Bushnell, FL 
Kenny Dixon Sports Complex Share
Uploaded By: jasonandsharon Hole #4 (Taken 2/2017)
3 / 255ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0
Reviews: 3
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
I Think # 8 Is A Fun And Creative Hole

1    2/3/2018   2/3/2018
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1313  Reviewed: 1262  Exp: 40.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Kenny Dixon Sports Complex is a park with an emphasis on baseball. Apparently, this little town produces state championship teams on a yearly basis. The disc golf courses skirts the outfield fences on a few holes. The course also plays through and around picnic pavilions and tennis courts. I played on a Friday around lunchtime and didn't have too many problems with other park users. It might be a mess on a Saturday or Sunday during baseball season.

The course starts near the squash courts. I found navigation to be a little tricky with some missing and, I believe, some course remodeling since the map was drawn up. The baskets are Discatchers in pristine condition. The have a large number on the yellow band. The pads are kinda hit or miss. They might be concrete pads or they might be a dirt walking path like on # 5 or you might just use the sidewalk. Same thing with the tee signs. The ones that are still standing are simple thin metal ones. Every one of them is bent and mutilated. I didn't find a sign for # 3 and # 9.

Although this just a typical city park course, I find # 8 to be delightfully fun. It's just a short, 160', straight throw down a narrow gap between the tennis court fence and squash court fence. This narrow gap is probably 12' wide but the really cool part is I think playing a carom off tennis court fence might be your best look. I think you might even be able to Ace the hole with an off-the-fence shot!
Cons: Kenny Dixon is rated under a 2.0 and I would think that is mostly based on safety concerns and on those many days when this park might be filled with people. I understand completely.

# 4 fairway plays around the curve of the outfield fence. Many discs will hyser onto the field.

Navigation was confusing.

# 5 plays 345' to a basket past the picnic pavilion on the right. This would be problematic when anyone is using the pavilion and vicinity. Today, there was a lone homeless guy sitting in the pavilion and you might say, I was less than concerned. Bombs away! Then # 6 is the worst. You tee off to back of pavilion but the pavilion is there on your right side and the neat, play area is just beyond that. Both might be targeted by any errant throw that decides to annie on you. You could encounter park users on every other hole. I suggest playing the 3 am to 6 am window to ensure no interference from other park users.
Other Thoughts: I've never suggested that this is a championship course or even a great course. I just think it deserves a slightly higher rating than it's current 1.5 so I'm going way out on a limb here and rating it a 2.0. The safety and heavy use areas probably make this an less than average course but I think hole # 8 is about a 4.0 on the creative enjoyment charts.

For maximum pleasure, I suggest playing this course on a weekday morning. During prime times, you might be forced to skip a few holes.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Local Rec Course Or Easy Bag

1    10/21/2017   10/21/2017
Review By: thrembo
Played: 180  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 43.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Pretty standard small city park course with decent baskets and simple informative tee signs. Close to I-75, so it's easy to bag or get a leg stretching round in if passing through. A few trees and man-made obstacles to shot shape around. Looks to be clean and well mowed.
Cons: There are holes that play along the side of the roads, on the side of picnic areas, sidewalks etc. Parts of the course may not be playable depending on what other park activities are going on at the time.

Most seasoned throwers will find the course a little vanilla and short in length. The Quarry course is nearby though if a more challenging 9 hole course is required.

Some of the tee signs are still missing. Not really a problem though. Print the map and guess, or make up your own!
Other Thoughts: A decent local rec course with friendly locals.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Multi-Use Complex Course

2-4    9/22/2017   3/30/2017
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 326  Reviewed: 311  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 11/7/2017
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (1.085 Rating) (REVISED - replayed September 2017) A multi-use park course with safety issues.
- ACEABILITY - Several holes right out of the gate are exceedingly aceable. (1), (2) and (3) are all straight putter runs under 210 feet long. In addition, players will have a good look on (7) and (8) as well.
- TIME PLAY - This course should play super quick when the other park features are not in use. I personally blown thru 3 solo rounds, each in under 20 minutes.
- LOCATION - The course is a quick pit stop off the highway. No more than a 5 minutes drive from the I75 exit.
- BIGGINER FRIENDLY - No overgrowth, no opportunities to lose a disc and five holes under 210 feet in length. I'm sure most would agree that these are good characteristic for a course to take first timers and those wanting to learn the game.
- GROW THE SPORT - Not all courses have to be gems. I'm glad this course exists as it brings the sport to another area
Cons: I have some concerns with Kenny Dixon.
- SAFETY ISSUES - Several holes bring other park amenities and roads into play. I'll specially mention (5) which is the longest hole at 345ft. There is a long shelter along the right side where an errant shot could reach an un-expecting shelter occupier. In addition, the view of the inside of the shelter is blocked from tee view so a thrower may not even realize the need to yell fore.
- BASKET/TEE SEPERATION - The next tee is often located right next to the adjacent basket. There are many instances where the tee and basket are separated by less than 20 feet. In addition, some tees are in the path of fire from the previous hole.
- NAVIGATION - Very easy my first two times. However on my third appearance, three tee signs were missing. I had made and posted a map of the layout on DGCR a couple days after my first play. So that may get you through the original marked layout. But who knows, maybe the locals make up their own tees now.
- TEE AREA - It's improvisation only to the remaining adjacent tee signs. The tees are natural ground surfaces as well.
- CHALLENGING - Although longer and more difficult than nearby Shady Brook, the course should be easy to break par for intermediate players and perhaps some recreational players too.
- UNIQUENESS - About of bland as they come. Not too many trees to weave around or pocket type shots. No par 4's or 5's. No water or elevation to consider. There is however a nice hole length differential among the par 3's (160 to 345) I also found hole (8) to be strangely unique and fun to play. Hole (8) plays between two tall chain link fences spaced 15 feet apart.
- RAW BEAUTY - When comparing other nearby courses (Floral, Lake Okahumpka and Quarry) Kenny Dixon comes up well short. Manmade structures in view the entire time.
- WIND - Due to the lack of trees, wind will likely be a major issue. 20 mph gusts during all my visits.
Other Thoughts: Like nearby Shady Brook, Kenny Dixon brings the sport to a new area and can also serve as a warm up for those day-tripping from Tampa bay to the northern state courses, and vise-versa.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.