Ogilvie, MN 
Chains Edge - Red Share
Uploaded By: DerekTonn Hole #7 (Taken 6/2017)
3 / 325ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Awesome

1    12/1/2017   2/13/2018
Review By: ThomasOrion
Played: 17  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's a great course. Nice Prodigy Baskets, one course of Red, one course of Green. Reds are longer, Greens are still a solid course, but shorter than Red. Both great to play.

Some real incredible shots. Standouts are a 500 ft slight downhill with a tunnel of trees. Chad was a great host and this course is absolutely worth the trip. Not too far really from the Twin City area.
Cons: Only Con - the teepads are natural - and I do imagine making some improvements, even if it were just gravel and signage, would greatly improve the overall experience. I believe Chad mentioned he wanted to improve them in time. We played after the first snow so the tees were a little slippery - Also some of the paths could be a little dangerous if you're not taking it seriously. But for the most part its just fine - If they somehow get Tees like VisionQuest it would make this course an easy 5/5 (I think concrete would be almost impossible to install and costly)
Other Thoughts: Overall its a great course (both of them) - Fun layout, Elevation, hills, trees, some open and flat, a very impressive design. He did a ton of work and it shows there was heart in it.

The baskets are SOLID (which makes a HUGE difference) Some of the holes are still some of the coolest I've ever played. This place is a gem, please support and keep the respect. Can't wait to play this again.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Every hole is a signature hole

1    10/11/2017   1/11/2018
Review By: BirdieMachine
Played: 58  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 26.9 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is the best course in Minnesota. The owner Chad has created a majestic course through very hilly woods in central MN. Every hole was unique and challenging at the same time.

Mega ups and downs you won't see on most courses around the area (TC Metro), the pictures don't do it justice! Like I titled it, every hole is a signature hole on any other course!
Cons: Dirt/clay tee pads were somewhat slippery but not bad. If the design wasn't so great I would have docked a point for not having turf or concrete, but the design was so good I still have to give it a 5.

Playing both courses is fairly tiring. If you are in good shape you shouldn't have a problem. I was tired after 48 though.

Some of the walking paths are steeper as well. Could get hairy after a rain.

My only "design" flaw I would say were the two long holes, they might be marked par 5's. Anyways, neither allows really for a chance to go for it in two. Both are layups off the tee. Would have liked to see it a bit more open so 3 opportunities would be more realistic.
Other Thoughts: Course is off the beaten path relatively to the Twin Cities but is a must play in my book. You will not regret it!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

True Rating of 4.7

2-4    10/8/2017   11/23/2017
Review By: Money_Shot
Played: 82  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 13.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Downhill awesomeness. This course has some of the coolest downhill shots i have thrown. You walk up and look down a massive hill that requires you to have a decent line to watch your disc soar all the way down to the basket. Fun!
-Tons of fun holes out on this course. If walking up to the next hole and getting excited about what you see sounds like a good time....play this course.
-Chads course design is second to none when it comes to understanding technical lanes. He knows what he is doing and it shows out here. Nice work Chad.
-Out house before hole 1. Take care of business before you get out on this course because once you get out there its a loooong ways back if you get desperate.
-Camping on site is convenient as the 48 holes out on this property require a lot of time to throw and you likely will want to play the courses several times.
-All brand new prodigy baskets. You aren't playing on some second hand rust buckets out here.
-Cabin on the property if you dont prefer to set up a tent. The view from the campfire at this location is phenomenal.
-with how many kick butt downhill throws these courses have out here, there really aren't that many times you are winded, wishing you didn't have to trudge up another hill. Its odd how you can go downhill several times and end up back on top of the ridgelines with minimal amount of work.
-There are several signature holes throughout these courses. Any of the downhill throws could likely qualify for signature on 90% of courses.
-This course is longer than the green so it gives the guys with maybe a bit more arm a chance to shine over there smaller armed buddy. However, you aren't going to beat many out here if all you have is a big arm. These courses cater to the player that can hit lines and work discs.
-Play these courses!
Cons: -2 separate courses that honestly feel like 1 48-hole course.
-Outhouses are all at the beginning and then you can be a long ways from grace once out on the course. 1 outhouse back in the property maybe by his storage area out there would be very helpful to eliminate emergency issues out on the course.
-No garbages out on the course. When the traffic picks up out on these courses and considering how awesome they are, it will, the garbage could be an issue.
-Lack of water or another variable to deal with beyond trees. This doesn't really bother me a whole lot, but i try to be as descriptive as possible to what some may find a con.
Other Thoughts: I rated this course a 4.5, but truly feel it is better and has a slight edge over the shorter green course on the property. DGCR needs to make more rating variations because although this is not a 5, i do feel it is better than a 4.5. Chad is doing an awesome job out on both the courses on this property. It is very difficult to distinguish the 2 courses which is somewhat of a drawback. This property truly feels like 1 course containing 48 holes. However, the 48 holes Chad has designed out here are 48 holes of complete awesomeness for anyone who enjoys a good technical course. If you prefer a more routine, long holed "championship" style course only, this may not completely satisfy your needs, though you will have fun. Beginner players and those who never developed their game much will have a hard time out here as the lanes require you to understand how discs fly and good technique. I came out with a group of 3 and wasn't sure if we would be staying 1 night or 2 nights. As soon as I drove into the place I had a better idea I would be wanting to stay here longer. Chad was very hospitable and we stayed in the cabin. The cabin is a shell, wooden cabin that gets the job done. Look at it this way, it saves you from having to set up a tent basically and protects better from the elements than a tent if needed. If you are a big arm guy that really has no technical game, you will likely not like either of these courses. Be honest with yourself, come out with the right expectations and work on your technical game out here because it is probably the most fun I have had throwing technical courses. An easy comparison for those that have played it would be Standing Rocks in Wisconsin. These courses are awesome and I recommend every avid disc golfer to get out here immediately before everyone is out here. Top 5 in MN no doubt in my mind and when you add in the ability to sleep right out on the courses, it makes it a top disc destination in MN.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Best course in Minnesota!

5+    10/8/2017   10/11/2017
Review By: sdmaas
Played: 19  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 11.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: well designed, well maintained, bathrooms on-site, beautifully technical (but not impossible for good shots), amazing scenery, many elevation changes on almost every hole, well placed tee boxes, no overlapping, next tee signs on every hole, lanes for almost any throw from tee boxes, new baskets
Cons: pack-in/pack-out course with no garbage receptacles, restrooms are only in the parking lot (can be a problem with 24 holes), signage is pretty minimal for the course property entrance,
Other Thoughts: This is the best course I have ever played. There are only a few improvements that could be made, other than that, this is superior to most courses in the upper-midwest. Expect to have your mind blown from how much this course has to offer. Chad, the owner/designer is awesome and very helpful. Plan on 3-4hrs to throw the course and be ready for a good leg workout.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Ferns and Flowers... No walk in the park!

1    6/3/2017   6/4/2017
Review By: Aim For The Chains
Played: 134  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 9.7 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Two 24 hole courses one "short" and other "long" both are technical/tight golf which dont require much power but a lot of carving up the woods.

Holes are well maintained for a small time private operation and courses are constantly being improved.

Tees are currently natural dirt but area has lots of rocks so it isnt an issue at all plus owner had them all perfectly level/ even and sized. Signs on every hole and next tee directional arrows. Both courses flow very well with short course looping by main camp area and long finishes right at hole 1 starting tee. No wasted walks here just lots of up and down rolling hills.

Multiple (prodigy) basket positions possible on each hole. Current set up we played on the shorter course was a lot of straighter ace runs but other marked spots looked great to play for a little more difficulty.

Surprisingly a good amount of elevation with rolling hills/valley's in the woods. Only a few holes that are flat and just a few holes on longer course which open up into a old farm field that play more to the big arm distance peeps.

Tons of nature to enjoy (my buddy almost stepped on a baby deer) and didn't get run off by mosquitoes! Owner is cleaning up leaves etc which helps.

Camping/fire pits and primitive cabins.

You're in the middle of nothing. It is pro IMO being a "getaway" from the city but could see some seeing it as a con. Small bar just down the road.

$7 a day is a great deal considering what this place "could" be and amount of work being done. Hell moving the hundreds of large rocks all around is respectable given the terrain and resources. This isnt some giant landscaping operation with a disc golf course on site. It is a course built by a guy who loves DG and just gets it.

Cons: Entry road to property is rough dirt and only big enough for 1 car to move on lined by trees and thick growth. Not a huge deal being no one else was there but could get tricky if ever "busy" same with parking but there is plenty of room here to work with.

No real "signature" hole that stands out from the 48 i played.

I dont love prodigy baskets but thats just me. (hell i cant putt anyway...)

In current pin postions there seemed to be a lot of straighter tunnel type shots. Nice to see each basket first time playing though and understand what owner is currently going for with layout. Just got a little boring on the "long" course. (Im stretching for cons now...)

Like any new course it needs some trees taken out or trimmed and general maintenance but in current state it plays great just has a unfinished feel. (duh)

Its a rustic feeling place for sure without any fluffy stuff. (i personally care about the DG but some like snack shacks and other BS like trash cans etc... I packed some food and took my shit with me)


Other Thoughts: Go play these courses. Amazing disc golf and support a owner who is working hard to give us a great new course. He can actually can throw a disc too!

I love this kind of disc golf. It challenges you physically and mentally while still being a lot of fun. I look forward to visiting again and seeing the future improvements. Owner mentioned he has plenty of room for even a 3rd course.

With any updates similar to that of other top courses listed on this site I could move this to a 5 disc review. It is very close to being one of the best courses Ive played in MN and has a fraction of the fluffy stuff BRP/VQ or three rivers etc offer. Has the potential to be an epic DG property. "GO SEE IT!"

*Thanks for letting me enjoy a great day of DG and opening a labor of love to the public


6 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.