Montross, VA 
Lake Marshall - The Lions Share
Uploaded By: kachtz Hole #12 (Taken 3/2017)
5 / 921ft.   5 / 996ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Basket to Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0


Currently 11 holes completed of the 18 (holes 10-18).
" />
Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
5 is considered the ultimate

2-4    10/13/2019   3/26/2020
Review By: Beerdid1
Played: 91  Reviewed: 6
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Lion. Oh my. This is what a destination course is all about. No other course in Virginia compares. You just want to play and play until daylight runs out or you just become physically exhausted from trying to play too much. The Lion's layouts are simply spectacular and challenging to disc golfers of every caliber. I can't wait to return to play some of the newly finished Lion holes.

If you need to be convinced it is worth the drive to play here, you're probably not serious about challenging your disc golf game. If you think Mayflower in Roanoke, VA or any other course is the top course in VA, you haven't played here at Lake Marshall. If you have played Lake Marshall and still think other courses are better, I think you're depriving others of an honest review. There is so much amazing disc golf on this magnificent property you can and will test every aspect of your game, forehand, backhand, roller, thumbers, tomahawks, etc. Repeatedly. You'll leave wanting nothing more than 18 hours of daylight.

The use of elevation, both uphill and down, will keep you powering up or challenging your finesse game. The water carries are challenging but with fair bail-outs for noodle arms. If you have real power and control, scoring separation can be had on water holes. Otherwise, you'll join the rest of us wondering when your disc might get retrieved from the lake. Open and wooded shots? Yes to both.

Great course design, hole after hole.

The cherry on top? With permission from the owner and a modest fee, you may camp next to the lake. How can this not make for a destination course?
Cons: Nothing disappoints me about this course except having to leave. Perhaps the distance to drive to Montross,VA is a bit far or the port-a john as your bathroom isn't the greatest bathroom amenity. These are small cons for a big disc golf experience.
Other Thoughts: Regarding the DGCR objective review guidelines, I honestly consider this the ultimate course in Virginia and perhaps the entire east coast. Gary Hutt, the owner, like the character John Hammond in the movie Jurassic Park, has spared no expense preparing his property for your disc golf experience. If you are lucky, you will run into Gary. If you do. Thank him. Profusely.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Wow

5+    11/14/2019   11/15/2019
Review By: VAdgolf
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: From the moment you pull into the driveway you know you are somewhere special.

This course demands every disc that you own and every disc that you thought you would never have a reason to throw.

The water is not as much of a danger as I thought it was going to be. There are a few shots that you can gain by going overwater or cutting a corner but honestly the water is mostly scenic.

You could sit here and write a thesis on all the things about this course so it's best for me to just say "go play it"

Cons: there are still six unfinished holes but I will be one of the first ones there when they are ready to play

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Robert Trent Jones of disc golf!!

1    11/15/2019   11/15/2019
Review By: Alaskacaninecare
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 0.8 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course has the best layout i have played! I was able to see deer, eagles, fox, and much other wild life on this course. It is very clear to me that the owner and Architects made sure to keep nature in mind.
You get elevated shots across streams, a chance to cross the lake, some of the longest and most challenging fairways, quiet, clean, so much!!
So very impressed with this course as i have played multiple times as it has progressed to what it is today and i have a feeling they arent done yet.
Cons: Had to drive 1 mile for food???
I dont really have any cons on this course.
I live in Alaska and dont get to play there but one time a year!
Other Thoughts: I LIVE IN ALASKA AND I GO PLAY HERE 1 TIME EVERY YEAR!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

BEST

1    3/31/2019   3/31/2019
Review By: seayhorse
Played: 20  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 23.9 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great variety and challenge
Designed for modern play
Beautiful setting
Great people

It will only get better as it is developed.
Cons: Still under development, so this:
No plumbed facilities yet
Still constructing several holes
Other Thoughts: I'm coming back as often as possible. There are 3 courses here and they are all different and very very good. $10 per day is money well spent and while it might seem expensive, it's woefully inadequate to compensate the course staff and developers for the true cost of the course. I'll gladly pay every time.
I hope this becomes a mainstay of pro play in the US.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Almost there

1    9/27/2017   9/29/2017
Review By: blazerico
Played: 298  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 14.9 Years
This review was updated on 10/1/2017
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Butt clenching disc golf! A lot of awesome water shots with bail outs if you aren't manly enough to get over them haha. I tried to play safe on 12 but still ended up in the water...twice! Oh well. The views are fabulous and the golf is right up there with some of the best courses in the country. Once it's cleaned up more and they get the rest of the holes in, this should be a 5 disc course.
Cons: Most holes are still being cleaned up, so they aren't quite as awesome as they will be in a few years. The fairways and paths are a bit rough, meaning they're lumpy with roots and such. This place is in the middle of nowhere, which is good and bad I suppose. It won't get as much traffic as it deserves, but I guess that could be a pro too if you like solitude.
Other Thoughts: There shouldn't be three courses here yet. With the lair (12 holes) lamb (9 holes) and lion (9+ holes) they should give it one name and have an amazing place until they get the other holes in the ground.

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 The paradigm has changed!!

2-4    4/13/2017   4/13/2017
Review By: splatbaseball51
Played: 160  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 11 Years
19 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Any course that can put Selah to shame needs to be on your radar! Quick note: ignore the par and distance info, it doesnt reflect the full 18 hole course, which for The Lions has to be pushing 10,000ft par 72.

Until i played Lake Marshall, Selah Lakeside was my gold standard. Biscoe, designer of the amazing Hawk Hollow, has upped the bar with this magnificent property. 1000+ acres of private land, with a 75acre lake, make up the scenery at Lake Marshall.

Lake Marshall takes a different approach than many destination courses, in that there are three different courses that offer various difficulty levels, in addition to multiple tee pads, with The Lions course being the granddaddy of them all.

The Lions will test every big arm in the game. This baby is LONG! Several holes require 400ft+ throws to clear water if you want a birdie, otherwise you're throwing a still dangerous layup shot that will put you further from the pin to make you earn a par. The famous island hole is amazing and will test you even more than Selah Lakesides island.

This isn't no one trick pony, though. The Lions has its fair share of very difficult wooded holes as well. You'll need all of your weapons to shoot well here.

Most holes have made great use of OB and tricky greens, which are fair but will test you. Even shorter par 3s have elements of OB, water or a tricky green. There isn't a single gimmie hole on this course. You'll have to evaluate each shot equally when you reach the tee. Rash decisions will lead to inflated scores. This course is as mentally taxing as it is physically.

I found myself throwing an equal amount of flicks and backhands. You'll need plenty of both. Despite being close to the beach, there is plenty of elevation change to deal with as well. Take your favorite well rounded course and stretch it out to a par 67. That would be Lake Marshalls baby brother.

I could talk a lot about individual shots, like the double peninsula over water and through the trees shot, but the thing I'll keep coming back to will be the sheer beauty of this place. The greens and fairways are very well manicured. The owner intended to evoke Augusta in this design, and he does a great job of that. You'll play among giant hardwoods but with ball golf grass at the base of them. Carefully placed landscape features like fencing and logs add to the presentation.

If you want to test your game on the best course our sport has to offer, you have to go to Lake Marshall.
Cons: Right now the course is still very new and being tweaked as we speak. Things like tee pad material/other amenities arent 100% finalized. This is the only con i can come up with, which if you read my other reviews you'll know im a stickler for, but at Lake Marshall it doesn't matter. This course is immaculate and the shots are all there. Honestly, the lions would get a very rare 5 from me even if they turned me loose on the property for me to play safari golf, it's that good.

Like many great courses in our game, this one is off the beaten path. Have written directions in case you have no signal. Pack plenty of water and snacks.
Other Thoughts: In closing, i wanted to make sure people know how serious i am about this place. Look at my profile, read my reviews and know that this place means business. I've played many courses across 20+ states and I'm happy to have Lake Marshall dethrone Selah Lakeside for my personal best course in the world.

This is the pinnacle of our sport and for me it is likely it will remain there for a very long time.

19 of 19 people found this review helpful.

 Future of the Sport

5+    4/2/2017   4/6/2017
Review By: kachtz
Played: 18  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.9 Years
This review was updated on 1/3/2018
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -Never played a course remotely close to what this is.

-300'x120' island that plays a part in two holes (12/13)
-Trees come into play on every hole except #12
-Great Design, each hole is its own adventure
-Designed with camera angles and spectator traffic in mind.

-there are 2 other courses on site covering for all levels of play.
Cons: only 9 of 18 holes complete as of (4/6/17) estimated completion date is 2019.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.