Sarasota, FL 
Boys & Girls Club of Sarasota County Share
Uploaded By: wellsbranch250 Hole #6 (Taken 8/2017)
-- / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0
Reviews: 3
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
The Easiest 10 Minute Course Bag In DGCR Kingdom But ......Does It Qualify As A Course?

1    1/16/2018   1/16/2018
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1261  Reviewed: 1210  Exp: 40.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/2/2018
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easiest Course Grab Ever But Is This Actually A Course?

The little disc golf course at the Sarasota Boys and Girls Club consist of six baskets set in a small area roughly 200' x 250'. This area has scattered mature trees, a few bushes and a basketball hoop. There are no signs and no tee pads of any type. The baskets are older DGA models.

So smarter people have debated the age old question here and that is, does this actually count as a course? I live by a simpler creed. If it's listed on DGCR, I count it.

If you play safari golf and throw from basket to basket, the baskets are 75' to 125' apart. You could always play in reverse order, as well. And it shouldn't take more than about 10 minutes of your precious time.
Cons: There is an 8' high fence around this area. It was locked up tight the first time I attempted to play it. That was about 9:30 am on a Sunday morning. The next day, one gate was open around noon.

No signage.

No tee pads.

Short elementary distances.
Other Thoughts: A decent little course for beginners and some elementary players and us dedicated course baggers. Drive on by if you're any kind of a serious player and take the 6 mile drive over to Lakeview Park and amuse yourself avoiding the water hazards and the gators.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Clubing It

1    8/20/2017   10/27/2017
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 290  Reviewed: 254  Exp: 4.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/16/2018
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (0.561 Rating) The Boys & Girls Club course is a beginner's course for kids and their big brother or big sister.
- NATURAL BEAUTY - For courses I've rated this low, the beauty for this course is very much above average. It's almost an entirely wooded with several live oaks. The trees also add the element of some minor shot shaping potential depending on where you decide to tee from. (See cons, Tee Area)
- ACEABILITY - If played basket to basket, the holes will all be highly aceable. This place will provide opportunities for a junior to get an ace.
- QUICK PLAY - A baggers dream, A single could easily complete all 6 in under 10 minutes. Groups of 4 should probably finish in less than 20 minutes.
- FORGIVENESS - The odds of losing a disc due to an errant shot is near impossible unless you leave one behind on accident.
- MAINTENANCE - The grounds appear to be kept up well. I don't recall seeing any trash on my visit.
- CHAINS - They are in great condition.
- GROW THE SPORT - No doubt will these baskets introduce the game to new players.
- FAMILTY FRIENDLY - Lots of other things to do here in addition to the disc golf course.
Cons: The Boys & Girls Course is limited in its reach
- TEES AREA - No tees or markings, so it's improvisation only. Note, the baskets are about 75 to 150 feet apart if you play basket to basket.
- UNDEFINED CHALLENGE - Without a defined layout to follow, rating the challenge of this course is limited. For this review I rated the challenge by going basket to basket clockwise. I started with throwing at the northwest basket from the southwest basket. In this type of layout, even a rec player should be able to break par if played as all 3s. Advanced players would be unsatisfied throwing anything other than all birds. There are obviously numerous ways to throw a round here, but every course could say the same thing. Safari possibilities don't affect how I rate a course.
- 6 BASKETS - Having this few of baskets definitely hurts the rating for this course. A few may argue that it's not even a course, although I'd disagree.
- CHARACTER - No amenities or course comfort items.
- UNIQUENESS - Occupying such a small footprint, the boys and girls club course is one of the least unique courses I've played. All holes are short with a moderate amount of trees. Only one shot in my clockwise layout forced me to throw a sweeping shot. The rest were putter runs.
Other Thoughts: The Boys and Girls Club is perfect for its intended purpose but that's it. A group of friends from outside the area should never consider playing this course unless it's a group of baggers all looking to add one more course to their totals.
- REVISION - I modified my notes on basket separation. I was way off initially and re-verified via Google satellite imagery.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

For The Children (Or Extreme Baggers)

1    8/12/2017   8/12/2017
Review By: thrembo
Played: 172  Reviewed: 126  Exp: 43.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Six baskets on a small lot with plenty of shady trees.
Cons: No signage or tees at all. Six baskets crammed into a very small area. The kids that play it regularly probably have a layout, Baggers will have to play it safari style.
Other Thoughts: This is a course put in for children to play and for that, it deserves at least a small amount of respect.

*Note for Extreme Baggers: The course isn't marked as private and there are no "no trespassing" signs here. The place was empty on an early Saturday morning and the gate was unlocked. This course is probably unplayable when children are present unless you bring your own kids maybe?

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.