.

There are a lot of good holes, but I am a sucker for downhill bombs with "the look," so my standout hole on this course is #11. Around 350' long on a slight downhill lie, you can let it rip and go for the ace run or glide it down and go for the birdie.
Cons: Kereiakes does a good job of using the trees as obstacles on the course. However, in my opinion, the trees are almost too good at their job... There are several holes where trees are in a location providing no clear way to make a disc from far out. Hole 10 is the most egregious example, with the basket within the envelope of two large evergreen trees. I do like how the trees were used to add some difficulty to the course, but I think they could have been used a little better.

Besides that, only a couple minor complaints. The baskets, even though they catch well, are a little hard to see and are showing their age. There are a couple of benches around the course, but there could be a couple more near the teepads for more crowded days.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a good, solid course. It has been an excellent stop on a roadtrip to get out for an hour and play. Some improvements could be made, but overall I would recommend playing this course a lot if I were local, and giving it the occasional stop if you are passing through.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Old School Cool

1    11/6/2016   12/25/2016
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 424  Reviewed: 319  Exp: 16.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Kereiakes Park is a really nice course. It has plenty of trees, well manicured grass covered fairways, and good equipment throughout. Half a dozen holes offer long tees, and many have alternate pin locations. A few of them feature mild to moderate elevation changes.

All holes play par 3 (except for hole 3 if the pin is in the long position, per the sign), and most of them have enough wood along the way to require specific shaped lines to get birdie looks. Some have more airspace to work with than others, or multiple lines to choose from, but if you don't find the right combo of distance and direction you might end up stuck in a tree or attempting a long upshot.

There is usually a decent chance to reach from the tee and have a birdie putt. However, a couple of the holes are tough enough that it is best to go conservative and play for a par. The one that got me was hole 7, a great hole that was probably my favorite on the course. It has some of the heaviest rough lurking on the right side, and the largest elevation drop as you approach the pin.

Hole 11 is fun, downhill steadily, and with a good chance to launch a drive right next to the bucket.
I also liked hole 15, which lies on the edge of the park and has a few more trees than is usual for this course.

18 is a tough one, it sent me out with a bogey. One of several that tempted me to leave my comfort zone and try using a forehand throw. I did try a few on shorter holes, but don't have the distance to go side arm here.

Front and back nine begin and end by the parking lot, if you haven't got time for 18, or just aren't into playing it in conventional sequence. Balance is equal, I didn't favor one over the other after playing it once. Layout is fairly logical, and easy to follow, without any long walks between holes.
Cons: There are not any par 4's or 5's, like you will find on a lot of newer courses. If you want to be pushed to the limits strategically and physically, you may have to switch to your off hand. A great course for new players to learn the game, but not a pro caliber layout.

There were a lot of people enjoying the course when I played. I was blessed with terrific fall weather on a Sunday afternoon. I only mention this in the cons since it resulted in waiting on several large groups to finish up and hoping they are courteous enough to let me play through.
Other Thoughts: I can see the appeal of Kereiakes after playing a round there. It is a great blend of technical and fun. The feel of a very well established course that harkens back to the early days of the sport, with a few modifications to keep up with modern advancements.

I like to play the long tees usually, but I didn't pay close enough attention, and missed one or two of them. At the end of the day I was one over par on the round, but there is plenty of room for improvement.

I took a bogey on the first hole that was absurd, it really should have been a birdie considering it was one where I overlooked the long tee. Managed to make 3 birdies, but bogies on 17 and 18 pushed me back over par.

I can see why Kereiakes Park has received so many good reviews. If I lived nearby I would play it often I am certain. Very well worth a visit if you make it to the vicinity of Bowling Green, KY.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Heaven In Kentucky

2-4    8/14/2015   1/17/2016
Review By: Spike Hyzer 23
Played: 92  Reviewed: 88  Exp: 25.9 Years
This review was updated on 1/19/2016
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is deceptively difficult. It appears to have very open fairways and looks somewhat like a ball golf course, but there are huge mature fir trees lining every fairway. There is a good mix of left and right shots and a variety of length, and the course is fair to everyone with great shot making ability.

Nonetheless, this is a very difficult course that will penalize you deeply for errant shots, catching you in those pines and forcing you into difficult second shots to approach.

Further adding to the difficulty are some of the best protected greens I've ever seen. While not densely wooded--and there are a couple of holes near the end that wind into the woods--there is an enormous 4 trunk tree guarding the green to #7, and the guarded green on #10 borders on being unfair. You either have to take tight low shots just to lay up close to the pin for your pars, or you can try to be a hero with spike shots around the foliage, which will require you to take it high, into wind, and is a great risk of bogie for trying to chip in those 100-200 foot upshots.
Cons: I see little in the way of cons for this course. It was my favorite by far of the three I played in Bowling Green.
Other Thoughts: Mammoth Cave is nearby and there was a great place called Baker Street in town when I visited. It's a nice family vacation place and is highly recommended. The only thing that keeps it from getting a perfect rating is the relative lack of elevation, but that's a small quibble considering how tough those seemingly open fairways are.

Those wide open courses in AZ could take a cue from this course designer and look for places with more natural obstacles to avoid the silly trap of having arbitrary and artificial OB fouling up their tournaments.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 The beauty in town

2-4    4/11/2014   4/21/2014
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 314  Reviewed: 296  Exp: 7.8 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: With its rolling valley elevations, numerous cedars, and well-thought-out front and back nines, the Kereiakes disc golf course is an obvious addition to the schedule for advanced players for the annual Bowling Green Amateur Championships. Though most of the holes do have trees capable of grabbing and holding your disc, there are fairways and lines on every hole that reward a skillful shot, if you can hit it. Distances range from the 190 foot hole one (from the short tee), where you will 'misunderestimate' the course, to the 435 foot, downhill, right-bending bomber on hole 3. Most of the holes actually range between the upper 200's from the shorts, to the lower 300's from the longs, but the course never becomes repetitive. It seems each hole has an interesting bend, rise, drop, or lane of its own.

Because there are nine holes having dual teepads and three holes having not just alternate pin positions, but second baskets permanently installed, you could play Kereiakes many times over without it becoming stale. Obviously, this well-cared for course has quality concrete tee pads (26 of them: 1 & 10 long connect), DGA baskets in good repair, a course map and shelter at the beginning, and the quality BG club signage on every hole.

The course plays at the back of a park that has ball fields, tennis and basketball courts, and other attractions, but is well separated from almost all of these other functions (see cons). There is a walking/ jogging track that loops around the perimeter of the course.

In all, Kereiakes is a beautiful course to play, especially in the spring, and the flight of the disc through the lines and gaps (and hopefully not into the trees) really shows off the three-dimensionality of our sport.
Cons: The jogging track doesn't always seem to 'contain' the joggers. The appeal of the rolling valleys and gentle fairways is just too attractive to cross country runners, one of whom we had to wait on for a few throws, even on the Friday morning of the big event (BG Ams).

Though maintenance is solid, and I've only played here in the spring (before the grasses of the 'rough' grew to summer heights), it has been mentioned that the parks department could help a bit by mowing the course in its entirety (at least every few times), and not just along the fairways.
Other Thoughts: I've now been playing long enough to have come to three BG Ams. Each time, though I was eligible to move up to my age group (Advanced Grandmasters), I looked online and was intimidated enough by the length and challenge of the four upper division courses to elect to stay with my rating (Recreational, for now). After coming to Kereiakes for a look-see, I may just have to play up next time. It's just that much more fun than say, Ephram White!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Tomahawk Time!

1    10/14/2013   10/15/2013
Review By: gmoney1984
Played: 214  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1. mowed fairways that lead you to the baskets

2. Pretty good course flow

3. Good variety of winding holes with a lot of obstacles



Cons: 1. Rough was a little high but not really that bad

2. Discs could get stuck in the very large mature trees

Other Thoughts: This course has a lot of really tight lines which for better or worse can be avoided by throwing over the top of them. I enjoyed it but this was stop #4 on our 111 hole day and on a normal day playing only 1 or 2 courses I don't think I would have wanted to throw overhanded that much. this course is sort of short so you can whip thru it in a short amount of time if you don't have to search for discs that long. It took 2 avg disc golfers 1:16 minutes to play but we were jogging a lot so I'd say on avg 1:30

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Top 3 in BG

2-4    9/7/2013   10/12/2013
Review By: Declarkus
Played: 225  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 16.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well maintained, not long but still a challenge, good pads and signage
Cons: A little bunched up in areas; had to yell "fore" twice, but it seemed normal for the locals.
Other Thoughts: This course has big bushy cedars, not many tall trees, but they are dense enough to need to thread it in places. Great for all skill levels. On my Top 3 list in BG.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/12/2013   8/14/2013
Review By: AdamE
Played: 262  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 15.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Kereiakes is a moderately hilly course with mature trees and cedars to navigate on nearly every hole that are waiting to knock down your shot. There are nice concrete tees, the baskets are in good condition and there are tee signs on every hole. Navigating the course is relatively easy. There are rolling hills on the course so some elevation comes into play on most holes.

About half the holes have a long and short option. Sometimes there are dual pads while other holes have two baskets in the ground. These alternates change the shot on almost every hole they appear and it's a great way to cater to a wider variety of players.

The most interesting thing about this course from a design standpoint is a number of the holes are fairly open but utilize the trees and cedars well to present a challenge. Sometimes the trees present early trouble, other times they guard the basket. If you miss your line a tree will knock your shot down and cedars will suck them up and you have to hope you don't land behind or inside it.

I like the shot variety here, there is a good balance of straight, hyzer and anhyzer shots for a RHBH player. The holes with long/short option often require a different shot. The course also has a good variety of distances. The longs obviously provide more length if that's what you prefer and newer players will appreciate the shorts.
Cons: Hole 10's basket seems overly protected sandwiched between two trees with low hanging branches in the gap making a difficult putt even from a great landing spot.

The parks dept apparently likes to cut a path about 10ft wide from the tee to the basket. I'm all for saving money, but more really needs to be cut as you approach the basket. It's a little frustrating to have to look for a disc that knifed into the tall grass when you're inside the 10m circle.

A few holes play a bit close to the walking path that encircles the course. With all the big cedars it isn't always easy to tell if someone is coming so please be extra cautious.

A couple of the holes play fairly close together so an errant shot can easily end up in another fairway.

The diagram on the tee signs is less than accurate and doesn't always do a good job illustrating where the basket should be.

The tee sign on hole 9 is blocking the anhyzer route. There's a silly mando there to keep you from throwing that route.
Other Thoughts: This is my favorite course in BG (if you don't count Holler just north of town). This is a good course for everyone. It's beginner friendly in that there's no rough and the only way to lose a disc is to get it stuck in a cedar. It's also a fun course for a more advanced player because the course rewards skilled shots with birdies and often punishes bad shots.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Best in the city

5+    7/31/2013   8/5/2013
Review By: NOStheBOSS
Played: 75  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 11.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well after 100+ rounds here I finally feel qualified to write a review

-This is a very fair course. Although there are many velcro trees that will catch your disc, there is always a defined fairway and if you hit your gap, you will not be punished by a random branch
-From the longs this is a challenging course for pros and ams alike. a 1000 rated round hovers around 49 from the longs.
-From the shorts, this course still has challenges but is more beginner friendly. A newer player can definitely still score here. This is probably the most popular course for college students because of its proximity to campus and entertainment value.
-Good not great teepads on every single hole. Trashcans are spread throughout the course. Portapotty by hole 1 and full bathrooms a short walk or drive from the course inside the park.
-I touched this earlier but there are 6 long tees and 3 long baskets (in addition to short baskets) that make the difference between shorts and longs very noticable. definitely a different experience.
Cons: -The Parks dept. thinks we like to have the "fairways" mown and the rest of the grass tall. Nobody likes it like this. You can throw a good shot and have to look 5 minutes in the open because the grass is so long. it's hard to walk through as well.
-There are a couple poorly designed holes where a disc can hit a runner/walker on the gravel path. This path plays OB on the course but that doesn't mean someone won't get hit. Hole 12 comes to mind.
-Cross country runners run throughout the holes in addition to the people on the defined track. Sometimes this isn't a problem. Sometimes you have to wait a second. Other times, like during XC practice, you have to wait on multiple holes for the runners to pass. And sometimes they are blind until they are right in the fairway so if its just one runner you might not notice them until its too late.
Other Thoughts: I really love this course. Its a challenging, fun course from the longs (for me). The shorts are a little boring to advanced and pro players but others will really enjoy them.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Very nice course

1    4/14/2013   4/17/2013
Review By: wake911
Played: 63  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 18.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Every shot in the book (aside from distance drives)
-hyzer/anny/bh/fh all needed
-risk/reward with the VERY catchy trees if you go over the top.
-line shaping is important
Cons: -VERY catchy trees, i nearly lost a disc 40' up in one (yes, i was doing a spike hyzer around the hole, risk/reward)
-no big long holes where a driver was needed, used putter,mid,fairway is all
-lots of runners/walkers on the trail. They all seemed quite aware of disc golf, and enjoyed to watch, but still had to wait many times over the round for them to pass.
Other Thoughts: This was my overall favorite course in bowling green. It was tough, but if you hit the right lines you can score well.
Planning a trip to BG? definitely play this one. I would have scored a few shots lower if I had a FH, as a few holes really called for one.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.